Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Business Administration

« Back To Guides Selection


All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

Oxford Reference Online: Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

For digital collections of original maps, see also the research guide section "Images Online & in Databases."


Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of American Business Leaders
Print Location: Third Floor, HC102.5 A2 I53 1983 Some full text available

The Biographical Dictionary of American Business Leaders is a four volume collection of biographies on business leaders from colonial times to approximately 1945. The biographies focus on their subjects' business achievements and conclude with brief bibliographies. Appendixes group biographies by birthplace, company, ethnicity, industry, location of business activity, religion, year of birth, and include an index of women business leaders.

For additional, and more recent, information please see the Subject Terms:

Additional biographies of businessmen are available through Summit.


Contemporary American Business Leaders: A Biographical Dictionary
Print Location: Call Number: Ref HC102.5 A2 I534 1990 Some full text available

This book is a companion volume to the 1983 set below.  It contains biographies of historically significant businessmen and women active after 1945.  There were relatively few biographies in the previous set that were post 1945.  If a person was mentioned in both books there is an asterisk beside their name.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

BusinessDictionary.com Some full text available

BusinessDictionary.com features over 20,000 definitions and over 115,000 links between related terms providing a clear and concise description of any and all business terms.  You can search by keyword, browse by letter, or use  subject-specific dictionaries to help you learn the terminology you're interested in.


Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands
Print Location: http://Call Number: Ref HF5415.3 .E527 1994 Some full text available

Multivolume set with articles on specific brands of consumable and personal products, and durable goods.  Provides information on the brand origin and development, marketing strategy, advertising and predictions of its future.


Encyclopedia of Management
Print Location: Ref HD 30.15 E49 2000

Over 348 essays covering terms, issues, and concepts. Essays may include background data, graphics, and statistics. Includes a subject guide to "functional-area readings".


Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history: geography, agriculture, demography, macroeconomic history, international economics, finance, labor, natural resources, and biographies.


Finding Books

Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Cattrax is the online catalog that describes nearly all the materials held by the Brooks Library: books, government documents, maps, microforms, journals, and other items. Below is everything you may want to know about using Cattrax:

Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library:
1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box.

2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search."

3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed.

(Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.)

4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. Books labeled with call numbers between A and J can be found on the 3rd floor, while books classified as K to Z can be found on the fourth floor. All government documents, maps, and microforms can be found on the 3rd floor, and all musical recordings on the 4th floor. Physical journals, magazines, and serials are housed on the 2nd floor, while DVDs, video tapes and films may be found on the 1st floor. Children's books are located on the 4th floor.

More Information about Cattrax:
You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box.

Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, a citation tool, and often book cover images.

You can save the bib record to either "My Lists" (requires you to use your Library Log-in) or you can "Save to Bag" and remember to email, save, or print the resulting list of titles before you finish your session with Cattrax.

Once you have saved the useful results from your first search, you can perform more searches--perhaps starting by opening the author link, the subject terms (toward the bottom of the bib record), or the call number in a new browser tab, or by using the search box to start a totally new search.

(Note: If you click "Call #," you can sort search results by something like shelf order, allowing you to browse for books on similar topics. Of course, you may wish to look on the actual physical shelves--discovery happens in many ways.)

Additional Cattrax Information:
The “Request” service, located in the upper left of a bib record page, is only available for Center Campus Students. This is because Center campus students would need to use more than the stairs or the elevator to get a book from Brooks Library. (If you are a main campus student wishing to check out a book in a Center Library, please consult the Circulation Desk.)

The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.

If you have the citation for an article, you can search for journal titles by selecting "Journal/Serial Title" in the search options. Using this tool, you can discover if the library has access to print or digital copies of the journal in question. The library often has access to a journal through more than one database. If you do not succeed in locating the journal or article that you need, please consult one of our charming Brooks Library Librarians, or submit a request to our very resourceful Interlibrary Loan Department.

If your professor said that something you needed to read was on "Reserve" (the professor may have said "in the library" or something roughly equivalent), you can locate the item by searching in Cattrax by "Course" or "Prof/TA"--that is, by course or professor's name.

Last but certainly not least, if your item is not available in Cattrax, try requesting it through Summit, the unified catalog of 37 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest. If an item is also unavailable through Summit, you may wish to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection.  EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books in the areas of:

Children's & Young Adult NonfictionLiterature & Criticism
Arts & ArchitectureMathematics
Biographies & MemoirsPhilosophy
Business & EconomicsPolitical Science
Computer SciencePsychology
EducationReference Works
Engineering & TechnologyReligion
FictionSciences
General NonfictionSelf-Help & Family
Health & MedicineSocial Sciences
HistoryStudy Aids & Language Learning
Law
 
Note: EBSCO's classifications of these books is a bit imaginative, in each of the above categories there will be some books that you would not expect to see in that list.

You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.

Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

Finding News Articles

Biznar Some full text available

A free business website that searches the World Wide Web and returns results in order of relevancy to your search query.   It will turn up not only articles, but blogs and wikis, etc.  While not every citation you are directed to in Biznar will be freely accessible, you can then check our library databases and catalog for the journal title / volume in which  the citation is published.  Use the "Electronic Journals" link off our library homepage to search for a specific journal title in our databases, or do a "Journal / Series Title" search in our catalog (CATTRAX).


Gallup Organization

Gallup site includes news articles and poll information on consumer trends, employment, business and industry, government, and hot topics across the globe and in the United States.


WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


Business Source Complete [Ebsco] Restricted Resource Some full text available

Ebsco's interdisciplinary business database, Business Source Complete, contains full-text for more than 8,800 journals back to 1965 (or the first issue of that journal published) and the searchable cited references go back as far as 1998 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.  Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, etc.

If you find Business Source Complete useful you may also be interested in EBSCO's "Regional Business News".  Regional Business News contains comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.  Includes a "Subject Area" search for Accounting, Environmental Studies, Health & Medical Care, and Government & Politics.  For search strategies, you may wish to view the Lexis Nexis YouTube channel.


PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service Restricted Resource Some full text available
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International database covers a wide range of current and past public policy issues, emphasizing factual and statistical information.  Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations.

The PAIS International database is continually updated with information about over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world.  (Newspapers and newsletters are not usually indexed.)  A useful 'Advanced Search' is available, as well as a way to search for Figures & Tables.

PAIS is an index, it does not contain the full text of articles – but you do not care about that until you find a citation for an article you would like to read.  When you find citations for possibly useful articles you can search for the full text by doing a Journal Title Search.  You can also search for a full text copy through Google ScholarAs always more assistance in acquiring the full text of an article is available at the Reference Desk.

Note: The PAIS database is provided to us by Proquest. In the upper left corner of the PAIS search page there is a link that will say “Searching:1 database”.  If you click that link you will see a list of the 9 databases that you can select and search through this interface.  In addition to PAIS you can also search:
(Three of these databases are fulltext. The Proquest Sitemap page can provide you with information about some useful options.)


Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of journal articles (most full text is back to 1997 to 2009) in over 250 journals in business, science, technology, and law, education, psychology and medicine.


Government Information

USA.gov - Official Government Web Portal

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.USA.gov is the U.S. government web portal to all federal, state, tribal, and local government web resources and services. USA.gov is intended to help people navigate government information, procedures, and policies.

Through USA.gov you can apply for benefits online (including grants), contact a government agency or department, or use the most comprehensive search of government websites.  You can also search for Government Publications, for information specifically relevant to you, and for contact information for government employees and officials.
 


Business.gov

"Business.gov guides you through the maze of government rules and regulations and provides access to services and resources to help you start, grow, and succeed in business." Download forms here or search for information by region or industry.


Export.gov Some full text available

Export.gov is a portal to many government sites and partner agencies that pertain to international business.  Included is training, guides forms for exporting, trade insights on each industry, common problems in exporting, and trade data & analysis.


U.S. Census Bureau

Good starting point for population, demographic and other data.


U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)

Formerly known as The General Accounting Office (GAO) (name change 2004) the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) "is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress...." and " investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars."  Most helpful is the Topic Collections tab, which groups together reports and testimonies related to a wide variety of topics, from Immigration to the US Elections.


Handbooks & Guides

How 10: A Handbook for Office Professionals (10th Edition)
Print Location: Ref 5726 .C55 2003

Grammar and style guide for business writing and communications.


Human Resources Glossary: The Complete Desk Reference for HR
Print Location: Ref HF 5549 A23 T73 1998

Provides definitions, abbreviations, acronyms, and phrases for HR practitioners. Also, includes an index of key terms arranged by HR area.


Standard and Poors NetAdvantage Restricted Resource

Comprehensive source of business and investment information from Standard and Poor's research products: Corporate Records, Stock Reports, Industry Survey, Register, Outlook, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earning Guide, Dividend Record, and Mutual Fund Reports.


Ultimate Book of Business Thinking
Print Location: Ref HD30.29 D4 2003 Some full text available

Alphabetically arranged entries on business-centered ideology. Among the topics are Benchmarking, Crisis Management, E-commerce, Game Theory, Kaizen, Maslo's Hierarchy of Needs, Ringi, TQM [Total Quality Management], and Virtual Organization.


Organizations & Directories

Federal Trade Commission

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) works to ensure that the nation's markets are vigorous, efficient and free of restrictions that harm consumers. Experience demonstrates that competition among firms yields products at the lowest prices, spurs innovation and strengthens the economy. Markets also work best when consumers can make informed choices based on accurate information.


International Directory of Company Histories
Print Location: Ref HD 2721 .D36 Some full text available

Overviews of the world's top public, private and nonprofit companies (with earnings over $25 million U.S. dollars). Provides contact and ownership information, including an English version of its name, founding or incorporation dates, number of employees, recent sales figures, its mission, ideals, sometimes a short chronology, and lists of principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units, and competitors. Includes a list of articles for further research, as well. The library has from 1988 to the volume of the current year.


Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Test Reviews Online Some full text available

Access test information, with some reviews of the tests available in print in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series. Search by alphabetic or category listings, or by keyword. You will find information on nearly 4,000 commercially available tests.

For the Mental Measurements Yearbook series, see Reference 1st Floor, Call Number Z5814 P8 B932. We have these for the years 1940-47; 1953; 1959; 1965; 1972; 1978; 1985; 1989; 1992; 1995; 1998; 2001; 2003; 2005; 2007; 2010. (Check catalog for most current year).

See also: Buros Desk Reference: Psychological Assessment in the Schools (Ref BF722 B8 1994).


Value Line Restricted Resource

Includes full-page reports and analyst commentaries as well as Timeliness and Safety ranks on 1,700 stocks covered by The Value Line Investment Survey.


Statistics & Measurements

Business Statistics on the Web
Print Location: Ref 1016 .B47 2003 Resource contains images Some full text available

Information on how to locate worldwide, business-related statistics and company, market, and industry data on the Internet. Includes URL addresses to some of the most useful business sites.  For business statistics, you can search by industry or economy.


Doing Business

Cited by a national organization of reference librarians as one of the top nine free websites, the Doing Business website provides reports and rankings of business regulations  as well as regulation reforms in nearly 200 economies around the world.


Intute: Statistics
This site contains links to social science statistical information available online.  The links are organized into the following broad categories:Note: Intute closed in July 2011.  The site has now been archived and no additional resources are being added to the catalogue, nor are any changes being made to existing content.  Intute is still a large and useful site and is well worth your taking the time to look through it. 
(If you see any links in Intute or elsewhere that should be promoted to having their own entry in this or another Research Guide please let me know.)

NationMaster.com

NationMaster is the world's largest online database for comparing countries in the world, with all of the same features in StateMaster, as well as an educational area with free lesson plans and the unique GeoLabs, which give students all over the world an opportunity to navigate through the database and send results to their teacher via e-mail. 


OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
The OFFSTATS database provides links to free, official statistical resources for countries, region or subjects from around the world, with a particularly rich selection of resources focusing on Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands.  The links include information from Non Governmental Organizations (NGO) and many of the links are to local and subject-oriented sites offering otherwise obscure sources, including information on countries as small as Tonga and Belize.  OFFSTATS provides an abundance of difficult-to-find data sources, including links to armaments data from the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute and elections data from the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance.  Click here to see what links have most recently been added to this database.

(Some specialized databases are only available to the University of Auckland staff and students.  If you need information that is not available through this site please consult a Reference Librarian.)


STAT-USA Restricted Resource

U.S. economic performance data, National Trade Data Bank, and statistical information.


StateMaster.com Resource contains images Some full text available

StateMaster is a free resource which allows users to compare US States with over 3,000 different statistics. The site has graphing, plotting, mapping and correlation tools, as well as thousands of maps and flags and detailed state profiles.


Web Sites

Business Researchers Interests (BRINT)

Originated at the University of Pittsburgh as a topical, current source on information technology as it relates to business.


Consumers International

Website for consumer groups worldwide that work to protect consumer's rights on an national and international level. Features industry and regional reports, policy recommendations, and other material about consumer topics such as corporate social responsibility, food safety, World Consumer Rights Day (in March), and international standards. Some materials available in Spanish.


dmoz Open Directory Project: Business Management

Links to over 4,500 business management-related websites, grouped by subject, such as financial, knowledge management, management information systems, and strategic planning.


Everything International Some full text available

This portal to valuable, free Internet resources relevant to global business includes regularly updated content and a brief annotation for each Web resource. The site is divided into 10 main lists: Country and Regional Data, Education, Mega Sites and General Data, Travel, Product Classification Systems, International Organizations, News, Company and Industry Data, Market Entry (Export) Assistance, and Professional Associations. For more international business resources, see GlobalEDGE.


GlobalEDGE Some full text available

Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects you to a wealth of learning resources on global business activities. Includes diagnostic tools, news, country "insights", industry profiles and web resources.


Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


Internet Public Library: Business & Economics Gateway

Offers thousands of annotated, reviewed links across all disciplines.  Like the Librarians' Internet Index (http://lii.org) this is an excellent place to begin Web-based research and a great place for quick answers to questions.  The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology.


Intute: Business and Management

Intute: Business and Management provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. "Each resource has been evaluated and categorized by subject specialists based at UK universities [but content is not limited to UK websites or UK in scope]."  Also includes a  tutorial for an introductory tour of the subject.


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Virtual International Business & Economic Sources (VIBES)

Provides global, regional, and national listings of over 1,600 links to Internet sources of international business and economic information available in English.  Search worldwide, regionally, or nationally for recent articles, reports, statistical tables, graphs and portals to other websites.


World Bank Some full text available

The World Bank provides international  financial and technical assistance to (over 100) developing countries and consists of two development institutions owned by 184 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). Use the tabs in the header to search by country, for specific ongoing projects, topics, and publications.  You can also search the "Data & Research" tab to search by keyword for statistics, reports and analyses of global trends.

 


Items Of Interest

PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Advertising Icon Museum Resource contains images Some full text available

An online museum of company's advertising characters / figurines.  You can click on each display case of the museum, and from there click on specific figurines to find out the history behind the character--such as how the Michelin Man came to be and who was a close contender for the prestige of marketing Kellogg's Frosted Flakes.  If the default page does not take you to the online exhibit, also try http://advertisingiconmuseum.org/main.html 


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Marcus Kieltyka

Marcus Kieltyka
Instruction & Reference Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1960

Call Numbers/Subjects