Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections
Brooks Library Research Guides: Family History
« Back To Guides Selection
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Government Information
Handbooks & Guides
Images & Primary Resources
Government Information
Handbooks & Guides
Images & Primary Resources
Historical U.S. County Online Map Collection, 1840-1980
Print Location: 3rd Floor Gov Pubs Reference Call# G3701 A1 U54
Print Location: 3rd Floor Gov Pubs Reference Call# G3701 A1 U54
Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920
Print Location: 3rd Floor Gov Pubs Reference Call# G1201.F7 T5 1987
Shows U.S. county boundary maps for the census decades superimposed on modern county boundaries. Gives background information on each census, including census availability for each county
Print Location: 3rd Floor Gov Pubs Reference Call# G1201.F7 T5 1987
Shows U.S. county boundary maps for the census decades superimposed on modern county boundaries. Gives background information on each census, including census availability for each county
Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920
Print Location: 3rd Floor Gov Pubs Reference Call# G1201.F7 T5 1987
Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon
Washington Series includes 1888, 1889, 1897, 1909, 1928.
Print Location: 3rd Floor Gov Pubs Reference Call# G1201.F7 T5 1987
Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon
Washington Series includes 1888, 1889, 1897, 1909, 1928.
- Local town editions: Cle Elum, 1925; Ellensburg, 1888, 1889, 1897, 1909, 1928, 1939 (1949); North Yakima: 1888-1909; Roslyn, 1888-(1935); Wenatchee, 1894-(1939); Yakima, 1920-1941
- Folder with 1888 and 1897 also in map room 301A under call number G4284.E5 G475 1897 .S3
Abridged Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z5305.U5 B572 1988
A consolidated index to more than 1,600,000 biographical sketches from over 115 selected current and retrospective biographical dictionaries indexed in Biography & Genealogy Master Index through 1987
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z5305.U5 B572 1988
A consolidated index to more than 1,600,000 biographical sketches from over 115 selected current and retrospective biographical dictionaries indexed in Biography & Genealogy Master Index through 1987
National Cyclopaedia of American Biography
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# E176 N27 1937
CWU Library has many "Who Who's" reference sets including those for artists, scientists, and scholars as well as a few from foreign countries. Inquire about these at the Reference Desk 1st Floor.
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# E176 N27 1937
CWU Library has many "Who Who's" reference sets including those for artists, scientists, and scholars as well as a few from foreign countries. Inquire about these at the Reference Desk 1st Floor.
Genealogist's Encyclopedia
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS9 P48 1969b
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS9 P48 1969b
Newsstand [ProQuest]

Coverage of over 1200 newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
Coverage of over 1200 newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Annals of Genealogical Research
The Annals of Genealogical Research is an open access journal for genealogy and family history.
The Annals of Genealogical Research is an open access journal for genealogy and family history.
Genealogical Research at the Library of Congress
Print Location: Gov Pubs Coll 3rd Floor Docs# LC 1.2:G 28/2001
Print Location: Gov Pubs Coll 3rd Floor Docs# LC 1.2:G 28/2001
Genealogies Catalogued by the Library of Congress Since 1986
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# Z5313.U5 L53 1991
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# Z5313.U5 L53 1991
The Library of Congress: A Guide to Genealogical and Historical Research
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z1250 N4 1990
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z1250 N4 1990
Getting Started: Beginning Your Genealogical Research in the National Archives in Washington
Print Location: Gov Pubs Coll 3rd Floor Docs# AE 1.102:G 28
Contents: Using census records -- Using military service and pension records -- Using passenger arrival and records -- Using federal land records
Print Location: Gov Pubs Coll 3rd Floor Docs# AE 1.102:G 28
Contents: Using census records -- Using military service and pension records -- Using passenger arrival and records -- Using federal land records
Our Family, Our Town: Essays on Family and Local History Sources in the National Archives
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# Z1250 O95 1987
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# Z1250 O95 1987
Where to Write for Vital Records: Births, Deaths, Marriages, and Divorce
Print Location: Gov Pubs Coll 3rd Floor Docs# HE 20.6210:1993
Print Location: Gov Pubs Coll 3rd Floor Docs# HE 20.6210:1993
Genealogical Resources in Washington State: A Guide to Genealogical Records Held at Repositories, Government Agencies, and Archives
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call # Z5301 G42 1983
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call # Z5301 G42 1983
A List of Emigrants from England to America, 1718-1759
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# E187.5 K3
Transcribed from microfilms of the original records at the Guildhall, London. Labelled "Agreements to Serve In America"
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# E187.5 K3
Transcribed from microfilms of the original records at the Guildhall, London. Labelled "Agreements to Serve In America"
Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County & Town Sources
Print Location: 3rd Floor Gov Pubs Reference #CS49 A55 1992
Print Location: 3rd Floor Gov Pubs Reference #CS49 A55 1992
Building An American Pedigree: A Study in Genealogy
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call # CS47 W68
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call # CS47 W68
Discover Your Ancestors: A Quest For Your Roots
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 P45
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 P45
Ethnic Genealogy: A Research Guide
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS49 E83 1983
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS49 E83 1983
Genealogical Research and Resources: A Guide for Library Use
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call # Z688.G3 G54 1988
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call # Z688.G3 G54 1988
Genealogy Online: Researching Your Roots
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stack Call# CS21 .C68 1996
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stack Call# CS21 .C68 1996
Genealogy Online: Researching Your Roots
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stack Call# CS21 .C68 1996
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stack Call# CS21 .C68 1996
Handy Book for Genealogists
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call # CS16 E85 1981
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call # CS16 E85 1981
How to Find Your Family Roots
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 B35
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 B35
Know Your Ancestors: A Guide to Genealogical Research
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 W53 1977
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 W53 1977
Passenger and Immigration Lists Bibliography, 1538-1900
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z5313.U5 F54 1981
Guide to published lists of arrivals in the United States and Canada
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z5313.U5 F54 1981
Guide to published lists of arrivals in the United States and Canada
Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call # CS47 G73 1990
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call # CS47 G73 1990
The Genealogist's Handbook: Modern Methods for Researching
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call # CS9 W74 1995
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call # CS9 W74 1995
Tracing Your Ancestors
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 M35
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 M35
Tracing Your Ancestry: A Step-by-Step Guide to Researching Your Family History
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS47 H44
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS47 H44
Your Family History: How to Use Oral History, Personal Family Archives, and Public Documents to Discover Your Heritage
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 L53
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS16 L53
Plymouth Court Records, 1686-1859
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# KFM2452 P5 1978
v. 1. General Sessions of the Peace, 1686-1721. The Court of Common Pleas, 1686-1702. -- v. 2-4. General Sessions of the Peace, 1719[-1827] -- v. 5-16. The Court of Common Pleas,1702[-1859]
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# KFM2452 P5 1978
v. 1. General Sessions of the Peace, 1686-1721. The Court of Common Pleas, 1686-1702. -- v. 2-4. General Sessions of the Peace, 1719[-1827] -- v. 5-16. The Court of Common Pleas,1702[-1859]
U.S. Census Records
Print Location: 3rd Floor Microfilm #MM-12
See Library Catalog for specific census information for Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada and Oregon. Circa 1850-1930 available (varies with state). For assistance, call Government Publications Dept (509) 963-1541
Cattrax library catalog subject search: "United States--Census"
Print Location: 3rd Floor Microfilm #MM-12
See Library Catalog for specific census information for Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada and Oregon. Circa 1850-1930 available (varies with state). For assistance, call Government Publications Dept (509) 963-1541
Cattrax library catalog subject search: "United States--Census"
Records of the Colony New Plymouth in New England
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# F68 N55 1968
Twelve volumes: [1]-[3] Court orders: [1633-1691] -- [4] Judicial acts, 1636-1692. Miscellaneous records, 1633-1689 -- [5] Acts of the Commissioners, 1643-1679 -- [6] Laws, 1623-1682. Deeds, &c., 1620-1651
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# F68 N55 1968
Twelve volumes: [1]-[3] Court orders: [1633-1691] -- [4] Judicial acts, 1636-1692. Miscellaneous records, 1633-1689 -- [5] Acts of the Commissioners, 1643-1679 -- [6] Laws, 1623-1682. Deeds, &c., 1620-1651
Records of the Colony New Plymouth in New England
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# F68 N55 1968
123 microfilm reels. Use the Guide to the Draper Manuscripts (Z6616.D72 H37 1983 DOC REF) - held at the Government Publications desk (3rd Floor). See also: Draper Manuscripts, Calendars and Documentary Series (MH-374). Collection contains: Letters, miscellaneous legal documents, journals, diaries, family and personal records, land records, muster rolls, order books, court martial lists, interviews of pioneers, etc., with notes and correspondence of Lyman Draper
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# F68 N55 1968
123 microfilm reels. Use the Guide to the Draper Manuscripts (Z6616.D72 H37 1983 DOC REF) - held at the Government Publications desk (3rd Floor). See also: Draper Manuscripts, Calendars and Documentary Series (MH-374). Collection contains: Letters, miscellaneous legal documents, journals, diaries, family and personal records, land records, muster rolls, order books, court martial lists, interviews of pioneers, etc., with notes and correspondence of Lyman Draper
Directory of American Libraries with Genealogy or Local History Collections
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z675 G44 F56 1988
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z675 G44 F56 1988
The American Census Handbook
Print Location: Ref CS49 .K4 2001
See also: The Who, What and Where of America: Understanding the Census Results, Ref HA201.122 .W48 2003
Print Location: Ref CS49 .K4 2001
See also: The Who, What and Where of America: Understanding the Census Results, Ref HA201.122 .W48 2003
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A collection of the nation's newsapapers digitized by the Library of Congress, this site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
A collection of the nation's newsapapers digitized by the Library of Congress, this site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Alt title: The Civil War CD-ROM. See also: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies Connect to http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/browse.monographs/ofre.html
Alt title: The Civil War CD-ROM. See also: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies Connect to http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/browse.monographs/ofre.html
American & British Genealogy & Heraldry: A Selected List of Books
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# Z5311 F55 1975
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# Z5311 F55 1975
Genealogical Resources in the New York Metropolitan Area
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# Z5313.U6 N523 1989
Print Location: 4th Floor Stacks Call# Z5313.U6 N523 1989
Eighteenth-Century Emigrants from German-Speaking Lands to North America
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# GR110 P4 A372 v.16
Two volumes: v. 1. The Northern Kraichgau -- v. 2. The Western Palatinate
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# GR110 P4 A372 v.16
Two volumes: v. 1. The Northern Kraichgau -- v. 2. The Western Palatinate
Genealogical Research in England and Wales
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS414 G3
Two volumes
Print Location: 3rd Floor Stacks Call# CS414 G3
Two volumes
Montana's Genealogical and Local History Records: A Selected List of Books, Manuscripts and Periodicals
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z1305 R52
Print Location: Reference 1st Floor Call# Z1305 R52













