Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Aviation

« Back To Guides Selection


All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

Great Circle Mapper Resource contains images

Provides the great circle (geodesic) path between two or more points and computes the distance between those points.  (like what is shown in the screen in the seat in front of you when you are traveling in an airplane.  Points can be researched using airport codes, even those of small US airports.


Oxford Reference Online: Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

For digital collections of original maps, see also the research guide section "Images Online & in Databases."


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online: Physical Sciences & Mathematics Restricted Resource Some full text available

Oxford Reference Online is a suite of databases available electronically to CWU affiliated users.  The entire suite of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and companion works can be accessed and searched from the "Databases by Title" link found on the library's homepage.  The set of references covering the physical sciences and mathematics deal with statistics, weights, measurements, space exploration, scientists, chemistry, astronomy, cosmology, mathematics, and physics.


Finding News Articles

Aviation Week & Space Technology

Daily updates of the latest in civil and military aviation and space industry news and analysis. Includes selected full-text articles from the print version, plus headlines and links to news from Aviation Daily and Aerospace Daily magazines and nice list of other Web aviation resources.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


Scitation & SPIN Web Restricted Resource

The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals. SPIN contains the abstracts of over 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute of Physics and its Member Societies since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling close to 1 million articles. Scitation covers science and technology (particularly engineering) journals online portal sites, magazines, and conference proceedings. Select the "Scitation & SPIN" radio button prior to entering your search terms. 

This is a citation / abstract database only.  To search for the full text, you will need to type in the journal or book title into the Summit Catalog (see library homepage) to see if the item is at Central or to request the item Interlibrary Loan.


Government Information

Federal Aviation Administration

FAA is in charge of the safety of the civil aviation industry.  They regulate safety protocols, manage aviation technologies (including those affecting the environment) and operate air traffic control for both civil and military aviation.  Includes statistical information (even a yearly breakdown of the number of "unruly passengers"), testing and career. 


Images & Primary Resources

100 Years of Flight: A Chronicle of Aerospace History, 1903-2003
Print Location: Ref TL515 .W526 2003

A month-to-month chronology of the history of flight throughout the world. Great illustrations and color photographs. For a look at classic planes in  Washington State, see the website to the Flying Hertiage Collection at http://www.flyingheritage.com/  located in Arlington, WA.


Flying Heritage Collection Resource contains images

The mission of this Washington state organization is to "collect, restore, fly and preserve combat aircraft and artifacts representing technological, ideological, political, and economic views of aerial conflict in the 20th century, with emphasis on World War II and the Cold War era." The site features images of planes on display, video clips, and details about making an appointment for a guided tour of the facility in Arlington, Washington.


Organizations & Directories

Aerospace Industries Association

Represents the nation's major manufacturers of commercial, military and business aircraft, helicopters, aircraft engines, missiles, spacecraft, materials, and related components and equipment.


Globemaster: U.S. Military Aviation Organizations Resource contains images Some full text available

Includes location and personnel info for units and bases of the U.S. Air Force, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, Army.


Space Careers

A well-organized, annotated collection of links to the major players in the space industry and to useful resources on the Web to improve your job search. The Careers section has the name of the company or organization followed by a short description, a link to the main page and, if available, directly to the job opportunities.


Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

Intute: Statistics
This site contains links to social science statistical information available online.  The links are organized into the following broad categories:Note: Intute closed in July 2011.  The site has now been archived and no additional resources are being added to the catalogue, nor are any changes being made to existing content.  Intute is still a large and useful site and is well worth your taking the time to look through it. 
(If you see any links in Intute or elsewhere that should be promoted to having their own entry in this or another Research Guide please let me know.)

Web Sites

Aerospaceweb

Aerospaceweb.org is a non-profit organization operated by engineers and scientists in the aerospace field. The goal of this site is to provide educational information on a variety of subjects ranging from aviation to space travel to weaponry. Our primary areas of expertise include aerodynamics, propulsion systems, vehicle design, engineering career information, and aerospace history.


Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


MILpilot.net

Not connected with the U.S. military or government. Information on mission tools, flight plans, training publications, airfields, NOTAMS, weather reports, etc. useful for a military pilot. There is also military pilot message board where you can post questions and get opinions from the people who know.


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Items Of Interest

PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Stephen Hussman

Stephen Hussman
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1717

Call Numbers/Subjects