Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: EDEC 314 - Learning Through Play

« Back To Guides Selection


Catalog Search
Ebooks CATTRAX Search
Academic Search Complete
Research databases
Education Databases
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

This is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

ArticleFirst
Restricted Resource

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource

CQ Researcher focuses on a single "hot" topic each week, and is an excellent database to look in when you are ‘looking for a clue’.  The extensive bibliography each article provides serves as a wonderful way to find more information about your topic.

ED / IT Lib Education and Information Technology Library

"The EdITLib Digital Library is your source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning."

Education Full Text
Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.

ERIC Restricted Resource

More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, are available for free.


Videos on Learning With Play
Video Games and Math - Hear from experts across the education field on the impact and application of video games when teaching concepts in mathematics.  Distributed by PBS LearningMedia (5 minutes)

21st Century Learning -
Hear about models and approaches to 21st century learning skills from experts in the education field. 
Distributed by PBS LearningMedia (5 minutes)

Katie Salen On Learning With Games - Professor Katie Salen talks about the value of games and the empowerment of play.

Edutopia's Channel On YouTube - Videos About What Works In Education.


Learn STEM Skills, Design Video Games
Websites About Learning Through Play
The Institute of Play - "At the core of the experiences we design are games, play and the principles that underlie them."

Edutopia - "Dedicated to improving the K-12 learning process by documenting, disseminating, and advocating innovative, replicable, and evidence-based strategies that prepare students to thrive in their future education, careers, and adult lives."


Government Sources
ChildCare.gov Some full text available

U.S. Government portal to child care issues and federally sponsored programs.  Includes information for researchers, such as data sets regarding child care and early education, child abuse, and household surveys.

Ed.gov - U.S. Department of Education Website

Information for children, parents, teachers and administrators. The children section includes interactive learning activities and puzzles, and a section called "For Tonight's Homework."

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE)

More than 30 Federal agencies formed a working group in 1997 to make hundreds of Federally supported teaching and learning resources easier to find. The result of that work is the FREE web site.

Washington State Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Links to assessment, research, publications, web sites, and more.

Zotero Reference & Citation Tool
Believe me, you need this!  This awesome tool will make your research easier and SAVE YOU TIME!  How, you ask?  Watch this, its only 1:31 long:




To download and install this web application, click on Zotero.org
Ask A Librarian Chat
QR Code
Scan to view this guide on your mobile device.
Guide Author
This guide was created by Geri Hopkins.