Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Family & Consumer Sciences

« Back To Guides Selection


All Items by Source

Biographical Information

Contemporary Fashion
Print Location: Ref TT505.A1 C66 1995

This encyclopedia looks at fashion designers, primarily, and particularly those active from 1945 to today around the world. Biographical and bibliographic information is given, as well as a critical essay on each designer's work.  See also Who's Who in Fashion 1980 publication, See also Who's Who in Fashion --both in Reference and in 4th floor stacks, under Call #: TT505 A1 S74


Fashion. Infomat. Some full text available

Megasite for the fashion industry, which includes market trends, research and publications, career info, guides on product sourcing, business planning, marketing, manufacturing, branding and many others.  Also includes product and service directories and designer profiles (biographies -- see the "search" page for a complete list).


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

The G.V.R. Library includes, among many others, the following electronic encyclopedias:
 


Search results in the Gale Virtual Reference Library will include all encyclopedias unless you click on a specific title and use the Quick Search box within the specific title page.
Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands
Print Location: http://Call Number: Ref HF5415.3 .E527 1994 Some full text available

Multivolume set with articles on specific brands of consumable and personal products, and durable goods.  Provides information on the brand origin and development, marketing strategy, advertising and predictions of its future.


Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
With over two million entries, Oxford Reference Online is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the "looking for a clue" or "needing verification" stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books--and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!

Use Quick Reference materials to discover a variety of Subjects, Timelines, Quotations, English Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.

Oxford's Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
ArchaeologyMedia studies
Art & ArchitectureMedicine and health
Bilingual dictionariesMusic
Classical studiesNames studies
EncyclopediasPerforming arts
English Dictionaries and ThesauriPhilosophy
HistoryQuotations
Language referenceReligion
LawScience and technology
LinguisticsSocial Sciences
LiteratureSociety and culture

Assistance and advice with using the Quick Reference and the Reference Library are available at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.

Oxford Reference Online: A Dictionary of Modern Design Restricted Resource

A Dictionary of Modern Design is one of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias that comprise the CWU subscription to the database Oxford Reference Online.  The dictionary supplies information on art movements and concepts regarding ceramics, furniture, graphics, industrial design, interiors, and fashion of the last 150 years.  It also contains biographical information on interior designers as well as descriptions of important design institutions, museums, and heritage sites.


Finding Books

Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Cattrax is the online catalog that describes nearly all the materials held by the Brooks Library: books, government documents, maps, microforms, journals, and other items. Below is everything you may want to know about using Cattrax:

Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library:
1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box.

2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search."

3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed.

(Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.)

4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. Books labeled with call numbers between A and J can be found on the 3rd floor, while books classified as K to Z can be found on the fourth floor. All government documents, maps, and microforms can be found on the 3rd floor, and all musical recordings on the 4th floor. Physical journals, magazines, and serials are housed on the 2nd floor, while DVDs, video tapes and films may be found on the 1st floor. Children's books are located on the 4th floor.

More Information about Cattrax:
You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box.

Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, a citation tool, and often book cover images.

You can save the bib record to either "My Lists" (requires you to use your Library Log-in) or you can "Save to Bag" and remember to email, save, or print the resulting list of titles before you finish your session with Cattrax.

Once you have saved the useful results from your first search, you can perform more searches--perhaps starting by opening the author link, the subject terms (toward the bottom of the bib record), or the call number in a new browser tab, or by using the search box to start a totally new search.

(Note: If you click "Call #," you can sort search results by something like shelf order, allowing you to browse for books on similar topics. Of course, you may wish to look on the actual physical shelves--discovery happens in many ways.)

Additional Cattrax Information:
The “Request” service, located in the upper left of a bib record page, is only available for Center Campus Students. This is because Center campus students would need to use more than the stairs or the elevator to get a book from Brooks Library. (If you are a main campus student wishing to check out a book in a Center Library, please consult the Circulation Desk.)

The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.

If you have the citation for an article, you can search for journal titles by selecting "Journal/Serial Title" in the search options. Using this tool, you can discover if the library has access to print or digital copies of the journal in question. The library often has access to a journal through more than one database. If you do not succeed in locating the journal or article that you need, please consult one of our charming Brooks Library Librarians, or submit a request to our very resourceful Interlibrary Loan Department.

If your professor said that something you needed to read was on "Reserve" (the professor may have said "in the library" or something roughly equivalent), you can locate the item by searching in Cattrax by "Course" or "Prof/TA"--that is, by course or professor's name.

Last but certainly not least, if your item is not available in Cattrax, try requesting it through Summit, the unified catalog of 37 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest. If an item is also unavailable through Summit, you may wish to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection.  EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books in the areas of:

Children's & Young Adult NonfictionLiterature & Criticism
Arts & ArchitectureMathematics
Biographies & MemoirsPhilosophy
Business & EconomicsPolitical Science
Computer SciencePsychology
EducationReference Works
Engineering & TechnologyReligion
FictionSciences
General NonfictionSelf-Help & Family
Health & MedicineSocial Sciences
HistoryStudy Aids & Language Learning
Law
 
Note: EBSCO's classifications of these books is a bit imaginative, in each of the above categories there will be some books that you would not expect to see in that list.

You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

Finding News Articles

Gallup Organization

Gallup site includes news articles and poll information on consumer trends, employment, business and industry, government, and hot topics across the globe and in the United States.


WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available

Each week CQ Researcher explores in depth a single "hot issue in the news”.  The topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science, technology, and more.  There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports.  Access is available online for issues back to 1991.  Each 12,000-word CQ Researcher report can be read in its entirety or by section, each report includes a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.

CQ Researcher is an excellent database to look in when you are ‘looking for a clue’.  The extensive bibliography each article provides serves as a wonderful way to find more information about your topic.
 


Education Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
Hospitality and Tourism Index Restricted Resource
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of journal articles (most full text is back to 1997 to 2009) in over 250 journals in business, science, technology, and law, education, psychology and medicine.


Government Information

USA.gov - Official Government Web Portal

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.USA.gov is the U.S. government web portal to all federal, state, tribal, and local government web resources and services. USA.gov is intended to help people navigate government information, procedures, and policies.

Through USA.gov you can apply for benefits online (including grants), contact a government agency or department, or use the most comprehensive search of government websites.  You can also search for Government Publications, for information specifically relevant to you, and for contact information for government employees and officials.
 


ChildCare.gov Some full text available

U.S. Government portal to child care issues and federally sponsored programs.  Includes information for researchers, such as data sets regarding child care and early education, child abuse, and household surveys.


Consumer.gov

One-stop link to a broad range of federal information resources available online. It is designed so that you can locate information by category -- such as Food, Health, Product Safety, Your Money, and Transportation. Each category has subcategories to direct you to areas within individual federal web sites containing related information.


Office of Travel and Tourism Industries

Government website of the Office of Travel and Tourism Industries, as held under the U.S. Department of Commerce's International Trade Administration, Manufacturing and Services Bureau, Services Division.  The OTTI collects and makes available to the public international travel and tourism statistics, marketing information and tourism policies.


Handbooks & Guides

Children's Rights: A Reference Handbook
Print Location: Ref HQ789 .E35 1996

"A reference handbook on the current status of children's rights throughout the world, containing an overview of the topic, a chronology, biographical sketches, a directory of organizations and agencies, annotated lists of print and non-print resources, a glossary, and an index."


Consumer Fraud: A Reference Handbook
Print Location: Ref HV6695 .N67 1998

Looks at the major issues surrounding consumer fraud and contains examples of different types of fraud found in advertising, car repairing and buying, credit and investment, etc. There are also biographies of people influential in promoting fraud awareness and even a few infamous con artists. There is a section on laws and regulations set up for the protection against fraud, a list of organizations to contact and an annotated bibliography for both print and nonprint resources.  This book is also available electronically through the CWU subscription database NetLibrary.  Please search NetLibrary, available off of the homepage under the link "Databases by Title" and listed alphabetically in the list of databases.



Consumer Reports Buying Guide Issues Restricted Resource Some full text available

Comparative descriptions of classes of products on the market today.  Available full text from 1999 to the present in the CWU subscription databases Academic Search Complete and Business Source Complete. To search just through the guide, type "Consumer Reports Buying Guide" into the search box and select the Publication search limiter. 

 


Educators Guide to Free Family and Consumer Education Materials
Print Location: Ref TX1 .E66 v.2001
This guide is basically an annotated bibliography of free videos, films, lesson plans, slides, print materials, and websites on the topics of cooking, clothing and textiles, home management, consumer education and economics, personal health and safety, and family living (child care and development, sex education, and family relationships). *"Be sure to use only the 2001-2002 Guide for the current school year, as 558 titles available last year are no longer available." You can search the guide by subject, title, and organization.
Families In America: A Reference Handbook
Print Location: Ref HQ536 .T798 2002

Chapters cover a wide range of aspects of family life in the United States, including: the history and development of the family, the diversity and controversial issues to be found in families today, biographical essays of those involved in family studies. Also included is information related agencies and organizations as well as statistics.


Family Planning Sourcebook
Print Location: Ref HQ766.5.U5 F3455 2001

Information on pregnancy, including planning and prevention methods and birth control. There are chapters on adoption, fertility, and sexually active teens. Also useful is statistical information, a glossary and contact information for resources and organizations involved in family planning.


Men's Fashion: The Complete Sourcebook
Print Location: Ref GT1710 .P43 1996
More than 1000 color illustrations on both day and night wear for men. The book is arranged chronologically and there are illustrations and descriptions for clothes from 1789 to 1995, as well as a number of short biographies on designers, tailors and outfitters associated with the men's fashion industry.

Images & Primary Resources

Ad*Access Resource contains images
The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.  Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

To look for advertisements within any one of the five primary categories, select "Browse" beside the category name.  Then you may either choose any of the displayed subcategories or you may use the "Search this Collection" search box in the upper left to enter keywords or specific years.

The advertisements on this web site have been made available for use in research, teaching, and private study. For these purposes under Fair Use you may reproduce (print, make photocopies, or download) materials from this web site without prior permission.  Good scholarship requires providing proper attribution of the source in all copies.

The advertisements are from the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History in Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.


Fashion Plate Collection (University of Washington) Resource contains images

Images taken from fashion magazines and collected by Blanche Payne, a former professor in the School of Home Economics at University of Washington.  The collection includes images of French and English dress from roughly 1806 to 1915.  Browseable by subject, time period (from Empire to Edwardian) and by "Fashion Trends".


HEARTH: Home Economics Archive Resource contains images Some full text available

From Cornell University's Mann Library--HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site." 


Organizations & Directories

American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences
National organization representing family and consumer sciences professionals across practice areas and content specializations.
American Society of Interior Designers Some full text available

ASID--American Society of Interior Designers is the leading organization for interior design professionals. The section Design Knowledge contains info on codes and standards for the profession, as well as a list of other design-related association's websites.


Better Business Bureau

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) system in the U.S. extends across the nation; coast-to-coast, and in Hawaii, Alaska, and Puerto Rico. Since the founding of the first BBB in 1912, the BBB system has proven that the majority of marketplace problems can be solved fairly through the use of voluntary self-regulation and consumer education. The BBB's Core Services include:Business Reliability Reports; Dispute resolution; Truth-in-Advertising; Consumer and Business Education; and Charity Review.


Federal Trade Commission

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) works to ensure that the nation's markets are vigorous, efficient and free of restrictions that harm consumers. Experience demonstrates that competition among firms yields products at the lowest prices, spurs innovation and strengthens the economy. Markets also work best when consumers can make informed choices based on accurate information.


National Council on Family Relations
"The National Council on Family Relations (NCFR) provides a forum for family researchers, educators, and practitioners to share in the development and dissemination of knowledge about families and family relationships, establishes professional standards, and works to promote family well-being." The NCFR publishes scholarly journals: Journal of Marriage & Family and Family Relations and other types of publications. It also has a job posting page where you can view current open positions in the field of family and consumer sciences.
National Recreation and Park Association

For over 100 years, the NRPA has emphasized "the significance of making parks, open space, and recreational opportunities available to all Americans".


Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

Americans and Their Homes: Demographics of Homeownership
Print Location: Ref HD7287.82.U6 R87 1998
Looks at how demographics play a part in determining the nation's percentage of homeowners. It also provides information on sectors of homeowners and the types of homes they purchase, how much is spent on housing, who moves, the sector of people that make up "Affluent" homeowners, etc. Information for the book comes from published data from the Census Bureau's American Housing Survey.
FedStats

The FedStats website, plainly and simply, enables you to search for and link to more than 95 agencies that provide data and trend information:


  • Topics A to Z: More than 700 topics and subtopics.

  • Links to summaries of the major Federal statistical programs.

  • Links to Federal Agencies with statistical programs.

  • Search: Enter keywords or phrases. The FedStats database is updated twice per month, 'advanced search' is available as 'modify search'.

  • Statistical Reference Shelf: access to collections of published statistics.

  • MapStats: profiles of your state, county, federal judicial district, or congressional district.

  • Statistics-by-geography from U.S. agencies: international comparisons, national, state, county, and local information.

  • Press releases: links to the releasing statistical agency.

  • Data access tools: view predefined reports and/or generate your own tables with data obtained through searches and queries of summary and microdata files.

  • Kids' Pages: A fun way to explore statistical concepts, geography, and the rich sets of data Federal agencies make available through FedStats, using a series of games and web applications developed for kids in elementary through high school. Include fun facts, games, project ideas, and career information.


Intute: Statistics
This site contains links to social science statistical information available online.  The links are organized into the following broad categories:Note: Intute closed in July 2011.  The site has now been archived and no additional resources are being added to the catalogue, nor are any changes being made to existing content.  Intute is still a large and useful site and is well worth your taking the time to look through it. 
(If you see any links in Intute or elsewhere that should be promoted to having their own entry in this or another Research Guide please let me know.)

Statistical Handbook on the American Family
Print Location: Ref HQ536 .S727 1999
Topics include marriage, the quality of marriage and family life, divorce and separation, children, sexual attitudes and behaviors and contraceptive use. Also looks at living arrangements and kinship ties, working women, wives, and mothers, and childcare.

Web Sites

Child and Family Web Guide

A website developed and maintained by Tufts University:  "The Child & Family WebGuide describes trustworthy websites on topics of interest to parents and professionals. All the sites listed on the WebGuide have been systematically evaluated by graduate students and faculty in child development. There are five main categories of information: family/parenting, education/learning, typical child development, health/mental health, and resources/recreation. The first four categories contain sites with research-based information. The fifth category, resources/recreation, contains sites with information about specific programs and things to do."


Consumers International

Website for consumer groups worldwide that work to protect consumer's rights on an national and international level. Features industry and regional reports, policy recommendations, and other material about consumer topics such as corporate social responsibility, food safety, World Consumer Rights Day (in March), and international standards. Some materials available in Spanish.


FabricLink
Educational Resource for fabrics, apparel, home furnishings, and care.
Infomine
INFOMINE is a wonderful resource featuring well organized access to important university level research and educational tools on the Internet.  INFOMINE is a collection of over 100,000 annotated and indexed links (26,000 librarian created links and 75,000 plus robot/crawler created links).  Substantive databases, electronic journals, guides to the Internet for most disciplines, textbooks and conference proceedings are among the many types of resources included.  The general categories are:
Note: You can search in multiple categories at the same time.  This is good because knowledge is never ever in only one place.

The INFOMINE library contains links to and information about databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other information repositories.  You can search by Author, Subject, Title, Description, Full Text, and Keyword.  You can also choose the resource type that you wish to search, and if you want to search free sources, fee-based sources, or both ('both' is recommended because we might be able to help you find it for free elsewhere). 
Help in searching INFOMINE
is available through this Site Map page.

INFOMINE is librarian built. Librarians from the University of California, Wake Forest University, California State University, the University of Detroit - Mercy, and several other universities and colleges have contributed to building INFOMINE. They hope their service is useful and would appreciate any comments.

Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


Intute: Arts and Humanities--Design Some full text available

Search or browse the database of Design resources which have been selected, evaluated and described by subject specialists.  You can also browse by time period or by resource type, such as images, news, legislation, etc.  The Design websites include a section specifically on Interior Design.


Intute: Social Sciences -- Travel and Tourism Some full text available

Intute is a free online service providing you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. Search the Social Sciences section of Intute under the heading "Travel and Tourism" for a variety of websites regarding the history and anthropology of tourism, different types of tourism, tourism management and the travel industry in general, among others.


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

U.S. Housing Market Conditions
"U.S. Housing Market Conditions, published quarterly, is a compilation of statistical data and written reports. Tabular data indicate market conditions on the national level and are presented for each quarter. Historical data are also presented in summary tables. Overviews of economic and housing market trends are presented for ten geographical regions, the report for each of which includes a profile on a selected housing market. Each issue includes a summary of the overall trends in national housing and a topical piece that describes a particular, noteworthy aspect of housing activity."

Items Of Interest

Advertising Icon Museum Resource contains images Some full text available

An online museum of company's advertising characters / figurines.  You can click on each display case of the museum, and from there click on specific figurines to find out the history behind the character--such as how the Michelin Man came to be and who was a close contender for the prestige of marketing Kellogg's Frosted Flakes.  If the default page does not take you to the online exhibit, also try http://advertisingiconmuseum.org/main.html 


PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Scientific American: Ask the Experts

"Queries range from the profound (Is it possible to travel through time?) to the everyday (How does a.microwave oven cook food?) and from the interesting (What illnesses do insects get?) to the surprising (How do whales sleep without drowning?"


QR Code
Scan to view this guide on your mobile device.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Ginny Blackson

Ginny Blackson
Research Librarian, Head Of Collection Development
Tel: (509) 963-1306

Call Numbers/Subjects