Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Elections and Politics

« Back To Guides Selection


Elections and Politics Resources
Registering to Vote
To register to vote in Washington State consult the Elections Page of the Washington Secretary of State.
Starting Points
Federal Election Commission
  • The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.
U.S. Election Assistance Commision
The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) was established by the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). Central to its role, the Commission serves as a national clearinghouse and resource for information and review of procedures with respect to the administration of Federal elections.
C-SPAN Politics: Campaign 2010
C-SPAN provides wide ranging links to  Congressional and gubernatorial races, including candidate profiles and more.
FactCheck.org: Annenberg Political Fact Check
FactCheck.org  is a nonpartisan, nonprofit, 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S.  politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.
Project Vote Smart
Project Vote Smart includes biographies, lobby group ratings, campaign receipts by Political Action Committee subject groupings. Information on state and local candidates.
RealClearPolitics
RealClearPolitics provides  opinion, news, polls and analysis on electtions across the U.S.
Rock the Vote
Rock the Vote is a non-profit, non-partisan organization, founded in 1990 in response to a wave of attacks on freedom of speech and artistic expression. Rock the Vote engages youth in the political process by incorporating the entertainment community and youth culture into its activities. From actors to musicians, comedians to athletes, Rock the Vote harnesses cutting-edge trends and pop culture to make political participation cool.
Electionline.org
Electionline.org, produced by The Pew Center on the States, is a non-partisan, non-advocacy website providing up-to-the-minute news and analysis on election reform.
Congressional Elections
U.S. Senate Home Page
Home page of the U.S. Senate, including a wide range of reference material.
U.S. House of Representatives Home Page
Home page of the U.S House of Representatives, including information on current legislation and voting histories of members.
Roll Call
Roll Call magazine covers Capitol Hill and elections and includes a Campaign News  section.
Public Opinion Polls
Washington State Elections
Washington Elections and Voting
From the office of the Secretary of State of Washington State, The Elections and Voting page provides a wide range of information for Washington voters, from election and referendum guides to information on registering to vote.
Campaign Finance
Campaign Finance Information
The Campaign Finance pages are designed to provide timely information and analysis to help policy makers, journalists, and citizens deliberate thoughtfully and constructively on the very complex and troublesome issues involved in money and politics. The special focus of this site is campaign finance law and administration.
Opensecrets.org--Money in politics data
From the Center for Responsive Politics, Opensecrets.org includes list of Congressional District and Senatorial races by
state, campaign finances received and spent and campaign contributions by interest sector, and top contributors.