Library Databases & eJournal Collections by Title
- If you are having trouble accessing resources off-campus, please refer to our Remote Access and Login Help page. If you still cannot login please write the Library Webmaster for further help.
- IMPORTANT: When emailing us, please let us know:
- Browser and version (Internet Explorer, Firefox, etc.)
- Your Internet Service Provider or location on campus
- If possible, your IP address
Quick Tips
- Insert a zero - 0 - in front of your ID Number to successfully log in to CWU Library databases from off campus.
- Remote Access and Login Help - Refer to this guide if you are having trouble logging in to any password-protected services.
- Electronic Journals Collection - Search or browse to locate additional full text.
A-C | D-I | J-O | P-S | T-Z
ABI/Inform Global - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Covers national and international business and management literature. Also includes information on 60,000+ companies.
ABI/Inform Dateline - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides information not typically found in the national press sources.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Search more than 700 publications for trade and industry information. This database contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
Accounting & Tax - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Comprehensive coverage of accounting and tax topics appearing in key industry publications and newspapers.
Academic Search Complete [ Full Text ]
[Visual Search tutorial] [title coverage list]
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.
ACS Publications [ Full Text ]
Full text of journal articles from over 30 American Chemical Society publications, some of which go back over 100 years.
Agricola
Bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.
America: History & Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
AnthroSource
Index of anthropological material developed by the American Anthropological Association.
Art Index
Index with abstracts of an international array of peer-selected publications.
Article First - FirstSearch
Indexing and some abstracts for over 16,000 journals in all subject areas from 1990 - Present.
Banking Information Source - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Index of principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Book Index with Reviews [ Full Text ]
Index of over 3.8 million book titles in a wide range of formats in all genres. Contains over 800,000 full-text searchable reviews from sources including Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and CHOICE.
Business Source Complete [ Full Text ]
[basic search tutorial for BSI interface] [title coverage list]
Provides the full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, etc.
Career and Technical Education - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Vocational and technical periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum.
CCH Internet Tax research Network
[ Full Text ]
United States Federal and State tax information, tax news, detailed explanations, analysis, cases and other primary source material.
Classical Music Library
[ Full Text ]
A comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings with streaming audio.
Congressional Universe [ Full Text ]
Searchable text of Congressional publications, federal laws and regulations, and information about members of Congress.
Contemporary Literary Criticism [ Full Text ]
Contemporary Literary Criticism covers nearly 3,000 authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959. This digitized resource includes the following
print volumes: Vol. 1 (1973) through Vol. 236 (2007). For more recent print volumes, see Contemporary Literary Criticism, Reference 1st Floor PN771 C59.
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government [ Full Text ]
Illuminates the history, structure, dynamics, operation, and personalities of the three branches of U.S. government and elections, and provides the who, what, where, when, and how of every era of American history, from the American Revolution to the present.
CQ Researcher [ Full Text ]
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
CQ Weekly [ Full Text ]
Comprehensive, non-partisan news and information on Congress, politics and public policy from 1983 to the present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on virtually any topic in criminal justice.
[back to top]
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
A collection of freely available dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Dissertations & Theses
Citations and abstracts for thousands of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from 1861 to the present.
Education Full Text [ Full Text ]
Abstracting and indexing to 427 core international periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs covering preschool, elementary, secondary, higher, and adult education.
Education Journals - ProQuest [ Full Text ]
Full text and images for literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics.
e-Duke Scholarly Collection [ Full Text ]
Full text of journal articles back to 2000 from 29 Duke University Press humanities and social science journals.
eHRAF World Cultures [ Full Text ]
Cross-cultural database containing more than 350,000 pages of descriptive information on cultures, diversity and ethnic groups of the world.
Electronic Collections Online - FirstSearch
Indexing for approximately 3000 academic and scholarly journals.
Entrez Search and Retrieval System
Entrez is a search and retrieval system that integrates information from databases at NCBI, including PubMed Central and MEDLINE.
ERIC
Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 750 professional journals.
For items published before 1993, CWU owns the entire microfiche collection of ERIC Documents. For assistance, see a librarian in the Documents Dept., also on the 3rd floor.
Essay & General Literature Index
Indexes contents in collected works focusing on humanities and social sciences.
GEOBASE
Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for human geography, physical geography, oceanogeography, and international and development studies.
GeoRef
Comprehensive index of international geoscience literature. Covers geology of North America from 1785 to the present and world geologies from 1933 to the present.
GPO Monthly Catalog - FirstSearch
Descriptions of materials in U.S. federal depository libraries (such as CWU).
GreenFILE
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
Grove Music Online [ Full Text ]
Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).
Handbook of Latin American Studies
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America.
Health & Medical Complete - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Provides coverage from leading health journals and essential medical journals in key medical specialties.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America).
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Comprehensive index of international Hispanic publication since 1970. Citations are in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and other languages.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security, this is an indexed collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents.
Hoover's Online [ Full Text ]
Provides company profiles, corporate directory (searchable by company name, industry, ticker symbol, sales, location), market quotes, and business news.
Hospitality and Tourism Index [ Full Text ]
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
In the First Person
An index of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives.
International Business - Asian & European - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Find the latest business and financial news from the Eastern Hemisphere and Europe.
[back to top]
JSTOR
[ Full Text ]
Contains the complete back files of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences.
LexisNexis Academic
[ Full Text ]
Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
Marcive
Citations to U.S. Government documents from 1976 - present. When available, includes links to the Web version of documents.
MathSciNet
Searchable Web database providing access to over 59 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (from 1940 to the present).
Medical Library - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Combines MEDLINE indexing with full images for more than 100 key medical titles. Offers coverage of all the major healthcare specialities.
MEDLINE - FirstSearch
Indexing and abstracts for journal literature in medicine and biology from 1965 - present.
MLA International Bibliography
Abstracts for published work in literature and linguistics dating back to the 1920s; produced by the Modern Language Association.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography.
Music Index - New and improved interface! Contact us if you have questions.
Index to articles about classical, popular, and non-western music in music periodicals.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Abstracts for literature in criminal justice.
National Newspapers - Proquest
[ Full Text ]
Coverage of 27 newspapers including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
netLibrary
[ Full Text ]
Electronic full text of approximately 1,200 books in the areas of library reference, Choice Outstanding Academic Books, Computer Science and Technology, and Pacific Northwest History.
Nutrition Abstracts: Series A (called Human Nutrition on search form)
Topics and journal articles indexed include food composition and nutritive value, Human health and nutrition, disease and therapeutic nutrition, and physiology and biochemistry of nutrients.
Oxford Reference Online [ Full Text ]
Brings together over 100 of Oxford University Press's premier language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource. Now includes the Western Civilization collection.
[back to top]
PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service
Covers social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources.
Papers First - FirstSearch
Descriptions of professional papers presented at conferences.
Pharmaceutical News Index - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Covers the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.
Philosopher's Index
Contains informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
Physical Education Index
Provides citation information and abstracts to journal articles about physical education and related disciplines.
PrimateLit
Provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities.
Proceedings First - FirstSearch
Index of conference publications.
Project Muse [ Full Text ]
Provides searchable full text of over 200 scholarly journals from scholarly publishers and covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and other subject areas.
PsycINFO
Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields, from 1887-present.
PsycARTICLES [ Full Text ]
Peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations.
Religion - ProQuest [ Full Text ]
Comprehensive collection of journals covering religious issues and perspectives.
Research Library Periodicals - Proquest [ Full Text ]
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, news, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
International index of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines.
Sage Journals Online [ Full Text ]
Full text of journal articles back to 1999 from over 400 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, theoretical and applied sciences, technology and medicine.
ScienceDirect [ Full Text ]
Full text of journal articles back to 1995 from over 100 journals published by Elsevier in business, humanities, and the sciences. (Full-text titles available to CWU)
Science Journals - ProQuest [ Full Text ]
Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology; subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
Social Science Journals - ProQuest [ Full Text ]
Full text articles from literature in social science areas such as anthropology, family studies, law and justice, political science, psychology, social work, and related topics.
Social Services Abstracts
Citations and abstracts of journal articles covering current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts of journal articles covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences.
Scitation & SPIN Web
The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) provides indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals.
SpringerLink [ Full Text ]
Full text of journal articles from over 1,000 journals published by Springer in business, humanities, and the sciences.
Standard & Poors NetAdvantage [ Full Text ]
Comprehensive source of business and investment information from Standard & Poor's research products: Corporate Records, Stock Reports, Industry Survey, Register, Outlook, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earning Guide, Dividend Record, and Mutual Fund Reports.
Stat USA
STAT-USA/Internet consists of: State of the Nation (SOTN), Global Business Opportunities (GLOBUS) and the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB). Inludes info on
economic indicators on topics such as employment, wholesale and retail prices, monetary and housing trends, gross domestic product, etc.; access to over 200,000 current
and historical documents on export opportunities by industry, country, and product; and political and socio-economic conditions in hundreds of countries.
Synergy [ Full Text ]
Full text of the most recent two years of over 300 science, technology, and medical journals from Blackwell Publishing.
NOTE: Access is available only to content which is listed with green dots.
[back to top]
Telecommunications - ProQuest [ Full Text ]
Full text of top telecommunications industry publications from 1995 to the present.
Test Reviews Online - Buros Institute
Indexes the content available in the print volumes of the Mental Measurements Yearbook series available in the Library's First Floor Reference Collection.
Value Line [ Full Text ]
Includes full-page reports and analyst commentaries as well as Timeliness and Safety ranks on 1,700 stocks covered by The Value Line Investment Survey.
Washington State Newsstand - Proquest
[ Full Text ]
Full text of Washington state and regional newspapers.
Web of Science - Science Citation Index Expanded
Index, abstracts, bibliographies, and cited references to articles from the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Wiley Interscience [ Full Text ]
Full text of journal articles back to 1997 from over 250 journals in science, technology, and medicine.
World Almanac - FirstSearch
[ Full Text ]
Topics covered include arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, people in the news, the nations of the world, sports, the environment, vital statistics, science and technology, computers, and taxes.
WorldCat - FirstSearch
An international online catalog of over 61 million items. Records exist for everything from print books to stone tablets, electronic books, wax recordings to MP3s, DVDs and Web sites.