Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: American Civil War

« Back To Guides Selection


American Civil War on the Web
Civil War 150
http://www.gilderlehrman.org/civilwar150

Community and Conflict
http://www.ozarkscivilwar.org/

Civil War Online Resources (PBS)
http://www.pbs.org/civilwar/

Slavery and the Making of American (PBS)
http://www.pbs.org/wnet/slavery/

Smithsonian
http://civilwar.si.edu/smithsonian.html

African Americans in the Civil War
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/exhibition/bindingwounds/index.html

National Park Service
http://www.nps.gov/civilwar/index.htm

Library of Congress Civil War Selected Resources
http://www.loc.gov/rr/main/uscw_rec_links/civilwarlinks.html

American Indians in the Civil War
http://alexandriava.gov/historic/fortward/default.aspx?id=40164

University of Mississippi Civil War Archives
http://clio.lib.olemiss.edu/archives/civil_war.php

Missouri state archive State Archive Civil War Collection
http://www.sos.mo.gov/mdh/CivilWar/Resources.asp

Women Soldiers in the Civil War - National Archives
 http://www.archives.gov/publications/prologue/1993/spring/women-in-the-civil-war-1.html
Civil War Fiction @ Ellensburg Public Library

1.
The evolution of Calpurnia Tate
by Kelly, Jacqueline.
Call #: Kelly,J
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
2.
Evvy's Civil War
by Brenaman, Miriam.
Call #: Brenaman,M
YA - Young Adult Fiction Book
 
3.
Soldier's heart : a novel of the Civil War
by Paulsen, Gary.
Call #: Paulsen,G
YA - Young Adult Fiction Book
 
4.
Come Juneteenth
by Rinaldi, Ann.
Call #: Rinaldi,A
YA - Young Adult Fiction Book
 
5.
The river between us
by Peck, Richard, 1934-
Call #: Peck,R
YA - Young Adult Fiction Book
 
6.
Girl in blue
by Rinaldi, Ann.
Call #: Rinaldi,A
YA - Young Adult Fiction Book
 
7.
Bull Run
by Fleischman, Paul., Frampton, David,
Call #: Fleischman,P
YA - Young Adult Fiction Book
 
8.
Jayhawker
by Beatty, Patricia, 1922-
Call #: Beatty,P
YA - Young Adult Fiction Book
 
9.
The red badge of courage
by Crane, Stephen, 1871-1900.
Call #: Crane,S
YA - Young Adult Fiction Book
 
10.
The mostly true adventures of Homer P. Figg
by Philbrick, W. R. (W. Rodman)
Call #: Philbrick,W
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
11.
Red moon at Sharpsburg : a novel
by Wells, Rosemary.
Call #: Wells,R
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
12.
The land
by Taylor, Mildred D.
Call #: Taylor,M
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
13.
My brother's keeper : Virginia's diary
by Osborne, Mary Pope.
Call #: Osborne,M
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
14.
A light in the storm : the Civil War diary of Amelia Martin
by Hesse, Karen.
Call #: Hesse,K
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
15.
The journal of James Edmond Pease, a Civil War Union soldier
by Murphy, Jim, 1947-
Call #: Murphy,J
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
16.
When will this cruel war be over? : the Civil War diary of Emma Simpson
by Denenberg, Barry.
Call #: Denenberg,B
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
17.
An island far from home
by Donahue, John, 1951-
Call #: Donahue,J
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
18.
Becca's story
by Forman, James D.
Call #: Forman,J
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
19.
Rifles for Watie
by Keith, Harold, 1903-
Call #: Keith,H
JF - Juvenile Fiction Book
 
20.
Cold mountain
by Frazier, Charles, 1950-
Call #: Frazier,C
FIC - Adult Fiction Book
 
21.
March
by Brooks, Geraldine.
Call #: Brooks,G
FIC - Adult Fiction Book
 
22.
Gods and generals
by Shaara, Jeff, 1952-, Shaara, Michael
Call #: Shaara,J
FIC - Adult Fiction Book
 
23.
The killer angels
by Shaara, Michael.
Call #: Shaara,M
FIC - Adult Fiction Book





Special Collections
A guide to materials related to the Civil War and Slavery available at the James E Brooks Library Special Collections.
http://www.lib.cwu.edu/CivilWarAndSlavery
Search the Brooks Library Catalog
Suggested Reading from the Brooks Library

Between two fires : American Indians in the Civil War / Laurence M. Hauptman.
CALL #       E540.I3 H38 1995.


Women in the American Civil War / Lisa Tendrich Frank, editor.
CALL #       E628 .W655 2008.


Encyclopedia of the American Civil War : a political, social, and military history / David S. Heidler and Jeanne T. Heidler, editors
CALL #       E468 .E53 2000.


Atlas for the American Civil War / Thomas E. Griess, series editor.
CALL #       E470 A452 1986.


Tasting freedom : Octavius Catto and the battle for equality in Civil War America / Daniel R. Biddle, Murray Dubin.
CALL #       F158.44.C36 B53 2010.

 

Chicago's Irish Legion : the 90th Illinois Volunteers in the Civil War / James B. Swan.
CALL #       E505.5 90th .S93 2009.


Irish Americans in the Confederate Army / Sean Michael O'Brien
CALL #       E585.I75 O27 2007.


Band of angels/Warren, Robert Penn
CALL #       PS3545 A748 B36 1955.


Wilderness; a tale of the Civil War./ Warren, Robert Penn
CALL #       PS3545 A748 W55 1961.