Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Political Science

« Back To Guides Selection


All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

From Suffrage to the Senate: An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics
Print Location: Ref HQ1236.5 .U6 S32 1999
Biographical essays and entries on important court cases. Also includes a chronology, an appendix on primary source documents and another on statistics.
Intute: World Guide

A series of guides for over 270 countries and territories. These include features, demographics, geography data, interactive world maps, satellite photosscrollable city images, and links to resources about each country within the Intute database. You can even compare data between countries. You may go straight to the entry for a specific country via the dropdown menu, or you can search for satellite images and features by keyword.


National Atlas.gov - Presidential Elections 1789 - 2000

"The National Atlas offers a wall map, Presidential Elections 1789-2000, which has also been Reformatted into 14 pages designed to be viewed and downloaded from the Web. These Presidential Elections printable maps show electoral votes won, by political party, for the fifty-four Presidential elections from George Washington in 1789 to George W. Bush in 2000. The maps are grouped four or six to a page and show electoral vote results by State. The map for 2000 is also offered on a page by itself, showing popular vote results by county as well as electoral vote results by State. New printable maps showing the results of the 2004 Presidential election will be published here in June, 2005. These map pages are in a standard 8.5- by 11-inch landscape format."


Oxford Reference Online: Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

For digital collections of original maps, see also the research guide section "Images Online & in Databases."


Biographical Information

American National Biography
Print Location: CT213.A68 1999
This set of biographical dictionaries features over 17,500 profiles of historical figures in American history, as well as a bibliography. The scope of the work runs from the earliest recorded European explorations in the Americas to the very recent past.

American Statesmen: Secretaries of State from John Jay to Colin Powell
Print Location: Ref E176. A596 2004
Biographical dictionary with in-depth, multi-page articles on the careers of men who have served America as Secretary of State and their impact on foreign policy.
Biographical Directory of the American Congress, 1774-Present

This U.S. Government site contains paragraph length biographies of members of Congress and related officials, from 1774 to the present.  Entries may also contain bibliographic citations and references to research collections containing additional information on the Representative, Senator, Vice President, President, Delegate, Resident Commissioner, Continental Congress, or Speaker of the House.  Also, take a look at the links to pages on the history of the House (Office of the Clerk--U.S. House of Representatives) and the Senate (Senate Historical Office).


Politics in America
Print Location: Ref JK1012 .C63

Information on each of the current Congress's members, including their political styles, key votes, committee assignments, finance statistics and more.



POTUS: Presidents of the United States

This website provides background information, election results, names of cabinet members, notable events, and points of interest about each of the presidents. It also includes links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites.


U.S. House of Representatives Home Page

Legislative and committee information along with biographical material and more.


U.S. Senate Home Page

Legislative and committee information as well as biographical material and more.


Biography.com

This site, operated by the Biography Channel, contains tens of thousands of biographies, some quite detailed.  Biographical video and short biographical video clips are also available.  There is also a page with examples of how to properly cite this site.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
With over two million entries, Oxford Reference Online is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the "looking for a clue" or "needing verification" stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books--and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!

Use Quick Reference materials to discover a variety of Subjects, Timelines, Quotations, English Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.

Oxford's Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
ArchaeologyMedia studies
Art & ArchitectureMedicine and health
Bilingual dictionariesMusic
Classical studiesNames studies
EncyclopediasPerforming arts
English Dictionaries and ThesauriPhilosophy
HistoryQuotations
Language referenceReligion
LawScience and technology
LinguisticsSocial Sciences
LiteratureSociety and culture

Assistance and advice with using the Quick Reference and the Reference Library are available at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.

Oxford Reference Online: Politics & Social Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford Reference Online is a suite of dictionaries, encyclopedias and guides to which CWU Library holds a subscription to use.  The entire Oxford Reference Online database is accessible from the libraries homepage.  Found within this database is a collection of references useful for those studying political science and other social sciences.  Please click on a particular title to search and access the full text of entries within a title.


Finding Books

Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Cattrax is the online catalog that describes nearly all the materials held by the Brooks Library: books, government documents, maps, microforms, journals, and other items. Below is everything you may want to know about using Cattrax:

Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library:
1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box.

2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search."

3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed.

(Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.)

4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. Books labeled with call numbers between A and J can be found on the 3rd floor, while books classified as K to Z can be found on the fourth floor. All government documents, maps, and microforms can be found on the 3rd floor, and all musical recordings on the 4th floor. Physical journals, magazines, and serials are housed on the 2nd floor, while DVDs, video tapes and films may be found on the 1st floor. Children's books are located on the 4th floor.

More Information about Cattrax:
You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box.

Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, a citation tool, and often book cover images.

You can save the bib record to either "My Lists" (requires you to use your Library Log-in) or you can "Save to Bag" and remember to email, save, or print the resulting list of titles before you finish your session with Cattrax.

Once you have saved the useful results from your first search, you can perform more searches--perhaps starting by opening the author link, the subject terms (toward the bottom of the bib record), or the call number in a new browser tab, or by using the search box to start a totally new search.

(Note: If you click "Call #," you can sort search results by something like shelf order, allowing you to browse for books on similar topics. Of course, you may wish to look on the actual physical shelves--discovery happens in many ways.)

Additional Cattrax Information:
The “Request” service, located in the upper left of a bib record page, is only available for Center Campus Students. This is because Center campus students would need to use more than the stairs or the elevator to get a book from Brooks Library. (If you are a main campus student wishing to check out a book in a Center Library, please consult the Circulation Desk.)

The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.

If you have the citation for an article, you can search for journal titles by selecting "Journal/Serial Title" in the search options. Using this tool, you can discover if the library has access to print or digital copies of the journal in question. The library often has access to a journal through more than one database. If you do not succeed in locating the journal or article that you need, please consult one of our charming Brooks Library Librarians, or submit a request to our very resourceful Interlibrary Loan Department.

If your professor said that something you needed to read was on "Reserve" (the professor may have said "in the library" or something roughly equivalent), you can locate the item by searching in Cattrax by "Course" or "Prof/TA"--that is, by course or professor's name.

Last but certainly not least, if your item is not available in Cattrax, try requesting it through Summit, the unified catalog of 37 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest. If an item is also unavailable through Summit, you may wish to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection.  EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books in the areas of:

Children's & Young Adult NonfictionLiterature & Criticism
Arts & ArchitectureMathematics
Biographies & MemoirsPhilosophy
Business & EconomicsPolitical Science
Computer SciencePsychology
EducationReference Works
Engineering & TechnologyReligion
FictionSciences
General NonfictionSelf-Help & Family
Health & MedicineSocial Sciences
HistoryStudy Aids & Language Learning
Law
 
Note: EBSCO's classifications of these books is a bit imaginative, in each of the above categories there will be some books that you would not expect to see in that list.

You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Finding News Articles

Gallup Organization

Gallup site includes news articles and poll information on consumer trends, employment, business and industry, government, and hot topics across the globe and in the United States.


Opensecrets.org: Money in Politics Data

From the Center for Responsive Politics, this non-partisan research group monitors campaign reform and includes Congressional campaign finance filings.


Roll Call
Covers Capitol Hill and elections.
WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
As of 10/19/2012 this on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, published worldwide from 1971 to the present.  New records are added frequently.  This online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS as well as entries compiled since 1997.  The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies, as identified by the BAS staff, are indexed as immediately as possible, but the total number of indexed journals is many times that amount; full information about the years of coverage of each and every journal is provided through the Journal Title Browse function.  In addition, various special projects have contributed substantial numbers of additional records to the database (among them journals on Southeast Asia dating as far back as 1779).

This is an index only.  To locate resources from this index, search the CWU Library Catalog and Summit for the book or journal title.  Please ask the Reference Help Desk, 1st Floor Brooks Library or (509) 963-1021 for aid in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource Some full text available

Each week CQ Researcher explores in depth a single "hot issue in the news”.  The topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science, technology, and more.  There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports.  Access is available online for issues back to 1991.  Each 12,000-word CQ Researcher report can be read in its entirety or by section, each report includes a background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.

CQ Researcher is an excellent database to look in when you are ‘looking for a clue’.  The extensive bibliography each article provides serves as a wonderful way to find more information about your topic.
 


CQ Weekly Restricted Resource Some full text available

In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Includes archives back to 1983.


Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Restricted Resource

Contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States since 1970. HAPI citations are in English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and other languages.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available

Our subscription to JSTOR (short for 'Journal Storage') contains every issue of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences.  These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published (in some cases that is the 1600s).  JSTOR also contains citations (bibliographic records) for more than 1,500 leading academic journals, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.  (This is why it may not be a good idea to check "Include only content I can access," even if you are in a hurry.  Articles not available in JSTOR are often available in our other databases or through Interlibrary Loan.)

As always, please consult the Reference Desk or the nearest librarian if you have any questions about finding articles in JSTOR or elsewhere.


PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service Restricted Resource Some full text available
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International database covers a wide range of current and past public policy issues, emphasizing factual and statistical information.  Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations.

The PAIS International database is continually updated with information about over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world.  (Newspapers and newsletters are not usually indexed.)  A useful 'Advanced Search' is available, as well as a way to search for Figures & Tables.

PAIS is an index, it does not contain the full text of articles – but you do not care about that until you find a citation for an article you would like to read.  When you find citations for possibly useful articles you can search for the full text by doing a Journal Title Search.  You can also search for a full text copy through Google ScholarAs always more assistance in acquiring the full text of an article is available at the Reference Desk.

Note: The PAIS database is provided to us by Proquest. In the upper left corner of the PAIS search page there is a link that will say “Searching:1 database”.  If you click that link you will see a list of the 9 databases that you can select and search through this interface.  In addition to PAIS you can also search:
(Three of these databases are fulltext. The Proquest Sitemap page can provide you with information about some useful options.)


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

Project MUSE contains scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently MUSE includes: 274,848 articles and 479,457 chapters by 199 publishers, and probably has some useful information about your topic.

The Brooks Library has a partial subscription to Project MUSE, thus some items are available to you in Project MUSE and some items are only available elsewhere. You can do a Journal Title Search, a Book Title Search, a Summit Search, a Google Scholar Search, or contact the Reference Desk to access a fulltext copy of any citations that might be unavailable in Project MUSE.

Project MUSE can be searched by Keyword (options for narrowing your search will be to the left of your results), browsed by Research Area, by All Title, by Publisher, by Book Title, and by Journal Title. An option for displaying "Only content I have full access to" is usually available, but since we often have access to that content through another database, Summit, or Interlibrary Loan, you should probably search Project MUSE both ways.
 


PROL: Political Research Online

From the website:  PROL is a repository of papers delivered at professional conferences and emerging political science scholarship.  PROL accepts pre-print scholarship and research for review and comment....[it] is a collaborative project led by the American Political Science Association and a consortium of political science and related associations..."  When conducting a "Quick Search",  be sure to use the drop down menu to select a keyword search.


Government Information

AJAX U.S. & International Government Military, Intelligence & Law Enforcement Agency Access

Comprehensive set of links to establishments of the United States and international military, police and intelligence community.


Federal Election Commission

Campaign finance information on congressional and presidential elections and abstracts of court decisions pertaining to federal election law.  Also includes information on political action committees.


Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) Restricted Resource

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents.


Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC)

The Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) is a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization at Syracuse University.  The purpose of TRAC is to provide the American people, Congress, news organizations, public interest groups, businesses, scholars, and lawyers, with comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government.

Because comprehensive and relevant records about what an agency is doing — and not doing — are essential to meaningful oversight, TRAC continuously uses the Freedom of Information Act to obtain new data about government enforcement and regulatory activities.

While many TRAC activities are fee-supported, with the information behind a paywall, the TRAC Public Web Site contains highly detailed and easy-to-access information on selected federal enforcement agencies, special topical reports, and "bulletins" about federal enforcement, staffing and expenditures. The information — featuring colorful maps and graphs and tens of thousands of pages of tables and other supporting material — is available without charge to anyone with access to the web. Currently featured are TRAC sites describing the enforcement activities and staffing patterns of the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Internal Revenue Service, the Drug Enforcement Administration and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.

TRAC-Immigration, deals in-depth with how United States immigration laws are enforced in administrative and criminal courts by a wide variety of agencies. Reports include records of individual judges. A reference library containing reports and government immigration studies and a glossary are also maintained.

This site is an excellent one to search if you are in need of government information.  If it appears that the information you need is behind the TRAC paywall please consult one of our talented Reference or Government Documents Librarians.
 


U.S. Census Bureau

Good starting point for population, demographic and other data.


U.S. Election Assistance Commission

"The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) was established by the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). Central to its role, the Commission serves as a national clearinghouse and resource for information and review of procedures with respect to the administration of Federal elections."


U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)

Formerly known as The General Accounting Office (GAO) (name change 2004) the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) "is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress...." and " investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars."  Most helpful is the Topic Collections tab, which groups together reports and testimonies related to a wide variety of topics, from Immigration to the US Elections.


USA.gov - Official Government Web Portal

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.USA.gov is the U.S. government web portal to all federal, state, tribal, and local government web resources and services. USA.gov is intended to help people navigate government information, procedures, and policies.

Through USA.gov you can apply for benefits online (including grants), contact a government agency or department, or use the most comprehensive search of government websites.  You can also search for Government Publications, for information specifically relevant to you, and for contact information for government employees and officials.
 


USAspending.gov Some full text available

From the website:  "The Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 (Transparency Act) requires a single searchable website, accessible by the public for free that includes for each Federal award:  the name of the entity receiving the award, the amount of the award, information on the award including transaction type, funding agency, etc., location of the entity receiving the award, a unique identifier of the entity receiving the award."


Handbooks & Guides

A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government
Print Location: Third Floor, JK9 .H57 1998

A Historical Guide to the U.S. Government is a profile of the history of the executive branch of the Federal government and its departments, agencies, and committees.  It generally excludes the Judiciary and U.S. Congress, but does include some agencies whose authority may span the three branches of government.

The arrangement is alphabetical and contains numerous references.  There is discussion of each organization's mission and structure, as well as its history.  In addition to entries for specific federal administrative agencies, there are entries for several broader topics.  The bibliographies that conclude each entry are fairly extensive, including numerous government publications.  An appendix containing the text of documents important to the history of public administration is included, as well as an index.  The social, cultural, and intellectual movements that have influenced the way the United States is governed are also examined.

More Encyclopedias of the U.S. Government are available here, here, and here.
 


Almanac of American Politics
Print Location: Reference/ARC, First Floor, JK1012 .A44 v.2010 Some full text available

The Almanac of American Politics provides a detailed look at the politics of the United States through profiling individual leaders and areas of the country.  Almanac entries are alphabetical by state, with each congressional district in each state profiled separately.  The Almanac includes:

  • Demographic information on each district, including income, racial distribution, and other statistics.
  • Biographies of the Representatives from each district and each state's Senators, including their voting record on key votes, advocacy group ratings, etc.; profiles of governors are also included.
  • Individually written profiles of each district.
  • An overview of each state, including demographic trends.

A slightly older version of the Almanac of American Politics is also available online to the CWU students, staff, and faculty, through the LexisNexis database.   (To find it click on 'Find' at the top of the screen.  Do a keyword search for the title, mark the checkbox beside the title when it appears, click the 'Ok-Continue' button on to the right, then enter your search terms.)


Congress 101 Some full text available

The corporate homepage to the subscription database CQ Weekly provides a primer on Congress.  Included are descriptions on amendments, the budget process and terminology, campaign financing,  disciplining members, Executive privilege, filibuster, foreign travel, gerrymandering, legislation and the legislative process, the Omnibus Bill, political action committees (PACs), and the U.S. House and Senate.


note: Search CQ Weekly from our Databases by Title page (see under Research on the CWU Library homepage)
CQ's State Fact Finder
Print Location: Ref HN60 .C68
Compares state-by-state information population, economy, geography, government, taxes, education, health, crime, transportation, etc. in tabular form.
The American Census Handbook
Print Location: Ref CS49 .K4 2001
See also: The Who, What and Where of America: Understanding the Census Results, Ref HA201.122 .W48 2003
World At Risk: Global Issues Sourcebook
Print Location: Ref JZ1242 .W67 2002
This book provides a sense of the economic, environmental, legal, political, and security issues that are found in the world today. Each essay places the issues within an historical context and follows up with a summary of the current status of the issue.

Images & Primary Resources

American Memory Collection (Library of Congress) Resource contains images Some full text available

American Memory is the Library of Congress’s digital collection of American historical materials. Containing more than 9 million items, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on the original format, subject, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each online collection is accompanied by a set of explanatory features designed to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or you may search across multiple collections, by region, and by date.

American Memory will continue to expand online historical content as an integral component of the Library of Congress’s commitment to its mission "to sustain and preserve a universal collection of knowledge and creativity for future generations".



American Presidency Project

This website contains a searchable database of tens of thousands of documents from U.S. presidents from 1789 to the present. Includes inaugural addresses, press briefings, signing statements, and debates. Also features data on topics such as popularity and number of public appearances, election results back to 1828, and an archive of audio and video clips. A collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. See also: the Presidential Timeline of the Twentieth Century--a primary resource digital collection developed by the University of Texas at Austin's College of Education.


Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy Some full text available

Yale Law School hosts a wonderful primary source website, with materials in collections as far-reaching as 4000 b.c.e. to the 21st Century.  Included are the full text of laws, colony charters, acts, and declarations, presidential proclamations, treaties and formal negotiations affecting the United States judiciary system and governmental foreign policy in general. 

From this page, you can also access Project Diana: the Human Rights collection (which provides full text of major court decisions regarding human rights) and The International Military Tribunal for Germany--A Document Collection.  It contains materials from the Nuremburg Trials, including day by day transcript testimony of those tried for war crimes.


Foreign Relations of the United States Some full text available

The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies. Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.


Revelations From the Russian Archives Some full text available

This companion website to a 1992 Library of Congress exhibit contains documents made available by the Russian Archival Committee, covering "the entire range of Soviet history from the October Revolution of 1917 to the failed coup of August 1991." Exhibit topics include Joseph Stalin, the murder of Sergei Kirov, the secret police, Gulag labor camps, the Ukrainian famine, Chernobyl, perestroika ("Mikhail Gorbachev's program of economic, political, and social restructuring"), relations with the U.S. (including the Cold War), and more.


Organizations & Directories

Center for American Women and Politics

This site features fact sheets, research, and other resources about women in government and politics. Includes facts and findings about women candidates, current and historical women officeholders, female elected and appointed officials in each state, and the gender gap and voting behavior. Also provides many research papers on women in U.S. politics and material specific to New Jersey women and politics. From the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.


Center for Democracy and Technology

The mission of the Center for Democracy & Technology is to conceive and implement public policies that will keep the Internet open, innovative, and free.  CDT fights for the right of individuals to communicate, publish and make their own choices about the information they share and receive on the Internet.

CDT has established ongoing working groups that bring together companies, trade associations, public interest groups, technologists, and academics.  Current working groups and articles by the members can be found under these labels:



Organizations in Political Science

The American Political Science Association maintains a website with links to a variety of national and international organizations, including related and area studies organizations.


United Nations
Includes links to the UN Website sections for Peace & Security, Economics & Social Development, Human Rights, Humanitarian Affairs, and International Law.

Reviews

Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Statistics & Measurements

Cultures of the States: A Handbook on the Effectiveness of State Governments
Print Location: Ref JK2408 .F79 2003
Looks at the factors of the culture found within States: power, taxes, race, gender, crime and punishment, mortality and health, education, economic factors and "problems profiles."
FedStats

The FedStats website, plainly and simply, enables you to search for and link to more than 95 agencies that provide data and trend information:


  • Topics A to Z: More than 700 topics and subtopics.

  • Links to summaries of the major Federal statistical programs.

  • Links to Federal Agencies with statistical programs.

  • Search: Enter keywords or phrases. The FedStats database is updated twice per month, 'advanced search' is available as 'modify search'.

  • Statistical Reference Shelf: access to collections of published statistics.

  • MapStats: profiles of your state, county, federal judicial district, or congressional district.

  • Statistics-by-geography from U.S. agencies: international comparisons, national, state, county, and local information.

  • Press releases: links to the releasing statistical agency.

  • Data access tools: view predefined reports and/or generate your own tables with data obtained through searches and queries of summary and microdata files.

  • Kids' Pages: A fun way to explore statistical concepts, geography, and the rich sets of data Federal agencies make available through FedStats, using a series of games and web applications developed for kids in elementary through high school. Include fun facts, games, project ideas, and career information.


Humanity Security Report Some full text available

The Human Security Report (2005) is a report published by Oxford University Press and also available online.  It is a study done by the Human Security Centre (at that time located at the University of British Columbia) which surveys trends in all forms of political violence (except international terrorism).  Findings show that there has a been a decrease since the decline of the Cold War.


Intute: Statistics
This site contains links to social science statistical information available online.  The links are organized into the following broad categories:Note: Intute closed in July 2011.  The site has now been archived and no additional resources are being added to the catalogue, nor are any changes being made to existing content.  Intute is still a large and useful site and is well worth your taking the time to look through it. 
(If you see any links in Intute or elsewhere that should be promoted to having their own entry in this or another Research Guide please let me know.)

National Election Studies

From the University of Michigan's Center for Political Studies, contains documentation on voting, public opinion, and political participation studies. Includes a wealth of statistics.


NationMaster.com

NationMaster is the world's largest online database for comparing countries in the world, with all of the same features in StateMaster, as well as an educational area with free lesson plans and the unique GeoLabs, which give students all over the world an opportunity to navigate through the database and send results to their teacher via e-mail. 


Pew Research Center for the People and the Press

The Center is an independent opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues


PollingReport.com

An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.


State & County QuickFacts

From the U.S. Census Bureau,get quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography.


StateMaster.com Resource contains images Some full text available

StateMaster is a free resource which allows users to compare US States with over 3,000 different statistics. The site has graphing, plotting, mapping and correlation tools, as well as thousands of maps and flags and detailed state profiles.


World Factbook

The World Factbook is published annually by the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), and the web version is updated weekly.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.  The available information includes: political and physical maps of the major world regions, other maps, and the Flags of the World.  This is a handy reference work for basic and reliable statistical data on the countries of the world.  The appendices and the The World Factbook Users Guide can lead you to additional interesting data on the website.

Also potentially of interest to you: The CIA publishes and updates the online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments monthly. This directory is a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States.


Web Sites

dmoz Open Directory Project--Political Cartoon Portal
Links to websites showcasing or discussing political cartoons, both recent and from the past.
Civil Rights: An Overview
From Cornell University's Legal Information Institute, this site contains links to numerous U.S. Code sections dealing with civil rights.
civilrights.org
Current civil rights news, legislation, reports, and events are all available on this site. It also includes a directory of United States civil rights organizations. The Library includes extensive information on hate crimes and affirmative action as well as current and back issues of their quarterly publication, Civil Rights Monitor.
CongressLink

This site is a resource for teachers of American government and civics that "provides information about the U.S. Congress -- how it works, its members and leaders, and the public policies it produces." It includes "lesson plans and historical materials and up-to-the-minute information about Congress." Also find a glossary, and links to related sites. From the Dirksen Congressional Center.


Country Studies

The Country Studies Series presented by the Library of Congress, is a descriptve analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.  For a similar website, see the U.S. State Department's website called "Background Notes" at http://www.state.gov/ 


Everything International Some full text available

This portal to valuable, free Internet resources relevant to global business includes regularly updated content and a brief annotation for each Web resource. The site is divided into 10 main lists: Country and Regional Data, Education, Mega Sites and General Data, Travel, Product Classification Systems, International Organizations, News, Company and Industry Data, Market Entry (Export) Assistance, and Professional Associations. For more international business resources, see GlobalEDGE.


First Amendment Center
The First Amendment Center supports the First Amendment to the United States Constitution and builds understanding of its core freedoms by serving as a forum for the study and exploration of free-expression issues, including freedom of speech, of the press, of religion, the right to assemble and the right to petition the government.

The First Amendment Center provides a large number of publications on First Amendment issues, detailed reports about U.S. Supreme Court cases involving the First Amendment (1999-the present), and an extremely informative First Amendment FAQ.

Also available are the invaluable State of the First Amendment Surveys, a regular check on how Americans view their freedoms of speech, press, assembly, religion and petition.  Additionally the FAC provides a variety of other programs, including the Religious Freedom Education Project, and the 1 for All program which provides teaching materials to the nation’s schools and campuses, and reminds the public that the First Amendment serves everyone, regardless of faith, race, gender, or political leanings.


Foreign Government Resources on the Web
A collection of websites that provide links to various government bodies within the world nations.
Infomine
INFOMINE is a wonderful resource featuring well organized access to important university level research and educational tools on the Internet.  INFOMINE is a collection of over 100,000 annotated and indexed links (26,000 librarian created links and 75,000 plus robot/crawler created links).  Substantive databases, electronic journals, guides to the Internet for most disciplines, textbooks and conference proceedings are among the many types of resources included.  The general categories are:
Note: You can search in multiple categories at the same time.  This is good because knowledge is never ever in only one place.

The INFOMINE library contains links to and information about databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other information repositories.  You can search by Author, Subject, Title, Description, Full Text, and Keyword.  You can also choose the resource type that you wish to search, and if you want to search free sources, fee-based sources, or both ('both' is recommended because we might be able to help you find it for free elsewhere). 
Help in searching INFOMINE
is available through this Site Map page.

INFOMINE is librarian built. Librarians from the University of California, Wake Forest University, California State University, the University of Detroit - Mercy, and several other universities and colleges have contributed to building INFOMINE. They hope their service is useful and would appreciate any comments.

Internet Law Library
The Internet Law Library (formerly the U.S. House of Representatives Internet Law Library) was originally provided to the public courtesy of the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. This was part of the Counsel's mission to make the law available to the public. The site provided links to a large number of legal resources relating to American (federal and state) and foreign laws.
Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library (ipl2) digital collections include many different resources organized by Subject, Newspapers and Magazines, Special Collections created by the ipl2, a variety of Pathfinders on diverse topics, and special collections for Kids and Teens.

ipl2 offers thousands of annotated, reviewed links covering all academic disciplines.  The available subject categories are:(You can, of course, search all categories simultaneously.)

The Newspapers and Magazines portion of ipl2 contains links to newspapers across the US and around the world, as well as to magazines and journals classified by subject category.  (All of the annotated links can be searched simultaneously.)

ipl2 also has some permanent exhibits - collections of unique, multimedia presentations.  From lighthouse photographs to the classics of Western music, there is something here for everyone!

The ipl2 Pathfinders are a particularly excellent place to begin your research.  The Pathfinders - extensive annotated lists of excellent resources for a specific topic - can be searched by Subject and Alphabetically.  Looking through a couple of Pathfinders that are similar to your chosen/assigned topic can be of immense help to you.

Much of the information you would find through the ipl2 resides on other websites or in other places and would be cited accordingly.  However some information is hosted on the ipl2 site and citation guidelines are provided.  (Additional assistance with citations is available from the CWU Writing Center and the Excellent OWL at Purdue University.)

And finally, a public library would not be complete without story hour.  The children's stories that they have available will not take you an hour to read - but they do make a nice study break.

Note: if you find a resource through the Internet Public Library that we should highlight in one or more of these Research Guides please let me know.  Thank you.

Internet Public Library Arts & Humanities Resources

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.


Intute: Politics

"Intute: Politics provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Use this site to find papers, reports, articles and organizational web sites relating to all aspects of politics and international Relations."


Politics 1
Online guide to elections and politics including election pages for all 50 states. Founded in 1997, Politics1 is published as a non-partisan public service to promote fully informed decision-making by the American electorate.
Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that helps diverse citizens navigate complex, divisive issues and work together to find solutions. Through nonpartisan research and public engagement, we provide the insights, tools and support people need to build common ground and arrive at solutions that work for them.

   Public Agenda works on:    Public Agenda also provides:


Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
International in scope, this website is a portal to websites on political science resources. Topical headings include Constitutions, Elections, Government Websites, International Relations, News & Journals, Political Parties, Platforms, and Theory.
Washington Public Disclosure Commission
Provides timely and meaningful public access to information about the financing of political campaigns, lobbyist expenditures, and the financial affairs of public officials and candidates, and to ensure compliance with contribution limits and other campaign finance restrictions.
Washington Voter
From the League of Women Voters of Washington, includes a wealth of information on statewide races, local candidates, and ballot issues.
Zogby International
Zogby International has been tracking public opinion since 1984 in North America, Latin America, the Middle East, Asia, and Europe.

Items Of Interest

PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
U.S.AID Regions and Countries

From the U.S. Agency for International Development, this site provides information on America's foreign economic and humanitarian assistance programs. Provides research information on Africa, Asia & the Near East, Europe and Eurasia, and Latin America & the Caribbean.


Project Vote Smart

Comprehensive source for information on candidates and issues.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Stephen Hussman

Stephen Hussman
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1717