Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Mormonism

« Back To Guides Selection


Reference Sources
Mormonism: a Historical Encyclopedia (BX8605.5 .M67 2010) : This encyclopedia offers broad historical coverage of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, covering its historic development, important individuals, and central ideas and issues.

Encyclopedia of Mormonism (BX8605.5 .E62 1992): This Encyclopedia details the dynamic growth of Mormon community, its history, beliefs, and sacred books. The Encyclopedia can also be found electronically in BYU's digital collections here.  The authors also maintain a wiki with updated entries here.

Encyclopedia of Religion in America
(BL2520 .E52 2010) : This Encyclopedia examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America.

Related Journals
International Journal of Mormon Studies (2008-Present available electronically): Sponsored by the British Mormon Historical Sociey and European Mormon Studies Association.

Brigham Young University Studies (1959-Present available in Library, 2nd floor Periodicals): Sponsored by BYU.  Journal is in Storage, ask at Periodicals desk (2nd floor) for required volume.

Utah Historical Quarterly (1928-Present available electronically): Published by the Utah State Historical Society.

Journal of the Book of Mormon and Other Restoration Scripture
(1992-Present available electronically): Peer reviewed journal produced by the Neal A. Maxwell Institute for Religious Scholarship at BYU. Note: All submissions to this journal "must be consistent with a faithful Latter-day Saint perspective" to be considered for publication.

Journal of Mormon History (1974-Present available electronically): Annual published by the Mormon History Association.

Available through InterLibrary Loan:

Dialogue: A Journal of Mormon Thought (1978-Present): A private quarterly which has served as a voice for liberal Mormons.


Digital Collections
American Memory (Library of Congress): Provides open access to "written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."  A search of "Mormon" brings up over 500 results.

BYU Digital Collections:  21 collections relating to the LDS Religion & Church History, including: 19th Century Mormon Article Newspaper Index, 19th Century Publications about the Book of Mormon, Church Chronology, Mormon Missionary Diaries, Young Woman's Journal, Mormons and Their Neighbors, and Millennial Star.

The Joseph Smith Papers: The Joseph Smith Papers project is a compilation of papers created by Joseph Smith or by staff under his supervision as well as incoming correspondence.  The Project is run by The Church Historian's Press, an imprint of the Church History Department of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

The Mormon Women Project: A digital library of interviews with Mormon women.  Group has no official affiliation with the Church of Jesus Chirst of Latter-day Saints.

The Missouri Mormon War (Missouri State Archives): Includes the report against the Mormons, correspondence, military orders, and evidence given in the trial of Joseph Smith, Jr.
Statistical Information
Association of Religion Data Archives: ARDA provides statistical information and data on Religion, nationally and internationally.  Information includes: US Congregational Membership (reports and maps), Denomination profiles, and survey results.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Courtney Paddick

Courtney Paddick
Academic & Research Commons Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-2861

Keywords
Subjects:
Mormonism
Polygamy
Latter Day Saints
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
Book of Mormon
Second Great Awakening
Mormon Church
Pearl of Great Price
Articles of Faith

People:
Joseph Smith, Jr.
Lucy Mack Smith
Emma Hale Smith
Hyrum Smith
Joseph Smith III
Brigham Young
Moroni

Places:
Palmyra, NY
Independence, MO
Nauvoo, IL
Utah Territory
Salt Lake City, UT
"New Jerusalem"
Zion
Deseret

Events:
(Missouri) Mormon War (1838)
Mountain Meadows Massacre (1857)
Utah War
1890 Manifesto
Utah Statehood (1896)




Ask A Librarian Chat