Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Historical Methods (Pacific Northwest History)

« Back To Guides Selection


Historical Methods (Pacific Northwest History
Digital Collections
All of the digital collections contain digitized primary sources, including: photographs, letters, diaries, maps, political documents, and government reports.


University of Washington's Digital Collections from the Libraries Special Collections:

Washington State University's Manuscripts, Archives and Special CollectionsOregon State University-Oregon Index
Oregon Digital Library
Idaho State Historical Society Digital Collections
University of Idaho Digital Collections
Montana State Library Digitized Collections
British Columbia History Digital Collections
Online Archive of California
Calisphere
Northwest Digital Archives (NWDA)





All Items by Source

Finding News Articles

New York Times Some full text available

CWU library has a The New York Times newspaper available on microfilm spanning from 1857 to last year (maybe even some of the current year--check the CWU library catalog for specific, up-to-date information.) The New York Times website has an advanced search feature that allows you to do a keyword search of their archives (as far back as 1851), and some of the articles are available free of charge. However, most are not, so while you can search for articles online, you may wish to locate the full text of the article in CWU Library's microfilm copy, available on in the Microfilm Room, 3rd Floor, under Call # MM-214. 


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

America: History and Life Restricted Resource

Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present. The database also includes "ClioNotes," which provide summaries, timelines and questions about eras and events in American history. 
NOTE: This is an index database, meaning that you will find only citation and abstract information, not the full text of the article.  Stop by the Reference Desk or call the desk at 509.963.1021 for help in locating the full text of the article.



Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
This is a citation and abstract database that provides a way to locate scholarly journal articles discussing historical topics.  Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America). Every year over 20,000 new entries are added from over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Our subscription to JSTOR (short for 'Journal Storage') contains every issue of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences.  These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published (in some cases that is the 1600s).  JSTOR also contains citations (bibliographic records) for more than 1,500 leading academic journals, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.  (This is why it may not be a good idea to check "Include only content I can access," even if you are in a hurry.  Articles not available in JSTOR are often available in our other databases or through Interlibrary Loan.)

As always, please consult the Reference Desk or the nearest librarian if you have any questions about finding articles in JSTOR or elsewhere.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

Project MUSE contains scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently MUSE includes: 274,848 articles and 479,457 chapters by 199 publishers, and probably has some useful information about your topic.

The Brooks Library has a partial subscription to Project MUSE, thus some items are available to you in Project MUSE and some items are only available elsewhere. You can do a Journal Title Search, a Book Title Search, a Summit Search, a Google Scholar Search, or contact the Reference Desk to access a fulltext copy of any citations that might be unavailable in Project MUSE.

Project MUSE can be searched by Keyword (options for narrowing your search will be to the left of your results), browsed by Research Area, by All Title, by Publisher, by Book Title, and by Journal Title. An option for displaying "Only content I have full access to" is usually available, but since we often have access to that content through another database, Summit, or Interlibrary Loan, you should probably search Project MUSE both ways.
 


Images & Primary Resources

Central Washington University Digital Collections Resource contains images

These digital collections highlight the history, nature and culture of Central Washington University and the central Washington region, as well as rare materials connected to the history of the book. Titles of Digital Collections include:  CWU Yearbooks, University Campus Buildings, Rufus Woods Photographs, Edward Nolan Photographs, Thorp Mill, 1977 Women's Conference, Frederick Krueger Photographs, Music (Dept.) Newsletters, Board of Trustees Minutes, and Illuminated Manuscripts.  Also made available through this website, but created and physically housed at Ellensburg Public Library, are two collections: Ellensburg History, and Roslyn Black History.


Subject Specialist
Picture: Stephen Hussman

Stephen Hussman
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1717

Picture: Courtney Paddick

Courtney Paddick
Academic & Research Commons Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-2861

Ask A Librarian Chat
Powerpoint Presentation
Catalog Search