Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Art

« Back To Guides Selection


About This Guide
This research guide is and will always be a work in progress. I hope it will also be a collaborative effort. So, please contact the subject specialist with any comments about resources that should or should not be included, typos, broken links, or other suggestions for improvement. Thanks!

The chat widget on the right will connect you with a reference librarian on duty at the time, at CWU or another academic library. If you prefer the subject specialist, please use the contact information in that box. Also, the Ask A Librarian chat is a third party service so their terms and policies are not controlled by CWU.
New for Art @ Brooks Library!

Loading ...

All Items by Source

Biographical Information

Dictionary of Women Artists
Print Location: N 8354 D53 1997 (2 vols.)

Introductory essays include Women as Artists in the Middle Ages, Court Artists, and Feminism and Women Artists. Covers biographical and critical material on world artists from 975 to those born before 1945.


Modern Arts Criticism
Print Location: N 40 M63 (4 vols.)

Covers artists from 1850's to the present from all countries. Biographical information is included along with excerpts from critical essays from books and journals.


Who's Who in American Art
Print Location: N 6536 W5
Paragraph identification of Canadian, Mexican, and American artists including their media, career, awards, and address.
Biography.com

This site, operated by the Biography Channel, contains tens of thousands of biographies, some quite detailed.  Biographical video and short biographical video clips are also available.  There is also a page with examples of how to properly cite this site.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

CAMEO: Conservation & Art Materials Encyclopedia Online Some full text available
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston created CAMEO, a searchable, wiki based "electronic database that compiles, defines, and disseminates technical information on...terms, materials, and techniques used in the fields of art conservation and historic preservation." It might more properly be called a collection of databases since it comprises three sections, the Materials Database, Reference Collection, and Natural and Synthetic Dyes database. "They note that "some databases and pages contained within CAMEO are 'works in progress'." The MATERIALS database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials." Use "the Go button for an exact match to an English material name. Press the Search button for a full text search... including all non-English...synonyms in the MATERIALS database."


Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Some full text available
This link lands you on a page of Gale Reference electronic books to which CWU provides access. Scroll down and click on the image or title of the encyclopedia you wish to use. Topics in this one include ideas, concepts, and philosophies, things, places, people, and organizations. The subject area is addressed broadly, bringing in poetry, art, and science in addition to more traditional topics in philosophy and ethics. The 321 articles are written and signed by experts in the field. A number of the primary sources, present in the print volumes have been "suppressed due to author restrictions," so they are inaccessible, but some remain accessible. There are links at the bottom of the "List of Primary Sources" in volume 2. An annotated bibliography is provided and a glossary of terms that were not given full entries. While there is an icon for printing, it appears that the only way to save a page or chapter as a PDF is to use the print icon to convert to a PDF using a converter such as CutePDF Writer or Adobe PDF.
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
Print Location: REF N6505 .G76 2011
The Grove encyclopedia of American art contains over 2,300 entries arranged alphabetically by name or subject. While most encyclopedias are not commonly used as references in scholarly writing, they can be an excellent source for gaining a basic knowledge of a subject. Some crafts, no decorative arts. With cross-references and a bibliography of primary and secondary sources, the articles in the Grove encyclopedia of American art can guide you to additional material for your research.
Art & Architecture Reference Materials Restricted Resource Some full text available

This group of dictionaries and reference companions cover art & architecture from classical to modern periods, including entire works on gardens, photography, and landscape architecture.  The group is part of the Oxford Reference Online subscription database available from the library's homepage under "Databases by Title". 


ArtCyclopedia Resource contains images Some full text available

Includes original short entries and examples of art movements, as well as a search engine indexing other websites on artists, museums, and the titles of artworks.  You can also browse by medium, subject, nationality and women artists.  Lists nearly 9,000 artists and nearly 3,000 art websites.
 


ArtLex Art Dictionary Resource contains images Some full text available

Definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art / visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references.  Useful for artists, collectors, students , and educators in art production, criticism, history, aesthetics, and education.


McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art
Print Location: N 33 M23 (5 vols.)

Numerous illustrations accompany information on artists, artistic styles, art terms, buildings, and museums. Includes lengthy essays on non-western art.


Finding Books

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the RĂ©pertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)
Good for books, articles, dissertations, and more! BHA and RILA are citation databases, which means there is no full text. You can use the citations to try to locate the articles, books, and other materials using search engines, databases, and library catalogs. Together they cover 1975 to 2007. Basic and advanced searches are available, as well as author and subject browses. A list of more  journals cited in BHA (PDF, 27pp., 308 KB) can be downloaded and includes names and ISSN numbers to facilitate location of the articles. This is one of the preferred resources for scholarly research in art history. It can also be located by searching by title for BHA in the library catalog.
Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library: 1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box. 2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search." 3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed. (Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.) 4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. More Information about Cattrax: You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box. Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, and a citation tool. The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.
Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection. EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books including some in arts and architecture. You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.
How to find theses in the Brooks Library

Scroll down to the notes section for instructions including how to narrow your search from the complete set of over 4,300 Central Washington University (or State College) theses. This record can also be located by going to the library home page and using the term "theses" (no quotes) in the search box in about the middle of the page. The library catalog is a web resource; the theses are in print in the library.


Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Finding News Articles

WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


Art Index
Print Location: (Fishbowl) 2nd floor REF Z 5937 A78

Beginning in 1929 this continuation indexes over 300 art journals both foreign and domestic. Our volumes in print continue into the 1990s. For later indexing use the Art Full Text database. Covers artists, art subjects, and where reproductions of major art works appear in journals.  Search CATTRAX if CWU carries the journal title, volume of any citation found within this index.  Ask at the Reference Help Desk 1st Floor Brooks Library or (509) 963-1021 for aid in using this index.


ArtLibraries.net: Virtual Catalogue for Art History
This meta search accesses select catalogues to provide bibliographic records (not always access to the document or resources) for "articles in periodicals, conference papers...exhibition catalogues and exhibition books...archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources" and other materials. Based in Germany, the focus is international art history as represented in the collections of European libraries and museums.
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available

DOAJ indexes only fully open access scholarly journals which are peer-reviewed or exercise editorial quality control. All publications are browseable and searchable through DOAJ by title, while about half of the publications are searchable at the article level. Those not searchable at the article level through DOAJ may still have such search capability at their sites. Journal records have subjects which are hyperlinked to aid in finding additional relevant publications. The subject tree provides an additional aid in locating publications. Genuinely international in scope, it unfortunately seems to lack the ability to limit your search by language. Covers a broad scope of topics including technology & sciences, languages & literature, arts, history, business, health sciences, and more.


Image Magazine (online)
This classic scholarly journal of photography and photographic history is freely available online for the years 1952 to 1997. Scholarly articles, analysis, and interviews by and about some of the leading figures in photography from its very beginnings. Produced by Eastman House, the journal's images were striking in the original publication and great care has clearly been taken in the scanning. Keywords are listed at the bottom of the entry for each issue so you can generate a search for more articles on any topic listed. Downloads are PDFs of each issue, not individual articles, so the files are large.
Journal of Art Historiography Some full text available
This peer-reviewed, open access journal explores the study of art history. In this context, art history is broadly interpreted to include elements of archaeology, anthropology, and other related fields. It is published by Department of the History of Art at the University of Birmingham. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Our subscription to JSTOR (short for 'Journal Storage') contains every issue of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences.  These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published (in some cases that is the 1600s).  JSTOR also contains citations (bibliographic records) for more than 1,500 leading academic journals, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.  (This is why it may not be a good idea to check "Include only content I can access," even if you are in a hurry.  Articles not available in JSTOR are often available in our other databases or through Interlibrary Loan.)

As always, please consult the Reference Desk or the nearest librarian if you have any questions about finding articles in JSTOR or elsewhere.


eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
eHRAF World Cultures – the digital version of the Human Relations Area Files – is a cross-cultural database that contains more than 350,000 pages of descriptive information on cultures, diversity and ethnic groups of the world.  The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.  The diversity of information includes full-text books, journal articles, and dissertations.

This database supports CWU curricula across a variety of disciplines -- anthropology, social studies, history, sociology, geography, language, multicultural studies, political science, human development, arts, and medicine - if you are in one of these programs this database will be your friend!

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, 1st Floor Brooks Library or (509) 963-1021 for aid in searching this resource, and / or try the tutorial materials available from the homepage of eHRAF (look under "Using HRAF" on the left) or at this link.

Art Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available

Art Full Text™ describes itself as "a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995,...indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984,...as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions...The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture..." For a broader but less subject specific search, use the "choose databases" link, in tiny blue print above the search boxes, to create a combined search with other Ebsco databases such as Academic Search Complete.


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
As of 10/19/2012 this on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, published worldwide from 1971 to the present.  New records are added frequently.  This online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS as well as entries compiled since 1997.  The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies, as identified by the BAS staff, are indexed as immediately as possible, but the total number of indexed journals is many times that amount; full information about the years of coverage of each and every journal is provided through the Journal Title Browse function.  In addition, various special projects have contributed substantial numbers of additional records to the database (among them journals on Southeast Asia dating as far back as 1779).

This is an index only.  To locate resources from this index, search the CWU Library Catalog and Summit for the book or journal title.  Please ask the Reference Help Desk, 1st Floor Brooks Library or (509) 963-1021 for aid in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.

e-Duke Scholarly Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection contains the full text of journal articles from 31 Duke University Press humanities and social science journals back to 2000.  CWU subscribes to the E-Duke Standard Collection (click the link for a list of titles and the full text access date ranges for the available content).  An 'Advanced Search' option is also available. Our subscription was canceled as of January 2013, but we will still have content from previous years available from this link.  Search our catalog by Journal Title for other access options or also try the Project Muse database for similar content.


Essay & General Literature Index Restricted Resource
This is a bibliographic database that cites essays, articles contained in collections of essays, and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.  The database now includes nearly 86,000 essays drawn from almost 700 collections.  Essays from more than 300 volumes and more than 20 annuals and serial publications are added annually.  Full bibliographic information on the collective titles indexed is included.

The focus is on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.  Citations include articles published as early as 1985.  Each citation links to a list of other works in the collection, others by the author, and others on the subject, as well as to an entry for the source collection.  Works of literary criticism are searchable by names of fictional characters and by the titles of literary works.

The database is searchable by personal and corporate author, title, subject, and keyword, and also by Dewey and LC classification numbers, publisher, publication year, ISBN and ISSN, series, and country of publication.

For aid in locating the full text of articles found within this index, please stop by the 1st Floor Reference Help Desk or call the desk at 509.963.1021.

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

Project MUSE contains scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently MUSE includes: 274,848 articles and 479,457 chapters by 199 publishers, and probably has some useful information about your topic.

The Brooks Library has a partial subscription to Project MUSE, thus some items are available to you in Project MUSE and some items are only available elsewhere. You can do a Journal Title Search, a Book Title Search, a Summit Search, a Google Scholar Search, or contact the Reference Desk to access a fulltext copy of any citations that might be unavailable in Project MUSE.

Project MUSE can be searched by Keyword (options for narrowing your search will be to the left of your results), browsed by Research Area, by All Title, by Publisher, by Book Title, and by Journal Title. An option for displaying "Only content I have full access to" is usually available, but since we often have access to that content through another database, Summit, or Interlibrary Loan, you should probably search Project MUSE both ways.
 


Government Information

USA.gov - Official Government Web Portal

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.USA.gov is the U.S. government web portal to all federal, state, tribal, and local government web resources and services. USA.gov is intended to help people navigate government information, procedures, and policies.

Through USA.gov you can apply for benefits online (including grants), contact a government agency or department, or use the most comprehensive search of government websites.  You can also search for Government Publications, for information specifically relevant to you, and for contact information for government employees and officials.
 


Handbooks & Guides

Oxford Companion to Photography
Print Location: TR9 .O94 2005
 Booklist describes this volume as "international in scope...[with] more than 1,600 entries, of which approximately 800 cover photographers, past and present." It also includes entries on "countries, photographic terms and technology, genres, photographic themes... and other topics...[It] leans toward the historical and theoretical...Articles conclude with the initials of one of 180 contributors."
Thesaurus for Graphic Materials Some full text available
The Library of Congress describes the TGM as "a tool for indexing visual materials by subject and by genre/format..." This is valuable not only in making it easier for people to find and use visual materials, but also, in part through the application guidelines, in helping the artist, art resource developer, or researcher consider how one thinks about and classifies graphic art, and how others may have done so in the past and may in the future.
Internet Public Library: Art Images Pathfinder

A pathfinder is a topical guide that helps you locate resources online and in libraries.  This pathfinder, by the Internet Public Library, highlights main places to try for finding art images, including many that are available online.


MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Print Location: Reference Desk 1st Floor PN147 .G444 2008 Some full text available

Citation style manual used by liberal arts and humanities graduate students and scholars to cite research resources.  It shows the format used for creating research papers, how to create footnotes and endnotes for obscure as well as general formats, and prepare a Works Cited page(s).  It  also includes information on preparing and submitting a paper for publication and contains information on legal issues such as copyright infringement and protections.  Also recommended:  Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) http://owl.english.purdue.edu/


St. James Guide to Black Artists
Print Location: N 40 S78 1997

A few artists working in the 1800's are included with the majority being contemporary. A high percentage are non American coming from Africa, the Caribbean, and Brazil.


Timeline of Art History

Documents the history of art with objects in the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.


Images & Primary Resources

ArtStor Restricted Resource
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one and a half million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Registered users can save and organize ARTstor images into groups in their ARTstor accounts. For detailed instructions for registering, see ARTstor's online Help.  Also access images through ARTstor Mobile!

Europeana Some full text available Resource contains images

Europeana is a gateway to digitized resources from more than 2,000 European cultural institutions including museums, libraries, and archives. It is multilingual and incorporates materials of cultural and scientific historical significance. Formats include images, texts (books, primary documents, articles), sound, and video. Most often you will follow a couple of links to the home institution of the item you want to access. Plus, "there's an app for that!" (Only for Apple iPad, as of June 2012, but the code is open source, so you can work on changing that.)


Getty Research Portal Some full text available Resource contains images
A freely available "online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields." Links to the more comprehensive, but not entirely free or electronically accessible, Getty Research Institute Search Tools and Databases. See the left menu for access to the Getty vocabularies, a photo archive, digital collections, the Getty Provenance Index Databases, and more.
International Center of Photography eMuseum Some full text available Resource contains images
ICP currently has about 30,000 of around 100,000 photographs in their collections available online. Search, browse collections, or browse people (individual photographers, subjects, and corporate groups such as newspapers, for example). Although they describe themselves as "dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all its forms," the collections seem to be particularly strong for twentieth century photographers. Short biographies are provided for most photographers, many with bibliographies.
The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture Some full text available
The University of Wisconsin Madison General Library System provides this collection of texts, facsimiles, images, and Web resources in the digital arts. The impressive span of dates of digitized publications runs from 1673 to 2000. Beautiful, high quality scans of textual materials and images of 3D items with a focus on Early America. Not just for the field of art, this collection provides access to ornithological and botanical works, and even the Housekeeper's Book.

University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections Resource contains images Some full text available

Materials from the University of Washington Libraries, University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW. Collections are primarily pictorial, although some have accompanying essays and text. Other media are presented, such as newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters and maps. The emphasis of these collections is on rare and unique materials and it is a great resource for Pacific Northwest history topics.


World Digital Library Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Although relatively modest in size, this repository includes an impressive array of original material types including "manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings." In addition to search, multiple browsing options are available including geographic region and chronological era. The interface is available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish with yet more languages reflected in the documents represented. Europe, Latin America and the Carribean, and the Middle East and North Africa are best represented.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery Resource contains images

Some 600,000 digital images from within the NYPL's collections.  Browse by subjects alphabetically listed or by suggested disciplines.  Look at this website if you need images of postcards, posters, photographs, etc. of technological changes, specific people and historic events throughout America...not just New York.


Organizations & Directories

Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market
Print Location: Ref N 8600 A73 2012

Lists addresses for book and magazine publishers, galleries, advertising and design companies, greeting card companies, and record labels describing what they are looking for and how much they will pay.


Artist's and Graphic Designer's Market
Print Location: N 8600 A73 2011

Reviews

caa.reviews Some full text available
 The College Art Association offers open access to their "critical reviews of books, exhibitions, and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies." In addition, they provide full text essays and lists of recently published arts books and dissertations completed or in progress for all years since 2002.
Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available
Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles. BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review. Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres.

Web Sites

Citation Fox
Citation Fox provides templates and examples. It is not a citation generator. It covers only APA (where this link will land you) and MLA (linked from the bottom of the page) and claims to demonstrate format for over 500 resource types.
Designinform Research Guides

Two excellent collections of links for research in design: Guide No.1 is Internet Sources of Biographical Information "on designers, architects, craftspeople, painters and sculptors" and Guide No.2 directs you to "free-access, digitized art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet."


Dictionary of Art Historians
 Self-described as a work in progress with no intention of being comprehensive, this is "a compilation of art historians mentioned in major art historiographies. Additional names have been added to balance for gender or other neglected categories."

Ganoskin: The Complete Gem and Jewelry Making Information Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Free "articles, publications, reports, and technical data" can be searched or browsed by topic (scroll down this page to get to the topics). Everything from 3D enameling to wax build-up, business and marketing, history, fabrication, and safety, to name just a sampling. See BenchTube for videos on a variety of topics. The site does charge for some access including $5 each for most of the scanned historical metalsmithing books and more for other eBooks. Some of the historical books, or similar ones, may be available free from Google Books or the Internet Archive. Also features MetalCalc and a directory of industry web sites.
Knight Cite
Choose your citation style (MLA, Chicago, or APA) and your resource type in the left menu, fill in the blanks and - voilà - a recommended complete citation! As with all citation generators, check it manually to make sure it is correct.
Library of Congress "Virtual Alcove" for Art
The Library of Congress' Main Reading Room has created this "virtual alcove" a short but useful "collection of websites selected and annotated by Humanities and Social Sciences Division subject specialists."  All are partly or entirely freely available. Sections include General Resources; Architecture; Fine Arts; Decorative Arts; Pottery, Porcelain, Ceramics, and Glass; Jewelry, Silver, and Metals; Clothing, Textiles, and Domestic Arts, and others. 

Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
Formatting and Style Guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago are included in the resources at OWL. Shorter and generally more easily understood than the full citation manuals, though less complete. They cover most, but not all, of the citation situations that you will encounter. Also includes guidance on plagiarism, writing résumés and business letters, punctuation and grammar, and other writing topics.
Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD)
 As described at the site, "The Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD) includes ... information on the buildings and designers of California, Oregon and Washington. Professionals in other fields related to architecture have also been included ... Building records are tied to those of their creators (when known) and include historical and geographical information and images." Additional information and citations, where available, have also been linked. 
TED Talks Resource contains video
TED started in 1984 focused on technology, entertainment, and design, but has branched out to encompass, as they say, "Ideas Worth Spreading." Their first 6 talks were posted online in 2006 and they continue to post these highly popular, inspired talks by some of the great thinkers of our time as video presentations. Try searching "hydraulic fracturing," "natural resources," "urban planning," "historic preservation," or "civil liberties," for a few examples. Don't bother with the quote marks, though. A very basic search apparently does not recognize phrase searching. It also does not understand Boolean search terms, resulting in a lack of precision exacerbated by the "fuzzy" search which retrieves any term sharing a common stem (e.g. dog, doggerel, and donut). No advanced search that I found, and no transcripts. Scroll down to find links in the left margin to full lists of the talks.


University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide Some full text available
From the "Citation Guides" link you will find links to handy little two page summaries (for MLA, CSE, Chicago, and APA) of the most commonly encountered citation situations. Print them out double-sided and tuck them in your notebook or wherever is convenient so you can have them at the ready for any citation emergency... or non-emergency. Includes quick handouts for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE styles and links to more detailed formatting guidelines.
Image Collections and Online Art Resource contains images

Part of the website "Mother of all Art and History Links" this portion of the site--Image Collections and Online Art--is a portal to other online collections.  It has links to websites covering all art formats and searchable by geographic region (African & the African Diaspora, the Americas, Asia, Europe, Islam, Classical World of the Mediterranean) by format (Photography) and by location (Collections, Galleries & Sources).


Infomine
INFOMINE covers a wide range of topic areas and features well organized access to university level research and educational tools on the Internet through annotated and indexed links to and information about databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other information repositories.
Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


Intute: Visual Arts Some full text available

Search or browse the database of Visual Arts resources which have been selected, evaluated and described by subject specialists.

While this remains a source of many useful resources, please be aware that, according to the site, "Intute closed in July 2011...we are not adding any further resources...or making any changes ..."


Mother of all Art and Art History Links

From the University of Michigan, contains thousands of links to art and art history resources on the Web.


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Smithsonian American Art Museum

The Smithsonian American Art Museum (SAAM) is America's first federal art collection, dedicated to the enjoyment and understanding of American art. The museum celebrates the extraordinary creativity of our country's artists, whose works are windows on the American experience.


Visual and Performing Arts from INFOMINE

Large annotated collection of Internet resources related to the visual and performing arts. Resources have been determined to be of use as a scholarly information resource in research or educational activities at the university level.


Zeroland's Portal: Arts on the Web

A selection of websites pertaining to all kinds of art, including visual arts and performing arts. 


Items Of Interest

ArtsGuide Seattle 2013
A guide to a selection of Seattle arts venues and events compiled by the Arts Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. The featured events are focused on the end of January 2013, but the guide will remain useful for places to go, general descriptions of them, and contact information.
How to find DVDs and Videotapes in the Brooks Library

This record has links to searches for "All Video-Tapes" and "All DVDs." Scroll down to the notes section for more information on how to search for these materials and how to focus your search. As always, see the reference librarian if you would like help with this.


PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Citing Your Sources
Citing any and all ideas or concepts, as well as direct quotes ~~
  • shows respect for the creator.
  • helps your readers find your source to confirm your interpretation, understand the context, and learn additional information and ideas.
  • is required under CWU's academic code (Academic Dishonesty, Student Rights and Responsibilities Policy II.B., 2012-2013 Catalog http://catalog.acalog.cwu.edu/index.php?catoid=35).

To learn or review acceptable use of the work of others, see Plagiarism: What it is...and is not .

For help formatting your citations, see CWU Brooks Library's Citation & Style Manuals for the Social Sciences or:
Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide

For tools for managing your references, see the links from University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide . Zotero and Mendeley are the free options currently available. The UW Guide has links to guides and handouts for Zotero and Mendeley.
QR Code
Scan to view this guide on your mobile device.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Find Funding
Artist Trust "Financial grants, career training and professional resources for Washington State artists of all disciplines." See the Artist Trust site for training and events as well.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Euster

Lisa Euster
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1642

Ask A Librarian Chat
Catalog Search
Call Numbers/Subjects
Arts & Letters Daily

Loading ...

ARTstor

Loading ...

BBC Art & Culture

Loading ...

Picture This

Loading ...

The Art Newspaper

Loading ...

TED Talks: Art Unusual

Loading ...