Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Environmental Studies

« Back To Guides Selection


About This Guide
This research guide is and will always be a work in progress. I hope it will also be a collaborative effort. So, please contact the subject specialist with any comments about resources that should or should not be included, typos, broken links, or other suggestions for improvement. Thanks!

The chat widget on the right will connect you with the reference librarian on duty at the time, or a librarian at a different library. If you prefer the subject specialist, please use the contact information in that box. Also, Zoho is a third party service so their terms and policies are not controlled by CWU.
New Materials @ Brooks Library!

Loading ...

All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

Atlas of Historical County Boundaries Some full text available
Interactive maps, shapefiles, chronologies, and metadata for U.S. counties. Some of these go back as far as 1629. Download zipped GIS, KMZ, or PDF files.

Intute: World Guide

A series of guides for over 270 countries and territories. These include features, demographics, geography data, interactive world maps, satellite photosscrollable city images, and links to resources about each country within the Intute database. You can even compare data between countries. You may go straight to the entry for a specific country via the dropdown menu, or you can search for satellite images and features by keyword.


Land Status & Cadastral Records Viewer for Oregon & Washington Some full text available Resource contains images
These early land records are highly valuable for research in history, anthropology, geography, environmental studies, and more. The Bureau of Land Management provides both the surveys and the accompanying field notes. A wealth of information on ownership, Native American habitations, landforms, and plant life all come to you through a really clunky interface. Nonetheless, it is well worth the trouble. Dates as early as the 1860s.
Washington State Geologic Information Portal Some full text available
This page includes access to a range of interactive maps, including coal mines, geothermal resources, subsurface geology, and others. The right hand menu of the portal includes links to Geoscience Data (including GIS data), Publications of the Division of Geology and Earth Resources, and more. The publications page has a wealth of data and information. They have  "about 140 publications online. Our newsletter, TsuInfo Alert, is available electronically on this website; back issues of our journal, Washington Geology, and our newsletter, DGER News, are also available on this website. Our reports and maps are held in libraries nationwide."
Nationalatlas.gov Resource contains images

Nationalatlas.gov provides online and printable maps covering all aspects of the United States. There are maps for topics in biology, agriculture, boundaries, climate, the environment, geology, government, history, demographics, transportation, and water, as well as land maps. You can even try making your own map! Includes statistical information on crime, economics, energy, and health. Aerial photographs are also available, as well as raw data from map layers--see the "Mapping Professionals" tab. Nearly all of the map layers in the National Atlas Map Maker are also available for download using File Transfer Protocol (ftp). There is no charge for this service. Most of the map layers were compiled at a scale of 1:2,000,000 or a ground resolution of one kilometer. Most map layers cover the full geographic extent of the United States of America, although some cover the conterminous United States.


Oxford Reference Online: Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

For digital collections of original maps, see also the research guide section "Images Online & in Databases."


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society Some full text available
A wide range of environmental topics are examined in social context. The link here lands you on a page of Gale Reference electronic books to which CWU provides access. Scroll down and click on the image or title of the encyclopedia you wish to use. The book index covers all volumes and is linked from near the top of most pages. The index entries are linked to the articles; the list of articles is not. The "Reader's Guide" is an aid in locating information by topic, these are also not linked. There is a "Listen" feature (limited to first 190,000 characters), or MP3 files can be downloaded (up to 1000 characters at a time).  While there is an icon for printing, it appears that the only way to save a page or chapter as a PDF is to use the print icon to convert to a PDF using a converter such as CutePDF Writer or Adobe PDF.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Some full text available
This link lands you on a page of Gale Reference electronic books to which CWU provides access. Scroll down and click on the image or title of the encyclopedia you wish to use. Topics in this one include ideas, concepts, and philosophies, things, places, people, and organizations. The subject area is addressed broadly, bringing in poetry, art, and science in addition to more traditional topics in philosophy and ethics. The 321 articles are written and signed by experts in the field. A number of the primary sources, present in the print volumes have been "suppressed due to author restrictions," so they are inaccessible, but some remain accessible. There are links at the bottom of the "List of Primary Sources" in volume 2. An annotated bibliography is provided and a glossary of terms that were not given full entries. While there is an icon for printing, it appears that the only way to save a page or chapter as a PDF is to use the print icon to convert to a PDF using a converter such as CutePDF Writer or Adobe PDF.
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History
Print Location: GF10 .E63 2004 Some full text available

Looks at the history of environmentalism around the globe, beginning with ancient history up through modern times. The editors provide a list of general topics, including: Arts, Climate, Exploitation and Processes, Law and Regulation, Organizations, Places and Events, Religion, Socio-cultural Resources, and Technology and Science.


Finding Books

How to find theses in the Brooks Library

Scroll down to the notes section for instructions including how to narrow your search from the complete set of over 4,300 Central Washington University (or State College) theses. This record can also be located by going to the library home page and using the term "theses" (no quotes) in the search box in about the middle of the page. The library catalog is a web resource; the theses are in print in the library.


National Academies Press Some full text available
Register with the National Academy of Sciences for free published and prepublication books, reports, and other documents. Choose PDF downloads of chapters or whole books. A wide array of titles are available including Protecting National Park Soundscapes (2013, 47 pages), On Being a Scientist: A Guide to Responsible Conduct in Research: Third Edition (2009, 82 pages), and The Psychological Well-Being of Nonhuman Primates (1998, 184 pages). Subjects include GIS, environmental impacts, psychology, aeronautics, earth sciences, social sciences (including Law & Justice), and many more. Browse by topic or search.

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Astrophysics Data System (ADS) Some full text available
ADS is an abstracting service and digital library portal with much greater breadth than the name implies. It permits combined search or browse of three bibliographic databases: Astronomy  and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXive e-prints. The arXive service claims to cover "Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics," but also has some information on scientific topics that are remotely related, at most. For example, a search in ADS for "mass wasting" (in quote marks, to be searched as a phrase) with "gis" (no quote marks needed), both largely geosciences topics, returned 24 results. Although not within the announced subject areas, all are high quality, scholarly publications, and several are available in full-text.
BIRDNET
"BIRDNET provides information for and about ornithology, the scientific study of birds. The site serves professional ornithologists and the general public. BIRDNET is provided by the Ornithological Council, a public information organization established and supported by twelve Western Hemisphere ornithological societies." Look under "Resources for Ornithologists" in the upper right for help locating references to journal articles, online literature, and other resources. Some of these link to full text, but many do not. Includes links to indexes in ornithology: SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive, OWL: Ornithological Worldwide Literature, and Global Raptor Information Network, as well as BioOne. Some of the literature located through these will not be available to CWU researchers at no charge.
Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available

DOAJ indexes only fully open access scholarly journals which are peer-reviewed or exercise editorial quality control. All publications are browseable and searchable through DOAJ by title, while about half of the publications are searchable at the article level. Those not searchable at the article level through DOAJ may still have such search capability at their sites. Journal records have subjects which are hyperlinked to aid in finding additional relevant publications. The subject tree provides an additional aid in locating publications. Genuinely international in scope, it unfortunately seems to lack the ability to limit your search by language. Covers a broad scope of topics including technology & sciences, languages & literature, arts, history, business, health sciences, and more.


E.V. Komarek Fire Ecology Database
"As of September 2012, there are over 27,000 citations in the database" to historical and current research in fire ecology. This is a citation index; it will help you find information about useful literature, but it will not provide access. You may be able to locate the cited items through Brooks library or other libraries. Includes citations to "journal articles, books and government documents (federal & state), conference proceedings (including all Proceedings of the TTRS Fire Ecology Conferences, with abstracts), magazine and newspaper articles, and theses."
Electronic Green Journal Some full text available
An open access, semi-annual, peer-reviewed journal of environmental information. Published since 1994 by the University of California. International in scope.
Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene Some full text available

Originally scheduled to start publication in July 2013.

Elementa is a collaboration of  BioOne, Dartmouth, the Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of Colorado Boulder, the University of Michigan, and the University of Washington. This new, open access publication aims to publish articles that are timely, technically sound, and peer-reviewed  with a focus on "interactions between human and natural systems and behaviors."

Its six initial "knowledge domains" are Atmospheric Science, Earth & Environmental Science, Ecology, Ocean Science, Sustainable Engineering, and Sustainability.


GreenFILE Some full text available

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.


Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


Government Information

Best Practices Database: U.S. Conference of Mayors Some full text available
What are our cities doing about water quality or water conservation? What is being tried to improve conditions relative to crime, transportation, or sustainability? Mayor's offices from around the country report on their successful initiatives in this best practices database. Great for any urban planning topic. Keep in mind that these are self-reported successes. As a result, they are far from impartial. If you want a balanced view, take these initiatives and start digging in scientific databases, newspapers, goverment information, and other research sources. Still, this is an excellent starting place to find out what programs are being tried, what they say they achieved, and, in many reports, with whom the city contracted or partnered and how they funded it.
Incident News Some full text available Resource contains images
The National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration's Office of Response and Restoration provides photos, news, data, and other information about oil spills and other incidents to which they responded. Incidents as far back as 1957 and at least as far away as Guam are included. Includes "a machine-readable version of the incident data...available as a SQLite database and a CSV text file," a browsable mapping feature,"10 Famous Oils Spills, a glossary, and more. Browse by date or name, browse the map, or search.
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) Legacy Series Some full text available
"NMFS legacy publication series dating back to the 1940s are now available in electronic format as PDFs." Special Scientific Reports (Nos. 30, 36 - 40, and others relate to the Columbia River and Tribuatries.), Test Kitchen Series (fish cookery), Circulars, Pamphlets, and more. Water quality, fisheries including salmon, and other topics. National coverage, with at least a few international. For broader coverage, see their Scientific Publications Office.
National Park Service History e-Library Some full text available
Documents relating to the history of the National Parks, either historical documents and publications on the history of the parks. Documents range from at least 1902 to 2012. Because this is a portal to a variety of sources, formats and steps to access vary. For example, "Our National Parks" (1918) is available in PDF if you first click on the "i" in the upper right for "About This Book." The search does not seem to function at the time of this writing, so use the browsing functions near the bottom of the page to find documents by park or document type. Within document type (such as "Publications"), look for further subdivisions at the bottom of the page. The Anthropology and Archaeology  and Scientific Monographs series may be of particular interest. TheIRMA Portal icludes geospacial datasets, letters, published and unpublished reports, conference proceedings, books and chapters, maps, and journal articles. Some can be downloaded by clicking on the title in the results and finding the download link in the record. Some have downloads restricted and many seem to have broken links, but the access to unpublished literature and datasets make it of value. IRMA can download the list of results in an Excel sheet or into Endnote.
National Sea Grant Library Some full text available
The digital library and archives of NOAA's National Sea Grant program. Over 22,000 documents on topics"including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law." The searchable publications database provides links to the full-text documents where available, and citations otherwise. Also browse or use the advanced search to limit by date, topic area, program (e.g. Washington Sea Grant), region (e.g. Pacific), or other parameters.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications Some full text available
Over 40,000 EPA documents are indexed, although not all are available digitally. Documents included date from the 1940s to the present. A 1942 document, for example, describes pollution in the Ohio River basin. The quick tips are likely to be useful for a more effective search and offer suggestions for obtaining print-only documents. Tip: For print copies or print-only documents, try visiting our Government Publications Department! For all documents that were originally print, the system only searches the descriptive information (metadata). For documents that were "born digital" the search is full-text.
National Wetlands Inventory (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service)

The National Wetlands Inventory (NWI) of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service produces information on the characteristics, extent, and status of the Nation's wetlands and deepwater habitats. Congressional mandates in the Emergency Wetlands Resources Act requires the Service to map wetlands, and to digitize, archive and distribute the maps. With funding from other Federal, State, Tribal, local and private organizations, the Service has produced final maps for much of the nation. About half are digitized and available to the public on the Internet. Private companies provide NWI data in various other media. Hard-copy maps are available through Cooperator-run Distribution Centers.


NTIS National Technical Reports Library
The National Technical Information System provides these thematic newsletters monthly highlighting government publications relevant to the topic of the month. Wide ranging subjects with some technical aspect. Past newsletter topics have included civil engineering, homeland security, energy, food safety, environmental topics, world trade, Medicare fraud, driving safety, and cybersecurity, just to name a few. Interested in a list of publications on the Deepwater Horizon oil spill? See the November 2011 issue. Can those invasive constrictors that are such a problem in Florida come here? Check out the issue on invasive species, February 2013. The NTIS charges for most of the listed publications if you just click on the link in the newsletter. However, copy and paste the publication title into your favorite search engine (in quote marks, to search as a phrase, is usually most effective), and voilà! Most of the time a free copy is available. Can't bear to miss an issue of this newsletter? Sign up for free email delivery.
Regulations.gov Some full text available
"Allows for browsing and searching of proposed and final federal regulations, submitted comments regarding proposed regulations, supporting agency documentation, and reports related to regulations" (Library of Congress, 2013,http://www.loc.gov/law/find/databases.php#regu).

State Legislative Website Directory
The National Conference of State Legislatures brings you this handy database for locating state statutes, bills, and other information. Limit by state or states, content type, or both.

TreeSearch Some full text available
This Tree-mendous resource provides digital access to Forest Service publication from 1900 to the present. "[A]ll new books, chapters, and articles beginning January 2004, ...[adding] older publications as rapidly as possible." Almost 36,000 publications as of 2012. "[R]esearch monographs...papers...conference proceedings...books. Research results behind these publications have been peer reviewed..." Search by author, keyword, publication type or number, originating station, or date.

United States Fish Commission Reports Some full text available
1871-1940 and 1947-1979. PDF format. See the website for the various names and other changes at the agency. If you don't have a year or number in mind, check the National Marine Fisheries Service Indexes for help locating them by author or subject.
USDA Plants Database
"Standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references." Everything from endangered to noxious and invasive. Wetland plants by region. Plant lists by state and county. The advanced search includes facets for distribution, taxonomy, ecology, reproduction, legal status, and several more. The simple search can be by scientific or common name. 
USDA Web Soil Survey Some full text available Resource contains images
The Web Soil Survey lets you define your area of interest and generates a report for you including "description of the soils and miscellaneous areas and their location on the landscape and tables that show soil properties and limitations affecting various uses….the steepness, length, and shape of the slopes; the general pattern of drainage; the kinds of crops and native plants; and the kinds of bedrock" and more! The contents of the report are customized by you. Includes maps, legends, definitions, and map unit descriptions. A link to your professional looking, customized report is emailed to you for access. Especially if you are having difficulties, see their Tips and Shortcuts or the Known Problems and Workarounds. If you follow their directions carefully, it can make all the difference. And there's a link to the NRCS Geospatial Data Gateway!
Your Role in Fire Adapted Communities Some full text available
"The concept of fire-adapted communities (FACs) holds that, with proper community-wide preparation, human populations and infrastructure can withstand the devastating effects of a wildland fire, reducing loss of life and property...This guide will frame the FAC concept and current efforts to define its scope, explain the roles that groups can adopt to improve their fire safety, and provide guidance on future steps." This document outlines a strategy to plan for, respond to, and recover from wildland fires by restoring and maintaining appropriate landscapes, creating fire adapted communities, and developing fire management activities best suited to this environment.
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science

The Office of Science manages fundamental research programs in basic energy sciences, biological and environmental sciences, and computational science. In addition, the Office of Science is the Federal Government's largest single funder of materials and chemical sciences, and it supports unique and vital parts of U.S. research in climate change, geophysics, genomics, life sciences, and science education.


United States Environmental Protection Agency

EPA leads the nation's environmental science, research, education and assessment efforts.


Science.gov

Your portal to U.S. Government scientific and technical information and data "searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies." Browse topics for links to a wide range of online information sources in areas such as Earth and Ocean Sciences, Mapping and Cartography, Computers, Communications, and Mathematics, Natural Resources and Conservation, and many more. Now also available as Science.gov Mobile!


Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of Northwestern Plants
Print Location: Ref QK144 .G5 2001
Western Washington and Oregon plants are identified here, explained through the use of analytical plant keys and terms used in the study of botany. You will find genera and species arranged alphabetically within families. Some line drawings, but no color illustrations.

Images & Primary Resources

Central Washington Historical Aerial Photograph Project Resource contains images
United States Department of Agriculture aerial black & white photographs from Benton, Douglas, Kittitas, and Yakima counties are available to view online or download from this easy-to-use site. Help, though sparse, seems sufficient. All or predominantly images from 1949 and 1954.
Debating Rachel Carson's Silent Spring: The President's Advisory Committee on Pesticides Some full text available
The resource list for this online presentation provides scans, transcriptions, or references to period documents relevant to the controversy engendered by Rachel Carson's book Silent Spring. The resulting efforts to reduce the use of pesticides and contain the damage caused by them led to industry defense of their products and to government investigation of the issue. Examples include Monsanto's rebuttal "The Desolate Year" and the text of the Nobel Prize award speech for the discovery of DDT. Also included are references to more recent related publications
Forest History Society Some full text available Resource contains images
What were some major forest fires? How has law and policy changed over time in the forest service, regarding fire or other issues? Who was the first female fire lookout? What did the fire lookouts eat? This site provides access to over 30,000 images plus numerous digitized copies of historic documents. Check their research home for annotated citations for over 45,000 publications from 1633 to the present (unfortunately, seemingly not browsable by date), some with links to scanned texts. For documents not linked from this site, or preferred in print, check Brooks Library for print holdings of books. government documents, and journals. Also, check our databases for electronic copies of some journal articles. For Washington State interest see their blog post on Mason County history, or search the database for "Washington State" (in quote marks to be searched as a phrase for greater relevance).

Western Waters Digital Library Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio

From the earliest European explorers to the time of modern engineers and hydrologists, the vast reserves of water within the Western United States have been the cause of both great excitement and concern. This compelling digital library brings together a wide range of documents (including legal transcripts, water project records, and personal papers) that document the Columbia, Colorado, Platte, and Rio Grande river basins. The project was completed with support from the Institute of Museum and Library Services and twelve university libraries in eight western states. On the homepage, visitors can perform advanced searches, or elect to browse by the institution holding the original. Browsing is a good option; visitors can look over troves that include "Native American Water Rights in Arizona", "The Platte River Basin in Nebraska", and "Las Vegas: Water in the West". The tabs to limit format do not appear to be functional on the home page, but limits are available in the upper right corner of the results page. Text, images, audio, and EAD (finding aids for archives collections) are the available format limits. Advanced search is also available.


Early Washington Maps: A Digital Collection Resource contains images

"Early Washington Maps: A Digital Collection is the product of a partnership between the University of Washington Libraries Map Collections and Washington State University's Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections. The maps of this collection have been drawn solely from the collections of these two institutions and are widely varied, ranging from large-scale geographical maps to small hand-drawn sketches of settlements. In the time period spanned by this project, the Pacific Northwest went from being considered 'parts as yet unknown' to being the subject of literally thousands of maps concerned with geography, transportation, climate, population, cultures, politics, tourism, and other topics."


Organizations & Directories

American Association for the Advancement of Science

An international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association.  In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science (earlier issues online), as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and supports programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.  AAAS also provides some career reosources that are of general interest.
 


EnviroLink

EnviroLink is a non-profit organization... a grassroots online community that unites hundreds of organizations and volunteers around the world with millions of people in more than 150 countries. EnviroLink is dedicated to providing comprehensive, up-to-date environmental information and news.


Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON)
BISON provides species occurence data for the United States and its territories. Basic information on locating, downloading, citing data, and more is provided under the "Help" tab. BISON is produced by the U.S. node of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) which offers global data. For more information on using GBIF see their very thorough user's guide.
China Data Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
The China Data Center is an ongoing project of the University of Michigan. The China Data Center offers comprehensive and updated information on China’s economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels. It also includes statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, industrial surveys, census maps and an atlas of China.  Much of the data requires a subscription, but freely accessible data can be found several places on the site, and not just here and here.  (Also, check out their Projects links.)


Envirofacts
The Environmental Protection Agency's portal for retrieval of environmental data and other information.
LANDFIRE

LANDFIRE, Landscape Fire and Resource Management Planning Tools, relies on "peer reviewed, consistent, and repeatable scientific methods" to provide spatial data layers which map or provide other data on vegetation, fire, and fuel characteristics. It is a tool for management relating to "prioritization of hazardous fuel reduction and ecological conservation activities...strategic resource management initiatives...fire management planning, stewardship of public and private lands, and natural resource management." In addition, it serves research in "climate change research, carbon sequestration planning, [and] eco?regional assessments." For a quick overview, see their fact sheet.


GeoStat Center: Collections--Historical Census Browser [University of Virginia Library]

One of the University of Virginia Library's Electronic Centers, the Geostat Center contains most of the spatial and social science data available through the University Library system. Much of the information is digital, but theyalso house the physical map collection, paper copies of many codebooks, software manuals, and reference books pertaining to spatial and statistical analysis.


Intute: Statistics
This site contains links to social science statistical information available online.  The links are organized into the following broad categories:Note: Intute closed in July 2011.  The site has now been archived and no additional resources are being added to the catalogue, nor are any changes being made to existing content.  Intute is still a large and useful site and is well worth your taking the time to look through it. 
(If you see any links in Intute or elsewhere that should be promoted to having their own entry in this or another Research Guide please let me know.)

Vulcan Project Resource contains images Some full text available

"The Vulcan Project is a NASA/DOE funded effort" under the  U.S. Carbon Cycle Science Program "to quantify North American fossil fuel carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions at space and time scales much finer than has been achieved in the past. The purpose is to aid in quantification of the North American carbon budget, to support inverse estimation of carbon sources and sinks, and to support the demands posed by higher resolution CO2 observations (in situ and remotely sensed). The detail and scope of the Vulcan CO2 inventory has also made it a valuable tool for policymakers, demographers, social scientists and the public at large." A related resource is the Orbiting Carbon Observatory (OCO) .


USGS--Historical Statistics for Mineral and Material Commodities in the United States
On-line compilation of historical U.S. statistics on mineral and material commodities.

Web Sites

Citation Fox
Citation Fox provides templates and examples. It is not a citation generator. It covers only APA (where this link will land you) and MLA (linked from the bottom of the page) and claims to demonstrate format for over 500 resource types.
Columbia Basin Research Some full text available
From the University of Washington School of Aquatic and Fisheries Science, this resource offers data, status, forecasts, tools and models, pulications and more focused on the Columbia Basin fish and fisheries, water, and related topics.
ConservOnline
ConservOnline is a one-stop, online, public library, created and maintained by The Nature Conservancy in partnership with other conservation organizations. The library makes conservation tools, techniques, and experience available to a broad community of conservation practitioners. This site is intended to foster learning and collaboration, and provide information and support to anyone making conservation-related decisions.
Digital Commons Network Some full text available Resource contains images
The Digital Commons Network is a portal to digital content in a wide range of institutional repositories promising "open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work." Topic areas can be browsed and include Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Business, Education, Engineering, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, Physical Sciences and Mathematics, and Social and Behavioral Sciences. Facets in the left menu of the results page facilitate focusing your search. While rich, varied, and mostly scholarly to a degree, a substantial number of the documents are not peer-reviewed or subject to editorial review. For example, "The Public Land and Resources Law Review is published by a board of student editors at The University of Montana School of Law." Editorial policy, and search and browse capabilities are determined at the level of the individual repository or section of the repository (e.g. journal).
Emergency Preparedness and Repsonse - Wildfires
One of the CDC pages on natural disasters and severe weather, this page features "information about health and safety concerns...and resources for specific groups, such as response workers, pet shelters, or people with chronic conditions or disabilities" (C&RL News, September 2013) with specific focus on wildfire related health topics including wildfire smoke. The CDC also has additional information about how to Protect Yourself from Wildfire Smoke focused on Environmental Health.



Knight Cite
Choose your citation style (MLA, Chicago, or APA) and your resource type in the left menu, fill in the blanks and - voilà - a recommended complete citation! As with all citation generators, check it manually to make sure it is correct.
Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
Formatting and Style Guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago are included in the resources at OWL. Shorter and generally more easily understood than the full citation manuals, though less complete. They cover most, but not all, of the citation situations that you will encounter. Also includes guidance on plagiarism, writing résumés and business letters, punctuation and grammar, and other writing topics.
University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide Some full text available
From the "Citation Guides" link you will find links to handy little two page summaries (for MLA, CSE, Chicago, and APA) of the most commonly encountered citation situations. Print them out double-sided and tuck them in your notebook or wherever is convenient so you can have them at the ready for any citation emergency... or non-emergency. Includes quick handouts for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE styles and links to more detailed formatting guidelines.
EarthTrends: The Environmental Information Portal

From the World Resources Insitute, comprehensive online database that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world.


Fuel Cells 2000--The Online Fuel Cell Information Resource

Information on the basics of fuel cells and hydrogen, a message board, information resources on the topic and U.D. Department of Energy links, among other organizations.


Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

This panel, established by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP), assesses "the scientific, technical and socio-economic information relevant to understanding the scientific basis of risk of human-induced climate change, its potential impacts and options for adaptation and mitigation." The panel's websites features reports (including the 2007 report declaring "warming of the climate system is unequivocal"), details about working groups, press releases, and related material. Some documents available in multiple languages.


Intute: Environment Gateway

"The Intute Environment Gateway provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities".  Content of webpages is not specific to the United Kingdom region.

While this remains a source of many useful resources, please be aware that, according to the site, "Intute closed in July 2011...we are not adding any further resources...or making any changes ..."


Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


National Science Digital Library

From the website: "NSDL was established by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2000 as an online library which directs users to exemplary resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research. Access to most of the resources discovered through NSDL is free; however, some content providers may require a login, or a nominal fee or subscription to retrieve their specific resources."  You can search for audio, video, interactive resources, data and full text articles.


The Natural Resources Defense Council
The Natural Resources Defense Council works to protect wildlife and wild places and to ensure a healthy environment for all life on earth.

Nature.com

Nature is a weekly journal of science.Nature.com contains subject areas on physics, along with sections on chemistry, life sciences, medicine, earth sciences and the environment.  The website also includes podcasts of the Nature show and videos.  Some of the information contained in here (journal articles, etc.) may have a full text option but are available only to subscribers of Nature.com.  To access an article, try searching the CWU Library catalog and "Electronic Journals" webpage for journal titles to which CWU Library owns a subscription.


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resources from around the world including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies. It is searchable by title, author or creator, subject, language, and keyword, and more. Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not. See Colorado State University's explanation at http://lib.colostate.edu/howto/others/boolean.html). The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language. You can create an account that will enable you to save searches. NOTE: Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted. The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.
World Resources Institute

Covers environmental research topics in terms of agriculture, business practices and solutions, climate, energy, ecosystems, and resources. There are also pages highlighting environmental trends, and another area provides citation and abstract information for WRI's publications, with most available in full text. These publications include articles, powerpoints and datasets of reliable and current data on a number of environmental studies done under the World Resources Report Series.


Items Of Interest

Designing Conference Posters
Colin Purrington, formerly of Swarthmore College, offers these helpful tips, DOs and DON'Ts, links, literature, and templates. For a concise resource, it's possibly as close as you'll get to a complete toolkit for designing your conference posters. In case you need more help, he provides a list of "Useful Literature." Probably the most entertaining of these is the tongue-in-cheek "Mortal sins in poster presentations or, How to give the poster no one remembers."
Exploratorium Learning Studio Resource contains audio Some full text available

The Exploratorium, a science museum founded in 1969 by physicist Frank Oppenheimer, contains a number of science / art / human perception exhibits within the San Francisco Palace of Fine Arts.  The Exploratorium's website acts as both an exhibit space for sound and video webpages, and as an indexed megasite of award-winning web pages covering all areas of science.


PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Citing Your Sources


To learn or review acceptable use of the work of others, see Plagiarism: What it is...and is not

For help formatting your citations, see:

Knight Cite
Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide

For tools for managing your references, see the links from University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide . Zotero and Mendeley are the free options currently available.

All resources in this section are described in more detail in the "Websites" section of this page.
 

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Getting Work
Need work over the summer? Emily Wild of the USGS Denver Library offers these links for opportunities at Federal departments, agencies, and bureaus:
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Euster

Lisa Euster
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1642

Catalog Search
Call Numbers/Subjects
Ask A Librarian Chat