Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Psychology

« Back To Guides Selection


About This Guide
This research guide is and will always be a work in progress. I hope it will also be a collaborative effort. So, please contact the subject specialist with any comments about resources that should or should not be included, typos, broken links, or other suggestions for improvement. Thanks!

The chat widget in the righthand column will connect you with a reference librarian on duty at the time. If you prefer the subject specialist, please use the contact information in that box. Also, the chat provider is a third party service so their terms and policies are not controlled by CWU.
New Library Items in Phil, Psy, and Rels

Loading ...

All Items by Source

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
Print Location: BF109.A1 B56 1997
The scope of the over 500 entries in this book include scientists whose work has benefited the study of psychology as well as people whose ideas have spawned developments in the field. Individuals from mid 1800s to the late 20th Century are included. Each entry contains basic identification of the individual, as well as a list of their major works and related "further reading" materials. There are four indices included - names, interests, key terms and institutions - making this a highly searchable reference tool.
Biography.com

This site, operated by the Biography Channel, contains tens of thousands of biographies, some quite detailed.  Biographical video and short biographical video clips are also available.  There is also a page with examples of how to properly cite this site.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Annual Review of Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Annual Reviews cover many subject areas and are intended to be "comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists." Like a good subject encyclopedia, they provide a brief introduction or overview of a topic by a scholar in the field followed by a bounty of references to significant literature. Some articles add internet resources as well. Brooks Library provides access to the Annual Review of Psychology in print and online versions. Some topic areas addressed include "biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more." In the front the print volume offers a list of related articles from other Annual Review of... series. Closely related series include the Annual Review of Neuroscience and the Annual Review of Clinical Psychology. 

To see all available print volumes of the Annual Review of Psychology, go to the catalog record. Scroll down and click on the "View additional copies..." button.


Annual Review of Psychology
Print Location: BF30 A56
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This online version of the 4th edition of the classic reference work offers browsing by title or topic, as well as searching. To search just in this work, not in all of Wiley Online Library, click on "search in this book" just under the search box on the upper right of the start page. For a more precise, targeted search, scroll down the search page arrived at using that link. You will find there options to limit what field or fields you wish to search (e.g. author, tables, etc.), date range, and the "topic," which includes biography, language and linguistic processes, social/environmental, and many more categories.
Dictionary of Psychology (Oxford Reference), 3rd Ed. Restricted Resource Some full text available
One of many dictionaries, encyclopedias and guides within the Oxford Reference Online--a suite of resources available through the CWU subscription databases.  A Dictionary of Psychology includes information on cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods in psychology and related disciplines. Over 11,000 entries. Published in print 2008.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Print Location: Ref Q141 N45 2008
Highly recommended by Choice reviews, this set offers "more than 500 new articles on scientists who have died since 1980, 75 articles on scientists missed in the previous 18 volumes, and 250 upgrading commentaries on ... previously recognized scientists" all "accompanied by photographs and bibliographies." Those bibliographies give you a solid set of resources for further research, while the articles, being signed work of scholars in the field under editorial control, may be acceptable for citation. Check with your instructor! The emphasis is on natural and formal sciences, but information relating to psychology, for example, can be found using the index, volume 8.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Print Location: CB9 .N49 2005
A multi-volume continuation of the 1973 Dictionary of the History of Ideas published by Scribner and Sons, REF CB5 .D52. All of the material in this version is new, so be sure to look at both dictionaries. The New Dictionary is more global in scope than the first dictionary, which is a more traditional study on particular, historically significant texts. More than a standard dictionary, the New Dictionary also includes a section on historiography, a "Reader's Guide" bibliography for further reading.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Focused on philosophy, this scholarly online encyclopedia is valuable for research regarding any topic or person with overlap with philosophy, including anthropology, psychology, other sciences and social sciences, as well as mathematics. Some articles focus on topics while others are biographical. "[T]he SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public."  So, right there you've got currency and authority. Nice! Plus, sources are cited in abundance giving you ample literature to find, read, and cite in your own research. Yes, there is an iPhone reader available! Read or print from the web site, or, with a very affordable membership, support this quality work and get access to PDFs in two formats.


APA Dictionary of Psychology
Print Location: Ref BF31 .A56 2007 Some full text available

Dictionary with 25,000 entries from the American Psychological Association.  It contains biographical entries, a guide to the APA citation format, information on various psychological tests, assessments and therapy approaches.


Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a collections of ebooks, available through the library's databases page under "Gale Virtual Reference Library." You can also search for the individual ebooks by title in Cattrax, our online catalog. The G.V.R. Library includes, among many others, the Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology (2 vols., 2008) and the Encyclopedia of Social Psychology (2 vols., 2007). (Search results in the Gale Virtual Reference Library will include all encyclopedias unless you click on a specific title and use the Quick Search box within the specific title page.)
Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
With over two million entries, Oxford Reference Online is a superb cross-searchable resource to use when you are at the "looking for a clue" or "needing verification" stages of your research. Oxford Reference provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books--and unlike Wikipedia you can cite Oxford Reference in a paper!

Use Quick Reference materials to discover a variety of Subjects, Timelines, Quotations, English Dictionaries, and Bilingual Dictionaries.

Oxford's Reference Library is divided into Subject Categories, drawn from the 308 volumes of the Oxford Reference Library. Those categories are:
ArchaeologyMedia studies
Art & ArchitectureMedicine and health
Bilingual dictionariesMusic
Classical studiesNames studies
EncyclopediasPerforming arts
English Dictionaries and ThesauriPhilosophy
HistoryQuotations
Language referenceReligion
LawScience and technology
LinguisticsSocial Sciences
LiteratureSociety and culture

Assistance and advice with using the Quick Reference and the Reference Library are available at this link, and by contacting your friendly neighborhood Brooks Library Librarians.

Finding Books

DART-Europe E-theses Portal Some full text available
DART is a "searchable database of electronic research theses held in European repositories. The theses listed are open access - publicly available, in full, without charge." They claim access to well over 400,000 theses. Not all are in English, and the language sort is not as accurate as one might like. The browse is only by country, university, collection, and year, not subject. They have a very capable search; see their help and search tips to use it to best effect.
How to find theses in the Brooks Library

Scroll down to the notes section for instructions including how to narrow your search from the complete set of over 4,300 Central Washington University (or State College) theses. This record can also be located by going to the library home page and using the term "theses" (no quotes) in the search box in about the middle of the page. The library catalog is a web resource; the theses are in print in the library.


National Academies Press Some full text available
Register with the National Academy of Sciences for free published and prepublication books, reports, and other documents. Choose PDF downloads of chapters or whole books. A wide array of titles are available including Protecting National Park Soundscapes (2013, 47 pages), On Being a Scientist: A Guide to Responsible Conduct in Research: Third Edition (2009, 82 pages), and The Psychological Well-Being of Nonhuman Primates (1998, 184 pages). Subjects include GIS, environmental impacts, psychology, aeronautics, earth sciences, social sciences (including Law & Justice), and many more. Browse by topic or search.
Summit Online Catalog
Summit is the unified library catalog of 37 universities, colleges, and community colleges in the Pacific Northwest. Through Summit you have access to over 9.2 million distinct books, CDs, DVDs, and more (that the Summit unified collection comprises over 28.7 million items virtually assures you of access to a copy of what you want or need). The unified catalog enables you to find and request items owned by any of Summit's member libraries. In general, requested items will arrive after three to five days, so it is important to plan ahead when utilizing Summit.

The Summit Catalog allows you to find not only books, CDs, and DVDs but also journal articles. In order to find an article through Summit, type a keyword, a subject, or an article title in the search box near the top of the Summit page (Advanced Search is also available). Select the "Full text articles" box (next to the Search Box or on the left side of the page). The results will be automatically sorted by "Library & Relevance," but you can also sort by author, title, or date.  Click the title link of the article or the “View Now” or “View Full Text” link to see more of the article and then download a pdf of it. (You can also click “Find It @ Your Library,” select Central Washington University, and find out what access we have to that article here.)

If the article, book, DVD, CD, etc. that you wish or need to acquire appears to be unavailable through Summit please consult one of our talented Help Desk Librarians. It is quite possible that we have access to the article through one of our other databases, or that the book, article, etc., can be gotten through Interlibrary Loan.

Brooks Library Online Catalog - CATTRAX
Using Cattrax to find an item in the Brooks Library: 1. Enter a search term--a word, a phrase, whatever--in the search box. 2. Use the drop-down menu to select keyword/word search, title search, subject search, author search, or one of the other options. Click "Search." 3. Results that are "relevant" to your search term will be retrieved. Examine the results. Repeat steps 1 through 3 as needed. (Note: Information is often described in several different ways. You may need to try a variety of terms before you find ones that produce the best results. And spelling counts.) 4. Find your book/journal/other item. All books are shelved on the 3rd and 4th floors of the main campus library according to Library of Congress subject classification. More Information about Cattrax: You can sort your Cattrax search results by relevance, date, or title by clicking on those words below the search box. Click on a title to see detailed bibliographic information about that item. The bibliographic record or "bib record" will contain additional information about the book/item: the author, location, call number, often a summary, status, subject terms, etc. The bib record will also have a link to a location map, two ways to send the information to your mobile device, and a citation tool. The "Modify Search" link at the top of any Cattrax page is almost the same as the "Advanced Search" option. The "Modify Search" option is very useful for narrowing down your list of results. The "Limit/Sort Search" option is a way to narrow your subject, author, or title search results.
Classics in the History of Psychology

This website has a searchable database, but also has sources indexed by author or by topic, making it a useful bibliography of about 25 books and 200 articles. There are also links to other websites for about 200 more sources.


Ebsco eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Brooks Library has permanent access to 3037 digital books from the EBSCO eBook Collection. EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books including some in psychology and other related areas. You can copy and paste from these ebooks, you can access them from off-campus, and you can save portions of them as a pdf.
WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is an essential service run by the imaginatively named Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).  OCLC is a nonprofit, membership, computer library service and research organization dedicated to the public purposes of furthering access to the world’s information and reducing information costs.

WorldCat aspires to be a library catalog for the entire world; it contains all the records cataloged by the more than 72,000 OCLC member libraries around the world.  WorldCat offers millions of bibliographic records and includes records in 400 languages.

The more than 179 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries include books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, videotapes, DVDs, newspapers, journals and magazines, sound recordings, articles, chapters, and papers.  The dates covered in WorldCat range from before 1000 BCE to literally earlier today.

The Basic Search is useful when you know precisely what you are looking for.  The Advanced Search is the default search and works well for most everyone.  There is also an Expert Search available in which you can write your own Boolean Search Expressions.

Assistance is available from WorldCat at this link, and from Brooks Librarians at this link.


Finding News Articles

WorldNews Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded with the goal of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet.  Currently World News has over 130 million pages indexed covering news about, among many other topics, Film, Sport, Entertainment, Science, Business, Health and every Region on Earth.

World News Network presents news from more than 1000 reputable sources including mainstream providers (BBC, CNN, Reuters, Washington Post, Al Jazeera, etcetera) and more regional and local sources (The Independent, The Guardian, The New York Times, The Times of India, etcetera). This aggregation from other sites provides a wide variety of perspectives and different interpretations of breaking news events.

Information is available in two ways through the WN site.  News links that open in a new tab go directly to the headlined article on its original site.  Links that open in the same tab provide you with a link to the article on its original site, there are also links to the left and elsewhere on the page to information that helps you put the news article in context, as well as links to other version of the story or to related stories.


Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available

DOAJ indexes only fully open access scholarly journals which are peer-reviewed or exercise editorial quality control. All publications are browseable and searchable through DOAJ by title, while about half of the publications are searchable at the article level. Those not searchable at the article level through DOAJ may still have such search capability at their sites. Journal records have subjects which are hyperlinked to aid in finding additional relevant publications. The subject tree provides an additional aid in locating publications. Genuinely international in scope, it unfortunately seems to lack the ability to limit your search by language. Covers a broad scope of topics including technology & sciences, languages & literature, arts, history, business, health sciences, and more.


PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
Peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal published after 1985.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Journal articles, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields, from 1887-present.

Get the most out of your PsychINFO search with APA's Quick Reference Guide! Alternatively, or in addition, attend one of their webinars. (Be sure to look for the ones that are designed for PsychINFO on Ebsco.) For more help, see this video tutorial on the use of PsychINFO or see Ebsco's tutorial on using their advanced search, which is linked from the description of PsychINFO on CWU's databases page.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals, and with indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.  Academic Search Complete is an EBSCO database, and like most EBSCO databases it includes a "Choose Databases" link near the top of the page that enables you to search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time (an EBSCO multi-disciplinary database that is good to search at the same time as ASC is "MasterFILE Premier").

If the article whose title and abstract you found is not available in the Academic Search Complete database try clicking on "Search for Full Text".  If that option does not provide you with the full-text of the article please consult a librarian or submit an Interlibrary Loan Request.  Many articles are readily available in another database or through Interlibrary Loan and we are here to help you get the information you need!


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource
The Online Computer Library Center, Inc. (OCLC) provides this index of more than 27,000,000 of the articles published since 1990.  The articles are from over 16,000 journals, covering nearly all fields of knowledge.  The items indexed include every article, news story, letter, or other item listed on the table of contents page of the journal.  This database also provides, for most items, a list of libraries that have the journal title – information that makes finding the article in the Brooks Library Collection, or through Interlibrary Loan, much easier.

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, on the 1st Floor of the Brooks Library, or at (509) 963-1021, for any assistance you might wish in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


Classics in the History of Psychology

This website has a searchable database, but also has sources indexed by author or by topic, making it a useful bibliography of about 25 books and 200 articles. There are also links to other websites for about 200 more sources.


Essay & General Literature Index Restricted Resource
This is a bibliographic database that cites essays, articles contained in collections of essays, and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.  The database now includes nearly 86,000 essays drawn from almost 700 collections.  Essays from more than 300 volumes and more than 20 annuals and serial publications are added annually.  Full bibliographic information on the collective titles indexed is included.

The focus is on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.  Citations include articles published as early as 1985.  Each citation links to a list of other works in the collection, others by the author, and others on the subject, as well as to an entry for the source collection.  Works of literary criticism are searchable by names of fictional characters and by the titles of literary works.

The database is searchable by personal and corporate author, title, subject, and keyword, and also by Dewey and LC classification numbers, publisher, publication year, ISBN and ISSN, series, and country of publication.

For aid in locating the full text of articles found within this index, please stop by the 1st Floor Reference Help Desk or call the desk at 509.963.1021.

MEDLINE Restricted Resource
Indexing and abstracts for journal literature in medicine and biology from 1965 - present.
PAIS International: Public Affairs Information Service Restricted Resource Some full text available
The PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International database covers a wide range of current and past public policy issues, emphasizing factual and statistical information.  Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations.

The PAIS International database is continually updated with information about over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more from over 120 countries throughout the world.  (Newspapers and newsletters are not usually indexed.)  A useful 'Advanced Search' is available, as well as a way to search for Figures & Tables.

PAIS is an index, it does not contain the full text of articles – but you do not care about that until you find a citation for an article you would like to read.  When you find citations for possibly useful articles you can search for the full text by doing a Journal Title Search.  You can also search for a full text copy through Google ScholarAs always more assistance in acquiring the full text of an article is available at the Reference Desk.

Note: The PAIS database is provided to us by Proquest. In the upper left corner of the PAIS search page there is a link that will say “Searching:1 database”.  If you click that link you will see a list of the 9 databases that you can select and search through this interface.  In addition to PAIS you can also search:
(Three of these databases are fulltext. The Proquest Sitemap page can provide you with information about some useful options.)


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

Project MUSE contains scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently MUSE includes: 274,848 articles and 479,457 chapters by 199 publishers, and probably has some useful information about your topic.

The Brooks Library has a partial subscription to Project MUSE, thus some items are available to you in Project MUSE and some items are only available elsewhere. You can do a Journal Title Search, a Book Title Search, a Summit Search, a Google Scholar Search, or contact the Reference Desk to access a fulltext copy of any citations that might be unavailable in Project MUSE.

Project MUSE can be searched by Keyword (options for narrowing your search will be to the left of your results), browsed by Research Area, by All Title, by Publisher, by Book Title, and by Journal Title. An option for displaying "Only content I have full access to" is usually available, but since we often have access to that content through another database, Summit, or Interlibrary Loan, you should probably search Project MUSE both ways.
 


Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of journal articles (most full text is back to 1997 to 2009) in over 250 journals in business, science, technology, and law, education, psychology and medicine.


Government Information

National Institute of Mental Health

General information and statistics on a number of disorders, including links to related research and news articles.  Arranged by group:  children, adolescents, older adults, men and women.


USA.gov - Official Government Web Portal

USA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.USA.gov is the U.S. government web portal to all federal, state, tribal, and local government web resources and services. USA.gov is intended to help people navigate government information, procedures, and policies.

Through USA.gov you can apply for benefits online (including grants), contact a government agency or department, or use the most comprehensive search of government websites.  You can also search for Government Publications, for information specifically relevant to you, and for contact information for government employees and officials.
 


Handbooks & Guides

APAStyle.org Some full text available
This site supplements the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition. It includes information on how to remove sex, race and disability bias from your writing, and a tutorial on the basics of APA style, as well as other supplemental materials and FAQs.
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV, 4th ed.
Print Location: REF RC455.2.C4 D54 1994
Categorizes and classifies mental disorders and describes their symptoms and manifestations. (Description from the Psychology Committee of ACRL, 2013, http://wikis.ala.org/acrl/index.php/Reference_Sources_and_E-Texts.)

Finding Information about Psychological Tests Some full text available
This handy guide is produced by the American Psychological Association and will help you make the most effective use of the Mental Measurements Yearbooks,Tests in Print, and Buros Test Reviews Online. With their guidance, move beyond these stalwart resources to Test Critiques and more. Includes some subscription resources to which we do not have access.
Guide to Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) on the Web
The Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) "provides this Web Guide to assist the public with simple and direct connections to Web sites that contain information about interventions to prevent and/or treat mental and substance use disorders. The Web Guide provides a list of Web sites that contain information about specific evidence-based practices (EBPs) or provide comprehensive reviews of research findings." Browse by subject area or age group. No search option. Includes links to the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, "a searchable online registry of more than 290 interventions supporting mental health promotion, substance abuse prevention, and mental health and substance abuse treatment" for use by communities, the Task Force on College Drinking, and numerous other programs. 
Handbook of psychology / Irving B. Weiner, editor-in-chief
Print Location: BF121 .H1955 2003
This 12 volume set, arranged in volumes by broad subject categories, features articles by experts.
International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems Some full text available
10th edition. Chapter 5 is about mental and behavioral disorders.The World Health Organization produces it and calls it "the standard diagnostic tool for epidemiology, health management and clinical purposes."
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Print Location: BF76.7 .P83 2010b [6th edition]
Also known as the APA Style Manual, this is the authoritative source for creating correct citations in APA style as well as complete guidance for the structure of your work, writing clearly, use of tables and figures, and other information for the writing and publication process. Non-circulating copies are available in the reference area of Brooks Library, Des Moines, and Lynnwood, in addition to a circulating copy at Brooks Library.

Organizations & Directories

Library of Congress "Virtual Alcove" for Psychology

The Library of Congress' Main Reading Room has created this "virtual alcove" a short but useful "collection of websites selected and annotated by Humanities and Social Sciences Division subject specialists."  All are partly or entirely freely available.


American Academy of Forensic Psychology

The American Academy of Forensic Psychology is approved by the American Psychological Association to offer continuing education for psychologists. AAFP maintains responsibility for its programs.


American Psychological Association
Based in Washington, DC, the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
Social Psychology Network

A metasite of over 5,000 psychology related websites. Provides links to journal titles (not searchable databases), Social Psychology PhD programs, research groups, organizations, textbooks and courses. It also provides a link to teaching resources.


Reviews

Tests in Print VI: An Index to Tests, Test Reviews, and the Literature on Specific Tests
Print Location: Ref Z5814 .E9 T47 2002

According to the publisher these volumes are "designed to complement theMental Measurements Yearbooks, Tests in Print. They provide "a comprehensive bibliography of all tests in print" and are most useful in conjunction with the Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Choice, a source of reviews, says Tests in Print "contains only descriptions (without evaluation) of commercially available tests, excluding proprietary and research instruments. The paper version of TIP provides a cumulative index to the MMY."

 We have the first volume (call # Z5814 E9 B8, 1961) through the sixth (call # Z5814.E9 T47 2002).


Book Index with Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available

Book Index with Reviews™ (BIR) is a comprehensive database that provides information on over 5 million book titles.  BIR also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from some of the most trusted reviewers: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, and the New York Times Book Review.

Fiction and non-fiction book titles are included in the database, in all genres, to help you find books to read for fun, for information, or for research.  BIR’s subject headings/genres and flexible search engine can help you find out about popular titles that are currently available, along with those that will soon be published or released.
 


Test Reviews Online Some full text available

Access test information, with some reviews of the tests available in print in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series. Search by alphabetic or category listings, or by keyword. You will find information on nearly 4,000 commercially available tests.

For the Mental Measurements Yearbook series, see Reference 1st Floor, Call Number Z5814 P8 B932. We have these for the years 1940-47; 1953; 1959; 1965; 1972; 1978; 1985; 1989; 1992; 1995; 1998; 2001; 2003; 2005; 2007; 2010. (Check catalog for most current year).

See also: Buros Desk Reference: Psychological Assessment in the Schools (Ref BF722 B8 1994).


Web Sites

Citation Fox
Citation Fox provides templates and examples. It is not a citation generator. It covers only APA (where this link will land you) and MLA (linked from the bottom of the page) and claims to demonstrate format for over 500 resource types.
Digital Commons Network Some full text available Resource contains images
The Digital Commons Network is a portal to digital content in a wide range of institutional repositories promising "open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work." Topic areas can be browsed and include Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Business, Education, Engineering, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, Physical Sciences and Mathematics, and Social and Behavioral Sciences. Facets in the left menu of the results page facilitate focusing your search. While rich, varied, and mostly scholarly to a degree, a substantial number of the documents are not peer-reviewed or subject to editorial review. For example, "The Public Land and Resources Law Review is published by a board of student editors at The University of Montana School of Law." Editorial policy, and search and browse capabilities are determined at the level of the individual repository or section of the repository (e.g. journal).
Knight Cite
Choose your citation style (MLA, Chicago, or APA) and your resource type in the left menu, fill in the blanks and - voilà - a recommended complete citation! As with all citation generators, check it manually to make sure it is correct.
Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
Formatting and Style Guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago are included in the resources at OWL. Shorter and generally more easily understood than the full citation manuals, though less complete. They cover most, but not all, of the citation situations that you will encounter. Also includes guidance on plagiarism, writing résumés and business letters, punctuation and grammar, and other writing topics.
TED Talks Resource contains video
TED started in 1984 focused on technology, entertainment, and design, but has branched out to encompass, as they say, "Ideas Worth Spreading." Their first 6 talks were posted online in 2006 and they continue to post these highly popular, inspired talks by some of the great thinkers of our time as video presentations. Try searching "hydraulic fracturing," "natural resources," "urban planning," "historic preservation," or "civil liberties," for a few examples. Don't bother with the quote marks, though. A very basic search apparently does not recognize phrase searching. It also does not understand Boolean search terms, resulting in a lack of precision exacerbated by the "fuzzy" search which retrieves any term sharing a common stem (e.g. dog, doggerel, and donut). No advanced search that I found, and no transcripts. Scroll down to find links in the left margin to full lists of the talks.


University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide Some full text available
From the "Citation Guides" link you will find links to handy little two page summaries (for MLA, CSE, Chicago, and APA) of the most commonly encountered citation situations. Print them out double-sided and tuck them in your notebook or wherever is convenient so you can have them at the ready for any citation emergency... or non-emergency. Includes quick handouts for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE styles and links to more detailed formatting guidelines.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. The Mental Health and Behavior subset at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/mentalhealthandbehavior.html features over 50 articles with links to journal articles, clinical trials, entries from the A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia, and a wide range of other materials. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Athabasca University Psychology Resources

Created by the Centre for Psychology of the Athabasca University in Athabasca, Alberta, Canada, this is a megasite for academic content in the field of psychology.  See the left-hand sidebar for navigation to websites from a list of possible sub-fields.  For example, the "History of Psychology" pages contains links to websites carrying biographical information on major theoreticians.


Dr. John Grohol's PsychCentral
This list of sources is indexed by subject and is very clear and easy to use. Dr. Grohol reviews each resource before it is allowed on this website. Within each subject, the topic is further broken down by resource type.
Infomine
INFOMINE covers a wide range of topic areas and features well organized access to university level research and educational tools on the Internet through annotated and indexed links to and information about databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other information repositories.
Internet Public Library
The Internet Public Library (ipl2) digital collections include many different resources organized by Subject, Newspapers and Magazines, Special Collections created by the ipl2, and a variety of Pathfinders on diverse topics. ipl2 offers thousands of annotated, reviewed links covering all academic disciplines including Health & Medical Sciences, Social Sciences, and others. The Newspapers and Magazines section of ipl2 includes links to magazines and journals classified by subject category. The ipl2 Pathfinders are extensive annotated lists of resources for a specific topic and can be an excellent place to begin your research.
Intute: Psychology Gateway

Intute: Psychology provides access to psychology resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised using the APA PsycINFO coding scheme. The main focus of coverage is on areas of psychology relevant to the social sciences (resources within life science can be found within the Health and Life Sciences section). See the Internet Psychologist tutorial for a tour of the subject.

While this remains a source of many useful resources, please be aware that, according to the site, "Intute closed in July 2011...we are not adding any further resources...or making any changes ..."


Neuroethics

This up-to-date informational gateway to the emerging ethical issues from the different branches of neuroscience (e.g., neurology, psychiatry, cognitive science, and psychopharmacology) is easy to navigate; information is clearly displayed and very creditable. Most of the links are to academic literature; they direct users to downloadable articles or abstracts that can be accessed through full-text database services.

 


OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resources from around the world including digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies. It is searchable by title, author or creator, subject, language, and keyword, and more. Searching in the OAIster Catalog is by Boolean Search (And, Or, Not. See Colorado State University's explanation at http://lib.colostate.edu/howto/others/boolean.html). The available Limiters are Year, Document Type, and Language. You can create an account that will enable you to save searches. NOTE: Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted. The Librarians in the ARC or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing information that is ‘access restricted’ and with any questions that you might have.
Strategian: The Strategic Guide to Quality Information in Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and Psychology

Searchable database with lots of links, including a database that provides citations to important articles, books, documents published before 1969.


Items Of Interest

Designing Conference Posters
Colin Purrington, formerly of Swarthmore College, offers these helpful tips, DOs and DON'Ts, links, literature, and templates. For a concise resource, it's possibly as close as you'll get to a complete toolkit for designing your conference posters. In case you need more help, he provides a list of "Useful Literature." Probably the most entertaining of these is the tongue-in-cheek "Mortal sins in poster presentations or, How to give the poster no one remembers."
Inside the Psychologist's Studio Videos Resource contains video
The Association for Psychological Science has made freely available nine (so far) video interviews and conversations with preeminent psychologists including a Nobel Laureate. Wide-ranging discussions explore the lives and work of these leaders in the field, their mentors and formative experiences, as well as the controversies, theories, and personalities in the field and how the field relates to other fields of study. Fascinating insights into the individuals, their work, and psychology. Generally around 30 minutes to an hour in length. Thanks to the Scout Report for bringing this resource to our attention.
PIVOT (Formerly COS Funding Opportunities) Restricted Resource
COS Funding Opportunities has been replaced by COS PIVOT.
This database provides access to funding opportunities as well as scholar profiles, with the ability to add your own scholar profile and to view the profiles of various research organizations.  PIVOT allows you to also prioritize and save your searches to receive weekly alerts.

You must register your own account and log in thereafter in order to use PIVOT. 
Registration and log in is in the upper righthand corner of screen.  Previous CWU users of COS Funding Opportunities may log in with their existing username and password, as the accounts have been transferred over into PIVOT. For more information, please see: Pivot Video Tutorials.

Note: For some opportunities, sponsors accept only a limited number of proposals or applications from an institution, or require an institution to rank or prioritize applications before submission.
If an opportunity is marked "Internal Coordination Required," please contact the Office of Graduate Studies and Research before applying.
Citing Your Sources
Citing any and all ideas or concepts, as well as direct quotes ~~
  • shows respect for the creator.
  • helps your readers find your source to confirm your interpretation, understand the context, and learn additional information and ideas.
  • is required under CWU's academic code (Academic Dishonesty, Student Rights and Responsibilities Policy II.B., 2012-2013 Catalog http://catalog.acalog.cwu.edu/index.php?catoid=35).

To learn or review acceptable use of the work of others, see Plagiarism: What it is...and is not .

For help formatting your citations, see CWU Brooks Library's Citation & Style Manuals for the Social Sciences or:
Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide

For tools for managing your references, see the links from University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide . Zotero and Mendeley are the free options currently available. The UW Guide has links to guides and handouts for Zotero and Mendeley.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Euster

Lisa Euster
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1642

PsychInfo Webinars

Loading ...

Call Numbers/Subjects

Also, it may help you to know that psychology may be addressed in subdivisions of another subject, as in "Communication—Psychological aspects," "Shamanism—Psychology," or "Bonobo—Psychology." These would not be found in a subject search for psychology, but would - with a lot of other items - be found in a word search for psychology. The Anthropology and Sociology Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries offers yet more about subject headings for psychology.
Catalog Search
Ask A Librarian Chat