Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: History of Photography - Art 324

« Back To Guides Selection


About This Guide
This research guide is and will always be a work in progress. I hope it will also be a collaborative effort. So, please contact the subject specialist with any comments about resources that should or should not be included, typos, broken links, or other suggestions for improvement. Thanks!

The Zoho chat widget on the right will connect you with the reference librarian on duty at the time. If you prefer the subject specialist, please use the contact information in that box. Also, Zoho is a third party service so their terms and policies are not controlled by CWU.
Citing Your Sources


To learn or review acceptable use of the work of others, see Plagiarism: What it is...and is not

For help formatting your citations, see:

Citation Fox

Knight Cite
Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide

For tools for managing your references, see the links from University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide . Zotero and Mendeley are the free options currently available. The UW Guide has links to guides and handouts for Zotero and Mendeley.

All resources in this section are described in more detail in the "Websites" section of this page.
 

Evaluation of Information
Some databases only index scholarly literature - like JSTOR and the Directory of Open Access Journals. Some, including Academic Search Complete and other Ebsco databases, have the option to limit your search to only peer-reviewed and/or only scholarly publications. Others journals you may need to confirm. Ulrich's Periodicals Directory is one source for investigating a journals credentials.

For a brief summary of one approach to evaluating resources, see Evaluating Information “Applying the CRAAP Test in the section of "Websites" below.


All Items by Source

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
Print Location: REF N6505 .G76 2011
The Grove encyclopedia of American art contains over 2,300 entries arranged alphabetically by name or subject. While most encyclopedias are not commonly used as references in scholarly writing, they can be an excellent source for gaining a basic knowledge of a subject. Some crafts, no decorative arts. With cross-references and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources, the articles in the Grove encyclopedia of American art can guide you to additional material for your research.
ArtCyclopedia Resource contains images Some full text available
Includes original short entries and examples of art movements, as well as a search engine indexing other websites on artists, museums, and the titles of artworks. You can also browse by medium, subject, nationality and women artists. Lists nearly 9,000 artists and nearly 3,000 art websites. The results for photographers reviewed for this summary were generally strong in providing images and weak on literature.

Finding Books

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the RĂ©pertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
Good for books, articles, dissertations, and more! BHA and RILA are citation databases, which means there is no full text. You can use the citations to try to locate the articles, books, and other materials using search engines, databases, and library catalogs. Together they cover 1975 to 2007. Basic and advanced searches are available, as well as author and subject browses. A list of more  journals cited in BHA (PDF, 27pp., 308 KB) can be downloaded and includes names and ISSN numbers to facilitate location of the articles. This is one of the preferred resources for scholarly research in art history. It can also be located by searching by title for BHA in the library catalog.
History of Photography: A Bibliography of Books
Print Location: Z7134 R66 1989

Over 11,000 books on photography are listed in this bibliography. Entries are arranged alphabetically by headings and include author, editor, contributors, title, year and other information, but no annotations.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

ArtLibraries.net: Virtual Catalogue for Art History
This meta search accesses select catalogues to provide bibliographic records (not always access to the document or resources) for "articles in periodicals, conference papers...exhibition catalogues and exhibition books...archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources" and other materials. Based in Germany, the focus is international art history as represented in the collections of European libraries and museums.
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available

DOAJ indexes only fully open access scholarly journals which are peer-reviewed or exercise editorial quality control. All publications are browseable and searchable through DOAJ by title, while about half of the publications are searchable at the article level. Those not searchable at the article level through DOAJ may still have such search capability at their sites. Journal records have subjects which are hyperlinked to aid in finding additional relevant publications. The subject tree provides an additional aid in locating publications. Genuinely international in scope, it unfortunately seems to lack the ability to limit your search by language. Covers a broad scope of topics including technology & sciences, languages & literature, arts, history, business, health sciences, and more.


e-Duke Scholarly Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection contains the full text of journal articles from 31 Duke University Press humanities and social science journals back to 2000.  CWU subscribes to the E-Duke Standard Collection (click the link for a list of titles and the full text access date ranges for the available content).  An 'Advanced Search' option is also available. Our subscription was canceled as of January 2013, but we will still have content from previous years available from this link.  Search our catalog by Journal Title for other access options or also try the Project Muse database for similar content.


Image Magazine (online)
This classic scholarly journal of photography and photographic history is freely available online for the years 1952 to 1997. Scholarly articles, analysis, and interviews by and about some of the leading figures in photography from its very beginnings. Produced by Eastman House, the journal's images were striking in the original publication and great care has clearly been taken in the scanning. Keywords are listed at the bottom of the entry for each issue so you can generate a search for more articles on any topic listed. Downloads are PDFs of each issue, not individual articles, so the files are large.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Print Location: Z6941 I55 v.2010:1-4
Ulrich's distinguishes scholarly journals from others. It is also useful in locating information about the publisher and finding journals by subject. Unless you are familiar with Ulrich's, you will need to refer to information in the front of the volume to understand what the listings say. Includes three volumes by classification. Volume 4 includes the indexes, including by title.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

Project MUSE contains scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently MUSE includes: 274,848 articles and 479,457 chapters by 199 publishers, and probably has some useful information about your topic.

The Brooks Library has a partial subscription to Project MUSE, thus some items are available to you in Project MUSE and some items are only available elsewhere. You can do a Journal Title Search, a Book Title Search, a Summit Search, a Google Scholar Search, or contact the Reference Desk to access a fulltext copy of any citations that might be unavailable in Project MUSE.

Project MUSE can be searched by Keyword (options for narrowing your search will be to the left of your results), browsed by Research Area, by All Title, by Publisher, by Book Title, and by Journal Title. An option for displaying "Only content I have full access to" is usually available, but since we often have access to that content through another database, Summit, or Interlibrary Loan, you should probably search Project MUSE both ways.
 


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Our subscription to JSTOR (short for 'Journal Storage') contains every issue of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences.  These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published (in some cases that is the 1600s).  JSTOR also contains citations (bibliographic records) for more than 1,500 leading academic journals, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.  (This is why it may not be a good idea to check "Include only content I can access," even if you are in a hurry.  Articles not available in JSTOR are often available in our other databases or through Interlibrary Loan.)

As always, please consult the Reference Desk or the nearest librarian if you have any questions about finding articles in JSTOR or elsewhere.


Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


Art Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available

Art Full Text™ describes itself as "a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995,...indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984,...as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions...The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture..." For a broader but less subject specific search, use the "choose databases" link, in tiny blue print above the search boxes, to create a combined search with other Ebsco databases such as Academic Search Complete.


Art Index
Print Location: (Fishbowl) 2nd floor REF Z 5937 A78

Beginning in 1929 this continuation indexes over 300 art journals both foreign and domestic. Our volumes in print continue into the 1990s. For later indexing use the Art Full Text database. Covers artists, art subjects, and where reproductions of major art works appear in journals.  Search CATTRAX if CWU carries the journal title, volume of any citation found within this index.  Ask at the Reference Help Desk 1st Floor Brooks Library or (509) 963-1021 for aid in using this index.


Government Information

USA.gov: History, Arts and Culture Portal
Gateway to government sponsored websites / government information regarding the nation's history, arts and culture. This may be a valuable source for researching photographic work by the government, for example for the CCC, FSA, or WPA.

Handbooks & Guides

Oxford Companion to Photography
Print Location: TR9 .O94 2005
 Booklist describes this volume as "international in scope...[with] more than 1,600 entries, of which approximately 800 cover photographers, past and present." It also includes entries on "countries, photographic terms and technology, genres, photographic themes... and other topics...[It] leans toward the historical and theoretical...Articles conclude with the initials of one of 180 contributors."

Images & Primary Resources

Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information Written Records Some full text available Resource contains images
Digitized records of selected correspondence, shooting scripts, and other documents from the work of photographers for the FSA and OWI. This is a rare opportunity to see this aspect of the context of these depression era assignments which so vividly captured the people and the conditions at the time.
Getty Research Portal Some full text available Resource contains images
A freely available "online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields." Links to the more comprehensive, but not entirely free or electronically accessible, Getty Research Institute Search Tools and Databases. See the left menu for access to the Getty vocabularies, a photo archive, digital collections, the Getty Provenance Index Databases, and more.
International Center of Photography eMuseum Some full text available Resource contains images
ICP currently has about 30,000 of around 100,000 photographs in their collections available online. Search, browse collections, or browse people (individual photographers, subjects, and corporate groups such as newspapers, for example). Although they describe themselves as "dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all its forms," the collections seem to be particularly strong for twentieth century photographers. Short biographies are provided for most photographers, many with bibliographies.

Web Sites

Citation Fox
Citation Fox provides templates and examples. It is not a citation generator. It covers only APA (where this link will land you) and MLA (linked from the bottom of the page) and claims to demonstrate format for over 500 resource types.
Evaluating Information – Applying the CRAAP Test
Guidance in applying the information evaluation system created by Meriam Library, California State University, Chico based on currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose.
Knight Cite
Choose your citation style (MLA, Chicago, or APA) and your resource type in the left menu, fill in the blanks and - voilà - a recommended complete citation! As with all citation generators, check it manually to make sure it is correct.
Library of Congress: Science Tracer Bullets: Digital Photography
The Science Tracer Bullets are a high density source of research leads. Subject headings for using in CATTRAX (CWU's library catalog), in Summit, or in WorldCat, titles of publications, journals titles, and more. Also check out the Tracer Bullet for the History of Technology at http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/tracer-bullets/historyoftechtb.html.
Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
Formatting and Style Guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago are included in the resources at OWL. Shorter and generally more easily understood than the full citation manuals, though less complete. They cover most, but not all, of the citation situations that you will encounter. Also includes guidance on plagiarism, writing résumés and business letters, punctuation and grammar, and other writing topics.
Photographers Represented in the Library of Congress Daguerreotype Collection
This list of photographers is associated with the Library of Congress' online exhibit "America's First Look into the Camera." The links go to photographs by the photographers, but it might serve as a source of subjects for your research.
Photography: A Quick Guide to Resources
This guide is created by and for the Environmental Design Library at UC Berkeley. Some of the resources that they list will not be available at Central Washington, but many are, even if they are labeled "UCB Only." Check our catalog and databases to find out. The TR call numbers are broken down into finer divisions than here, and there is a good list of subject headings which can be very useful in our library catalog, Summit, and WorldCat.
Plagiarism: What it is...and is not
Jenine Colson at Lee College, Baytown, Texas created this interactive online tutorial on plagairism which may help you learn or review some of the expections and conventions of scholarly work in regard to the use and crediting of the work of others.
University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide Some full text available
From the "Citation Guides" link you will find links to handy little two page summaries (for MLA, CSE, Chicago, and APA) of the most commonly encountered citation situations. Print them out double-sided and tuck them in your notebook or wherever is convenient so you can have them at the ready for any citation emergency... or non-emergency. Includes quick handouts for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE styles and links to more detailed formatting guidelines.
Women Photojournalists Some full text available Resource contains images
The Library of Congress Prints & Photographs presents this collection of biographical and collections information about women photojournalists. In general, the ones called "biographical sketch" have more links to scans of primary documents, while the ones labeled "biographical essay" appear to cite works which you may be able to use for your research.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Euster

Lisa Euster
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1642

QR Code
Scan to view this guide on your mobile device.
OneSearch
Ask A Librarian Chat
Picture This

Loading ...