Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Law & Justice

« Back To Guides Selection


All Items by Source

Biographical Information

Biography.com

This site, operated by the Biography Channel, contains tens of thousands of biographies, some quite detailed.  Biographical video and short biographical video clips are also available.  There is also a page with examples of how to properly cite this site.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

1001 Legal Words You Need to Know
Print Location: Reference, 1st Floor, KF156 .A113 2003
1001 Legal Words You Need to Know is a comprehensive guide to the language of the American legal system.  Every legal term is carefully defined and explained with a sample sentence, and many entries have supplementary notes.

This excellent book also includes information on understanding wills, trusts, and inheritance, power of attorney, contracts, suing and being sued, choosing a lawyer, law school, and enjoying lawyer dramas.  An extensive list of legal aid organizations and a helpful bibliography of books about the law and lawyers is also provided.
See Also:

Black's Law Dictionary (8th Edition)
Print Location: Reference, 1st Floor, KF156 .B53 2004
Black's Law Dictionary is the standard for legal language in the English-speaking world. In addition to the Dictionary itself this volume also includes:
  • alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms and West Key Numbers,
  • a Bibliography,
  • British regnal years,
  • definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms,
  • Federal Circuit maps,
  • Legal maxims,
  • a Table of legal abbreviations,
  • the Constitution of the United States of America,
  • the date when selected terms were first used in English-language contexts, especially in judicial opinions,
  • thousands of quotations drawn from sources over five centuries,
  • and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

In addition to the copy available in the ARC (Reference) there are also copies available at CWU-Lynnwood and CWU-Des Moines under the same call number.  There is also a copy of an earlier 1999 edition that can be checked out at KF156 .B532 1999 on the Fourth Floor.


Encyclopedia of Police Science Some full text available

380 entries examine the theoretical and practical aspects of law enforcement, discussing past and present practicesthemes such as accountability, the culture of police, and the legal framework that affects police decision. New topics discuss recent issues, such as Internet and crime, international terrorism, airport safety, or racial profiling. Entries are contributed by scholars as well as experts working in police departments, crime labs, and various fields of policing.  Entries include: administration; communication; criminology; historical personalities; demographics; detection techniques; forensics; history; justice system; legislation; methods of patrol; police management; procedures; psychological issues; public view of police; social issues; significant cases; specific police departments; politics; technology; types of crimes.


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

The G.V.R. Library includes, among many others, the following electronic encyclopedias:
 


Search results in the Gale Virtual Reference Library will include all encyclopedias unless you click on a specific title and use the Quick Search box within the specific title page.
Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
With over two million entries, Oxford Reference Online is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the "looking for a clue" or "needing verification" stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books--and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!

Use Quick Reference materials to discover a variety of Subjects, Timelines, Quotations, English Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.

Oxford's Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
ArchaeologyMedia studies
Art & ArchitectureMedicine and health
Bilingual dictionariesMusic
Classical studiesNames studies
EncyclopediasPerforming arts
English Dictionaries and ThesauriPhilosophy
HistoryQuotations
Language referenceReligion
LawScience and technology
LinguisticsSocial Sciences
LiteratureSociety and culture

Assistance and advice with using the Quick Reference and the Reference Library are available at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.

Oxford Reference Online: Law Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford Reference Online is a suite of dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference type resources available through the CWU library's subscription databases page, "Databases by Title".  The database contains a number of resources regarding law, the American law enforcement and court systems, and Supreme Court decisions.


Women and the Law: Leaders, Cases and Documents
Print Location: Ref KF478 .K84 2003
This book analyzes the legal precedents involving women's constitutional, educational, familial, reproductive, safety and workplace rights, provides biographies and essays on "key historical concepts and pioneers" such as feminism and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and contains the full text of important documents tracing the historic development of women and U.S. law.

Finding Books

Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Cattrax is the online catalog that describes nearly all the materials held by the Brooks Library: books, government documents, maps, microforms, journals, and other items. Below is everything you may want to know about using Cattrax:

Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library:
1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box.

2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search."

3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed.

(Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.)

4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. Books labeled with call numbers between A and J can be found on the 3rd floor, while books classified as K to Z can be found on the fourth floor. All government documents, maps, and microforms can be found on the 3rd floor, and all musical recordings on the 4th floor. Physical journals, magazines, and serials are housed on the 2nd floor, while DVDs, video tapes and films may be found on the 1st floor. Children's books are located on the 4th floor.

More Information about Cattrax:
You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box.

Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, a citation tool, and often book cover images.

You can save the bib record to either "My Lists" (requires you to use your Library Log-in) or you can "Save to Bag" and remember to email, save, or print the resulting list of titles before you finish your session with Cattrax.

Once you have saved the useful results from your first search, you can perform more searches--perhaps starting by opening the author link, the subject terms (toward the bottom of the bib record), or the call number in a new browser tab, or by using the search box to start a totally new search.

(Note: If you click "Call #," you can sort search results by something like shelf order, allowing you to browse for books on similar topics. Of course, you may wish to look on the actual physical shelves--discovery happens in many ways.)

Additional Cattrax Information:
The “Request” service, located in the upper left of a bib record page, is only available for Center Campus Students. This is because Center campus students would need to use more than the stairs or the elevator to get a book from Brooks Library. (If you are a main campus student wishing to check out a book in a Center Library, please consult the Circulation Desk.)

The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.

If you have the citation for an article, you can search for journal titles by selecting "Journal/Serial Title" in the search options. Using this tool, you can discover if the library has access to print or digital copies of the journal in question. The library often has access to a journal through more than one database. If you do not succeed in locating the journal or article that you need, please consult one of our charming Brooks Library Librarians, or submit a request to our very resourceful Interlibrary Loan Department.

If your professor said that something you needed to read was on "Reserve" (the professor may have said "in the library" or something roughly equivalent), you can locate the item by searching in Cattrax by "Course" or "Prof/TA"--that is, by course or professor's name.

Last but certainly not least, if your item is not available in Cattrax, try requesting it through Summit, the unified catalog of 37 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest. If an item is also unavailable through Summit, you may wish to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection.  EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books in the areas of:

Children's & Young Adult NonfictionLiterature & Criticism
Arts & ArchitectureMathematics
Biographies & MemoirsPhilosophy
Business & EconomicsPolitical Science
Computer SciencePsychology
EducationReference Works
Engineering & TechnologyReligion
FictionSciences
General NonfictionSelf-Help & Family
Health & MedicineSocial Sciences
HistoryStudy Aids & Language Learning
Law
 
Note: EBSCO's classifications of these books is a bit imaginative, in each of the above categories there will be some books that you would not expect to see in that list.

You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Finding News Articles

JURIST - Legal news and Research

JURIST is the authoritative legal news and real-time legal research website powered by a team of over 20 law student reporters, editors and web developers led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA.


WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.  Includes a "Subject Area" search for Accounting, Environmental Studies, Health & Medical Care, and Government & Politics.  For search strategies, you may wish to view the Lexis Nexis YouTube channel.


Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


Criminal Justice Abstracts Restricted Resource
Contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on virtually any topic in criminal justice.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service

Abstracts for literature in criminal justice. This database is an index, it does not contain the full text of articles.  You can search further for the full text within another of our databases or for non-electronic format in our catalog, by clicking on the "Search for Full Text" link available on the results page for a particular record.  If you would like more assistance in retrieving the full text of an article, please stop by or call the Reference Desk at 509.963-1021.


PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service Restricted Resource Some full text available
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International database covers a wide range of current and past public policy issues, emphasizing factual and statistical information.  Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations.

The PAIS International database is continually updated with information about over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world.  (Newspapers and newsletters are not usually indexed.)  A useful 'Advanced Search' is available, as well as a way to search for Figures & Tables.

PAIS is an index, it does not contain the full text of articles – but you do not care about that until you find a citation for an article you would like to read.  When you find citations for possibly useful articles you can search for the full text by doing a Journal Title Search.  You can also search for a full text copy through Google ScholarAs always more assistance in acquiring the full text of an article is available at the Reference Desk.

Note: The PAIS database is provided to us by Proquest. In the upper left corner of the PAIS search page there is a link that will say “Searching:1 database”.  If you click that link you will see a list of the 9 databases that you can select and search through this interface.  In addition to PAIS you can also search:
(Three of these databases are fulltext. The Proquest Sitemap page can provide you with information about some useful options.)


Government Information

AJAX U.S. & International Government Military, Intelligence & Law Enforcement Agency Access

Comprehensive set of links to establishments of the United States and international military, police and intelligence community.


Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) Restricted Resource

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents.


National Institute of Justice
NIJ is the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues. NIJ provides objective, independent, evidence-based knowledge and tools to meet the challenges of crime and justice, particularly at the State and local levels.
Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC)

The Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) is a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization at Syracuse University.  The purpose of TRAC is to provide the American people, Congress, news organizations, public interest groups, businesses, scholars, and lawyers, with comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government.

Because comprehensive and relevant records about what an agency is doing — and not doing — are essential to meaningful oversight, TRAC continuously uses the Freedom of Information Act to obtain new data about government enforcement and regulatory activities.

While many TRAC activities are fee-supported, with the information behind a paywall, the TRAC Public Web Site contains highly detailed and easy-to-access information on selected federal enforcement agencies, special topical reports, and "bulletins" about federal enforcement, staffing and expenditures. The information — featuring colorful maps and graphs and tens of thousands of pages of tables and other supporting material — is available without charge to anyone with access to the web. Currently featured are TRAC sites describing the enforcement activities and staffing patterns of the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Internal Revenue Service, the Drug Enforcement Administration and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.

TRAC-Immigration, deals in-depth with how United States immigration laws are enforced in administrative and criminal courts by a wide variety of agencies. Reports include records of individual judges. A reference library containing reports and government immigration studies and a glossary are also maintained.

This site is an excellent one to search if you are in need of government information.  If it appears that the information you need is behind the TRAC paywall please consult one of our talented Reference or Government Documents Librarians.
 


USA.gov - Official Government Web Portal

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.USA.gov is the U.S. government web portal to all federal, state, tribal, and local government web resources and services. USA.gov is intended to help people navigate government information, procedures, and policies.

Through USA.gov you can apply for benefits online (including grants), contact a government agency or department, or use the most comprehensive search of government websites.  You can also search for Government Publications, for information specifically relevant to you, and for contact information for government employees and officials.
 


Handbooks & Guides

NLRB [National Labor Relations Board] Style Manual: A Guide for Legal Writing in Plain English

Similar to The Elements of Legal Style KF250 .G37 2002, this guide is accessible on the web. It also includes some examples of proper citations and some rules of citation.


Courts and Trials: A Reference Handbook
Print Location: Ref KF8719 .S552 2003
A collective overview of contemporary developments affecting court organization and judicial procedures.

Images & Primary Resources

American Presidency Project

This website contains a searchable database of tens of thousands of documents from U.S. presidents from 1789 to the present. Includes inaugural addresses, press briefings, signing statements, and debates. Also features data on topics such as popularity and number of public appearances, election results back to 1828, and an archive of audio and video clips. A collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. See also: the Presidential Timeline of the Twentieth Century--a primary resource digital collection developed by the University of Texas at Austin's College of Education.


Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy Some full text available

Yale Law School hosts a wonderful primary source website, with materials in collections as far-reaching as 4000 b.c.e. to the 21st Century.  Included are the full text of laws, colony charters, acts, and declarations, presidential proclamations, treaties and formal negotiations affecting the United States judiciary system and governmental foreign policy in general. 

From this page, you can also access Project Diana: the Human Rights collection (which provides full text of major court decisions regarding human rights) and The International Military Tribunal for Germany--A Document Collection.  It contains materials from the Nuremburg Trials, including day by day transcript testimony of those tried for war crimes.


Organizations & Directories

Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences
The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.
American Academy of Forensic Psychology

The American Academy of Forensic Psychology is approved by the American Psychological Association to offer continuing education for psychologists. AAFP maintains responsibility for its programs.


American Academy of Forensic Scientists
The AAFS, a nonprofit professional society organized in 1948, is devoted to the improvement, the administration, and the achievement of justice through the application of science to the processes of law.
American Bar Association
The largest voluntary professional association in the world. With more than 400,000 members, the ABA provides law school accreditation, continuing legal education, information about the law, programs to assist lawyers and judges in their work, and initiatives to improve the legal system for the public.
American Society of Criminology
The American Society of Criminology is an international organization concerned with criminology, embracing scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the etiology, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency. This includes the measurement and detection of crime, legislation, the practice of criminal law, as well as a review of the law enforcement, judicial, and correctional systems.
Center for Democracy and Technology

The mission of the Center for Democracy & Technology is to conceive and implement public policies that will keep the Internet open, innovative, and free.  CDT fights for the right of individuals to communicate, publish and make their own choices about the information they share and receive on the Internet.

CDT has established ongoing working groups that bring together companies, trade associations, public interest groups, technologists, and academics.  Current working groups and articles by the members can be found under these labels:



Official Directory of State Patrol and State Police

Directory of state trooper and sheriff-related Web sites for each of the fifty United States. In addition to each state's official state police and state government Web sites, there are links to its police academies and associations, history, news, articles and more.


Young Forensic Scientists Forum
The Young Forensic Scientists Forum (YFSF) is a group within the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) that is dedicated to the education, enrichment and development of emerging forensic scientists and future leaders of the field. The participants of the YFSF are drawn from all sections and membership levels of the AAFS. The YFSF provides an avenue for new forensic scientists to interact with and become part of the established forensic science community.

Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is the unit of the U.S. Department of Justice whose principal functions is the compilation and analysis of data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, the operation of justice systems at all levels of government and the efficient dissemination of information to the public for statistical purposes.  These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.  A wide-variety of publications and other open-access full-text crime-related information is availabe, organized into the following categories:

CorrectionsCapital PunishmentCommunity Corrections (Probation and Parole)
Deaths in Custody Reporting ProgramExpenditures/EmploymentLocal jail inmates and jail facilities
Prison Rape Elimination Act (Sexual Violence in Correctional Facilities)RecidivismSpecial populations
State and federal prisoners and prison facilitiesTotal correctional populationFederal
CorrectionsCourtsLaw Enforcement
ProsecutionCourtsCivil Rights
Civil casesCriminal CasesIndigent Defense Systems
Prosecutors OfficesState Court Caseload StatisticsState Court organization
Tribal courtsVictimsCrime characteristics and trends
NCVS redesignReporting crimes to policeSpecial topics
The Crime eventVictim characteristicsVictims and offenders
Crime TypeCybercrimeDrugs and crime
GangsHate CrimeHuman Trafficking/Trafficking in Persons
Identity TheftLocationProperty Crime
Violent CrimeWeapon Use by Offense TypeCriminal Justice Data Improvement Program
National Criminal History Improvement ProgramState Justice Statistics ProgramThe NICS Improvement Amendments Act of 2007
Law EnforcementArrest-Related DeathsCampus Law Enforcement
Community PolicingFederal Law EnforcementForensic Investigation
Law Enforcement Training AcademiesLocal PolicePolice-Public Contacts
Sheriffs' OfficesSpecial TopicsTribal Law Enforcement
Employment and ExpenditureIndian Country Justice Statistics
Data Analysis Tools are also available.


Cultures of the States: A Handbook on the Effectiveness of State Governments
Print Location: Ref JK2408 .F79 2003
Looks at the factors of the culture found within States: power, taxes, race, gender, crime and punishment, mortality and health, education, economic factors and "problems profiles."
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Includes FBI crime statistics based on local and state police reports. Uniform Crime Reports are also available in Crime in the U.S., an annual publication in Government Documents Reference, J 1.14/7, with older volumes in the stacks.
Federal Sentencing Statistics by State, District, and Circuit

Statistics from the U.S. Sentencing Commission is provided by circuit court and state.


FedStats

The FedStats website, plainly and simply, enables you to search for and link to more than 95 agencies that provide data and trend information:


  • Topics A to Z: More than 700 topics and subtopics.

  • Links to summaries of the major Federal statistical programs.

  • Links to Federal Agencies with statistical programs.

  • Search: Enter keywords or phrases. The FedStats database is updated twice per month, 'advanced search' is available as 'modify search'.

  • Statistical Reference Shelf: access to collections of published statistics.

  • MapStats: profiles of your state, county, federal judicial district, or congressional district.

  • Statistics-by-geography from U.S. agencies: international comparisons, national, state, county, and local information.

  • Press releases: links to the releasing statistical agency.

  • Data access tools: view predefined reports and/or generate your own tables with data obtained through searches and queries of summary and microdata files.

  • Kids' Pages: A fun way to explore statistical concepts, geography, and the rich sets of data Federal agencies make available through FedStats, using a series of games and web applications developed for kids in elementary through high school. Include fun facts, games, project ideas, and career information.


NationMaster.com

NationMaster is the world's largest online database for comparing countries in the world, with all of the same features in StateMaster, as well as an educational area with free lesson plans and the unique GeoLabs, which give students all over the world an opportunity to navigate through the database and send results to their teacher via e-mail. 


Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Compilation of statistics from the Bureau of Justice which focus on crime, criminals, judicial processing, corrections, etc. Browse by topical index or keyword search.
StateMaster.com Resource contains images Some full text available

StateMaster is a free resource which allows users to compare US States with over 3,000 different statistics. The site has graphing, plotting, mapping and correlation tools, as well as thousands of maps and flags and detailed state profiles.


Web Sites

FindLaw
A comprehensive collection of legal information available over the Internet, organized by topic. Searchable.
Guide to Law Online
This guide links to Internet sites on many aspects of U.S. law, including the U.S. Constitution, federal legislation, U.S. Code and public laws, federal courts, NAFTA, WTO, and other types of legal information on the Internet.
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. A limited full-text publication search is available for free, as well as abstracts and statistics.


The Uniform Crime Report

The FBI compiles a variety of annual statistics, reports, and publications on crimes in the United States including topics such as Hate Crimes.


AllLaw - Legal Information
This site is a for-profit caveat-rich and extensive collection of legal resources and links to legal information.  Perusing this site will provide you with background on the terminology and issues relevant to your questions; you can then continue your investigation with the Wikipedia Article on Law, their Outline of Law, Category: Law, Portal: Law, and Portal: Law/Good articles.


Federal Bureau of Investigation
FBI home page. Includes FBI facts and figures, history, crime alerts, crime statistics, reports on major investigations, more.
First Amendment Center
The First Amendment Center supports the First Amendment to the United States Constitution and builds understanding of its core freedoms by serving as a forum for the study and exploration of free-expression issues, including freedom of speech, of the press, of religion, the right to assemble and the right to petition the government.

The First Amendment Center provides a large number of publications on First Amendment issues, detailed reports about U.S. Supreme Court cases involving the First Amendment (1999-the present), and an extremely informative First Amendment FAQ.

Also available are the invaluable State of the First Amendment Surveys, a regular check on how Americans view their freedoms of speech, press, assembly, religion and petition.  Additionally the FAC provides a variety of other programs, including the Religious Freedom Education Project, and the 1 for All program which provides teaching materials to the nation’s schools and campuses, and reminds the public that the First Amendment serves everyone, regardless of faith, race, gender, or political leanings.


Hieros Gamos: The Comprehensive Law and Government Site
"Hieros Gamos 'is the largest and only comprehensive legal site with over 20,000 original pages and more than 70,000 links.' Various databases contain information on legal organizations including every government in the world, practice areas, "doing business" guides, news, and online seminars. The online law library contains extensive reference works, including many foreign language dictionaries."
Indian Law Resource Center
"Legal advocacy for the protection of indigenous peoples' human rights, cultures, and traditional lands so that Indian tribes and nations may flourish for generations to come."
Internet Law Library
The Internet Law Library (formerly the U.S. House of Representatives Internet Law Library) was originally provided to the public courtesy of the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. This was part of the Counsel's mission to make the law available to the public. The site provided links to a large number of legal resources relating to American (federal and state) and foreign laws.
Internet Legal Research Group
Provides a categorized index of over 3000 legal web sites, with an emphasis on U.S. legal information, especially law schools, law journals, law firms and professional associations on the web.
Internet Legal Resources
From the University of Washington Law Library, provides legal information and materials (including laws, bills, court opinions, and related documents) and/or links to legal material.
Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


Law and Policy Institutions Guide
Provides a well-organized point of access for legal and legislative information. In addition to domestic legal topics, this site provides information on significant international treaties, journals, and legal databases ranging from antiquity to the present and representing all nationalities.
Law Library Resource Xchange
LLRX.com is a unique, free Web journal dedicated to providing legal, library, IT/IS, marketing and administrative professionals with the most up-to-date information on a wide range of Internet research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools, since 1996.
Legal Information Institute
The Legal Information Institute is a nonprofit group associated with the Cornell Univeristy Law School. Their goal is for everyone to be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. Among the many resources they provide are:

Native American Rights Fund
Founded in 1970, the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) is the oldest and largest nonprofit law firm dedicated to asserting and defending the rights of Indian tribes, organizations and individuals nationwide. NARF's practice is concentrated in five key areas: the preservation of tribal existence; the protection of tribal natural resources; the promotion of human rights; the accountability of governments; and the development of Indian law and educating the public about Indian rights, laws, and issues.
OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource.  The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world  The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.

The OAIster Catalog is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, keyword and several other forms of metadata.  Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not).  Like playing chess the best way to become good at boolean searching is to do a lot of boolean searching.  Here are the 'basic moves' for searching the OAIster Catalog:

Combining the search terms 'Cat' and 'Dog' (Boolean)
    Cat and Dog
    Cat or Dog
    Cat not Dog
Note: 'and', 'or', & 'not' are in drop-down boxes to the left of the search boxes.

Plurals, truncation, and wildcards
    Use + for plurals (s and es)
    Use * for truncation
    Use # for a wildcard character
    Use ?N for up to N characters

Adjacent terms (proximity)
    Cat w Dog    (Cat is followed by Dog)
    Cat wN Dog  (Cat is followed by Dog with at most N terms between)
    Cat n Dog     (Cat is next to Dog, either order)
    Cat nN Dog   (Cat is within N terms of Dog, either order)

The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language.  A Basic Search and an Expert Search interface is also available.  You can also create an account that will enable you to save searches.

NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.  The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.

Officer.Com: Law Enforcement Resource Site
"The criminal justice resource directory links to US federal and constitutional law sites, law libraries, and criminal justice resources by state. Criminal justice issues by topic include computer laws, hate crimes, terrorism, prison issues, and firearms.
Southern Poverty Law Center
"This organization combats hate, intolerance and discrimination through education and litigation. Includes Klanwatch and Militia Task Force, which monitor white supremacist and extremist activity, Legal Action, current and historical civil rights cases, and Teaching Tolerance, excerpts from this free to educators magazine, including an excellent, annotated, Recommended Reading list."

Items Of Interest

PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Ginny Blackson

Ginny Blackson
Research Librarian, Head Of Collection Development
Tel: (509) 963-1306