Brooks Library Research Guides: Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms
The GovPubMM Department is located on the Third Floor of the James E. Brooks Library. The collection is open for browsing whenever the library is open. Assistance with using our diverse collections is available at the GovPubMM Public Service Desk.
- Carlos Diaz, 509-963-1545, email@example.com
- Christopher Gwyn, 509-963-2477, firstname.lastname@example.org
- Kathleen Nelms, 509-963-1520, email@example.com
- Michele Reilly, 509-963-2117, firstname.lastname@example.org
- John Streepy, 509-963-2862, email@example.com
|Academic Quarter Hours||Intersession Hours|
| 8:00am-9:00pm Monday-Thursday, |
Subjects covered by government information include literally every topic imaginable:
- Popular materials, including consumer information, recreation guides, many kinds of reports, and foreign country data.
- Technical and special documents include tax forms, patents, and environmental impact statements.
- Official publications containing laws, regulations, reports, and legislation.
- Document sizes can range from 1-page pamphlets to large sets of Compact Disks.
- Documents collections include books, periodicals, maps, leaflets, photographs, digital files, posters, and more.
- Information may be available on paper, microfiche, disk, CD-ROM, DVD-ROM, video, or online.
- Call Numbers for Federal Government Documents are referred to as SuDoc Numbers. The Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification system groups together publications by the government organization that published them. Within an agency or department publications are grouped according to which subordinate organization produced them. The letters and numbers to the left of the colon (:) refer to the specific organization that produced the document, the letters and numbers to the right of the colon identify the document in relation to the other documents produced by that specific government organization. The purpose of this system is to uniquely identify, logically relate, and physically arrange each publication so that all publications of a single agency or department may be found together. More detailed information is available here and here.
- Call Numbers for Washington State Government Documents begin with WA, followed by letters indicating the publishing agency.
Circulation of government documents or maps is usually for 21 days. Microforms may not be checked out, but they may be copied.
- Most of our collection is already listed in Cattrax, but occasionally items will need to be entered into CATTRAX at the GovPubMM Service Desk (east of the elevator on the 3rd floor) before they can be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.
- A few documents, such as rare or fragile publications, reference works, and microforms, may only be used in the building.
The following links lead to further information and lists of online resources for each collection:
Government Publications, Maps & Microforms - Guides & Handouts
- Government Documents, Maps and Microforms Department
- Government Publications Collections
- Map Collections
- Microform Collections
- Newspaper Holdings
The James E. Brooks Library is a Congressionally Designated Depository Library for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government Documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code). We have been an official depository for U.S. Government publications since 1962.
We currently receive [physical copies? Links to digital copies of ?] about 34% of the available publications. We have also purchased historic sets in microformats and have received many government publications as gifts. The legislative resources in our collection date back to 1790.
Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) Call Numbers are used to organize U.S. government information. SuDocs numbers arrange materials by government agency instead of by subject. When changes occur in how government agencies, departments, and bureaus, are organized their SuDocs numbers frequently change as well.
Finding Information on U.S. Government Web Sites:
- USA.gov is the official government 'portal' to federal, state, local, tribal, and international government information and services.
(USA.gov is legislatively mandated through Section 204 of the E-Government Act of 2002).
- The Government Printing Office’s Federal Digital System, FDsys, provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. The contents include, but are in no way limited to:
- The Code of Federal Regulations
- Compilation of Presidential Documents
- Congressional Bills
- Congressional Documents
- Congressional Hearings
- Congressional Record
- Congressional Reports
- Analysis and Interpretation of the Constitution of the United States of America
- Economic Indicators
- The Federal Register
- Public and Private Laws
- The United States Code
- Opinions from United States Courts
- Browse nearly Everything,
- Browse by Congreesional Committee,
- Browse by Date,
- Browse by Government Author,
- and search for much, much, more....
- The 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. THOMAS began in January of 1995. Since then THOMAS has expanded to include the information listed below.
- Congress.gov is in an initial beta phase. Eventually it will incorporate all of the information available on THOMAS.gov and replace it as "a primary portal" for United States Goivernment Information.
- The United States Congress is a bicameral body, comprised of two legislative bodies. In the U.S. House of Representatives representation is based on population. Each member of the House represents approximately the same number of people. More populous states have more representatives and less populous states have fewer representatives (every state has at least one representative). In contrast each state has two senators in the U.S. Senate.
- The U.S. Supreme Court is the final arbiter and interpreter of U.S. law and the U.S. Constitution. If Congress disagrees with a Supreme Court ruling it can introduce legislation to change the law, but it cannot reinterpret or disregard a Supreme Court ruling.
- The Online library catalog (Cattrax) contains subject and keyword indexing for most U.S. and Washington State publications in the Government Publications collection. Links to publications available on the Internet are included in the records.
- Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789 - 1909 contains a listing of government documents titles that were published between 1789 - 1909.
- MARCIVE and Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) both index U.S. government information published from 1976 to present. Superintendent of Documents numbers, used to shelf government publications in Brooks, are listed and direct links to available websites are included.
- Monthly Catalog of United State Government Publications (MOCAT) paper indexes for government publications published prior to 1976 are located in Government Documents Reference. This set provides call numbers numbers for materials in CWU's collection, and still serves as official indexing to government publications.
- United States Government Information
- Washington State Government Information
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids is an educational tool with information about our federal government specifically addressed to primary and secondary age children.
- Kids.gov searches government agency web pages to find information (and educational games) for children.
- Coloring Books published by Federal and state governments in order to learn more about the environment, the judicial system, safety, and nutrition, plus a whole lot more.
- Most Federal government departments and agencies will have a "kid's page" or "education resources" page on their website. So, look for it when you go to a government agency website.
- LexisNexis Academic contains the full text of U.S. and state laws and court cases. Searches can be performed by keyword or legal citation.
Law & Legislation Web Sites
Indexing for U.S. Government Publications - in all Formats
- Open enrollment for the Affordable Care Act begins October 1st. To find out the best options for you, go to: http://www.wahealthplanfinder.org/ . You may even qualify for financial aid.
We have links to many many Government websites where you can find lots of information provided by the government!
Kids' Web Sites
|Primary Links||Additional Resources|
|House Links||Senate Links|
Starting Tuesday, November 19, the main URLs for THOMAS ( http://www.thomas.gov
Washington State Government Information
Access Washington - Official site for Washington State agencies
Did you know Washington State will be celebrating its 125th anniversary as a state in 2014? November 11 is the big day!! Read all about it.
Washington State Government Information
The James E. Brooks Library's Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms (GovPubMM) department has been a full depository for Washington State government publications since 1965, receiving all materials available through the Washington State Library. In addition, many older government publications have been acquired as gifts.
Washington State publications can be located using the online library catalog, (Cattrax). Call numbers for these resources begin with Wa, and the location is listed as documents. The collection is located on the 3rd floor. Assistance with locating materials is available at the GovPubMM Reference Desk. The telephone number is (509) 963-1541.
Finding Information in WA State Government Web Sites
- Access Washington - Official site for Washington State government information. Provides links to agencies by name and/or subject.
- Find-It! Washington - Provides searching options for government information, courtesy of the Washington State Library.
- Central Regional Branch - Guide to the local government archival collection located in Ellensburg
Law & Legislation Web Sites
- Revised Code of Washington (RCW) - Current edition of the laws of Washington State.
- Washington Administrative Code (WAC) - Current Washington State agency regulations.
- SEARCH RCW, WAC, Register and/or Current Bills - Allows searching of all databases at once from 1985/86 - Present.
- Washington State Courts - Fulltext of recent decisions from Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.
- Washington State Legislature - Bills and other current legislative materials, calendars, and directories.
- Governor's Home Page - Links to budget and policy, boards and commissions, executive orders, etc.
- Washington Student Achievement Council - degree-granting colleges, universities legally operating in Washington.
- Personnel Detail Report Salaries for Washington State employees, Office of Financial Management web site.
- Traffic and Travel Conditions Washington State DOT links to traffic cameras, road construction, weather, public transit, air and rail travel, ferries, bicycling, trucking, tourism and parks.
- Voting and Elections Information Current Washington State election information from the Secretary of State.
- Washington State University Cooperative Extension Ordering information and some fulltext sites for gardening and agricultural publications.
Did you know that Kittitas County is celebrating its 130th anniversary as a county? November 24 is the big day!!
Local Government Information
Ellensburg, City of
- Animal Shelter, adoptable pets
- City of Ellensburg
- Driving Mileage Guide from Ellensburg (DOT)
- Ellensburg Municipal Code
- Newspaper, Daily Record
- School District, Ellensburg
- Weather Forecast (National Weather Service)
- Assessor's Office, property search
- Census of Agriculture, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture
- County Government, Kittitas
- Courts Directory
- Kittitas County Code
- Inmate Roster (Kittitas County Jail)
- Local Area Profile (by County)
- Sheriff's Office
- Voter & Election Information (Auditor's Office)
Central Washington State
We have links to websites and map archives!
Brooks Library has around 90,000 sheets maps that can be checked out. These maps are located in map cabinets on the 3rd floor, along with atlases and other geographic materials covering a variety of geographic areas and topics. Assistance with finding maps is available at the Gov Pubs Reference Desk.
For detailed information on the maps collections, see the most recent handout in PDF format: Maps
Web Sites used to Locate Geographic Features and Named Places
- GEOnet Names Server - Foreign place and feature names locator from the Board on Geographic Names.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) - U.S. place and feature names locator from the U.S. Geological Survey.
U.S. Government Agencies Involved with Mapping
- Census Bureau, U.S.(U.S. Department of Commerce): the most prolific creator of statistics and maps in the country. You will be able to find Congressional district maps, gazetteers, official place names for the U.S. and much more. One of their most popular sites is the American Factfinder where you will find census information from the 2000 and 2010 censuses and create your own maps based on the information created by the Bureau.
- Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. (U.S. Department of the Interior): creates a great deal of maps for the National Wildlife Refuge program and for the countless reports they publish on animal life in this country.
- Forest Service, U.S. (U.S. Department of Agriculture): publishes all those nifty maps you pick up at national forests around the country. They also update their own topographic maps for quadrangles located within national forest boundaries.
- Geological Survey, U.S.(U.S. Department of the Interior): oversees research and work pertaining to the geology of the country. They publish a myriad of maps including topographic, thematic, geological, climactic, and biological just to name a few.
- National Agricultural Statistics Service (U.S. Department of Agriculture): are the publishers of Agricultural Statistics and the Census of Agriculture. The Census of Agriculture goes as far back as 1840.
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (U.S. Department of Commerce): oversees a lot of functions having to do with the climate and weather like the National Weather Service. NOAA's Central Library has current and historical daily weather maps going as far back as 1871. The Office of Coast Survey has a collection of historical maps and charts going as far back as the 1700s.
- National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior): creates the very wonderful maps that you pick up when you visit a national park.
- Natural Resources Conservation Service (U.S .Department of Agriculture): these folks are the publishers of the soil surveys that are created for just about every county around the country.
- Natural Earth Select a geographic location from the world map and focus in on an area.
- InfoMine Maps and GIS A very helpful site for all types of mapping information and digital maps.
- Map Collection from the Library of Congress' American Memory website.
- NationalAtlas.gov You will find all sorts of maps for the United States in all sorts of formats and interests.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection Electronic collection of maps gathered by University of Texas. Includes over 300 maps of the United States, historical maps and city maps.
- USGS EarthExplorer Access to all types of maps online.
- World Map Connection Links to online maps covering all areas of the world.
We have ERIC and the Library of American Civilization on microform!
We have newspapers on microforms!
We have lots and lots more stuff on microform - most of the information that is physically located inside the Brooks Library is in microform!
Microforms are materials that have been photographed and reprinted in a miniaturized format. CWU's collection includes a variety of materials, such as: newspapers, periodicals, rare and out-of-print books, government publications, dissertations, special collections, and college catalogs.
The microform collection is in a separate room on the 3rd floor of CWU Library, and contains 3 Microformats:
- Microfiche (MH location) - Rectangular cards containing transparent film, filed in drawers. U.S. government publications have "SuDocs" numbers, and the rest of the collection is arranged using accession numbers.
- Microfilm (MM location) - Reels of transparent film, placed in boxes that are filed in drawers. Each title has a number.
- Microprint / Microcard (MP location) - White cards with miniature black print, filed in boxes on shelves. Each set has a number.
Indexes to the microforms vary according to the type of material:
- CATTRAX contains records for many of the microform sets. Searches can be performed using keywords, subject, author or title. The record for the set will provide the location number and format for CWU's collection. CATTRAX records describe the entire set, without any entries for the individual publications or titles contained within the set.
- Printed indexes for most of the microform sets are available at the Documents Reference Desk (3rd floor). The indexes are also arranged in numeric order, using the same number that was given to the microform set. A card file at the Documents Reference Desk contains detailed descriptions and provides access by subject for selected sets.
Newspapers And Periodicals
- CATTRAX contains records for newspapers and periodicals. Records indicate issues received, format, and call number for newspaper and periodical titles owned by the Library.
- Indexes and abstracts in the Reference Department (1st floor) and electronic databases accessible through the Library's web pages are used to locate articles within the newspapers and magazines.
- The Government Documents Department has a list of major newspapers in microform, including both current newspapers and newspapers of historical interest.
- CATTRAX, Marcive, and Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) are databases that contain records for documents in all formats, including microfiche. The complete record is used to determine where each document title will be found. All documents are filed or shelved according to the "SuDocs" classification system, which puts materials in order by the publishing agency. (Documents are filed at the beginning of the microfiche collection).
- Historical documents, primarily congressional materials, have been purchased as sets, with a separate index for each collection. Most of these indexes are located at the Government Publications Desk on the 3rd floor.
Assistance with locating microforms and using the equipment is available, and advisable for first-time users, at the Government Publications Desk on the 3rd floor.
Equipment for reading and printing pages in each of these formats is available on the 3rd floor. Copies are $.10 per page. Change or a copy card (charging $.08 per page) can be used. Portable microfiche readers, for home use, can be checked out from the Circulation Desk (1st floor) for 3 days.
Selected Microform Collections, By Subject
- ERIC (Microfiche 9) is a collection of separately published materials (not journal articles) in the field of education. The collection includes research reports, presentations and guides. The ERIC Index is available online via the U.S. Department of Education's website.
- Early American Imprints (Microprint 8) contains the complete text of virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside printed in the United States from 1639 to 1800. The extensive index, Evan's American Bibliography, is located on the shelf next to the set.
- Microbook Library of English Literature (Microfiche 4) provides the text of English literary works from their beginnings (Beowulf) to the early 20th century. An index is available at the Government Documents Reference Desk. (Also in the Reference Department at Call Number Z 2012 L47).
- Library of English Literature (Microfiche 4) contains early English literary works, from the beginning to the early 20th century. The index is available at the Documents Reference Desk.
- United Nations Publications (Microprint 144, 1946-1982 and Microfiche 144, 1982-1992) is a collection of UN documents and official records. Indexes are on the Documents Index Table (3rd floor) Z 6482 U45.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set (Microprint 145) contains the text of U.S. congressional committee reports published from 1789-1964. Indexes are located on the Documents Index Table (3rd floor) Z 1223.Z9 C65.
- History of the Pacific Northwest (Microfilm 641) contains materials relative to the settling of the Pacific Northwest. An index is available at the Government Documents Reference Desk.
- Library of American Civilization (Microfiche 351) is a large collection of historically significant publications published from the "beginning" until the outbreak of WW II. Indexes are at the Documents Reference Desk.
- Western Americana (Microfiche 318) is a microfiche collection of books and documents from the 18th to the early 20th centuries. An index to the collection is available at the Documents Reference Desk.
- CWU collects microfilm reels with editions of many newspapers, including:
- Christian Science Monitor (MM 1)
- New York Times (MM 214)
- Seattle Times (MM 3)
- London Times (MM 304)
- Wall Street Journal (MM 20)
- Washington Post (MM 701)
- Indexes for newspapers are located in the Government Documents Department (3rd floor).
- Electronic indexes to newspapers are available via the CWU Library Databases Page.
- These collections include personal papers from individuals, such as Jane Addams Papers (MM 908) and The Papers of Andrew Jackson (MM 1013), along with papers from organizations, such as Indian Rights Association Papers 1864-1973 (MM 392) and National Woman's Party Papers 1913-1974 (MM 845-846).
- Indexes for sets of papers are located at the Documents Reference Desk.
- HRAF (Human Relations Area Files) (Microfiche 3) provides information about world cultures and ethnic groups. Consult the Outline of World Cultures, the Outline of Cultural Materials, and the HRAF Source Bibliography at the Government Documents Reference Desk to locate information in the collection.
|Scan to view this guide on your mobile device.|
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files