Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/www/sp/control/includes/classes/sp_Pluslet_3.php on line 41
Brooks Library Research Guides: Communication
Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Communication

« Back To Guides Selection


Changes!!!!!

The new & improved Communication Research Guide is now available.  The new url is http://libguides.lib.cwu.edu/communication; in a few weeks the 'Research Guides' link on the Brooks Library webpage will be accordingly updated as we complete our transition to Libguides, but since this guide is ready now I am announcing it here now.  Please feel free to contact me with any suggestions for improvements or additions.

Also 'now available' is a Communication Department inspired guide on finding legally reusable images and music:  http://libguides.lib.cwu.edu/reuseimagesmusic

All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

OpenStreetMap

OpenStreetMap is a free worldwide map created by more than half a million volunteers around the globe.  You may use the export tab to download a map (in a variety of formats), or you can download the data that composes the map and use it in a variety of ways under OpenStreetMap's Open Database License.  Other nifty options include the OpenStreetMapBrowser, some ever-improving OpenStreetMap Services, and additional printing options for when the export tab is not enough.

Because OpenStreetMap is created and maintained by people like you, you can Create a User Account and help improve the map (a Help Forum is available).


Oxford Reference Online: Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

For digital collections of original maps, see also the research guide section "Images Online & in Databases."


Atlas of World History
Print Location: Third Floor, G1030 .A85 1999
With impeccable scholarship The Atlas of World History traces 12,000 years of history with 450 full color maps and over 200,000 words of text.  Additionally more than 200 illustrations and tables complement the fascinating chronological written narrative.  Longer essays outline worldwide trends, political developments and military conflicts, highlighting the most significant socio-economic, cultural and religious themes for five pivotal historical periods.  The pre-European history of Africa, Asia and the Americas is covered as well as current scholarship allows.  Cross references and an 8,000 entry index with alternative name forms also permit movement through regions and time periods with the utmost of ease.

A variety of similar, often more specialized, texts can be found under the Subject Term "Historical geography -- Maps".

Atlas of the Evolving Earth
Print Location: Third Floor, G1046.C1 .M6 2001
The Atlas of the Evolving Earth is a 3-volume set depicting the development of the Earth and the evolution of its life-forms, presented chronologically from about four billion years ago to the present.  Geological and biological developments of each era are presented with well-written text, maps, time lines, illustrations, and photographs.  Sidebars describe important events and concepts.  400 full-color illustrations, photographs, and maps are included in this atlas.  A glossary provides succinct definitions of important terms, and both bibliographical references and an index are included.

Additional information can be found through the Subject Terms “Physical Geography” and “Historical Geology”.


Biographical Information

American Journalism History : an annotated bibliography
Print Location: Fourth Floor, Z6951 S54 1989
American Journalism History: an annotated bibliography is a comprehensive annotated bibliography of American journalism history from 1690 to 1988.   In addition its 2,600 entries provide information on dissertations, articles, monographs, books and reference materials published between 1810 and 1988.
See also:
  • American Magazine Journalists, 1741-1850. Call#: PS 129 D45 vol.73 (in Reference).

  • American Magazine Journalists, 1850-1900. Call#: PS 129 D45 vol.79 (in Reference).

  • American Magazine Journalists, 1900-1960, first series. Call#: PS 129 D45 vol.91 (in Reference).

  • American Literary Journalists, 1900-1960, second series. Call#: PS 129 D45 vol.137 (in Reference).



Women in Communication: A Biographical Sourcebook
Print Location: Fourth Floor, P 94.5 W65 W667 1996
Women in communication: a biographical sourcebook contains 48 biographies of women who were or are pioneers in journalism, contemporary media professionals, and scholars in interpersonal, organizational, and mass communication. Each profile examines the woman's family background, education, mentors, career path, major contributions and achievements, and concludes with a bibliography of the most important scholarly publications.

See Also: Women in the mass media industry.


American National Biography
Print Location: CT213.A68 1999
This set of biographical dictionaries features over 17,500 profiles of historical figures in American history, as well as a bibliography. The scope of the work runs from the earliest recorded European explorations in the Americas to the very recent past.

Biography.com

This site, operated by the Biography Channel, contains tens of thousands of biographies, some quite detailed.  Biographical video and short biographical video clips are also available.  There is also a page with examples of how to properly cite this site.


Pulitzer Prizes

Information about the Pulitzer prizes for American journalism, letters, drama and music can be found here with the lists of prize winners since 1917.


Biographical Directory of the American Congress, 1774-Present

This U.S. Government site contains paragraph length biographies of members of Congress and related officials, from 1774 to the present.  Entries may also contain bibliographic citations and references to research collections containing additional information on the Representative, Senator, Vice President, President, Delegate, Resident Commissioner, Continental Congress, or Speaker of the House.  Also, take a look at the links to pages on the history of the House (Office of the Clerk--U.S. House of Representatives) and the Senate (Senate Historical Office).


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

1001 Legal Words You Need to Know
Print Location: Reference, 1st Floor, KF156 .A113 2003
1001 Legal Words You Need to Know is a comprehensive guide to the language of the American legal system.  Every legal term is carefully defined and explained with a sample sentence, and many entries have supplementary notes.

This excellent book also includes information on understanding wills, trusts, and inheritance, power of attorney, contracts, suing and being sued, choosing a lawyer, law school, and enjoying lawyer dramas.  An extensive list of legal aid organizations and a helpful bibliography of books about the law and lawyers is also provided.
See Also:

Black's Law Dictionary (8th Edition)
Print Location: Reference, 1st Floor, KF156 .B53 2004
Black's Law Dictionary is the standard for legal language in the English-speaking world. In addition to the Dictionary itself this volume also includes:
  • alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms and West Key Numbers,
  • a Bibliography,
  • British regnal years,
  • definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms,
  • Federal Circuit maps,
  • Legal maxims,
  • a Table of legal abbreviations,
  • the Constitution of the United States of America,
  • the date when selected terms were first used in English-language contexts, especially in judicial opinions,
  • thousands of quotations drawn from sources over five centuries,
  • and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

In addition to the copy available in the ARC (Reference) there are also copies available at CWU-Lynnwood and CWU-Des Moines under the same call number.  There is also a copy of an earlier 1999 edition that can be checked out at KF156 .B532 1999 on the Fourth Floor.


Abbreviations of Chemical Compounds

To use, type in an abbreviation of the name of a chemical compound.


Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
Print Location: Reference, 1st Floor, QA276.14 .E84 2006
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics provides definition of over 3,600 statistical terms, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational aspects. The definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and provide standard formulae. The majority of definitions also give a reference to a book or article where you can seek further or more specialized information, and many entries are accompanied by graphical material that aids understanding. Entries are also provided for standard and specialized statistical software. Additionally short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given.

For additional information please see these Subject Terms:

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
With over two million entries, Oxford Reference Online is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the "looking for a clue" or "needing verification" stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books--and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!

Use Quick Reference materials to discover a variety of Subjects, Timelines, Quotations, English Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.

Oxford's Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
ArchaeologyMedia studies
Art & ArchitectureMedicine and health
Bilingual dictionariesMusic
Classical studiesNames studies
EncyclopediasPerforming arts
English Dictionaries and ThesauriPhilosophy
HistoryQuotations
Language referenceReligion
LawScience and technology
LinguisticsSocial Sciences
LiteratureSociety and culture

Assistance and advice with using the Quick Reference and the Reference Library are available at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.

Biographical Dictionary of American Business Leaders
Print Location: Third Floor, HC102.5 A2 I53 1983 Some full text available

The Biographical Dictionary of American Business Leaders is a four volume collection of biographies on business leaders from colonial times to approximately 1945. The biographies focus on their subjects' business achievements and conclude with brief bibliographies. Appendixes group biographies by birthplace, company, ethnicity, industry, location of business activity, religion, year of birth, and include an index of women business leaders.

For additional, and more recent, information please see the Subject Terms:

Additional biographies of businessmen are available through Summit.


Bartleby.com: Great Books Online--Encyclopedia, Dictionary, Thesaurus and More

Bartleby.com — named after the humble scrivener — makes available to you, for your personal, noncommercial or scholarly use, many of the classics of literature, nonfiction, and reference absolutely free of charge.  The collection can be searched in seven different ways:

Among the many foundational, fascinating, or important books included in Bartleby.com are William Strunk, Jr.'s revered and reviled The Elements of Style, Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body, Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, the Complete Works of William Shakespeare, the King James Version of the Bible, The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson, the 2008 edition of the World Factbook and many many more than are linked to from this Research Guide entry.


Cambridge History of Latin America
Print Location: Third Floor: F1410 C1834 1984
The Cambridge History of Latin America is an 11 volume history of the whole of Latin America, including Haiti. The coverage begins with the first contacts between native American peoples and Europeans and continues to the early 1980’s.
  • vol. 1. Colonial Latin America
  • vol. 2. Colonial Latin America
  • vol. 3. From independence to c. 1870
  • vol. 4 1870 to 1930 (part 1)
  • vol. 5 1870 to 1930 (part 2)
  • vol. 6. Latin America since 1930: Economy, Society And Politics
  • vol. 7. Latin America since 1930: Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean
  • vol. 8. Latin America since 1930: Spanish South America
  • vol. 9. Brazil since 1930
  • vol. 10. Latin America since 1930 : Ideas, Culture and Society
  • vol. 11. Bibliographical Essays
For additional resources please see: Latin America -- History


Columbia Gazetteer of North America
Print Location: Reference, 1st Floor, E35 .C65 2000
The Columbia Gazetteer of North America offers 50,000 entries on places in North America, arranged in alphabetical order. The entries on the United States, Canada, Mexico, and the Caribbean, are packed with information, such as:
  • descriptions of physical geography
  • latitude, longitude, and elevation
  • historical, political, cultural, and economic descriptions
  • natural, agricultural, and other resources
  • highways, railroads, canals, and pipelines
  • principal trade, business, and industrial activities
  • incorporated place and county
  • official place-names
  • changed or variant names and spellings
  • pronunciations
  • points of interest
  • political boundaries
  • population from the most recent national censuses
  • several thousand unincorporated places and special-purpose sites

Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Print Location: Reference, First Floor, DT14. A37435 2005
The five volumes of Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience cover African American history and culture in the present-day United States, African American history and culture throughout the Americas, and the origins of African Americans in Africa. The more than 4,000 articles range from Affirmative Action to Zydeco, and span over four million years from the earliest-known hominids to 2005.

A comprehensive index, a topical index, a chronology, and a bibliography arranged by broad subject, are included. Country essays include an "At a Glance" table that provides data on population, religion, climate, economic activity, government, and more.
See Also:

Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Print Location: Third Floor, G103.5 .C645 1998

The three volumes of the Columbia Gazetteer of the World are an alphabetically arranged encyclopedia of places and geographical features. The Gazetteer includes entries for agriculture, airports, ports, trade, and transportation lines, cultural and mythic places, dams and nuclear plants, demography, distance to relevant places, historical and archeological points of interest, industries, latitude, longitude, and elevations, military bases, monuments and national parks, official local government place names, pronunciations and changed or variant names and spellings, political boundaries, political subdivisions and physical features, physical geography, resorts, theme parks, shopping malls, and service activities.

Additional specialized and historically interesting Gazetteers can be found here and here.
 


Finding Books

Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Cattrax is the online catalog that describes nearly all the materials held by the Brooks Library: books, government documents, maps, microforms, journals, and other items. Below is everything you may want to know about using Cattrax:

Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library:
1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box.

2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search."

3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed.

(Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.)

4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. Books labeled with call numbers between A and J can be found on the 3rd floor, while books classified as K to Z can be found on the fourth floor. All government documents, maps, and microforms can be found on the 3rd floor, and all musical recordings on the 4th floor. Physical journals, magazines, and serials are housed on the 2nd floor, while DVDs, video tapes and films may be found on the 1st floor. Children's books are located on the 4th floor.

More Information about Cattrax:
You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box.

Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, a citation tool, and often book cover images.

You can save the bib record to either "My Lists" (requires you to use your Library Log-in) or you can "Save to Bag" and remember to email, save, or print the resulting list of titles before you finish your session with Cattrax.

Once you have saved the useful results from your first search, you can perform more searches--perhaps starting by opening the author link, the subject terms (toward the bottom of the bib record), or the call number in a new browser tab, or by using the search box to start a totally new search.

(Note: If you click "Call #," you can sort search results by something like shelf order, allowing you to browse for books on similar topics. Of course, you may wish to look on the actual physical shelves--discovery happens in many ways.)

Additional Cattrax Information:
The “Request” service, located in the upper left of a bib record page, is only available for Center Campus Students. This is because Center campus students would need to use more than the stairs or the elevator to get a book from Brooks Library. (If you are a main campus student wishing to check out a book in a Center Library, please consult the Circulation Desk.)

The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.

If you have the citation for an article, you can search for journal titles by selecting "Journal/Serial Title" in the search options. Using this tool, you can discover if the library has access to print or digital copies of the journal in question. The library often has access to a journal through more than one database. If you do not succeed in locating the journal or article that you need, please consult one of our charming Brooks Library Librarians, or submit a request to our very resourceful Interlibrary Loan Department.

If your professor said that something you needed to read was on "Reserve" (the professor may have said "in the library" or something roughly equivalent), you can locate the item by searching in Cattrax by "Course" or "Prof/TA"--that is, by course or professor's name.

Last but certainly not least, if your item is not available in Cattrax, try requesting it through Summit, the unified catalog of 37 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest. If an item is also unavailable through Summit, you may wish to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
The Communication Institute for Online Scholarship's Electronic Encyclopedia of Communication project aims to provide a broad collection of web resources that educate and inform in areas of communication research and scholarship.  Each module was developed by independent scholars with support from the CIOS.  Topics in the Encyclopedia include a sample of Marshall McLuhan's work, an overview of health communication, some information on conflict management, information about the Ethnography of Communication, an introduction to the study of persuasion, and an extensive guide to communication-related resources on the web

The first 19 years of The Electronic Journal of Communication are available here for copying and pasting.  The availability of the last three years of the journal is, like many of the additional resources on this site, delayed behind a 'members only' wall.  (If you need a pdf copy of an article, or an article from the most recent three years please consult Interlibrary Loan.)

One interesting additional resource on this site is the CIOS Open Text Project.  This project aims to increase the availability of important academic texts in communication, ensuring the widest possible readership, and continuing access.  There are currently six texts available here.



Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection.  EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books in the areas of:

Children's & Young Adult NonfictionLiterature & Criticism
Arts & ArchitectureMathematics
Biographies & MemoirsPhilosophy
Business & EconomicsPolitical Science
Computer SciencePsychology
EducationReference Works
Engineering & TechnologyReligion
FictionSciences
General NonfictionSelf-Help & Family
Health & MedicineSocial Sciences
HistoryStudy Aids & Language Learning
Law
 
Note: EBSCO's classifications of these books is a bit imaginative, in each of the above categories there will be some books that you would not expect to see in that list.

You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.

Finding News Articles

WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


ZDNET
Zdnet provides 24/7 news coverage and analysis on the topics, technologies and opportunities that matter to IT professionals, IT decision makers, and the people who work with them.  Among the many articles and reports that Zdnet includes are:


ZDNet also publishes regional editions for Europe, Asia, and Australia (upper left corner).  A click-tour of ZDNet is highly reccomended because you will find fascinating IT-related articles and reports that I overlooked in writing this description.

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Communication & Mass Media Complete™ (CMMC) is a communication and mass media database published by EBSCO.  CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexes and abstracts for more than 620 journals; and selected coverage for nearly 200 more journals.  The database includes the full text of over 500 journals.  This database includes indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from the first issue to the present (some journals date as far back as 1915).

In addition to articles, citations, and abstracts CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing.  CMMC also includes over 5,400 Author Profiles (look under 'More'), with biographical data and bibliographic information, covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database.

Since CMMC is an EBSCO database it has the blue 'Choose Databases' link at the top above the Search Boxes and to the right of the database name.  When you use this link you can search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time.  Searching multiple EBSCO databases at the same time is a good way to search broadly, and occasionally shorten your search. 

Note: Do not select 'Full Text'.  Many of the aritcles that only have a citation and abstract in this database are readily available in other databases that we have.  If you select 'Full Text' you will only find out about the Full Text articles in this specific database and not find out about the many articles that are just a few clicks away.

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available

Each week CQ Researcher explores in depth a single "hot issue in the news”.  The topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science, technology, and more.  There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports.  Access is available online for issues back to 1991.  Each 12,000-word CQ Researcher report can be read in its entirety or by section, each report includes a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.

CQ Researcher is an excellent database to look in when you are ‘looking for a clue’.  The extensive bibliography each article provides serves as a wonderful way to find more information about your topic.
 


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Our subscription to JSTOR (short for 'Journal Storage') contains every issue of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences.  These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published (in some cases that is the 1600s).  JSTOR also contains citations (bibliographic records) for more than 1,500 leading academic journals, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.  (This is why it may not be a good idea to check "Include only content I can access," even if you are in a hurry.  Articles not available in JSTOR are often available in our other databases or through Interlibrary Loan.)

As always, please consult the Reference Desk or the nearest librarian if you have any questions about finding articles in JSTOR or elsewhere.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

Project MUSE contains scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently MUSE includes: 274,848 articles and 479,457 chapters by 199 publishers, and probably has some useful information about your topic.

The Brooks Library has a partial subscription to Project MUSE, thus some items are available to you in Project MUSE and some items are only available elsewhere. You can do a Journal Title Search, a Book Title Search, a Summit Search, a Google Scholar Search, or contact the Reference Desk to access a fulltext copy of any citations that might be unavailable in Project MUSE.

Project MUSE can be searched by Keyword (options for narrowing your search will be to the left of your results), browsed by Research Area, by All Title, by Publisher, by Book Title, and by Journal Title. An option for displaying "Only content I have full access to" is usually available, but since we often have access to that content through another database, Summit, or Interlibrary Loan, you should probably search Project MUSE both ways.
 


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service Restricted Resource Some full text available
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International database covers a wide range of current and past public policy issues, emphasizing factual and statistical information.  Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations.

The PAIS International database is continually updated with information about over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world.  (Newspapers and newsletters are not usually indexed.)  A useful 'Advanced Search' is available, as well as a way to search for Figures & Tables.

PAIS is an index, it does not contain the full text of articles – but you do not care about that until you find a citation for an article you would like to read.  When you find citations for possibly useful articles you can search for the full text by doing a Journal Title Search.  You can also search for a full text copy through Google ScholarAs always more assistance in acquiring the full text of an article is available at the Reference Desk.

Note: The PAIS database is provided to us by Proquest. In the upper left corner of the PAIS search page there is a link that will say “Searching:1 database”.  If you click that link you will see a list of the 9 databases that you can select and search through this interface.  In addition to PAIS you can also search:
(Three of these databases are fulltext. The Proquest Sitemap page can provide you with information about some useful options.)


Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that includes most of the peer-reviewed journals available online from European and American scholarly publishers, as well as some scholarly books and some other non-peer-reviewed journals.

Caveat: Google Scholar does not index every scholarly article or book.  Some publishers do not allow it to index their journals.  Google Scholar often does not include older materials, and not every article you can find through Google Scholar is scholarly.  If you have questions about the reliability of an article you find through Google Scholar – or any other source, including our databases – please consult with one of our friendly Librarians.

If you find a citation for a simply wonderful seeming article in Google Scholar and have not-yet found a fulltext copy you can do a ‘Journal Title’ search in Cattrax to see what sort of access the Brooks Library has to that journal.  You can also – of course! – consult with our knowledgeable Librarians and/or fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request.

Two of the most useful Google Scholar features are ‘Cited by’ and ‘Related Articles’, both located underneath the citation.  ‘Cited by’ enables you to find articles that cite the article that you have found.  This is particularly useful when you are looking for the most recent information on a topic.  ‘Related Articles’ will provide you with a lists of similar articles.

You can set Google Scholar to provide you with a direct link to CWU Brooks Library resources.  To cause Google Scholar to provide you with a handy "Resources @ CWU Library" link (hidden under 'More' in the lower right corner of the citation) or a "Full-Text @ CWU Library" (to the right of the citation) when you are off-campus:
  • Click the "Scholar Settings" option in the upper right corner of the Google Scholar page.
  • Then click the option, "Library Links" on the left side of the Google Scholar Settings Page.
  • Enter CWU in the box in the middle of the screen
  • Choose "Central Washington University - Full-Text @ CWU Library" AND "Open WorldCat - Library Search" (this provides better linking for books).

Note: this feature currently only 'works' for articles.  To see if the Brooks Library has a book that you have found a citation for in Google Scholar click the ‘More’ link underneath the citation to the right.  If 'Resources @ CWU Library' is not an available option click 'Library Search'.  This will take you to WorldCat and if the Brook Library has a copy we will be at the top of the list.  If the book is at another academic library in Idaho, Oregon or Washington you can request it through Summit, and if the book is elsewhere you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.


Government Information

Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) provides timely, relevant, and accurate economic data.  BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce; along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration.  BEA's economic statistics provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, including the national income and product accounts (NIPAs), which feature the estimates of gross domestic product (GDP) and related measures.

Some of the many categories of statistical information available on the BEA website are:
International Economy    National Economy    State & Local Economy   
U.S. Industry    U.S. Economy at a glance    Latest News    
Survey of Current Business    Information for Congress    News Archive   
Browse Our Research!!!    Information for Media    Interactive Data   
Customer Guide (PDF)    Free Research Papers!!!    Frequently Asked Questions   

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is the unit of the U.S. Department of Justice whose principal functions is the compilation and analysis of data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, the operation of justice systems at all levels of government and the efficient dissemination of information to the public for statistical purposes.  These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.  A wide-variety of publications and other open-access full-text crime-related information is availabe, organized into the following categories:

CorrectionsCapital PunishmentCommunity Corrections (Probation and Parole)
Deaths in Custody Reporting ProgramExpenditures/EmploymentLocal jail inmates and jail facilities
Prison Rape Elimination Act (Sexual Violence in Correctional Facilities)RecidivismSpecial populations
State and federal prisoners and prison facilitiesTotal correctional populationFederal
CorrectionsCourtsLaw Enforcement
ProsecutionCourtsCivil Rights
Civil casesCriminal CasesIndigent Defense Systems
Prosecutors OfficesState Court Caseload StatisticsState Court organization
Tribal courtsVictimsCrime characteristics and trends
NCVS redesignReporting crimes to policeSpecial topics
The Crime eventVictim characteristicsVictims and offenders
Crime TypeCybercrimeDrugs and crime
GangsHate CrimeHuman Trafficking/Trafficking in Persons
Identity TheftLocationProperty Crime
Violent CrimeWeapon Use by Offense TypeCriminal Justice Data Improvement Program
National Criminal History Improvement ProgramState Justice Statistics ProgramThe NICS Improvement Amendments Act of 2007
Law EnforcementArrest-Related DeathsCampus Law Enforcement
Community PolicingFederal Law EnforcementForensic Investigation
Law Enforcement Training AcademiesLocal PolicePolice-Public Contacts
Sheriffs' OfficesSpecial TopicsTribal Law Enforcement
Employment and ExpenditureIndian Country Justice Statistics
Data Analysis Tools are also available.


Bureau of Land Management
The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) is responsible for managing the health, diversity, and productivity of the public lands of the United States of America for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations.  BLM administers over 245 million acres of land.  Most of this land is located in the 12 Western states, including Alaska.  The BLM also manages 700 million acres of sub-surface mineral rights throughout the nation.

The BLM website website contains information on their multitudinous diversity of programs (and there is a lot more information behind most of these links):
Abandoned Mine Lands Acquisition and Procurement (Doing Business w/ BLM) Alternative Dispute Resolution/Conflict Prevention Program
America's Great Outdoors Asset Management Best Management Practices
BLM Partnerships Budget Information Bureau Enterprise Architecture
Cadastral Survey Climate Change Communication Sites Management
Cultural, Paleontological Resources and Tribal Consultation Energy Filming on Public Lands
Fire Fish, Wildlife and Plant Conservation Forests and Woodlands
General Land Office Geographic Coordinate Data Base (GCDB) Grazing
Great Basin Landscape Conservation Consortium Hazardous Materials Management Helium Program
Land Tenure (Purchase, Donation, Exchange, Sales) Lands and Realty Landscape Approach for Managing Public Lands
Law Enforcement Mining and Minerals (mining claims, solid minerals) Mining Claims and Sites on Federal Lands
National Landscape Conservation System National Landscape Conservation System (NLCS) Noxious Weeds
Payments in Lieu of Taxes (PILT) Planning Recreation
Rights-of-Way Sage-Grouse Conservation Soil, Water, and Air
US Mineral Surveyor Program Vegetation Programmatic EIS Wild Horses & Burros
Youth Initiatives    

Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC)

The Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) is a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization at Syracuse University.  The purpose of TRAC is to provide the American people, Congress, news organizations, public interest groups, businesses, scholars, and lawyers, with comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government.

Because comprehensive and relevant records about what an agency is doing — and not doing — are essential to meaningful oversight, TRAC continuously uses the Freedom of Information Act to obtain new data about government enforcement and regulatory activities.

While many TRAC activities are fee-supported, with the information behind a paywall, the TRAC Public Web Site contains highly detailed and easy-to-access information on selected federal enforcement agencies, special topical reports, and "bulletins" about federal enforcement, staffing and expenditures. The information — featuring colorful maps and graphs and tens of thousands of pages of tables and other supporting material — is available without charge to anyone with access to the web. Currently featured are TRAC sites describing the enforcement activities and staffing patterns of the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Internal Revenue Service, the Drug Enforcement Administration and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.

TRAC-Immigration, deals in-depth with how United States immigration laws are enforced in administrative and criminal courts by a wide variety of agencies. Reports include records of individual judges. A reference library containing reports and government immigration studies and a glossary are also maintained.

This site is an excellent one to search if you are in need of government information.  If it appears that the information you need is behind the TRAC paywall please consult one of our talented Reference or Government Documents Librarians.
 


USA.gov - Official Government Web Portal

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.USA.gov is the U.S. government web portal to all federal, state, tribal, and local government web resources and services. USA.gov is intended to help people navigate government information, procedures, and policies.

Through USA.gov you can apply for benefits online (including grants), contact a government agency or department, or use the most comprehensive search of government websites.  You can also search for Government Publications, for information specifically relevant to you, and for contact information for government employees and officials.
 


Handbooks & Guides

Almanac of American Politics
Print Location: Reference/ARC, First Floor, JK1012 .A44 v.2010 Some full text available

The Almanac of American Politics provides a detailed look at the politics of the United States through profiling individual leaders and areas of the country.  Almanac entries are alphabetical by state, with each congressional district in each state profiled separately.  The Almanac includes:

  • Demographic information on each district, including income, racial distribution, and other statistics.
  • Biographies of the Representatives from each district and each state's Senators, including their voting record on key votes, advocacy group ratings, etc.; profiles of governors are also included.
  • Individually written profiles of each district.
  • An overview of each state, including demographic trends.

A slightly older version of the Almanac of American Politics is also available online to the CWU students, staff, and faculty, through the LexisNexis database.   (To find it click on 'Find' at the top of the screen.  Do a keyword search for the title, mark the checkbox beside the title when it appears, click the 'Ok-Continue' button on to the right, then enter your search terms.)


The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law
Print Location: Reference, First Floor, PN 4783 A83 v.2002
The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law provides fundamental guidelines on spelling, grammar, punctuation and usage.  It also provides facts and references for reporters, and defines usage, spelling, grammar and proof-reading marks for editors.  There are separate sections for journalists specializing in sports and business, and guidelines for how to write photo captions, proofread text, file copy, handle copyrights, and avoid libel.

A list of additional Associated Press publications in the Brooks Library is available here.


Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Print Location: Fourth Floor, Z6940 .C38 2004
Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature (3rd Edition) is an annotated bibliographic guide to print and electronic sources in print and broadcast journalism.  This guide covers sources from the 1960s through 2004.

Chapters are arranged by the type of reference work, such as bibliographies, dictionaries, indexes, commercial databases and Internet sources, directories, career guides, and archives.  The annotations are informative, critical, and interesting to read.  They explain precisely what is valuable in the title, how to use it, and why it is important to the collection.  There is both a subject index and an author/title index.

The 2nd Edition, coverage through 1997, is available as an ebook here.


A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government
Print Location: Third Floor, JK9 .H57 1998

A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government is a profile of the history of the executive branch of the Federal government and its departments, agencies, and committees.  It generally excludes the Judiciary and U.S. Congress, but does include some agencies whose authority may span the three branches of government.

The arrangement is alphabetical and contains numerous references.  There is discussion of each organization's mission and structure, as well as its history.  In addition to entries for specific federal administrative agencies, there are entries for several broader topics.  The bibliographies that conclude each entry are fairly extensive, including numerous government publications.  An appendix containing the text of documents important to the history of public administration is included, as well as an index.  The social, cultural, and intellectual movements that have influenced the way the United States is governed are also examined.

More Encyclopedias of the U.S. Government are available here, here, and here.
 


Key Concepts in Communication and Cultural Studies
Print Location: Fourth Floor, P90 K457 1994
Key Concepts in Communication and Cultural Studies is a compilation of terminology.  As a relatively new academic field Communication and Cultural Studies says things in new ways, resulting not only in new words, concepts and theories, but also in the reworking of concepts and terms from a wide range of established disciplines.  The multi-disciplinary glossary of concepts includes those terms most likely to be encountered in the study of communication and culture, providing a practical and accessible guide to the terminology of this field.


Images & Primary Resources

AdViews
The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials from the 1950s through the 1980s.  The collection may be searched by Company, Title, or Subject.  AdViews videos may also be viewed through iTunes, the Internet Archive, and YouTube.

AdViews is one of several interrelated collaborative projects; click these links for additional treasures:

The Ad*Access Project Resource contains images
The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.  Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

To look for advertisements within any one of the five primary categories, select "Browse" beside the category name.  Then you may either choose any of the displayed subcategories or you may use the "Search this Collection" search box in the upper left to enter keywords or specific years.

The advertisements on this web site have been made available for use in research, teaching, and private study. For these purposes under Fair Use you may reproduce (print, make photocopies, or download) materials from this web site without prior permission.  Good scholarship requires providing proper attribution of the source in all copies.

The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.


The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920
The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 illustrates the rise of consumer culture and a professionalized advertising industry in the United States by presenting over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.  The collection can be searched by Company, Product, Date, Format, Publication, Subject, Medium, and Headline.

Advertising is such a pervasive feature of American life that our culture from the late 19th century onward cannot be fully understood without studying advertisements and the industry that created them.  Cattrax can lead you to more information about advertising, here, and here.


The Medicine & Madison Avenue Collection
The Medicine & Madison Avenue Collection explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising by presenting images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements that were printed in newspapers and magazines from the 1910s through the 1950s.  The collection represents a wide range of products such as cough and cold remedies, laxatives and indigestion aids, and vitamins and tonics, among others.

In addition to the advertisements themselves, the MMA website includes historical material — non-graphical text-only documents — that put health-related advertising into a broader perspective (read the introduction for more context). The collection can be searched by keyword and by the categories Company, Product, Date, Format, Publication, Subject, Medium, and Headline.


The Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions 2.0 (ROAD 2.0)
The Resource of Outdoor Advertising Descriptions 2.0 (ROAD 2.0) project contains images of outdoor advertising from the twentieth century. (The predecessor, "ROAD 1.0", now contains digitized images of many of the items in its originally metadata-only database).

ROAD 2.0 contains over 31,594 items, many of which were selected from five increasingly digitized searchable archival collections:

American Memory Collection (Library of Congress) Resource contains images Some full text available

American Memory is the Library of Congress’s digital collection of American historical materials. Containing more than 9 million items, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on the original format, subject, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each online collection is accompanied by a set of explanatory features designed to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or you may search across multiple collections, by region, and by date.

American Memory will continue to expand online historical content as an integral component of the Library of Congress’s commitment to its mission "to sustain and preserve a universal collection of knowledge and creativity for future generations".



Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World

Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project dedicated to preserving and providing access to the text of speeches by women from around the world.  At this time the site hosts nearly 700 speeches by women.  Almost all of the speeches in the collection come directly from the authors of the speeches or from organizations representing them.  Some of the speeches were collected by mining U.S. Government documents.  Additionally some notable women have contacted Gifts of Speech in order to donate copies of their speeches. Speeches by deceased orators of the 1800's are also included and were extracted from published sources.

The collection can be searched by keyword, alphabetically by the speaker’s last name, or by date. Two of the notable sub-collections are the speeches of women Nobel Prize winners and the women whose speeches are among the “Top 100 American Speeches of the 20th century”. The Gifts of Speech site is sponsored by Sweet Briar College.
 


The Internet Archive
Libraries exist to preserve society's cultural artifacts and to provide access to them.  The Internet Archive was founded to build an Internet library.  Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

The Internet Archive includes more than 4,479,879 texts, 1,594,580 audio recordings (including more than 115,200 live concerts), 1,214,740 moving images, a 45,718+ item software archive, as well as archived web pages (The Wayback Machine!).


Organizations & Directories

The Annenberg School for Communication
The Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania is devoted to furthering understanding of the role of communication in public life through research, education, service, and podcasts.

The School is home to both undergraduate and graduate programs, as well as to a wide range of centers and projects, including:
National Communication Association
The National Communication Association is the oldest and largest national organization promoting Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific and aesthetic inquiry.  The NCA serves the scholars, teachers, and practitioners who are its members by supporting their professional interests in research and teaching.  The Association publishes several journals*, and other* publications*, as well as the open access Communication Currents and the Communication Matters blog.

* Please consult our databases, the Journal Search in Cattrax, the Title Search in Cattrax, or our talented librarians for access to any information not available for free.


American Communication Association
The American Communication Association (ACA) was founded to:
  • foster scholarship in all areas of human communication behavior,
  • promote excellence in the pedagogy of communication,
  • provide a voice in communication law and policy,
  • and provide evaluation and certification services for academic programs in communication study.

Membership in the ACA is free, looks good on your resume, and can be established by subscribing to the Americancomm discussion group hosted on Yahoo.  There are no dues, although donations are happily accepted.  As a member of the ACA, you become part of the ongoing conversation that makes this organization a virtual community of people concerned about communication.

ACA publishes an open-access scholarly journal; the American Communication Journal is a premier online scholarly refereed journal dedicated to the study of communication.  The ACA also publishes The ACA Open Knowledge Guide to Public Speaking, a free e-textbook on Public Speaking.


American Press Institute

The American Press Institute is dedicated to helping journalists fulfill the mission of the First Amendment – to sustain a free press in the public interest.  That mission continues in the digital age.  The Press Institute conducts freely available research, provides training - both in-person and online, as well as free guides, and provides resources to help chart a path ahead for journalism in the 21st century.
 


Center for History and New Media
The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University - whose motto is "Building a Better Yesterday, Bit by Bit" - uses digital media and tools to preserve and present history online, transforming scholarship across the humanities, and advancing historical education and understanding.

The CHNM website is loosely divided into three conceptual areas:
  • Teaching + Learning
    Provides free access to primary sources, high-quality online teaching modules, and offers instruction on critical thinking skills.

  • Research + Tools
    Publications and applications for scholars, librarians and museum professionals. (These are the folks that came up with Zotero and Omeka.)

  • Collecting + Exhibiting
    Digital collections of a wide-range of records, documents, and presentations of historical exhibits.

Also available are blogs, podcasts, essays on History and New Media, the Digital Campus Discussion, and much much more.

Center for Investigative Reporting Some full text available

The Center for Investigative Reporting (CIR) produces thoroughly reported stories that offer comprehensive explanations of complex issues – whether those stories are local, national, or international.  Instead of competing with other news organizations CIR brings media partners together to collaborate on big stories.  These partnerships increase the reporting capacity, audience reach and potential impact of CIR's reporting (see "Reinventing Journalism" for more information.).

CIR reporters, engineers, and analysts, have provided articles, data and graphics, images, radio and audio, and video, presentations of their work to hundreds of media outlets.  The CIR website provides a blog (click the story title to read the story), produces numerous stories for its 33 ongoing projects, and maintains investigations on several topics.

Also among the many fascinating pages in the CIR website are the Reporter Tools and CIR Labs pages.  Some very very useful information there....
 


Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ)

The Committee to Protect Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization that promotes press freedom worldwide and defends the right of journalists to report the news without fear of reprisal.  CPJ takes action wherever journalists are censored, attacked, imprisoned, or killed for their work.  Hundreds of journalists are killed, harassed, or imprisoned every year.  Journalism plays a vital role in the relationship between a government and its people.  When a country's journalists are silenced, its people are silenced.  By protecting journalists, CPJ protects freedom of expression and democracy.

You can access information about the repression of journalists in Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe & Central Asia, and the Middle East & North Africa.  You can also access information about journalists killed each year since 1992, and how many have been killed so far this year, those who are imprisoned for their work, those who are missing, the exiled, and information about attacks on the press.  The CPJ website also provides a variety of reports, a resource center, a ***Journalist Security Guide***, and options for getting involved.


Center for Democracy and Technology

The mission of the Center for Democracy & Technology is to conceive and implement public policies that will keep the Internet open, innovative, and free.  CDT fights for the right of individuals to communicate, publish and make their own choices about the information they share and receive on the Internet.

CDT has established ongoing working groups that bring together companies, trade associations, public interest groups, technologists, and academics.  Current working groups and articles by the members can be found under these labels:



International Communication Association
The International Communication Association attempts to advance the scholarly study of human communication by providing for the development, conduct, and critical evaluation of communication research; by supporting high quality scholarly publications and knowledge exchanges through their Divisions and Interest Groups; and by promoting wider public interest in the theories, methods, findings and applications generated by research in communication and allied fields.

The Brooks Library subscribes to each of the journals published by the ICA:


Public Relations Society of America

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) provides professional development, sets standards of excellence and upholds principles of ethics for its members and, more broadly, the multi-billion dollar public relations profession. PRSA also advocates for greater understanding and adoption of public relations services, and acts as one of the industry’s leading voices on the important business and professional issues of our time.

PRSA offers Professional Interest Sections to help you network with other PRSA members, and 111 Local Chapters to connect you with professionals in your region.  Professional development programs, industry conferences, and an accreditation program (the Accredited in Public Relations (APR) program) are also PRSA efforts.  PRSA also provides periodicals, daily news updates, case studies, and blogs/podcasts that track emerging trends and industry news. In addition a vast, easily searchable database gives you instant access to research, articles, white papers and Silver Anvil Award-winning program case studies organized by subject, industry and business outcome (requires membership or free account).

Job seekers can post their resume for free (requires membership or free account), obtain salary advice, read career descriptions, subscribe to job feeds, job alerts, discover resume tips and use the career advice library, resume guide and resume critique service, as well as job mentoring and an “Ask the Experts” forum that offers mentoring guidance from seasoned public relations professionals.
 


ICPSR
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research is an international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations that provides data access, curation, and methods of analysis for social science research.

ICPSR maintains a Data Archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.  You can search those files, you can also browse them by Topic/Subject, Series, Geography, Author/Organization, and International Data.  Browsing the files by "all studies", "all studies for which online analysis is available", and "all studies that have learning guides" are also options.

The Bibliography of Data-Related Literature is a continuously-updated database of thousands of citations of works, including journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials.  The BoDRL may be searched by keyword, by citation, by author, by journal, and by study.  Options for limiting your search are on the left.

A variety of videos about ICPSR and its research topics are available.  Information about data curation and management is available here and here.  Instructions on data citation are here.  Instructional exercises in using data are here and here.


National Bureau of Economic Research

The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization created to promote a greater understanding of how the economy works.  The NBER's research agenda encompasses a wide variety of issues.

NBER researchers concentrate on empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the economic effects of public policies, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals in a variety of Working Groups.

The NBER Reporter and NBER Digest, and their back issues, are available for free.  NBER Books in Progress often provides access to, well, books in progress.  NBER also makes a number of data files available.  Other pages you really should look at include:


Some of the materials on the NBER site are available for free; others can be acquired with the help of a journalist or US Government employee, or through Interlibrary Loan

All NBER publications can be searched here, two other search options are available here and here.


American Association for the Advancement of Science

An international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association.  In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science (earlier issues online), as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and supports programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.  AAAS also provides some career reosources that are of general interest.
 


Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

USA.gov: Data and Statistics

This USA.gov page contains links to more than 49 different sorts of data collected by the US Federal Government.

No matter what topic you are investigating there are at least three links on this page that will lead you to valuable, insightful, and useful, information that you will be very glad you found.
 


FedStats

The FedStats website, plainly and simply, enables you to search for and link to more than 95 agencies that provide data and trend information:


  • Topics A to Z: More than 700 topics and subtopics.

  • Links to summaries of the major Federal statistical programs.

  • Links to Federal Agencies with statistical programs.

  • Search: Enter keywords or phrases. The FedStats database is updated twice per month, 'advanced search' is available as 'modify search'.

  • Statistical Reference Shelf: access to collections of published statistics.

  • MapStats: profiles of your state, county, federal judicial district, or congressional district.

  • Statistics-by-geography from U.S. agencies: international comparisons, national, state, county, and local information.

  • Press releases: links to the releasing statistical agency.

  • Data access tools: view predefined reports and/or generate your own tables with data obtained through searches and queries of summary and microdata files.

  • Kids' Pages: A fun way to explore statistical concepts, geography, and the rich sets of data Federal agencies make available through FedStats, using a series of games and web applications developed for kids in elementary through high school. Include fun facts, games, project ideas, and career information.


Intute: Statistics
This site contains links to social science statistical information available online.  The links are organized into the following broad categories:Note: Intute closed in July 2011.  The site has now been archived and no additional resources are being added to the catalogue, nor are any changes being made to existing content.  Intute is still a large and useful site and is well worth your taking the time to look through it. 
(If you see any links in Intute or elsewhere that should be promoted to having their own entry in this or another Research Guide please let me know.)

World Factbook

The World Factbook is published annually by the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), and the web version is updated weekly.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.  The available information includes: political and physical maps of the major world regions, other maps, and the Flags of the World.  This is a handy reference work for basic and reliable statistical data on the countries of the world.  The appendices and the The World Factbook Users Guide can lead you to additional interesting data on the website.

Also potentially of interest to you: The CIA publishes and updates the online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments monthly. This directory is a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.


Web Sites

AllLaw - Legal Information
This site is a for-profit caveat-rich and extensive collection of legal resources and links to legal information.  Perusing this site will provide you with background on the terminology and issues relevant to your questions; you can then continue your investigation with the Wikipedia Article on Law, their Outline of Law, Category: Law, Portal: Law, and Portal: Law/Good articles.


University of Washington Gallagher Law Library Research Guides
The Reference Librarians at the UW’s Gallagher Law Library have prepared several legal research guides. The GLL offers:
Note: some of the sites the GLL links to are only available to University of Washington faculty, students, and staff and visitors to UW Libraries.  Brooks Library Librarians, in either the Reference Department/ARC or in Government Publications, can assist you with accessing the information you need.



Legal Information Institute
The Legal Information Institute is a nonprofit group associated with the Cornell Univeristy Law School. Their goal is for everyone to be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. Among the many resources they provide are:

Online Legal Research (UCLA Law Library)
Online Legal Research: Beyond LexisNexis & Westlaw is one of several legal libguides offered by the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library at UCLA. This libguide includes information about:

Also of interest is the link to the new edition of Locating the Law: A Handbook for Non-Law Librarians, a freely available download, and the (scroll down from here) links to Other Legal Research Sites, Other Guides, and Quick Links.

(Caveat: Sources available through Westlaw or Lexis are not included here; some subscription databases listed in the libguide require a UCLA log-in; and print resources are not covered here).


First Amendment Center
The First Amendment Center supports the First Amendment to the United States Constitution and builds understanding of its core freedoms by serving as a forum for the study and exploration of free-expression issues, including freedom of speech, of the press, of religion, the right to assemble and the right to petition the government.

The First Amendment Center provides a large number of publications on First Amendment issues, detailed reports about U.S. Supreme Court cases involving the First Amendment (1999-the present), and an extremely informative First Amendment FAQ.

Also available are the invaluable State of the First Amendment Surveys, a regular check on how Americans view their freedoms of speech, press, assembly, religion and petition.  Additionally the FAC provides a variety of other programs, including the Religious Freedom Education Project, and the 1 for All program which provides teaching materials to the nation’s schools and campuses, and reminds the public that the First Amendment serves everyone, regardless of faith, race, gender, or political leanings.


Fairness and Accuracy In Reporting
Independent, assertive, and critical media are essential to an informed democracy.  Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR) is a national media watch group that:
  • scrutinizes media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints,
  • advocates for greater diversity in the press,
  • and vigorously supports the First Amendment.

FAIR publishes Extra!, a media criticism journal, and produces CounterSpin, a weekly radio program/podcast that brings you the news behind the headlines.  FAIR offers regular Action Alerts as part of its efforts to keep the public informed.  FAIR also provides two different compilations of its work: Issues and Regions (click the title for access to the whol article), and Topics and Issues (ibid), as well as The FAIR blog, and RSS Feeds.


Communication Studies Resources from The University of Iowa
An extensive index of online resources useful in studying Communication.  The index appears to be updated infrequently, but those slightly older links are only a few clicks from the information you need.  Highly recommended.


American Journalism Review Some full text available

American Journalism Review is a national magazine covering print, television, radio and online media.  The magazine, published six times a year, examines both media coverage of specific stories and broader coverage trends.  AJR analyzes ethical dilemmas in journalism and monitors the impacts of technological changes on the practice and products of journalism.  The magazine is published by the University of Maryland Foundation, with offices in the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland.

You can read articles in the current issue of American Journalism Review, and you can access back issues (beginning with 1991) directly or through Search.

AJR also offers a variety of useful links:
News Organizations:
Journalist Resources:


Journalism.org
The Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism is dedicated to understanding the information revolution using empirical methods, particularly content analysis, to evaluate and study the performance of the press. Our goal is for both the journalists who produce the news and the citizens who use it to better understand what the press is delivering, how the media are changing, and influences shaping those changes.

Project for Excellence in Journalism publishes the Daily Briefing, a digest of media news, every morning, provides a data library, and also produces detailed reports analyzing key trends in the news industry, including the State of the News Media, an annual report on American journalism.  PEJ also provides a nifty "how to use our website" page that should be emulated everywhere.  Also: RSS feeds.


Intute: Communication and Media Studies

Intute is a UK-based free online service created by librarians and researchers to help you find resources on the web.  All of the links on this site have been reviewed and evaluated.  The Communication and Media Studies section includes links to information on:


The Virtual Training Suite
can also help you develop your Internet research skills through tutorials written by lecturers and librarians from universities across the UK.

Unfortunately funding for Intute ended in July 2011, the website will remain available until July of 2014, without maintenance or updating.



OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that helps diverse citizens navigate complex, divisive issues and work together to find solutions. Through nonpartisan research and public engagement, we provide the insights, tools and support people need to build common ground and arrive at solutions that work for them.

   Public Agenda works on:    Public Agenda also provides:


Best of History Web Sites
"Best of History Web Sites" provides quick, convenient, and reliable access to online history-oriented resources across a wide range of categories.  The site has links to over 1200 history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness.  Also included are links to K-12 history lesson plans, teacher guides, activities, games, quizzes, and more.



Advertising Icon Museum Resource contains images Some full text available

An online museum of company's advertising characters / figurines.  You can click on each display case of the museum, and from there click on specific figurines to find out the history behind the character--such as how the Michelin Man came to be and who was a close contender for the prestige of marketing Kellogg's Frosted Flakes.  If the default page does not take you to the online exhibit, also try http://advertisingiconmuseum.org/main.html 


Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library (ipl2) digital collections include many different resources organized by Subject, Newspapers and Magazines, Special Collections created by the ipl2, a variety of Pathfinders on diverse topics, and special collections for Kids and Teens.

ipl2 offers thousands of annotated, reviewed links covering all academic disciplines.  The available subject categories are:(You can, of course, search all categories simultaneously.)

The Newspapers and Magazines portion of ipl2 contains links to newspapers across the US and around the world, as well as to magazines and journals classified by subject category.  (All of the annotated links can be searched simultaneously.)

ipl2 also has some permanent exhibits - collections of unique, multimedia presentations.  From lighthouse photographs to the classics of Western music, there is something here for everyone!

The ipl2 Pathfinders are a particularly excellent place to begin your research.  The Pathfinders - extensive annotated lists of excellent resources for a specific topic - can be searched by Subject and Alphabetically.  Looking through a couple of Pathfinders that are similar to your chosen/assigned topic can be of immense help to you.

Much of the information you would find through the ipl2 resides on other websites or in other places and would be cited accordingly.  However some information is hosted on the ipl2 site and citation guidelines are provided.  (Additional assistance with citations is available from the CWU Writing Center and the Excellent OWL at Purdue University.)

And finally, a public library would not be complete without story hour.  The children's stories that they have available will not take you an hour to read - but they do make a nice study break.

Note: if you find a resource through the Internet Public Library that we should highlight in one or more of these Research Guides please let me know.  Thank you.

Items Of Interest

MIT OpenCourseWare.
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a free web-based publication of almost all MIT course content.  OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.  There is no registration or enrollment process because OCW is not a credit-bearing or degree-granting initiative. 

You can browse courses by department on the main Courses page, you can also browse Audio/Video Courses, Translated Courses, and Archived Courses

Lecture notes provide an excellent opportunity for reviewing material and provide alternate explanations of concepts (about 80% of OCW courses include lecture notes).


PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Catalog Search
Suggestions Welcome!
Your suggestions, critiques, and requests are greatly appreciated.
  • What needs to be changed about the Communication Research Guide? 
  • What needs to be added? 
  • What sources have you found valuable? 
  • Where do you look when you need to find a clue?
In addition to being eager to hear how this Research Guide can be improved - an example of me consulting with you - I am also available evenings (and some afternoons by appointment) for you to consult with me about how I can help you find the information you need.  Ask for me at the Government Documents Desk on the Third Floor, or send me an email at gwync@cwu.edu.

My esteemed and talented colleagues in the Academic & Research Commons ('ARC', or 'Reference', for short) are also available for consultations - both scheduled and unscheduled - nearly every hour that the library is open.  You can contact them here, or by walking a few feet north from the Circulation Desk on the first floor.
Subject Specialist
Ask A Librarian Chat
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Call Numbers/Subjects
Valuable information is often found under several different Call Numbers. The Subject Links below will display a number of relevant titles and their location.
QR Code
Scan to view this guide on your mobile device.
Daily Briefing

Loading ...

News Index

Loading ...

Numbers!

Loading ...

Studies you want to read!

Loading ...

Commentaries

Loading ...