Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Pacific Northwest History

« Back To Guides Selection


HIST 301: Pacific Northwest History
Newspapers on Microfilm
The microflim and microfilm projectors are located on the 3rd floor of Brooks Library in Government Publications. 

A list of the newspapers available on microfilm, arranged by geographical location, can be found here:
http://www.lib.cwu.edu/sites/default/files/newspapers-list-geography2012.pdf
All Items by Source

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia
Print Location: Ref HC102 .A66 2003
Analytical essays on the strengths and weaknesses of the American economy, as it has changed over time. Includes a look at the long term impact of the 9/11 attack, as well as the impact slavery, immigration, and financial corruption has had on the economy. This two-volume set also contains nineteen primary source documents related to the subject.
Encyclopedia of American History (3rd Edition)
Print Location: Ref E174 .E53 2003
Ten-volumes. Begins with pre-European arrival history of the peoples of North America, then on to exploration and colonization by the Spanish, Dutch and French. NOTE: This set follows the National Standards for U.S. History. Includes a timeline of events.
History of Women in the United States: State-by-State Reference
Print Location: Ref HQ1410 .H58 2004
A four-volume reference work comparing the States--and includes Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico. The set focuses on political history, but also includes topics of social and cultural significance. Essays contain a history, biography, chronology, relevant historical documents and statistics. A resource guide for the set includes print and authoritative, online web pages.
Landmark Legislation, 1774-2002: Major U.S. Acts and Treaties
Print Location: Ref KF68 .S73 2003
Lists Congresses by number along with the corresponding session's dates. Entries look at the accomplishments of the U.S. Congress throughout the nation's history--everything from treaties passed to stalling legislation to gain constituent support.
Northwest Women: an Annotated Bibliography of Sources on the History of Oregon and Washington Women, 1787-1970
Print Location: Ref Z7964.U5 O73 1997
Sources listed are those published in English prior to 1995, with a focus on the roles of women throughout the history of Washington and Oregon. Each entry in the bibliography is annotated, with a description of people, location and subjects. The photographs in the book are indexed. It does not include entries of women's memoirs, oral histories, primary documents, or works of fiction.

Finding News Articles

Historic Newspapers in Washington
The Secretary of State's website provides a searchable collection of historical, digitized newspapers from throughout Washington State.  You can search by subject area, a specific newspaper, personal names, historic events, or keyword.

New York Times Some full text available

CWU library has a The New York Times newspaper available on microfilm spanning from 1857 to last year (maybe even some of the current year--check the CWU library catalog for specific, up-to-date information.) The New York Times website has an advanced search feature that allows you to do a keyword search of their archives (as far back as 1851), and some of the articles are available free of charge. However, most are not, so while you can search for articles online, you may wish to locate the full text of the article in CWU Library's microfilm copy, available on in the Microfilm Room, 3rd Floor, under Call # MM-214. 


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

America: History and Life Restricted Resource

Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present. The database also includes "ClioNotes," which provide summaries, timelines and questions about eras and events in American history. 
NOTE: This is an index database, meaning that you will find only citation and abstract information, not the full text of the article.  Stop by the Reference Desk or call the desk at 509.963.1021 for help in locating the full text of the article.



Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Our subscription to JSTOR (short for 'Journal Storage') contains every issue of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences.  These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published (in some cases that is the 1600s).  JSTOR also contains citations (bibliographic records) for more than 1,500 leading academic journals, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.  (This is why it may not be a good idea to check "Include only content I can access," even if you are in a hurry.  Articles not available in JSTOR are often available in our other databases or through Interlibrary Loan.)

As always, please consult the Reference Desk or the nearest librarian if you have any questions about finding articles in JSTOR or elsewhere.


Images & Primary Resources

Early Washington Maps: A Digital Collection Resource contains images

"Early Washington Maps: A Digital Collection is the product of a partnership between the University of Washington Libraries Map Collections and Washington State University's Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections. The maps of this collection have been drawn solely from the collections of these two institutions and are widely varied, ranging from large-scale geographical maps to small hand-drawn sketches of settlements. In the time period spanned by this project, the Pacific Northwest went from being considered 'parts as yet unknown' to being the subject of literally thousands of maps concerned with geography, transportation, climate, population, cultures, politics, tourism, and other topics."


Web Sites

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922. 

Wallis and Marilyn Kimble Northwest History Database
The core of the database is the Northwest newspaper clippings collection. The newspaper articles were collected and organized in the late 1930's by dedicated historians working for the Works Progress Administration. The selected articles have been digitized and made searchable in this online collection. The collection describes in vivid details a period of rapid growth and development in the history of the Pacific Northwest. During the early part of the 20th century the Pacific Northwest experienced an influx of inhabitants leading to rapid development in the area. Settlers were still arriving, when farmable land and available water were getting scarce. Large and small irrigation and reclamation projects were planned, funded, and constructed during this period. The profound impact of the settlers on the indigenous Native American population is vividly documented in the newspaper clippings selected.

Best of History Web Sites
"Best of History Web Sites" provides quick, convenient, and reliable access to online history-oriented resources across a wide range of categories.  The site has links to over 1200 history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness.  Also included are links to K-12 history lesson plans, teacher guides, activities, games, quizzes, and more.



American Women's History: A Research Guide
Provides citations to print and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections. The guide also provides information about the tools researchers can use to find additional books, articles and more.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Courtney Paddick

Courtney Paddick
Academic & Research Commons Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-2861

Ask A Librarian Chat
OneSearch
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files