Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Biological Sciences

« Back To Guides Selection


Catalog Search
All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

Enzyme Nomenclature Database

"ENZYME is a repository of information relative to the nomenclature of enzymes. It is primarily based on the recommendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) and it describes each type of characterized enzyme for which an EC (Enzyme Commission) number has been provided."


ICE Biological Inventories of the World's Protected Areas

The Information Center for the Environment (ICE), in cooperation with the United States Man and the Biosphere program (U.S. MAB), the Man and the Biosphere (MAB) program of the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the National Biological Information Infrastructure, the U.S. National Park Service, and the Biological Resources Discipline of the U.S.G.S., has produced databases containing documented, taxonomically standardized species inventories of plants and animals reported from the world's protected areas.


National Wetlands Inventory (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service)

The National Wetlands Inventory (NWI) of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service produces information on the characteristics, extent, and status of the Nation's wetlands and deepwater habitats. Congressional mandates in the Emergency Wetlands Resources Act requires the Service to map wetlands, and to digitize, archive and distribute the maps. With funding from other Federal, State, Tribal, local and private organizations, the Service has produced final maps for much of the nation. About half are digitized and available to the public on the Internet. Private companies provide NWI data in various other media. Hard-copy maps are available through Cooperator-run Distribution Centers.


Nationalatlas.gov Resource contains images

Nationalatlas.gov provides online and printable maps covering all aspects of the United States. There are maps for topics in biology, agriculture, boundaries, climate, the environment, geology, government, history, demographics, transportation, and water, as well as land maps. You can even try making your own map! Includes statistical information on crime, economics, energy, and health. Aerial photographs are also available, as well as raw data from map layers--see the "Mapping Professionals" tab. Nearly all of the map layers in the National Atlas Map Maker are also available for download using File Transfer Protocol (ftp). There is no charge for this service. Most of the map layers were compiled at a scale of 1:2,000,000 or a ground resolution of one kilometer. Most map layers cover the full geographic extent of the United States of America, although some cover the conterminous United States.


OBIS: Ocean Biogeographic Information System

OBIS is a product of the Census of Marine Life, a global confederation of marine researchers whose mission is to explain the "diversity, distribution, and abundance of marine life in the oceans." A Web-based provider of "global, geo-referenced information on marine species," OBIS claims through its search engine the ability to find 9.8 million records of 68,000 species from 123 databases worldwide on marine animals. The advanced search feature is very sophisticated, allowing users to limit searches to specific databases, geographic region, water depth, classification, and a time range of report dates. Users can also browse by taxonomic group. A completed search returns a map depicting the worldwide location of the marine life in question along with links to available information.


Oxford Reference Online: Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

For digital collections of original maps, see also the research guide section "Images Online & in Databases."


Terrestrial Ecoregions of the World

National Geographic interactive map that provides info and images on 867 land-based ecoregions around the world. The regions are not limited to political boundaries, but rather defined by shared features in ecology, climate, plants and animals. 


WildFinder: Mapping the World's Species

WildFinder is a GIS tool for researching Earth's animals. You can search the database in two ways: "Search by Place" to zoom in on an ecoregion and generate a list of species that live there or "Search by Species" shows geographic distribution and is searchable by scientific or common name. "Search by Place" results provide the following data: scientific name of the species, which links to the "Search by Species" results; common name; taxonomic class; threat status; endemic status; and a link that launches a Google Images search. In addition to zooming in on the map, users can search by city name, zip code, country, or other place-names. "Search by Species" is currently limited to amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals; at the time of review, the database had records for more than 26,000 species.


Biographical Information

BiologyBrowser

Do a search using the term "biography" to bring up a list of nearly 100 biographies of biologists. Some of the biographies also suggest related websites. Site maintained by Thomson Biosis.


Nobelprize.org Some full text available

Search for nobel prize winners by year or by discipline--physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, economics--as well as Nobel Peace Prize winners.  Info from 1901-current previous year is available.


ScienceWatch.com: Interview & Essays Some full text available

ScienceWatch.com (part of Thomson Reuters "Scientific", of which Web of Science belongs)  tracks recent research in the sciences, which includes interviews of some of the top scientists in emerging fields of study.  You can also get to ScienceWatch and other online research tools for the sciences from the ISI Web of Knowledge (Web of Science) database from the CWU Library Databases page.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Print Location: Ref Q175.35 .E53 2005 4 vols.

Encyclopedia covering wide-reaching ethical topics in the areas of science and technology. Signed authors from the fields of science, philosophy and political science write entries from a practical perspective, placing each topic in its historical context in order to show how ethics play out in real-life scenarios. Types of articles include biographies, topical overviews, specialized case studies, and key concepts or issues-based articles. Each entry includes a bibliography.


Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
With over two million entries, Oxford Reference Online is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the "looking for a clue" or "needing verification" stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books--and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!

Use Quick Reference materials to discover a variety of Subjects, Timelines, Quotations, English Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.

Oxford's Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
ArchaeologyMedia studies
Art & ArchitectureMedicine and health
Bilingual dictionariesMusic
Classical studiesNames studies
EncyclopediasPerforming arts
English Dictionaries and ThesauriPhilosophy
HistoryQuotations
Language referenceReligion
LawScience and technology
LinguisticsSocial Sciences
LiteratureSociety and culture

Assistance and advice with using the Quick Reference and the Reference Library are available at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.

Oxford Reference Online: Science & Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available

The science and technology section consists of online dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks that make up the Oxford Reference Online database.  The Oxford Reference Online database is available from the CWU library's home page, under Databases by Title. 


Finding Books

Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Cattrax is the online catalog that describes nearly all the materials held by the Brooks Library: books, government documents, maps, microforms, journals, and other items. Below is everything you may want to know about using Cattrax:

Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library:
1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box.

2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search."

3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed.

(Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.)

4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. Books labeled with call numbers between A and J can be found on the 3rd floor, while books classified as K to Z can be found on the fourth floor. All government documents, maps, and microforms can be found on the 3rd floor, and all musical recordings on the 4th floor. Physical journals, magazines, and serials are housed on the 2nd floor, while DVDs, video tapes and films may be found on the 1st floor. Children's books are located on the 4th floor.

More Information about Cattrax:
You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box.

Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, a citation tool, and often book cover images.

You can save the bib record to either "My Lists" (requires you to use your Library Log-in) or you can "Save to Bag" and remember to email, save, or print the resulting list of titles before you finish your session with Cattrax.

Once you have saved the useful results from your first search, you can perform more searches--perhaps starting by opening the author link, the subject terms (toward the bottom of the bib record), or the call number in a new browser tab, or by using the search box to start a totally new search.

(Note: If you click "Call #," you can sort search results by something like shelf order, allowing you to browse for books on similar topics. Of course, you may wish to look on the actual physical shelves--discovery happens in many ways.)

Additional Cattrax Information:
The “Request” service, located in the upper left of a bib record page, is only available for Center Campus Students. This is because Center campus students would need to use more than the stairs or the elevator to get a book from Brooks Library. (If you are a main campus student wishing to check out a book in a Center Library, please consult the Circulation Desk.)

The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.

If you have the citation for an article, you can search for journal titles by selecting "Journal/Serial Title" in the search options. Using this tool, you can discover if the library has access to print or digital copies of the journal in question. The library often has access to a journal through more than one database. If you do not succeed in locating the journal or article that you need, please consult one of our charming Brooks Library Librarians, or submit a request to our very resourceful Interlibrary Loan Department.

If your professor said that something you needed to read was on "Reserve" (the professor may have said "in the library" or something roughly equivalent), you can locate the item by searching in Cattrax by "Course" or "Prof/TA"--that is, by course or professor's name.

Last but certainly not least, if your item is not available in Cattrax, try requesting it through Summit, the unified catalog of 37 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest. If an item is also unavailable through Summit, you may wish to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection.  EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books in the areas of:

Children's & Young Adult NonfictionLiterature & Criticism
Arts & ArchitectureMathematics
Biographies & MemoirsPhilosophy
Business & EconomicsPolitical Science
Computer SciencePsychology
EducationReference Works
Engineering & TechnologyReligion
FictionSciences
General NonfictionSelf-Help & Family
Health & MedicineSocial Sciences
HistoryStudy Aids & Language Learning
Law
 
Note: EBSCO's classifications of these books is a bit imaginative, in each of the above categories there will be some books that you would not expect to see in that list.

You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.

Finding News Articles

WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


Agricola
Contains citations to approximately 680,000 books from the National Agricultural Library collections, and citations to 1.8 million professional journal articles covering 1979 to the present.
American Museum of Natural History Scientific Publications Some full text available

AMNH scientific publications disseminate the results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology.


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available

Each week CQ Researcher explores in depth a single "hot issue in the news”.  The topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science, technology, and more.  There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports.  Access is available online for issues back to 1991.  Each 12,000-word CQ Researcher report can be read in its entirety or by section, each report includes a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.

CQ Researcher is an excellent database to look in when you are ‘looking for a clue’.  The extensive bibliography each article provides serves as a wonderful way to find more information about your topic.
 


Entrez Search and Retrieval System Some full text available
Entrez is a search and retrieval system that integrates information from databases at NCBI. These databases include PubMed Central for articles, nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, whole genomes, and MEDLINE.
JSTOR Biological Sciences Restricted Resource

Contains the complete back files of over 100 core scholarly journals in fields such as biodiversity, conservation, paleontology, and plant science, in addition to introducing new areas such as cell biology and zoology. These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published.  You may limit the journals to search biological science and zoology journals only.  In the Advanced Search screen, simply limit the search by selecting "Biological Sciences"  "Zoology"  or multiple science disciplines in the alphabetical list within the Available Disciplines section  before hitting the "Search"  button.  You can click on the red arrow beside the Biological Sciences check box to see a complete listing of journal titles and year span.


MEDLINE Restricted Resource
Indexing and abstracts for journal literature in medicine and biology from 1965 - present.
Nutrition Abstracts Restricted Resource

Topics and journal articles indexed include food composition and nutritive value, Human health and nutrition, disease and therapeutic nutrition, and physiology and biochemistry of nutrients.


Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL)

OWL is a compilation of citations and abstracts from the worldwide scientific literature that pertain to the science of ornithology. A major attraction is its coverage of the 'grey' literature, which are not abstracted by commercial databases such as Zoological Record or the Science Citation Index. OWL deals chiefly with serial publications such as periodicals but also announces new and renamed journals and provides abstracts of other serial publications, conference proceedings, reports, and doctoral dissertations. Papers dealing exclusively with domestic and pet birds and their husbandry are excluded unless they are applicable to non-domestic birds.


PLoS: Public Library of Science Some full text available

PLoS, the Public Library of Science, is a free collection of seven online, peer-reviewed journals covering fields in science and medicine, including focused publications on biology, genetics, pathogens and tropical diseases. All of the journals are well-regarded.  These journals run on an open access model, whereby the publication is "...freely available for you to read, download, copy, distribute, and use (with attribution) any way you wish."

 


ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online platform for journals published by Elsevier.  Full text of journal articles back to 1995 from over 100 journals published by Elsevier in business, humanities, and the sciences. Also access to citation/abstract information for titles to which the library does not subscribe. 
Web of Science Restricted Resource

Index, abstracts, bibliographies, and cited references to articles from over 6,400 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.


Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of journal articles (most full text is back to 1997 to 2009) in over 250 journals in business, science, technology, and law, education, psychology and medicine.


Government Information

National Park Service--Nature and Science

This is a section of the NPS website on the biological resources found in the United States.


U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science

The Office of Science manages fundamental research programs in basic energy sciences, biological and environmental sciences, and computational science. In addition, the Office of Science is the Federal Government's largest single funder of materials and chemical sciences, and it supports unique and vital parts of U.S. research in climate change, geophysics, genomics, life sciences, and science education.


USGS Biological Resources

Within the USGS is the Biological Resources Discipline, which is in charge of disseminating scientific information regarding the management of the nation's biological resources.


Aquaculture Network Information Center (AquaNIC)

The Aquaculture Network Information Center (AquaNIC) was conceived in 1994 by the former USDA-Extension Service (currently Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Service) as one of the nation’s first network information centers to serve as a gateway to the world’s electronic aquaculture resources.


Biometrics Catalog

"The Biometrics Catalog is a U.S. Government sponsored database of information about biometric technologies including research and evaluation reports, government documents, legislative text, news articles, conference presentations, and vendors/consultants."


Science.gov

Your portal to U.S. Government scientific and technical information and data "searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies." Browse topics for links to a wide range of online information sources in areas such as Earth and Ocean Sciences, Mapping and Cartography, Computers, Communications, and Mathematics, Natural Resources and Conservation, and many more. Now also available as Science.gov Mobile!


Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of Northwestern Plants
Print Location: Ref QK144 .G5 2001
Western Washington and Oregon plants are identified here, explained through the use of analytical plant keys and terms used in the study of botany. You will find genera and species arranged alphabetically within families. Some line drawings, but no color illustrations.
Index Fungorum

This world database of fungal names contains over 370,000 names of fungi (including yeast, lichens, chromistan fungi, protozoan fungi and fossil forms) at species level and below. It has been derived from a number of published lists.


Index Herbariorum

"Included in the on-line edition of Index Herbariorum is information for 3,382 herbaria in 168 countries and 10,475 staff members associated with these herbaria. Information for over 80% of the herbaria has been updated, and 526 herbaria have been added since the eighth edition of INDEX HERBARIORUM. Information is available for searching by institution, city, state, acronym, staff member, correspondent, research specialty, and important collections. Telephone and fax numbers and e-mail and URL addresses are included. Note that the Index is fully searchable on research specialty, so it also serves as a PLANT SPECIALISTS INDEX. "


Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers

"The Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers is an NSF funded project that aims to extract and index original plant chromosome numbers of naturally occurring and cultivated plants published throughout the world. A committee of voluntary contributing editors, located in various parts of the world, reviews sets of serial titles assigned to them and returns the information to the editors for collation in the Index. Chromosome indexes are published every two years. The Index to Plant Chromosome Numbers project has been based at the Missouri Botanical Garden since 1978. Data from published indexes from 1984 onward are available for consultation through this facility."


International Code of Botanical Nomenclature

This site contains the nomenclature used for plants. Note that the print version is the official version, and check Appendix I to see how hybrids are named. There are also additional terms used for some plants found in agriculture, forestry and horticulture. These terms can be found within the International Code of Nomenclature for Cultivated Plants, (print only), the most current edition being the 7th (2004).


Toxnet [United States National Library of Medicine]

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.


Images & Primary Resources

Charles Darwin: The Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online Resource contains audio Some full text available

This site contains Charles Darwin's "complete publications and many of his handwritten manuscripts. There are over 50,000 searchable text pages and 40,000 images." Searchable, or browse by publication to view text or digitized images (or both, in some cases) of the publications. Also includes a bibliography, a manuscript catalog, a biography, and audio files of his works. From the University of Cambridge (UK).

See Also:  The Darwin Digital Library of Evolution  (http://darwin.amnh.org/)


National Biological Information Infrastructure Resource contains images

"Images related to nature and the environment. The library's collections include photographs of plant and animal species, scenic landscapes, wildlife management, and biological fieldwork. Submitted by the NBII and numerous partners, most images are freely available for general, educational, and scientific use." NOTE: The size of the pictures are rather large and take awhile to download.


U.S. Fish & Wildlife Gateway to Digital Media Resource contains images

From the U.S. Fish & Wildlife website:  [this gateway contains the] "...National Image Library--the Service's collection of public domain still photos. You may search all the images through the National Image Library link, or you may search by individual collections, which are listed underneath."  The collections are divided up by regions as well as an historic image library.  You can search using the search engine or by browsing a list of keywords.  All images in these databases are copyright free and available in the public domain.


Plants of Western Washington Collection Resource contains images

The collection consists of approximately 600 views of plants commonly found in Western Washington.  One may search by a wide variety of categories, including but not limited to  Latin name, common name, location, typical habitat, plant family and more.


World Biodiversity Database

"A continuously growing taxonomic database and information system that aims at documenting all presently known species (about 1.7 million) and to make this important biological information worldwide accessible."  Includes drawing or photograph of each species.


Organizations & Directories

American Association for the Advancement of Science

An international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association.  In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science (earlier issues online), as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and supports programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.  AAAS also provides some career reosources that are of general interest.
 


Association for Women in Science and Engineering

Aim is to advance the participation of girls and women in the sciences, from biomedicine to mathematics and the social sciences, in engineering, and in the technologies, in all areas and at all levels.


Center for North American Herpetology

The Center for North American Herpetology serves as a data bank for information about North American amphibians, turtles, reptiles, and crocodilians, and promotes the study and conservation of them by financial support of selected publications, photography, and any other appropriate medium, as well as the establishment of awards for excellence in research about these fascinating creatures. The herpetofauna in the United States and Canada consists of approximately 590 species.


dmoz Open Directory Project: Biology Associations

Portal to biology associations grouped by field of study.


EnviroLink

EnviroLink is a non-profit organization... a grassroots online community that unites hundreds of organizations and volunteers around the world with millions of people in more than 150 countries. EnviroLink is dedicated to providing comprehensive, up-to-date environmental information and news.


Nature Network

Nature Network is the online meeting place for you and fellow scientists to gather, talk and find out about the latest scientific news and events. Science is an international endeavor and deserves a global stage for discussion. Scientists can also benefit from interactions at the local level. That's why you'll see an increasing number of local city hubs on Nature Network, starting with Boston and London.


Quotations

Dictionary of Scientific Quotations

Extensive list of quotations, from Isaac Asimov to Einstein to Stephen Hawking to Mark Twain. Useful and amusing.  Available online. 


Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

Statistical Reports of U.S. Science and Engineering

A wealth of surveys, reports, and statistics on the sciences. Surveys describe the workforce and current educational trends in science.


Web Sites

AlgaeBase

AlgaeBase is a suite of resources for the study of algae, with an emphasis on taxonomy and phytogeography. The databases include taxonomic descriptions and ample cited literature arranged both taxonomically and geographically. AlgaeBase includes 1,600 images and links to other sources of images. The site offers nearly 57,000 species and infraspecific epithets, approximately 6,000 generic epithets, and a sizable glossary.


Arctic Portal
The Arctic Portal serves as a comprehensive Internet gateway to Arctic information. Featured areas such as “Science,” “People,” “Business,” “Projects,” and more are grouped into categories for easy access. An alphabetic list of acronyms commonly used in the Arctic literature is given, and an interactive map allows users to choose different Arctic variables and attributes for simple geographic analysis. Current weather conditions across the Arctic can be accessed by the map, and Arctic Webcams are available for viewing. Other features include several Arctic news feeds, a mailing list, and a calendar of upcoming Arctic events.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Arctic (NOAA) Theme Page
Hosts an abundance of Arctic links organized into two main headings. Under the “Scientific” heading are links to Arctic data, data centers, research programs, and technical information. Under “General Interest” are links of more casual appeal containing facts, news, and teaching tools about Arctic history, native peoples, exploration, and current events. An extensive gallery of Arctic photographs and imagery, streaming Webcams, informative essays in full-text, and an Arctic FAQ are showcased
Biodiversity and Biological Collections

 Within these pages you will find information about specimens in biological collections, taxonomic authority files, directories of biologists, the Delta system and links for hundreds of biodiversity and collection resources.


Biological, Agricultural and Medical Resources from INFOMINE
Large annotated collection of Internet resources related to biology, agriculture and medicine. Resources have been determined to be of use as a scholarly information resource in research or educational activities at the university level.
Biology Online
Includes tutorials, a dictionary, a forum for posting discussion questions, and a portal to other biology and science websites.
Biology Project

Designed for high school and college biology students, this site has problem sets and tutorials in Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Chemicals and Human Health, Developmental Biology, Human Biology, Immunology, Mendelian Genetics, and Molecular Biology.


BiologyBrowser

Do a search using the term "biography" to bring up a list of nearly 100 biographies of biologists. Some of the biographies also suggest related websites. Site maintained by Thomson Biosis.


Biozone: Bio Links Online Database
This site contains over five hundred links covering such topics as biology, biotechnology, diseases, evolution, and microbiology. Links are organized into sixteen main topics and sixty-five subtopics that support health and science education.
ConservOnline
ConservOnline is a one-stop, online, public library, created and maintained by The Nature Conservancy in partnership with other conservation organizations. The library makes conservation tools, techniques, and experience available to a broad community of conservation practitioners. This site is intended to foster learning and collaboration, and provide information and support to anyone making conservation-related decisions.
EarthTrends: The Environmental Information Portal

From the World Resources Insitute, comprehensive online database that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world.


Entomology Index of Internet Resources

Organizes entomological informational resources on the Internet to allow easy location. Entries are arranged by (1) content type, (2) biological taxonomy, and (3) entomological subdiscipline; information may be sorted in a variety of ways, including an advanced directory search which allows users to locate information by state. Information includes software, video, and audio products. This ongoing project, sponsored by the Iowa State University entomology department, now spans more than a decade.


FishBase

The most comprehensive and widely consulted database on the world's fish species. It encompasses 29,000 species, more than 76,000 synonyms, 209,800 common names, 40,100 pictures, and 37,300 references, and draws on support from 1,280 collaborators. Information on fish biology is structured in more than 1,000 database fields grouped into 60 major and 70 minor tables; altogether the database offers more than two million records.


History of life through time
From the University of California Museum of Paleontology.  This web site helps to investigate and promote the understanding of the history of life and the diversity of the Earth's biota through research and education
Intute: Health and Life Sciences

Links to hand-selected and evaluated Internet resources for students, lecturers, researchers and practitioners in the Health and Life Sciences.  Formerly known as BIOME.


Kimball's Biology Pages
This superb free Web site is truly deserving of the numerous awards and commendations it has received. Although a portion of the information is derived from Kimball's Biology (6th ed., 1994), the author (emer., Tufts and Harvard) updates the site at least monthly, incorporating new research. The format and links work well with the highly multifaceted nature of this discipline. Material is presented in a well-organized, logical sequence with excellent explanations of key concepts, allowing students to see relationships easily. The illustration and indexing are similarly well done. The site offers a search engine, A-Z index, and table of contents, along with a section on biology news. More than just a textbook, this site can function as an encyclopedic dictionary of biology.
Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


Microbes.info: The Microbiology Information Portal

Excellent portal site that gathers Web-based information, from general topics to environmental, food, industrial, and medical microbiology.


National Library of Medicine

The NLM is the world's largest biomedical library. This website provides information about all of its major programs, including medical research, medical history, biotechnology, and HIV/ AIDS resources.


National Science Digital Library

From the website: "NSDL was established by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2000 as an online library which directs users to exemplary resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research. Access to most of the resources discovered through NSDL is free; however, some content providers may require a login, or a nominal fee or subscription to retrieve their specific resources."  You can search for audio, video, interactive resources, data and full text articles.


National Science Foundation - Biological Sciences
This link takes you to the NSF directory page for Biology. Here you can find links to biology organizations, funding opportunities, and information on how to prepare a grant proposal and current news topics and scientific discoveries.
Nature.com

Nature is a weekly journal of science.Nature.com contains subject areas on physics, along with sections on chemistry, life sciences, medicine, earth sciences and the environment.  The website also includes podcasts of the Nature show and videos.  Some of the information contained in here (journal articles, etc.) may have a full text option but are available only to subscribers of Nature.com.  To access an article, try searching the CWU Library catalog and "Electronic Journals" webpage for journal titles to which CWU Library owns a subscription.


NEARCTICA
"Nearctica combines original material and heavily annotated links to bring you all of the natural world of North America. Highly organized, easy to access by either keyword or a very extensive index of topics, and presented in a simple manner."
Neuroethics

This up-to-date informational gateway to the emerging ethical issues from the different branches of neuroscience (e.g., neurology, psychiatry, cognitive science, and psychopharmacology) is easy to navigate; information is clearly displayed and very creditable. Most of the links are to academic literature; they direct users to downloadable articles or abstracts that can be accessed through full-text database services.

 


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Stem cells in the spotlight
In light of the recent debates over stem cell research, this Web site provides an introduction to stem cells and their uses for those interested in learning more about the subject. It gives the general public a background in the many areas surrounding stem cell work so that people can make informed opinions about the subject. Step by step, each topic is logically presented with detailed definitions, animation, and appropriate links for further investigation. Topics include an introduction to stem cells, the different stem cell sources, the goals of stem cell research, current stem cell therapies, designing experimental models, recent studies on Parkinson's disease, and ethical issues surrounding stem cells.
Strategian: The Strategic Guide to Quality Information in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and Psychology

Searchable database with lots of links, including a database that provides citations to important articles, books, documents published before 1969.


Tree of Life Web Project
"The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists from around the world. On more than 4000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history (phylogeny), and characteristics. Each page contains information about a particular group of organisms (e.g., echinoderms, tyrannosaurs, phlox flowers, cephalopods, club fungi, or the salamanderfish of Western Australia). ToL pages are linked one to another hierarchically, in the form of the evolutionary tree of life. Starting with the root of all Life on Earth and moving out along diverging branches to individual species, the structure of the ToL project thus illustrates the genetic connections between all living things."
Virtual Library of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Provides links to other websites on biochemistry and cell biology.
MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.


Items Of Interest

Classification of Living Things

Tutorial on the Linnaean system of classification used in the biological sciences to describe and categorize all living things.


PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Darwin Digital Library of Evolution

The Darwin Digital Library of Evolution is based at the American Museum of Natural History Library. The goal of this undertaking is to make the full literature of evolution available online within a historically and topically coherent structure. The work of Charles Robert Darwin is our pivot, but our framework includes the 17th century to the present and encompasses the history of evolution as a scientific theory with deep roots and broad cultural consequences. DDLE is a pilot project drawing on resources of members of the Biodiversity Heritage Library Consortium1 contributions are included from the Natural History Museum (London) and the Missouri Botanical Garden.


Darwin's Fishes : An Encyclopedia of Ichthyology, Ecology, and Evolution
Print Location: Ref QL614.7 .P38 2004

Presents a unique encyclopedia based upon everything that Charles Darwin ever wrote about fish. Entries are arranged alphabetically and can be about, for example, a particular fish taxon, an anatomical part, a chemical substance, a scientist, a place, or an evolutionary or ecological concept. The reader can start wherever they like and are then led by a series of cross-references on a fascinating voyage of interconnected entries, each indirectly or directly connected with original writings from Darwin himself. Along the way, the reader is offered interpretation of the historical material put in the context of both Darwin's time and that of contemporary biology and ecology.


Exploratorium Learning Studio Resource contains audio Some full text available

The Exploratorium, a science museum founded in 1969 by physicist Frank Oppenheimer, contains a number of science / art / human perception exhibits within the San Francisco Palace of Fine Arts.  The Exploratorium's website acts as both an exhibit space for sound and video webpages, and as an indexed megasite of award-winning web pages covering all areas of science.


National Tropical Botanical Garden: Meet the Plants

Learn about plants from tropical regions of the world by browsing sections for uses of plants (such as clothing or medicine), regions, types of plants (such as trees), and rare, poisonous, and edible plants. Plant profiles feature descriptions, photos, and (in some cases) audio clips. Also includes a photo gallery. From the National Tropical Botanical Garden, a nonprofit group "dedicated to discovering, saving, and studying the world's tropical plants and to sharing what is learned."


Scientific American: Ask the Experts

"Queries range from the profound (Is it possible to travel through time?) to the everyday (How does a.microwave oven cook food?) and from the interesting (What illnesses do insects get?) to the surprising (How do whales sleep without drowning?"


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: John Creech

John Creech
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1081

Call Numbers/Subjects