Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Black History Month

« Back To Guides Selection


Selected Items of Interest
The History of Surveillance and the Black Community: A short but well-documented summary of the government's history of surveillance of African American organizations and individuals by the NSA, FBI, and CIA. Links to other information sources including FBI documents available under the Freedom of Information Act expand on this concise history.
About This Guide
This research guide is and will always be a work in progress. I hope it will also be a collaborative effort. So, please contact the subject specialist with any comments about resources that should or should not be included, typos, broken links, or other suggestions for improvement. Thanks!

The chat widget on the right will connect you with a librarian on duty at CWU or another library at the time. If you prefer the subject specialist, please use the contact information in that box. Also, Zoho is a third party service so their terms and policies are not controlled by CWU.
All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

WSLS-TV (Roanoke, VA) News Film Collection, 1951 to 1971 Resource contains video
While these news films are from a local station in Virginia, they provide a rare and unusually complete view of local television news from 1951 to 1971. This period covers Virginia's "Civil rights era" as well as the bulk of the Vietnam War. 3,600 clips are currently available, with well over twice as many more, plus scripts, planned to be included by the end of 2013. The collection "includes a significant amount of coverage of Massive Resistance and the Civil Rights Movement in Virginia. National figures and issues that affected the Roanoke area, such as visits from U. S. presidents and the eradication of polio through vaccination, are also discoverable." Browse by date from the home page or choose "Search Inside Collection" to either search or browse using facets offered in the left menu of the search page.

Biographical Information

African American Writers
Print Location: Ref PS 153 N5 A344 2001 (2 vols.)
Provides biographical essays with explication of the works by African American Writers as well as bibliographies of works for further research. Vol. 1 has a chronology from 1441-2000.
African American National Biography
Print Location: E185.96 .A4466 2008

Eight volumes, alphabetically arranged:  v. 1. Aaron-Brown, Ruth -- v.2. Brown, S.-Diggs -- v.3. Dihigo-Gwynn -- v.4 Hacker-Jones, Sarah -- v.5. Jones, Scipio-Moore, Kevin -- v.6. Moore, Lenny-Romain -- v.7. Roman-Tzomes -- v.8. Uggams-Zuber


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Print Location: Reference, First Floor, DT14. A37435 2005
The five volumes of Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience cover African American history and culture in the present-day United States, African American history and culture throughout the Americas, and the origins of African Americans in Africa. The more than 4,000 articles range from Affirmative Action to Zydeco, and span over four million years from the earliest-known hominids to 2005.

A comprehensive index, a topical index, a chronology, and a bibliography arranged by broad subject, are included. Country essays include an "At a Glance" table that provides data on population, religion, climate, economic activity, government, and more.
See Also:

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

e-Duke Scholarly Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection contains the full text of journal articles from 31 Duke University Press humanities and social science journals back to 2000.  CWU subscribes to the E-Duke Standard Collection (click the link for a list of titles and the full text access date ranges for the available content).  An 'Advanced Search' option is also available. Our subscription was canceled as of January 2013, but we will still have content from previous years available from this link.  Search our catalog by Journal Title for other access options or also try the Project Muse database for similar content.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

Project MUSE contains scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently MUSE includes: 274,848 articles and 479,457 chapters by 199 publishers, and probably has some useful information about your topic.

The Brooks Library has a partial subscription to Project MUSE, thus some items are available to you in Project MUSE and some items are only available elsewhere. You can do a Journal Title Search, a Book Title Search, a Summit Search, a Google Scholar Search, or contact the Reference Desk to access a fulltext copy of any citations that might be unavailable in Project MUSE.

Project MUSE can be searched by Keyword (options for narrowing your search will be to the left of your results), browsed by Research Area, by All Title, by Publisher, by Book Title, and by Journal Title. An option for displaying "Only content I have full access to" is usually available, but since we often have access to that content through another database, Summit, or Interlibrary Loan, you should probably search Project MUSE both ways.
 


Images & Primary Resources

1963 March on Washington Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
This post on the Library of Congress(LOC) blog, The Signal, links to a couple of Library of Congress resources, but highlights several others outside of the LOC including the World Digital Library, Historypin, PBS News Hour, the Armistad Digital Resource for Teaching African American History, and the Williams College Digital Collection. Between them, these provide overview text, links to additional resources, teaching guidance, and digitized images, ephemeral, and other primary resources.
Brooks Library Digital Collections: Roslyn Black History Resource contains images
"A collection of 84 historic photographs dating from the late 1800s to the 1960s of African-American miners, settlers and residents of the coal mining community of Roslyn, Washington."

It may also be useful to search all of Brooks' Digital Collections using terms such as "African," "negro," or "black."

For additional information about black history in Roslyn and elsewhere, use the library catalog search (for example, search "Roslyn history" without quote marks) or the subject headings, both to the right on this page.
Harlem Renaissance Primary Source Set Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio

Images of Bessie Smith and Langston Hughes, a draft of a Hughes poem, the report on the 1919 Pan African Congress in Seattle's Cayton's Weekly, Levi C. Hubert's satirical 1936 WPA Life History essay "The Whites Invade Harlem," and many more items are available in this small but rich collection. Think of each one as a guidepost to a Library of Congress resource that may be of use to you. A page of the composer's manuscript of Eubie Blake's Charleston Rag is provided by the Prints & Photographs Online Catalog, for example. What else might they have including and beyond the images you might expect? A 1921 page from the New York Tribune is from the Chronicling America collection of historical newspapers, another deep source of primary documents. Click on the title under the thumbnail image to see what collection it is from and other information, or click on the "View PDF" or similar link to go directly to the item.


Historical African American Newspapers Available Online
Prepared and maintained by a librarian at Marist College, this LibGuide research guide provides links to many African American papers nationwide. Although a number are for Marist Users only, many others are freely available online. Can be browsed by title or region. If you want access to one that is subscription-based (says "MARIST USERS ONLY"), be sure to search the CWU catalog by title to see whether we have access.
Innocence Project Some full text available
The Innocence Project is "a national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted people through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice." As such, it is not directly about race. Nonetheless, their data show the influence of race. Of the 311 exonerees (at the time of the report), they report 193 African Americans, 94 Caucasians, 22 Latinos, and 2 Asian Americanl. More reports and information can be found by entering the term "race" (without quote marks) in the search box at the web site.
Survey of Racial Attitudes in the Broadview Neighborhood Some full text available
This is a "[s]urvey conducted by the Seattle Urban League to investigate the racial attitudes of residents of Seattle's Broadview neighborhood, in response to a 1948 incident in which residents circulated petitions requesting that a biracial family be forced to move out of the neighborhood." This is not very generalizable, but is an interesting snapshot of attitudes in a specific time and place.
Voting Rights Act of 1965 Some full text available
A Supreme Court ruling has changed the landscape around this landmark civil rights legislation. The GPO's FDSys system provides this certified copy of the original legislation. FDSys also provides access to many other important laws, regulations, and related documents through the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register, the U.S. Code, and other sources.
University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections Resource contains images Some full text available

Materials from the University of Washington Libraries, University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW. Collections are primarily pictorial, although some have accompanying essays and text. Other media are presented, such as newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters and maps. The emphasis of these collections is on rare and unique materials and it is a great resource for Pacific Northwest history topics.


Web Sites

African-American Odyssey Some full text available Resource contains images

This resource includes a special presentation - African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship - plus several digital collections: Frederick Douglas Papers at the Library of Congress, Jackie Robinson and Other Baseball Highlights, 1860s to 1960s, Born in Slavery..., From Slavery to Freedom..., and Slavery and the Courts, 1740-1860. All draw on the vast and often unique collections of the Library of Congress. Interpretive text is accompanied by links to digital surrogates of a wide range of primary materials. In the collection "Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938" look for the "View page images" hypertext links within the record for each individual to get to the transcripts.


BlackPast.org: An Online Reference Guide to African American History Some full text available
Under the direction of Quintard Taylor, The Black Past; Remembered and Reclaimed presents information and resources for the study of the history of people of African ancestry in the United States and worldwide. Includes "full text primary documents and major speeches of black activists and leaders from the 18th Century to the present." See the left menu for special pages for LGBTQ, about Barack Obama, and more. Continue scrolling down the left menu for more including Primary Documents and Research Guides and Web Sites for each of the three major sections: African American History, African American History in the West, and Global African History. The bottom of the home page features useful external links. "Directed toward multiple audiences ranging from scholars and researchers to the general public."
Citation Fox
Citation Fox provides templates and examples. It is not a citation generator. It covers only APA (where this link will land you) and MLA (linked from the bottom of the page) and claims to demonstrate format for over 500 resource types.
Knight Cite
Choose your citation style (MLA, Chicago, or APA) and your resource type in the left menu, fill in the blanks and - voilà - a recommended complete citation! As with all citation generators, check it manually to make sure it is correct.
University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide Some full text available
From the "Citation Guides" link you will find links to handy little two page summaries (for MLA, CSE, Chicago, and APA) of the most commonly encountered citation situations. Print them out double-sided and tuck them in your notebook or wherever is convenient so you can have them at the ready for any citation emergency... or non-emergency. Includes quick handouts for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE styles and links to more detailed formatting guidelines.
Black History Month
From the online InfoPlease Almanac, excellent lists of timelines and much more.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Euster

Lisa Euster
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1642

Catalog Search
QR Code
Scan to view this guide on your mobile device.
Ask A Librarian Chat
New York Times Black History & Culture

Loading ...

Related Research Guides
There are additional research guides that may help you with your research. Here are a few:

Africana and Black Studies
Citation & Style Manuals for the Social Sciences
Ethnic Studies
History (Americas, World)
Sociology