Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/www/sp/control/includes/classes/sp_Pluslet_3.php on line 41
Brooks Library Research Guides: Finance & Supply Chain Management
Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Finance & Supply Chain Management

« Back To Guides Selection


All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

Oxford Reference Online: Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

For digital collections of original maps, see also the research guide section "Images Online & in Databases."


Finding News Articles

Biznar Some full text available

A free business website that searches the World Wide Web and returns results in order of relevancy to your search query.   It will turn up not only articles, but blogs and wikis, etc.  While not every citation you are directed to in Biznar will be freely accessible, you can then check our library databases and catalog for the journal title / volume in which  the citation is published.  Use the "Electronic Journals" link off our library homepage to search for a specific journal title in our databases, or do a "Journal / Series Title" search in our catalog (CATTRAX).


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.  Includes a "Subject Area" search for Accounting, Environmental Studies, Health & Medical Care, and Government & Politics.  For search strategies, you may wish to view the Lexis Nexis YouTube channel.


Business Source Complete [Ebsco] Restricted Resource Some full text available

Ebsco's interdisciplinary business database, Business Source Complete, contains full-text for more than 8,800 journals back to 1965 (or the first issue of that journal published) and the searchable cited references go back as far as 1998 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.  Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, etc.

If you find Business Source Complete useful you may also be interested in EBSCO's "Regional Business News".  Regional Business News contains comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


Government Information

Export.gov Some full text available

Export.gov is a portal to many government sites and partner agencies that pertain to international business.  Included is training, guides forms for exporting, trade insights on each industry, common problems in exporting, and trade data & analysis.


Organizations & Directories

International Directory of Company Histories
Print Location: Ref HD 2721 .D36 Some full text available

Overviews of the world's top public, private and nonprofit companies (with earnings over $25 million U.S. dollars). Provides contact and ownership information, including an English version of its name, founding or incorporation dates, number of employees, recent sales figures, its mission, ideals, sometimes a short chronology, and lists of principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units, and competitors. Includes a list of articles for further research, as well. The library has from 1988 to the volume of the current year.


Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

Doing Business

Cited by a national organization of reference librarians as one of the top nine free websites, the Doing Business website provides reports and rankings of business regulations  as well as regulation reforms in nearly 200 economies around the world.


Intute: Statistics
This site contains links to social science statistical information available online.  The links are organized into the following broad categories:Note: Intute closed in July 2011.  The site has now been archived and no additional resources are being added to the catalogue, nor are any changes being made to existing content.  Intute is still a large and useful site and is well worth your taking the time to look through it. 
(If you see any links in Intute or elsewhere that should be promoted to having their own entry in this or another Research Guide please let me know.)

Web Sites

Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Items Of Interest

PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Call Numbers/Subjects