Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections
Brooks Library Research Guides: Information Technology & Administrative Management
« Back To Guides Selection
Print Location: Third Floor, HC102.5 A2 I53 1983
The Biographical Dictionary of American Business Leaders is a four volume collection of biographies on business leaders from colonial times to approximately 1945. The biographies focus on their subjects' business achievements and conclude with brief bibliographies. Appendixes group biographies by birthplace, company, ethnicity, industry, location of business activity, religion, year of birth, and include an index of women business leaders.
For additional, and more recent, information please see the Subject Terms:
BusinessDictionary.com features over 20,000 definitions and over 115,000 links between related terms providing a clear and concise description of any and all business terms. You can search by keyword, browse by letter, or use subject-specific dictionaries to help you learn the terminology you're interested in.
Part of the CWU subscription to Oxford Reference Online, A Dictionary of Computing "...is the most up-to-date dictionary of computing available. It provides comprehensive coverage of computer applications in industry, the office, science, education, and the home....It includes full coverage of the Internet, World Wide Web, and multimedia and reflects recent advances in all aspects of computing, especially in personal computing, computer graphics, networking, artificial intelligence, and computer security."
Print Location: Ref HD 30.15 E49 2000
Over 348 essays covering terms, issues, and concepts. Essays may include background data, graphics, and statistics. Includes a subject guide to "functional-area readings".
Oxford Reference Online, with over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the 'looking for a clue' or 'needing verification' stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date reference content from its extensive series of well-respected books - and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!
The Quick Reference materials include information on many Subjects, a series of informative Timelines, a wide variety of Quotations, as well as English Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.
The Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.
Notes: The Search Box is in the upper right corner of each Oxford Reference page, with additional options on the left-side and in the center of the page before you scroll down. Most Oxford Reference results pages are scrollable lists of information, and scrolling is worth doing.
There is also an Advanced Search available.
To cite an entry click on the individual entry, the Citation Tool is now visible - it is the 'little pencil' to the right and above the entry that you wish to cite.
Cattrax is the online catalog that describes nearly all the materials held by the Brooks Library: books, government documents, maps, microforms, journals, and other items. Below is everything you might want to know about how to use Cattrax - but all you need to know to start searching is summarized in the numbered items and note directly below:
Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library:
1. Enter a search term – a word, a phrase, whatever – in the search box.
2. Use the drop-down menu to select whether you wish to do a keyword/word search, a title search, a subject search, an author search, or one of the other options. Click 'Search'.
3. Results that are 'relevant' to the search term that you used will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed.
*** Note: Information is often described in several different ways; you may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that provide you with the information you are looking for. And spelling counts.***
More Information about Cattrax:
You can sort the results by 'relevance', date or by title, by clicking on those words below the Search Box.
Click on a title to see a detailed bibliographic record about that title. The ‘bib record’ will contain a variety of additional information about the book: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. Any and all of that information can be important clues.
The ‘bib record’ will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile phone, a citation tool, and will often have book cover images.
You can also save the ‘bib record’ to either ‘My Lists’ (requires you to use your ‘Library Log-in’) or you can ‘Save to Bag’ and remember to email, save, or print the resulting list of titles before you finish your session with Cattrax.
Once you have saved the useful results of your first search you can perform more searches – perhaps starting by opening the author link, the subject terms (towards the bottom of the ‘bib record’), or the 'Call #', in a new browser tab, or using the search box to start a totally new search using what you have learned so far from your search.
(Note: the books are in Call Number order on the shelves and clicking on the "Call #" will display a list of books in something like 'shelf order', which can help you find some good ideas for searching Cattrax. It is also a good idea to look on the shelves, discovery happens in many ways.)
When you finish your session with Cattrax remember to email, save, or print the ‘Save to Bag’ list of items that you found.
Additional Cattrax Information:
- Note: the “Request” service located in the upper left of a 'bib record' page is only available for Center Campus Students. This is because the Center Campus Students would need to use more than the stairs or the elevator to get the book from the Brooks Library. (If you are a Main Campus student wishing to check out a book in a Center Library please consult the Circulation Desk.)
- The ‘Modify Search’ link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the ‘Advanced Search’ option. The ‘Modify Search’ option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your Subject, Author, or Title search results.
- If you have the citation for an article you can select Journal/Serial Title to find out what kind of access (print/digital, which issues/years) we have to a particular journal. We often have access to a journal through more than one database. If you do not succeed in locating the journal or article that you need please consult one of our charming Brooks Library Librarians, or submit a request to our very resourceful Interlibrary Loan Department.
- If your professor said that something you needed to read was 'on Reserve' (the professor may have said 'in the library' or something else roughly equivalent) you can check our Reserved List by searching in Cattrax by course name or by the professor's name.
- Last, but certainly not least, if what you are looking for is not available in Cattrax try repeating your searches in Summit. Summit enables you to search the catalogs of 37 academic libraries in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho and request materials owned by those libraries; a courier service provides near-daily delivery of library materials here to Central Washington University.
- Summit Notes: There is usually a three to five day interval between your making a request and receiving the book, DVD, or other item. Summit is part of Worldcat. Each result will have a notation "Libraries that own this item:". Items owned by a Summit member library can be requested by clicking the purple 'Request Summit Item' button. Items owned by a Worldcat Library will need to be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
The book collection is shelved on the 3rd (A-J) and 4th (K-Z) floors of the main campus library and shelved by Library of Congress subject classification. The Government Documents, Maps, and Microforms are on the 3rd floor. The Music Library is on the 4th floor. Our physical journal, magazine, and serials collection is on the 2nd floor. DVDs, video tapes and films are on the 1st floor. Children's Books are on the 4th floor. Cattrax also contains links to a variety of e-books, and links to digital materials located elsewhere.
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection. EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books in the areas of:
You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CD’s, DVD’s, and more (that the Summit unified collection is over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find with a single search books and other items at any of the 37 member libraries.
(Note: It generally takes between three and five days for a physical item to be sent from one Summit Library to another so please plan ahead.)
In addition to Books, CD’s, DVD’s the Summit Catalog is also one of the many ways that you can locate useful journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the Search Box near the top of the Summit page (an ‘Advanced Search’ is also available). Select the “Full text articles” box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The Results List will be initially sorted by ‘Library & Relevance’, but you can also sort by Author, Title, and Date. Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library”, select ‘Central Washington University’ and find out what access we have to that article here.)
If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to not be available through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.
WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world. WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.
The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers. The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.
The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for. The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone. There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.
Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet. Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.
World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.
Information is available in two ways through the WN site. News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site. Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.
Zdnet provides 24/7 news coverage and analysis on the topics, technologies and opportunities that matter to IT professionals, IT decision makers, and the people who work with them. Among the many articles and reports that Zdnet includes are:
- Blogs on a variety of IT topics,
- Articles on Cloud storage,
- The Web's largest library of software downloads,
- Information on Hot Topics,
- Articles about the ipad,
- The latest on Networking spaces,
- Free Newsletters with the latest technology news, analysis and reviews,
- Reviews of new software and products,
- Articles on the on the latest in Security vulnerabilities,
- Smartphone reviews and analysis,
- Articles about the fiercely competitive Tablet market,
- Techlines – ZDNet’s signature discussion among industry experts sharing their opinions on IT's most pressing issues,
- Free technical IT white papers, webcasts, and case studies,
- And the latest on Windows 8.
ZDNet also publishes regional editions for Europe, Asia, and Australia (upper left corner). A click-tour of ZDNet is highly reccomended because you will find fascinating IT-related articles and reports that I overlooked in writing this description.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals. Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").
If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text". If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request. Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990. The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge. The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal. This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.
Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.
Ebsco's interdisciplinary business database, Business Source Complete, contains full-text for more than 8,800 journals back to 1965 (or the first issue of that journal published) and the searchable cited references go back as far as 1998 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, etc.
If you find Business Source Complete useful you may also be interested in EBSCO's "Regional Business News". Regional Business News contains comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International database covers a wide range of current and past public policy issues, emphasizing factual and statistical information. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations.
The PAIS International database is continually updated with information about over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world. (Newspapers and newsletters are not usually indexed.) A useful 'Advanced Search' is available, as well as a way to search for Figures & Tables.
PAIS is an index, it does not contain the full text of articles – but you do not care about that until you find a citation for an article you would like to read. When you find citations for possibly useful articles you can search for the full text by doing a Journal Title Search. You can also search for a full text copy through Google Scholar. As always more assistance in acquiring the full text of an article is available at the Reference Desk.
Note: The PAIS database is provided to us by Proquest. In the upper left corner of the PAIS search page there is a link that will say “Searching:1 database”. If you click that link you will see a list of the 9 databases that you can select and search through this interface. In addition to PAIS you can also search:
- ERIC (1966 - current),
- PAIS International (1972 - current),
- Physical Education Index (1970 - current),
- PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (1871 - current),
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I (1639 - current),
- ProQuest Newsstand (1984 - current),
- Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current),
- Sociological Abstracts (1952 - current), and
- The Wall Street Journal (1984 - current).
(Three of these databases are fulltext. The Proquest Sitemap page can provide you with information about some useful options.)
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CD’s, DVD’s, and more (that the Summit unified collection is over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find with a single search books and other items at any of the 37 member libraries.
(Note: It generally takes between three and five days for a physical item to be sent from one Summit Library to another so please plan ahead.)
In addition to Books, CD’s, DVD’s the Summit Catalog is also one of the many ways that you can locate useful journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the Search Box near the top of the Summit page (an ‘Advanced Search’ is also available). Select the “Full text articles” box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The Results List will be initially sorted by ‘Library & Relevance’, but you can also sort by Author, Title, and Date. Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library”, select ‘Central Washington University’ and find out what access we have to that article here.)
If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to not be available through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.
"Business.gov guides you through the maze of government rules and regulations and provides access to services and resources to help you start, grow, and succeed in business." Download forms here or search for information by region or industry.
U.S. government site devoted to many aspects of administrative and personnel management.
Print Location: Ref 5726 .C55 2003
Grammar and style guide for business writing and communications.
Print Location: Ref HF 5549 A23 T73 1998
Provides definitions, abbreviations, acronyms, and phrases for HR practitioners. Also, includes an index of key terms arranged by HR area.
Print Location: Ref HD30.29 D4 2003
Alphabetically arranged entries on business-centered ideology. Among the topics are Benchmarking, Crisis Management, E-commerce, Game Theory, Kaizen, Maslo's Hierarchy of Needs, Ringi, TQM [Total Quality Management], and Virtual Organization.
Annotated collection of links to Web design tools, including HTML validators, link checkers, and tools for accessibility, color, CSS (cascading style sheets), information architecture, usability, and XML (extensible markup language). From Information Technology Systems and Services, University of Minnesota, Duluth.
The mission of the Center for Democracy & Technology is to conceive and implement public policies that will keep the Internet open, innovative, and free. CDT fights for the right of individuals to communicate, publish and make their own choices about the information they share and receive on the Internet.
CDT has established ongoing working groups that bring together companies, trade associations, public interest groups, technologists, and academics. Current working groups and articles by the members can be found under these labels:
- Free Expression,
- Consumer Privacy,
- Health Privacy,
- Security & Surveillance,
- Digital Copyright,
- Internet Openness & Standards,
- International Issues,
- and Open Government.
Print Location: Ref HD 2721 .D36
Overviews of the world's top public, private and nonprofit companies (with earnings over $25 million U.S. dollars). Provides contact and ownership information, including an English version of its name, founding or incorporation dates, number of employees, recent sales figures, its mission, ideals, sometimes a short chronology, and lists of principal subsidiaries, divisions, operating units, and competitors. Includes a list of articles for further research, as well. The library has from 1988 to the volume of the current year.
Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles. BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.
Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research. BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
Print Location: Ref 1016 .B47 2003
Information on how to locate worldwide, business-related statistics and company, market, and industry data on the Internet. Includes URL addresses to some of the most useful business sites. For business statistics, you can search by industry or economy.
The FedStats website, plainly and simply, enables you to search for and link to more than 95 agencies that provide data and trend information:
- Topics A to Z: More than 700 topics and subtopics.
- Links to summaries of the major Federal statistical programs.
- Links to Federal Agencies with statistical programs.
- Search: Enter keywords or phrases. The FedStats database is updated twice per month, 'advanced search' is available as 'modify search'.
- Statistical Reference Shelf: access to collections of published statistics.
- MapStats: profiles of your state, county, federal judicial district, or congressional district.
- Statistics-by-geography from U.S. agencies: international comparisons, national, state, county, and local information.
- Press releases: links to the releasing statistical agency.
- Data access tools: view predefined reports and/or generate your own tables with data obtained through searches and queries of summary and microdata files.
- Kids' Pages: A fun way to explore statistical concepts, geography, and the rich sets of data Federal agencies make available through FedStats, using a series of games and web applications developed for kids in elementary through high school. Include fun facts, games, project ideas, and career information.
Originated at the University of Pittsburgh as a topical, current source on information technology as it relates to business.
Links to over 4,500 business management-related websites, grouped by subject, such as financial, knowledge management, management information systems, and strategic planning.
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects you to a wealth of learning resources on global business activities. Includes diagnostic tools, news, country "insights", industry profiles and web resources.
Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites. Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource. You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.
Offers thousands of annotated, reviewed links across all disciplines. Like the Librarians' Internet Index (http://lii.org) this is an excellent place to begin Web-based research and a great place for quick answers to questions. The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology.
Intute: Business and Management provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. "Each resource has been evaluated and categorized by subject specialists based at UK universities [but content is not limited to UK websites or UK in scope]." Also includes a tutorial for an introductory tour of the subject.
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource. The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.
The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata. Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not). Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching. Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:
Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
Cat and Dog
Cat or Dog
Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.
Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
Use + for plurals (s and es)
Use * for truncation
Use # for a wildcard character
Use ?N for up to N characters
Adjacent terms (proximity)
Cat w Dog (Cat is followed by Dog)
Cat wN Dog (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
Cat n Dog (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
Cat nN Dog (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)
The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language. A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available. You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.
NOTE: Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted. The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations. PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.
You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.
Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT.
NOTE: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission. Please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying if an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required".
| Scan to view this guide on your mobile device. |
Ping Fu
Mr.
Tel: (509) 963-1543
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files
- Call #s T58.5-58.64 Information technology
- Call #s QA76.75-76.765 Database management
- Call #s T58.6-58.62 Management information systems













