Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/www/sp/control/includes/classes/sp_Pluslet_3.php on line 41
Brooks Library Research Guides: Engineering Technologies, Safety, & Construction
Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Engineering Technologies, Safety, & Construction

« Back To Guides Selection


All Items by Source

Biographical Information

American Men and Women of Science
Print Location: Ref Q141 A474

Contains full biographical data for selected living U.S. and Canadian scientists in the physical and biological sciences.


Great Engineers and Pioneers in Technology: From Antiquity Through the Industrial Revolution
Print Location: Ref TA 139 .G7 1981
Biographies of civil, mechanical agricultural and chemical engineers since antiquity through the industrial revolution (specifically, people born prior to 1799). There is a separate section for engineers from China, Japan, Korea and Mongolia. Includes illustrations and photographs, and each entry has a short bibliography for further research.
Nobelprize.org Some full text available

Search for nobel prize winners by year or by discipline--physics, chemistry, medicine, literature, economics--as well as Nobel Peace Prize winners.  Info from 1901-current previous year is available.


Biography.com

This site, operated by the Biography Channel, contains tens of thousands of biographies, some quite detailed.  Biographical video and short biographical video clips are also available.  There is also a page with examples of how to properly cite this site.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Print Location: Ref QA5 .W45 2003

Definitions, formulas and derivations, figures, tables, and resources for further research can be found in this rather large encyclopedia. The entries in here are given practical explanations, including information on how the particular concept is used and how it connects to other concepts. Cross-References to websites discussing particular concepts are included in some of the entries. A version of this encyclopedia is also available on the web at http://mathworld.wolfram.com.


Mathworld

This website is best explained as a mathematics encyclopedia. It is interactive and contains an index of links to internal pages on a variety of subjects: algebra, applied math, calculus, discrete math, the foundations of math, geometry, math history and terminology, number theory, probability and statistics, recreational math, and topology.


McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Print Location: Ref Q123 .M15 2003

A dictionary thorough in scope and intended for a general audience. A list of scientific fields it covers is provided in the front of the book, and included in these are aerospace engineering, biochemistry, building construction and civil engineering, communications, computer science, electronics, mapping, navigation, and ordnance.


McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Print Location: Ref Q121 .M3 Some full text available

Thousands of well-illustrated articles, each containing a definition, general overview, relationships to other topics, and cross-references.  See also the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology (beginning with 2003 to current year):  Ref Q121 M32 


Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
With over two million entries, Oxford Reference Online is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the "looking for a clue" or "needing verification" stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books--and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!

Use Quick Reference materials to discover a variety of Subjects, Timelines, Quotations, English Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.

Oxford's Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
ArchaeologyMedia studies
Art & ArchitectureMedicine and health
Bilingual dictionariesMusic
Classical studiesNames studies
EncyclopediasPerforming arts
English Dictionaries and ThesauriPhilosophy
HistoryQuotations
Language referenceReligion
LawScience and technology
LinguisticsSocial Sciences
LiteratureSociety and culture

Assistance and advice with using the Quick Reference and the Reference Library are available at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.

Finding Books

Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Cattrax is the online catalog that describes nearly all the materials held by the Brooks Library: books, government documents, maps, microforms, journals, and other items. Below is everything you may want to know about using Cattrax:

Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library:
1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box.

2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search."

3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed.

(Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.)

4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. Books labeled with call numbers between A and J can be found on the 3rd floor, while books classified as K to Z can be found on the fourth floor. All government documents, maps, and microforms can be found on the 3rd floor, and all musical recordings on the 4th floor. Physical journals, magazines, and serials are housed on the 2nd floor, while DVDs, video tapes and films may be found on the 1st floor. Children's books are located on the 4th floor.

More Information about Cattrax:
You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box.

Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, a citation tool, and often book cover images.

You can save the bib record to either "My Lists" (requires you to use your Library Log-in) or you can "Save to Bag" and remember to email, save, or print the resulting list of titles before you finish your session with Cattrax.

Once you have saved the useful results from your first search, you can perform more searches--perhaps starting by opening the author link, the subject terms (toward the bottom of the bib record), or the call number in a new browser tab, or by using the search box to start a totally new search.

(Note: If you click "Call #," you can sort search results by something like shelf order, allowing you to browse for books on similar topics. Of course, you may wish to look on the actual physical shelves--discovery happens in many ways.)

Additional Cattrax Information:
The “Request” service, located in the upper left of a bib record page, is only available for Center Campus Students. This is because Center campus students would need to use more than the stairs or the elevator to get a book from Brooks Library. (If you are a main campus student wishing to check out a book in a Center Library, please consult the Circulation Desk.)

The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.

If you have the citation for an article, you can search for journal titles by selecting "Journal/Serial Title" in the search options. Using this tool, you can discover if the library has access to print or digital copies of the journal in question. The library often has access to a journal through more than one database. If you do not succeed in locating the journal or article that you need, please consult one of our charming Brooks Library Librarians, or submit a request to our very resourceful Interlibrary Loan Department.

If your professor said that something you needed to read was on "Reserve" (the professor may have said "in the library" or something roughly equivalent), you can locate the item by searching in Cattrax by "Course" or "Prof/TA"--that is, by course or professor's name.

Last but certainly not least, if your item is not available in Cattrax, try requesting it through Summit, the unified catalog of 37 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest. If an item is also unavailable through Summit, you may wish to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection.  EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books in the areas of:

Children's & Young Adult NonfictionLiterature & Criticism
Arts & ArchitectureMathematics
Biographies & MemoirsPhilosophy
Business & EconomicsPolitical Science
Computer SciencePsychology
EducationReference Works
Engineering & TechnologyReligion
FictionSciences
General NonfictionSelf-Help & Family
Health & MedicineSocial Sciences
HistoryStudy Aids & Language Learning
Law
 
Note: EBSCO's classifications of these books is a bit imaginative, in each of the above categories there will be some books that you would not expect to see in that list.

You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.

Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Finding News Articles

WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


Business Source Complete [Ebsco] Restricted Resource Some full text available

Ebsco's interdisciplinary business database, Business Source Complete, contains full-text for more than 8,800 journals back to 1965 (or the first issue of that journal published) and the searchable cited references go back as far as 1998 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.  Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, etc.

If you find Business Source Complete useful you may also be interested in EBSCO's "Regional Business News".  Regional Business News contains comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.  Includes a "Subject Area" search for Accounting, Environmental Studies, Health & Medical Care, and Government & Politics.  For search strategies, you may wish to view the Lexis Nexis YouTube channel.


Scitation & SPIN Web Restricted Resource

The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals. SPIN contains the abstracts of over 80 scientific journals published by the American Institute of Physics and its Member Societies since 1975, as well as selected articles from other scientific journals, totaling close to 1 million articles. Scitation covers science and technology (particularly engineering) journals online portal sites, magazines, and conference proceedings. Select the "Scitation & SPIN" radio button prior to entering your search terms. 

This is a citation / abstract database only.  To search for the full text, you will need to type in the journal or book title into the Summit Catalog (see library homepage) to see if the item is at Central or to request the item Interlibrary Loan.


Web of Science Restricted Resource

Index, abstracts, bibliographies, and cited references to articles from over 6,400 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.


Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of journal articles (most full text is back to 1997 to 2009) in over 250 journals in business, science, technology, and law, education, psychology and medicine.


Government Information

Science.gov

Your portal to U.S. Government scientific and technical information and data "searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies." Browse topics for links to a wide range of online information sources in areas such as Earth and Ocean Sciences, Mapping and Cartography, Computers, Communications, and Mathematics, Natural Resources and Conservation, and many more. Now also available as Science.gov Mobile!


Handbooks & Guides

CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
Print Location: Ref TJ151 .C73 1998
Information on thermodynamics, solid / fluid mechanics, heat and mass transfer, system controls, materials, energy conversion, modern manufacturing and design, robotics, computer engineering, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, and bioengineering. Includes mathematical equations illustrating these concepts and a few color photographs.
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae (31st Edition)
Print Location: Ref QA47 .M315 2003
Each of the 10 chapters in this book tackles a topic in math. These topics are on the analysis of numbers, algebra, discrete math, geometry, continuous mathematics, special functions, probability and statistics, scientific computing, financial analysis and a concluding chapter on miscellaneous topics such as biographies and a list of resources.
Electronics Engineers' Handbook (4th Edition)
Print Location: Ref TK7825 .E34 1997
Main sections within this handbook include the principles and techniques--the basics--behind electronic engineering, materials used, circuits and functions and systems and applications. There is a final chapter on resources, which lists professional, trade and government organizations as well as print and online resources for further research.
Facts on File Calculus Handbook
Print Location: Ref QA303.2 M36 2003

Intended use is for middle school, high school and college students taking single-variable calculus. It's a comfortingly slim book. There are included a number of well-known calculus theorems, definitions and formulas. There are also charts and tables, biographies, and a historical introduction and a chronology of the subject.  See also:  Facts on File Geometry Handbook in the Reference Dept. [ Ref QA445.2 G67 2003 ]


McGraw-Hill Machining and Metalworking Handbook
Print Location: Ref TJ1185 .W35
Topics found within this handbook include ANSI standards and safety procedures, metal-cutting techniques and tools, timing formulas, and feeds and speeds tables. Includes illustrations.
McGraw-Hill's National Electrical Code Handbook (25th Edition)
Print Location: Ref TK260 .N2 2005
Explanations, commentary and illustrations on the rules found in the 2005 National Electrical Code. It follows the arrangement of the National Electrical Code's articles.
MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) Web Links

A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) is designed to provide both workers and emergency personnel with the proper procedures for handling or working with a particular substance. MSDS's include information such as physical data (melting point, boiling point, flash point etc.), toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and spill/leak procedures. These are of particular use if a spill or other accident occurs.


ToxFAQs: Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets

Information for this series is excerpted from the ATSDR Toxicological Profiles and Public Health Statements. Each fact sheet serves as a quick and easy to understand guide.


Toxnet [United States National Library of Medicine]

Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.


Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference: A Concise Guide for the Electrical Engineer
Print Location: Ref TA151 .H424 1998
Contains Reference information, with chapters on mathematics, mechanics / materials, structures (concrete, beams, columns, framing systems), fluid mechanics, thermodynamics / heat transfer, electricity and electronics, controls, economics / statistics, energy sources, the design process, engineering operations, and numerous measurement tables. Includes illustrations and mathematical equations.

Organizations & Directories

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
he ASME conducts one of the world's largest technical publishing operations, holds some 30 technical conferences and 200 professional development courses each year, and sets many industrial and manufacturing standards.
Construction Industry Directory

Site contains directory for products and services related to construction, including building materials, electrical, plumbing, and roofing.  Includes a link on the side bar to construction organizations, construction news and articles, contractor forms and local, state and federal government links.


Construction Industry Institute
CII is a consortium of leading owners, engineering and construction contractors, and suppliers who have a singular mission: to improve the cost effectiveness of the capital facility project life cycle, from pre-project planning through completion and commissioning. By collaborating on important industry issues and by providing guidance on best practices discovered through research, the CII members are collectively an industry forum for the engineer-procure-construct process.
Construction Management Association of America

CMAA is leading the growth and acceptance of Construction Management as a professional discipline.  Membership in CMAA includes more than 3,000 firms and individuals.  In 2000, the CMAA began publishing the Journal of Construction Management online under the title CM eJournal.  It is available on this website.


IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
The IEEE is a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, among others.
International Organization for Standardization
ISO is a network of the national standards institutes of 146 countries, on the basis of one member per country, with a Central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland, that coordinates the system.
National Association for Industrial Technology
Contains NAIT's online journal--The Journal of Industrial Technology--that accepts both peer-reviewed and non-reviewed scholarly articles. Contains full text articles published since its launching in 1998. There is also a section in this website specifically for students.
Society of Women Engineers

Society of Women Engineers (SWE) provides a collection of information and links regarding the recruitment and retention of women in engineering. Much of the content is organized by age/interest group, ranging from K-12 students to college students to working women. For the college student, the site offers links to scholarships and competitions. The site also supports working female engineers, offering links to professional communities and full-text articles in the professional development section. Selected full-text articles from recent issues of SWE Magazine are also available.


Quotations

Dictionary of Scientific Quotations

Extensive list of quotations, from Isaac Asimov to Einstein to Stephen Hawking to Mark Twain. Useful and amusing.  Available online. 


Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
Print Location: Reference, 1st Floor, QA276.14 .E84 2006
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics provides definition of over 3,600 statistical terms, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational aspects. The definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and provide standard formulae. The majority of definitions also give a reference to a book or article where you can seek further or more specialized information, and many entries are accompanied by graphical material that aids understanding. Entries are also provided for standard and specialized statistical software. Additionally short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given.

For additional information please see these Subject Terms:

Engineering Statistics Handbook
Online handbook on exploratory data analysis. It is linked to the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology, and Sematech. Handbook includes a glossary, tables for probability distributions, statistical software, case studies, and techniques for graphing and analyzing statistical information. See Also: the Cattrax library catalog using a subject heading search with the terms "Engineering Statistical Methods" to search for books in the 3rd / 4th floor stacks.
Metric Conversion Factors

Extensive list of conversion factors from the Washington Department of Transportation.


National Institute of Standards and Technology

Not just the guardians of Daylight Savings Time, the NIST is also has a laboratory website on Chemical Science and Technology [CSTL]. The following information is quoted from the CSTL website: "CSTL is the primary Reference laboratory for chemical measurements, entrusted with developing, maintaining, advancing, and enabling the chemical measurement system for the United States of America, thereby enhancing industry's productivity and competitiveness, establishing comparability of measurements to facilitate equity of global trade, and improving public health, safety, and environmental quality."


Statistical Reports of U.S. Science and Engineering

A wealth of surveys, reports, and statistics on the sciences. Surveys describe the workforce and current educational trends in science.


Web Sites

Aerospaceweb

Aerospaceweb.org is a non-profit organization operated by engineers and scientists in the aerospace field. The goal of this site is to provide educational information on a variety of subjects ranging from aviation to space travel to weaponry. Our primary areas of expertise include aerodynamics, propulsion systems, vehicle design, engineering career information, and aerospace history.


ConstructionWebLinks
Comprehensive guide to architecture, engineering, and construction resources on the Web that indexes, profiles, and links to over 5,000 sites.
eFunda
eFunda stands for engineering Fundamentals. Its mission is to create an online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information to meet the majority of their daily reference needs.
Engineers Edge
Design and engineering resources, job postings, and discussion.
iCivilEngineer
iCivilEngineer.com is a knowledge portal specially designed for civil engineering professionals and students. It has two goals in mind: 1) collect and catalog valuable civil engineering relevant Internet resources so that people can find information fast; 2) explore how to take advantage of Internet technology to serve the civil engineering community.
Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


Intute: Science, Engineering and Technology Gateway

A free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. It covers the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science. See also the "E-journals" search for freely available full text journals in the sciences.  Formerly known as EEVL--Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing.


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Physical Sciences, Engineering,Computing and Math from INFOMINE
Most major disciplines in these areas are well covered. Basic science resources are emphasized though there is much of an applied nature as well. Climatology (incl. climate change information), paleontology and environmental science information with a physical science leaning are included.
TechXtra--Engineering, Mathematics and Computing Portal

"TechXtra is a free service which can help you find artilces, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learnign resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing."

 


Items Of Interest

PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Greatest Engineering Achievements of the Twentieth Century

Explore this list of the top 20 achievements, and learn how engineering shaped a century and changed the world.


How Stuff Works

Quizzes, image galleries, weblinks and Q & A website for learning about anything and everything--broken down into browseable sections:  adventure, animals, auto, communication, computer, electronics, entertainment, food, geography, health, history, home & garden, money, people, and science.


IEEE Virtual Museum

The IEEE Virtual Museum Web site is designed for teenage students, educators, and the general public. This site provides, within a historical perspective, a basic understanding of the principles of electricity and magnetism along with many of their myriad applications. This museum features eight exhibits, each with explanatory story text, historic photos, and animation. Some exhibits are general while others are more specific. Examples of the latter are Thomas Edison's contributions and WW II's impact on technology. Each exhibit also features links to its story's related people, events, and technologies for more in-depth study. Topics include telegraphy, telephony, transistors, microwaves, computers, electronic music, women's contributions, and much more. This is an exceptionally well-designed and -implemented site with excellent content stemming from a team effort by multiple contributors. The museum is easy to navigate, loads fast, has a useful Help section, and a Keyword search capability that can be limited to specific years. It requires Flash 5 and QuickTime plug-ins to view all its content and its Help section explains how to download these free plug-ins.


Scientific American: Ask the Experts

"Queries range from the profound (Is it possible to travel through time?) to the everyday (How does a.microwave oven cook food?) and from the interesting (What illnesses do insects get?) to the surprising (How do whales sleep without drowning?"


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Call Numbers/Subjects