Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Film & Video Studies

« Back To Guides Selection


OneSearch
Academic Search Complete
Research databases
Databases That House Video & Film Journals
These databases are also good sources for scholarly articles on Film, Video & Televison:
Film-Philosophy
Founded in November 1996, Film-Philosophy is an international academic journal dedicated to philosophically reviewing film studies, philosophical aesthetics and world cinema. With over 1200 members worldwide, the email salon encourages discussion of related topics. The journal is published three times per year and all articles are peer-reviewed.
 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Contains the complete back files of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences. These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published, and many of the titles date back to the 1600s.

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

From Johns Hopkins University, Muse provides searchable full text of over 200 scholarly journals from scholarly publishers and covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and other subject areas.

Essay & General Literature Index Restricted Resource
This database includes nearly 86,000 essays from almost 700 collections in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Essays are added annually. 
The focus is on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. 
 
Communication & Mass Media Complete Database Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Ebsco database, Communication & Mass Media Complete, contains abstracts to over 600 scholarly journals which are all peer-reviewed.  Over 300 of those are full text articles.  The database also includes author profiles, searchable indexes, and a way to search the cited references that are given in a chosen article.  Searching cited references is a great way to find more resources for your research.

MasterFILE Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available

Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags.

Film & Video Web Resources

Film Scouts – Includes movie clips, interviews, film reviews, film festival reviews and much more. Primarily a source for some recent releases and information about the cast and crew for the respective films.

 

Cinema Sites – As its’ name suggests, it is a listing of various cinema websites, broken down by various categories. Whether it’s scripts, film news or someone selling videos, Cinema Sites most likely has a link to it.

 

The Time Machine: TVLINK - A film and television index of enormous size. Hundreds of links for all sorts of TV and film related interests.

 

American Communication Association Center for Communication Studies - Contains a list of links broken down into four categories: Film Scholarship (journals, scholarly organizations, etc.), General Film Studies, Film Business and Screenwriting.

 

Yahoo: movies and films - Breaks down film into various categories for browsing, including: Titles, Actors and Actresses, Box Office Reports, Filmmaking, Genres, Theaters, Reviews, By Region, and many more.

 

American Film Institute - Site for the premier Institution of Film in the United States, includes interviews, press releases, information on various films and more. In addition, it incorporates various Top 100 lists the AFI has created in the past few years.

 

Senses of Cinema: Links - Australian-based website with links page that lists a plethora of international journals and archives. Notes when new issue goes up or when a new link is added.

Special Topics in Film

Film Scouts - Includes movie clips, interviews, film reviews, film festival reviews and much more. Primarily a source for some recent releases and information about the cast and crew for the respective films.

 

Directors 

Director's Guild of America

Woody Allen

Mel Brooks

Sergio Leone

Jean-Pierre Jeunet & Marc Caro

Spike Lee

Robert Altman

Akira Kurosawa

John Cassavetes

David Lynch
Satyajit Ray
Alfred Hitchcock
John Woo
Ridley Scott

Writers 

Writers Guild of America
Charlie Kaufman

Melissa Mathison

Truman Capote

Billy Wilder

The Coen Brothers

Script Fly.com

 

Film History 

American Memory @ the Library of Congress - Motion Picture Collection 1894-present

 

The Film 100 - The 100 most influential people in the history of film

 

Film History Index: Journals

 

African-Americans and Film 

Black Film Center / Archive - At Indiana University, resources page

 

Yahoo: Movies and Film: African-American - Links for those interested in understanding the relationship between African-Americans and film.

 

Women and Film 

Women's Studies: Film Reviews - At the University of Maryland. Contains film reviews taken from a women’s studies’ perspective.

 

Women and Film in Europe - “The objective of the Working Group is to research the history of women and film in Europe and to make this findings available to others.”

 

Women in the Director's Chair - “Women in the Director's Chair (WIDC) is a Chicago-based, international media arts /activist organization which exhibits, promotes, and educates about media made by women, girls and transgendered people that express a diversity of cultures, experiences, and issues.”

 

New York Women in Film and Television - “NYWIFT was founded in 1977 by a handful of women who felt New York needed a networking and education forum for women in the entertainment industry. It is the preeminent entertainment industry association for women in New York City.” Film festivals, awards, and "best of" lists

 

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences – Here you can view the Oscar winners, both past and present

 

National Film Preservation Board - maintains the National Film Registry at the Library of Congress

 

25 best films selected annually for inclusion in the National Film Registry

 

American Film Institute

 

AFI's 100 greatest movies

 

The BFI 100 - A selection of the favorite British films of the 20th Century from British Film International

 

IMDB's top 250 movies - as nominated by Internet Movie Database's "regular voters"

 

Film Festivals on the WWW - by Mark Litwak

 

The Great Movies - Selected by Roger Ebert

Subject Specialist
Picture: Geri Hopkins

Geri Hopkins
Instructional Design Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1925

Collect Your Research!
Use this awesome Collect & Cite tool, Zotero.  Watch the Zotero video to see how to install and use it!
Ask A Librarian Chat
Call Numbers/Subjects
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files