Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Philosophy of Religion

« Back To Guides Selection


PHIL 305: Philosophy of Religion
All Items by Source

Biographical Information

The Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy
Print Location: B741 .B56 2006
There has been a long tradition of interest in philosophy in the Islamic world, and it is the aim of these volumes to represent the lives of some of the major thinkers within this tradition. The notion of philosophy has been interpreted broadly to include a large number of intellectuals who were interested in conceptual issues that either directly relate to philosophy or form part of the background of Islamic philosophy as a whole. Included are details about the lives of significant legal thinkers, theologians, political thinkers and even geographers where their lives are relevant indicators of the progress of philosophy in the Islamic world. The Dictionary represents a landmark achievement in the understanding of Islamic philosophy, at a time when such understanding is needed as never before. It is set to become an indispensable reference work for students of Islamic and comparative philosophy.

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World
Print Location: Ref HQ1127 .S25 2001

This book contains the biographies of 150 notable (not necessarily well-known) women throughout Western Civilization, i.e. Mesopotamia, Egypt, the Persian Empire, Greece and Rome--from 3000 B.C. to 500 A.D. Also included are 30 essays on culture, dress, and concepts found in everyday life.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

A Concise Encyclopedia of the Philosophy of Religion
Print Location: BL51.T4274 2002
This concise, authoritative encyclopedia from the world's most renowned theologians explores all the major themes in the philosophy of religion.

Encyclopedia Judaica
Print Location: Ref DS102.8 E496
The Encyclopedia Judaica is a 26-volume English language encyclopedia of the Jewish people, and their faith, Judaism. IT covers diverse areas of the Jewish world and civilization, including Jewish history of all eras, culture, holidays, language, scripture, and religious teachings.

Encyclopedia of Native American religions
Print Location: Ref E98 R3 H73 1991
Contains brief entries on a broad range of topics, some illustrations, and a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Print Location: Ref B51 .E53 2006
This second edition of the Encyclopedia builds on the foundations of the first, which is cited in Books for College Libraries, 3rd ed., Public Library Catalog, and Guide to Reference Books. For the new edition, chief editor Borchert (philosophy, Ohio U.) and his collaborators have chosen entries from the first edition and its Supplement "that were so well done that they merited retention" and have made bibliographical updates and significant addenda. To this core they have added 450 entries on new topics and 300 new entries on topics originally treated in the first edition. The philosophical inclusiveness of the first volume, already quite broad, has been modified and expanded in terms of representation of analytic and continental traditions and in cultural diversity, with inclusion of topics related to Buddhist, Chinese, Islamic, and Indian philosophy. From Italian existentialist Nicola Abbagnano to Spanish Christian ontologist Xavier Zubiri, the entries discuss the thought systems of important individual philosophers from around the world, as well as important topics, ranging from aesthetic experience to Zoroastrianism. The entries tend to be longer and more comprehensive than in similar works and include guides to related entries. Appearing in the final volume is an appendix of additional articles; a thematic outline of the contents based organized by historical periods and subfields of philosophy; a number of articles on philosophy bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and journals; and, of course, an index for the entire set.

Encyclopedia of Religion in America
Print Location: BL2520 .E52 2010

Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States.



Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion
Print Location: BL458. E53 1999
The Encyclopedia's 600 articles place all aspects of religious thought and experience in a new light. Major themes explored include comparative study of issues such as mythology, ordination and afterlife; Buddhism, Christianity, Islam and Judaism; the study of art in religion, literature and science; historical perspectives on religions both new and prehistoric; biographies of religious leaders and scholars; and more.

Man, Myth, & Magic: the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and the unknown
Print Location: BF1407 M34 1995


Encyclopedia of Religion
Print Location: Ref BL31 E46 1987 (16 vols.)

A 16-volume set including over 2200 scholarly articles on a broad range of religious subjects. Includes bibliographies, a directory of contributors, and a synoptic/conceptual outline of topics.


Digital Collections
Cambridge Digital Library: Contains Hebrew Manuscripts, Christian Works, Islamic Manuscripts, Sanskrit Manuscripts, and Spanish Chapbooks.

Buddhist eLibrary: Contains audio files of chanting and meditations; videos; ebooks including: children's books, meditations, Mahayana texts, Theraveda texts, and Vajrayana texts; and images of Buddhists line art, Chinese Buddhist images, Thai Buddhist images, and Tibetan Buddhist images.

Web Resources
Internet Sacred Text Archive: Contains a large collection of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric.

The Bible in English:The Bible in English contains 21 different versions of the English Bible, including 12 full Bibles, five New Testament texts, two versions of the Gospels only, and William Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah, and the New Testament.

Jewish Virtual Library: A comprehensive online Jewish encyclopedia in the world, covering everything from anti-Semitism to Zionism. There are more than 16,000 articles and 7,000 photographs and maps that have been integrated into the site.

Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender Index
: Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophy: This site contains a bibliography of the philosophical literature of India during its classical phase and the secondary material on this literature that is available (for the most part) in English.

Project Gutenberg: Collection of 40,000 freely accessible ebooks.

HathiTrust: The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of 60 partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Courtney Paddick

Courtney Paddick
Academic & Research Commons Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-2861

Catalog Search
Ask A Librarian Chat