Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Resource Management

« Back To Guides Selection


About This Guide
This research guide is and will always be a work in progress. I hope it will also be a collaborative effort. So, please contact the subject specialist with any comments about resources that should or should not be included, typos, broken links, or other suggestions for improvement. Thanks!

The chat widget on the right will connect you with a reference librarian on duty at the time. If you prefer the subject specialist, please use the contact information in that box. Also, the chat service is a third party service so their terms and policies are not controlled by CWU.
New Library Materials for Geog, Anth, and Rec

Loading ...

New in Government Publications!

Loading ...

Finding Theses & Dissertations

Theses and dissertations can be difficult to locate. However, they may reflect some of the most current topics and research and are rich in references which may be mined for those relevant to your own research.

These sources are described in more detail in the "All Items by Source" list:
DART-Europe E-theses Portal (in "Finding Books")
Digital Commons Network (in "Web Sites")
Dissertations & Theses [ProQuest] (in "Finding Books")
How to find theses in the Brooks Library (in "Finding Books")
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) (in "Finding Books")
(in "Finding Scholarly Articles")

Many more free and fee-based sources of theses and dissertations are listed in Top 100 Thesis & Dissertation References on the Web.

Finding Legal & Regulatory Information
Finding Grey Literature

Grey (or gray) Literature (GL) is -

  • "according to AFNOR (Association française de normalisation), any typed or printed document, meant to reach a limited audience, outside of the commercial publishing channels and outside of the conventional bibliographic control utilities... Examples of Grey Literature include: study or research reports, scientific and technical reports, government documents, theses, patent documents etc." (LeBlanc, Michelle. 2013. Grey Literature.)
  • a challenging type of information for which to search since it is often hidden from conventional search engines and is often excluded from scholarly databases.
  • most often not peer-reviewed.


Some good aids in searching for grey literature include:

The Digital Commons Network is a portal to participating digital repositories using the bepress Digital Commons platform. All items actually in the network are full text and all are open access. There may be reference to materials that are not in the network, but at almost 700,000 items, this is a substantial resource. For more details see Web Sites in this guide or the review from the Digital Shift.

The Geologic Guidebooks of North America database indexes an important form of grey literature for the geosciences. According to the Geoscience Information Society "They are often the most current or only synopsis of an area’s geology, and as such, are essential to researchers and students. Guidebooks may be difficult to locate because casual references to guidebooks may simply describe the area investigated and the name of the society or meeting associated with the field trip and/or guidebook." A description of the database and its contents, plus links to other related databases is provided on an introductory page.

Open Grey provides "open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents. Examples of grey (gray) literature include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, some official publications, and other types of grey literature." Subject areas include "Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities."

Sixty (60+) Open Search Tools
 is a substantial list of sources of grey literature and more from HLWIKI International. The top ten (by number of items) repositories are helpfully marked with 4 stars, but your particular research may make other repositories more suitable. Although HLWIKI is directed to health science librarians, this list covers a wide range of general and specialized repositories. Most are freely available, but not all. Extensive information about grey literature is provided as well.

Washington State University Research Exchange, described under "Items of Interest," holds a relatively small quantity of documents, but much of it is focused in our area.

All Items by Source

Atlases & Maps

Atlas of Historical County Boundaries Some full text available
Interactive maps, shapefiles, chronologies, and metadata for U.S. counties. Some of these go back as far as 1629. Download zipped GIS, KMZ, or PDF files.

Land Status & Cadastral Records Viewer for Oregon & Washington Some full text available Resource contains images
These early land records are highly valuable for research in history, anthropology, geography, environmental studies, and more. The Bureau of Land Management provides both the surveys and the accompanying field notes. A wealth of information on ownership, Native American habitations, landforms, and plant life all come to you through a really clunky interface. Nonetheless, it is well worth the trouble. Dates as early as the 1860s.
Planning Maps of Midwestern Cities in the 1920s and 1930s Resource contains images
This collection provides access to maps most of which resulted from some of America's earliest zoning and land use planning efforts. "The kind of land use regulation shown in these maps came late to the United States, but it spread quickly in the years after New York's 1916 adoption of what was apparently the first American city-wide zoning code. Many, perhaps most, American cities--even small ones--promulgated similar laws over the next decade and a half." There is also a link to Government Maps of Chicago in the 1920s, 1930s, and 1940s. This is a modest collection so the absence of search is not a problem. The "full screen view" is not exactly full screen, really, but the resolution is so much better than the first view you see that it is the option to choose for most uses.
Regulations.gov Some full text available
"Allows for browsing and searching of proposed and final federal regulations, submitted comments regarding proposed regulations, supporting agency documentation, and reports related to regulations" (Library of Congress, 2013,http://www.loc.gov/law/find/databases.php#regu).

Washington State Geologic Information Portal Some full text available
This page includes access to a range of interactive maps, including coal mines, geothermal resources, subsurface geology, and others. The right hand menu of the portal includes links to Geoscience Data (including GIS data), Publications of the Division of Geology and Earth Resources, and more. The publications page has a wealth of data and information. They have  "about 140 publications online. Our newsletter, TsuInfo Alert, is available electronically on this website; back issues of our journal, Washington Geology, and our newsletter, DGER News, are also available on this website. Our reports and maps are held in libraries nationwide."

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

CAMEO: Conservation & Art Materials Encyclopedia Online Some full text available
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston created CAMEO, a searchable, wiki based "electronic database that compiles, defines, and disseminates technical information on...terms, materials, and techniques used in the fields of art conservation and historic preservation." It might more properly be called a collection of databases since it comprises three sections, the Materials Database, Reference Collection, and Natural and Synthetic Dyes database. "They note that "some databases and pages contained within CAMEO are 'works in progress'." The MATERIALS database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials." Use "the Go button for an exact match to an English material name. Press the Search button for a full text search... including all non-English...synonyms in the MATERIALS database."


Klallam Dictionary
Print Location: PM895.Z5 M66 2012
Klallam-English, English-Klallam, prefixes & suffixes, and Klallam roots sections follow a short but informative introduction to the Klallam language sounds, word construction, and sentence structure. Also in the introductory material you will find guidance on use of the dictionary and interpretation of the entries.

Finding Books

DART-Europe E-theses Portal Some full text available
DART is a "searchable database of electronic research theses held in European repositories. The theses listed are open access - publicly available, in full, without charge." They claim access to well over 400,000 theses. Not all are in English, and the language sort is not as accurate as one might like. The browse is only by country, university, collection, and year, not subject. They have a very capable search; see their help and search tips to use it to best effect.
Dissertations & Theses [ProQuest] Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts for thousands of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from 1861 to the present.
How to find theses in the Brooks Library

Scroll down to the notes section for instructions including how to narrow your search from the complete set of over 4,300 Central Washington University (or State College) theses. This record can also be located by going to the library home page and using the term "theses" (no quotes) in the search box in about the middle of the page. The library catalog is a web resource; the theses are in print in the library.


National Academies Press Some full text available
Register with the National Academy of Sciences for free published and prepublication books, reports, and other documents. Choose PDF downloads of chapters or whole books. A wide array of titles are available including Protecting National Park Soundscapes (2013, 47 pages), On Being a Scientist: A Guide to Responsible Conduct in Research: Third Edition (2009, 82 pages), and The Psychological Well-Being of Nonhuman Primates (1998, 184 pages). Subjects include GIS, environmental impacts, psychology, aeronautics, earth sciences, social sciences (including Law & Justice), and many more. Browse by topic or search.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) Some full text available
OATD is an index of theses and dissertations that are freely available to read. Most are also free to download. Currently providing access to over 1.6 million such documents, OATD does not store or index whole documents but indexes the first 30 pages, or thereabouts, to create the searchable index. (So, this is not a full-text search of the document.) Access is via links to the original repository of the item. For a more precise search, click "advanced search" under the search box on the home page. Choice Reviews Online highly recommends OATD and notes that "Search results may be sorted by relevance, author, university, or date. Depending on the search, results may be further limited by date, university, department, degree, level (e.g., doctoral vs. master's), or language."

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Annual Review of Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Annual Reviews cover many subject areas and are intended to be "comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists." Like a good subject encyclopedia, they provide a brief introduction or overview of a topic by a scholar in the field followed by a bounty of references to significant literature. Some articles add internet resources as well. Brooks Library provides access to the Annual Review of Anthropology in print and online versions. Some topic areas addressed include " archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology." In the front the print volume offers a list of related articles from other Annual Review of... series. To see all available print volumes of the Annual Review of Anthropology, go to the catalog record. Scroll down and click on the "View additional copies..." button.


note: 01/01/1972 to 01/31/2007
Annual Review of Anthropology Some full text available

The Annual Reviews cover many subject areas and are intended to be "comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists." Like a good subject encyclopedia, they provide a brief introduction or overview of a topic by a scholar in the field followed by a bounty of references to significant literature. Some articles add internet resources as well. Brooks Library provides access to the Annual Review of Anthropology in print and online versions. Some topic areas addressed include " archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology." In the front the print volume offers a list of related articles from other Annual Review of... series. To see all available print volumes of the Annual Review of Anthropology, go to the catalog record. Scroll down and click on the "View additional copies..." button.


note: 10/01/1996 to present
Annual Review of Anthropology
Print Location: GN1 A623 (2001-2012)
Astrophysics Data System (ADS) Some full text available
ADS is an abstracting service and digital library portal with much greater breadth than the name implies. It permits combined search or browse of three bibliographic databases: Astronomy  and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXive e-prints. The arXive service claims to cover "Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics," but also has some information on scientific topics that are remotely related, at most. For example, a search in ADS for "mass wasting" (in quote marks, to be searched as a phrase) with "gis" (no quote marks needed), both largely geosciences topics, returned 24 results. Although not within the announced subject areas, all are high quality, scholarly publications, and several are available in full-text.
BIRDNET
"BIRDNET provides information for and about ornithology, the scientific study of birds. The site serves professional ornithologists and the general public. BIRDNET is provided by the Ornithological Council, a public information organization established and supported by twelve Western Hemisphere ornithological societies." Look under "Resources for Ornithologists" in the upper right for help locating references to journal articles, online literature, and other resources. Some of these link to full text, but many do not. Includes links to indexes in ornithology: SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive, OWL: Ornithological Worldwide Literature, and Global Raptor Information Network, as well as BioOne. Some of the literature located through these will not be available to CWU researchers at no charge.
E.V. Komarek Fire Ecology Database
"As of September 2012, there are over 27,000 citations in the database" to historical and current research in fire ecology. This is a citation index; it will help you find information about useful literature, but it will not provide access. You may be able to locate the cited items through Brooks library or other libraries. Includes citations to "journal articles, books and government documents (federal & state), conference proceedings (including all Proceedings of the TTRS Fire Ecology Conferences, with abstracts), magazine and newspaper articles, and theses."
Electronic Green Journal Some full text available
An open access, semi-annual, peer-reviewed journal of environmental information. Published since 1994 by the University of California. International in scope.
Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene Some full text available

Originally scheduled to start publication in July 2013.

Elementa is a collaboration of  BioOne, Dartmouth, the Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of Colorado Boulder, the University of Michigan, and the University of Washington. This new, open access publication aims to publish articles that are timely, technically sound, and peer-reviewed  with a focus on "interactions between human and natural systems and behaviors."

Its six initial "knowledge domains" are Atmospheric Science, Earth & Environmental Science, Ecology, Ocean Science, Sustainable Engineering, and Sustainability.


GeoScienceWorld Some full text available
"A comprehensive internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, [and] linked..." Electronic access to over 40 journals from 27 publishers. We may not have access to all of the articles through GSW. If you want one of those, try searching the journal title in our catalog. If we don't have it, you may be able to request it through interlibrary loan. Download to a citation manager such as Zoho. Also available in a mobile-optimized layout!
JournalTOCs Some full text available
This free service enables you to create an account and select journals to "follow." When one of your journals publishes a new issue, you will be sent the table of contents. In addition, you can create and searches which will generate a notification for you whenever an article which meets your criteria is published in one of the journals they cover. They include information from over 22,000 journals. Whether the journal is open access or subscription is indicated, and direct access is provided to the open access articles and journals. Keep in mind, though, that subscription journal articles may be available at no cost to you through the library databases. Your notifications will be delivered via email or RSS. To see your followed journals or saved searches, move the cursor to your user name in the upper right of most pages (when you are logged in) and select from the dropdown menu.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Our subscription to JSTOR (short for 'Journal Storage') contains every issue of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences. These journals have been digitized back to the first issue published (in some cases that is the 1600s). JSTOR also contains citations (bibliographic records) for more than 1,500 leading academic journals, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. (This is why "Include only content I can access" should not be checked, even if you are in a hurry. Articles not available in JSTOR are often available in our other databases or through Interlibrary Loan.) Library Journal (11/15/2011) notes that "everything in it is safely scholarly...it's not stuffed full of third- and fourth-tier journals." Many of the foundation journal articles in geology, geography, anthropology, archaeology, and urban planning and design will be found here in full text.
Social Science Research Network Some full text available
"The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 480,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection... in Adobe Acrobat pdf format." Broader than its name implies, accounting, anthropology & archaeology, economics, cognitive, and legal are a few of the topic areas covered.

AnthroSource

Indexing of anthropological material developed by the American Anthropological Association. Please ask the Reference Help Desk, 1st Floor Brooks Library or (509) 963-1021 for aid in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.


eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
eHRAF World Cultures – the digital version of the Human Relations Area Files – is a cross-cultural database that contains more than 350,000 pages of descriptive information on cultures, diversity and ethnic groups of the world.  The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.  The diversity of information includes full-text books, journal articles, and dissertations.

This database supports CWU curricula across a variety of disciplines -- anthropology, social studies, history, sociology, geography, language, multicultural studies, political science, human development, arts, and medicine - if you are in one of these programs this database will be your friend!

Please ask the Reference Help Desk, 1st Floor Brooks Library or (509) 963-1021 for aid in searching this resource, and / or try the tutorial materials available from the homepage of eHRAF (look under "Using HRAF" on the left) or at this link.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive array of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources. Includes a "Subject Area" search for Accounting, Environmental Studies, Health & Medical Care, and Government & Politics. For search strategies, you may wish to view the Lexis Nexis YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/user/LexisNexisAcademic. Look for "Case in Brief" for a "Time-saving, comprehensive research tool. Includes expanded summary, extensive research and analysis, and links to LexisNexis® content and available court documents." It is not available for all cases. See page 4 of "Researching Case Law via LexisNexis" from CSU Stanislaus for an illustration of where to look for the link. http://library.csustan.edu/guides/subjects/criminaljustice/CaseLawviaLexis.pdf

Government Information

Best Practices Database: U.S. Conference of Mayors Some full text available
What are our cities doing about water quality or water conservation? What is being tried to improve conditions relative to crime, transportation, or sustainability? Mayor's offices from around the country report on their successful initiatives in this best practices database. Great for any urban planning topic. Keep in mind that these are self-reported successes. As a result, they are far from impartial. If you want a balanced view, take these initiatives and start digging in scientific databases, newspapers, goverment information, and other research sources. Still, this is an excellent starting place to find out what programs are being tried, what they say they achieved, and, in many reports, with whom the city contracted or partnered and how they funded it.
FireScience.gov Some full text available
This focused, searchable source of ongoing and completed research into fire and fuel management is targeted to policymakers, fire managers and practitioners, but many of the completed research projects are linked to reports and journal articles. The very effective search tool allows limiting by several facets including ecoregion, ecosystem type, environmental resource, tool type, and more. Use search terms alone or in conjunction with these limiters, or use the limiters without a search term.
Incident News Some full text available Resource contains images
The National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration's Office of Response and Restoration provides photos, news, data, and other information about oil spills and other incidents to which they responded. Incidents as far back as 1957 and at least as far away as Guam are included. Includes "a machine-readable version of the incident data...available as a SQLite database and a CSV text file," a browsable mapping feature,"10 Famous Oils Spills, a glossary, and more. Browse by date or name, browse the map, or search.
Indian Claims Commission Decisions Some full text available
The decisions of the ICC from volume 1 through volume 43, with an index, are available to search or browse. Established in 1946, it operated through 1978 settling claims by American Indian groups against the United States Government. The index also provides some introductory material useful for understanding the commission and the index.
Lura's Geospace Publication Pages of State Geological Surveys Some full text available
An invaluable list of links to publications pages of State Surveys! Access varies among the states, but many of these provide access to full text bulletins, reports, maps, and more, often in PDF format. Frequently many or all publications are free in electronic format. The date range covered also varies by state. Generally, if the document is not available electronically, information will be provided regarding purchase, or you can check the CWU catalog and Summit. Washington State Publications of the Division of Geology and Earth Resources is, of course, among the very best: Washington documents go back to at least 1891 and as recent as 2012. There is a very handy complete descriptive list for the Washington State publications. Lura also provides links to geologic fieldtrip guidebooks.
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) Legacy Series Some full text available
"NMFS legacy publication series dating back to the 1940s are now available in electronic format as PDFs." Special Scientific Reports (Nos. 30, 36 - 40, and others relate to the Columbia River and Tribuatries.), Test Kitchen Series (fish cookery), Circulars, Pamphlets, and more. Water quality, fisheries including salmon, and other topics. National coverage, with at least a few international. For broader coverage, see their Scientific Publications Office.
National Park Service History e-Library Some full text available
Documents relating to the history of the National Parks, either historical documents and publications on the history of the parks. Documents range from at least 1902 to 2012. Because this is a portal to a variety of sources, formats and steps to access vary. For example, "Our National Parks" (1918) is available in PDF if you first click on the "i" in the upper right for "About This Book." The search does not seem to function at the time of this writing, so use the browsing functions near the bottom of the page to find documents by park or document type. Within document type (such as "Publications"), look for further subdivisions at the bottom of the page. The Anthropology and Archaeology  and Scientific Monographs series may be of particular interest. TheIRMA Portal icludes geospacial datasets, letters, published and unpublished reports, conference proceedings, books and chapters, maps, and journal articles. Some can be downloaded by clicking on the title in the results and finding the download link in the record. Some have downloads restricted and many seem to have broken links, but the access to unpublished literature and datasets make it of value. IRMA can download the list of results in an Excel sheet or into Endnote.
National Sea Grant Library Some full text available
The digital library and archives of NOAA's National Sea Grant program. Over 22,000 documents on topics"including oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, aquatic nuisance species, coastal hazards, seafood safety, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law." The searchable publications database provides links to the full-text documents where available, and citations otherwise. Also browse or use the advanced search to limit by date, topic area, program (e.g. Washington Sea Grant), region (e.g. Pacific), or other parameters.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications Some full text available
Over 40,000 EPA documents are indexed, although not all are available digitally. Documents included date from the 1940s to the present. A 1942 document, for example, describes pollution in the Ohio River basin. The quick tips are likely to be useful for a more effective search and offer suggestions for obtaining print-only documents. Tip: For print copies or print-only documents, try visiting our Government Publications Department! For all documents that were originally print, the system only searches the descriptive information (metadata). For documents that were "born digital" the search is full-text.
NTIS National Technical Reports Library
The National Technical Information System provides these thematic newsletters monthly highlighting government publications relevant to the topic of the month. Wide ranging subjects with some technical aspect. Past newsletter topics have included civil engineering, homeland security, energy, food safety, environmental topics, world trade, Medicare fraud, driving safety, and cybersecurity, just to name a few. Interested in a list of publications on the Deepwater Horizon oil spill? See the November 2011 issue. Can those invasive constrictors that are such a problem in Florida come here? Check out the issue on invasive species, February 2013. The NTIS charges for most of the listed publications if you just click on the link in the newsletter. However, copy and paste the publication title into your favorite search engine (in quote marks, to search as a phrase, is usually most effective), and voilà! Most of the time a free copy is available. Can't bear to miss an issue of this newsletter? Sign up for free email delivery.
Science.gov

Your portal to U.S. Government scientific and technical information and data "searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies." Browse topics for links to a wide range of online information sources in areas such as Earth and Ocean Sciences, Mapping and Cartography, Computers, Communications, and Mathematics, Natural Resources and Conservation, and many more. Now also available as Science.gov Mobile!


SciTech Connect Some full text available
This new tool from the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) will replace the current DOE Information Bridge and Energy Citation Database. It is a free, publicly available portal incorporating multiple new features including semantic search in the basic search, faceting (offering a menu of selections to narrow a search by date, topic, author, or other "facets"), and in-document (full-text) search. The "Community Insights" newsletter description offers additional insights into SciTech Connect's functionality, as well as some search tips.  Science Accelerator is a federated search that includes SciTech Connect but is broader.
State Legislative Website Directory
The National Conference of State Legislatures brings you this handy database for locating state statutes, bills, and other information. Limit by state or states, content type, or both.

TreeSearch Some full text available
This Tree-mendous resource provides digital access to Forest Service publication from 1900 to the present. "[A]ll new books, chapters, and articles beginning January 2004, ...[adding] older publications as rapidly as possible." Almost 36,000 publications as of 2012. "[R]esearch monographs...papers...conference proceedings...books. Research results behind these publications have been peer reviewed..." Search by author, keyword, publication type or number, originating station, or date.

United States Fish Commission Reports Some full text available
1871-1940 and 1947-1979. PDF format. See the website for the various names and other changes at the agency. If you don't have a year or number in mind, check the National Marine Fisheries Service Indexes for help locating them by author or subject.
USDA Web Soil Survey Some full text available Resource contains images
The Web Soil Survey lets you define your area of interest and generates a report for you including "description of the soils and miscellaneous areas and their location on the landscape and tables that show soil properties and limitations affecting various uses….the steepness, length, and shape of the slopes; the general pattern of drainage; the kinds of crops and native plants; and the kinds of bedrock" and more! The contents of the report are customized by you. Includes maps, legends, definitions, and map unit descriptions. A link to your professional looking, customized report is emailed to you for access. Especially if you are having difficulties, see their Tips and Shortcuts or the Known Problems and Workarounds. If you follow their directions carefully, it can make all the difference. And there's a link to the NRCS Geospatial Data Gateway!
Washington State Department of Archaeology and Historic Preservation
There are some useful links from the top of the page, such as Preservation Laws, in the menu under Learn & Research. However, the site map at the bottom of most pages is the key to going where you can find what you're after. There is a link there to the Archaeology section - with compliance information and forms, and more - and one directly to Preservation Laws, and ones to Architect Biographies, the Human Remains Program, and all manner of useful and interesting information and documents. Historic properties' information and locations can be found using the WISAARD database, but the public interface will not provide information about archaeological sites in an effort to protect them.
Your Role in Fire Adapted Communities Some full text available
"The concept of fire-adapted communities (FACs) holds that, with proper community-wide preparation, human populations and infrastructure can withstand the devastating effects of a wildland fire, reducing loss of life and property...This guide will frame the FAC concept and current efforts to define its scope, explain the roles that groups can adopt to improve their fire safety, and provide guidance on future steps." This document outlines a strategy to plan for, respond to, and recover from wildland fires by restoring and maintaining appropriate landscapes, creating fire adapted communities, and developing fire management activities best suited to this environment.
GIS Data at the Washington Department of Ecology

From the Web Site: "Our spatial datasets are available in ArcInfo export format (zipped E00) or shapefiles, metadata files are in FGDC format, and our view files are in GIF format. All of our coverages/shapefiles are in Washington State Plane, South Zone, NAD 83 HARN, units feet, unless otherwise noted."


GIS Data for Water Resources from the USGS

USGS spatial data related to water resources.


Handbooks & Guides

Critically Analyzing Information Sources Some full text available
This guide provides guidance on evaluating the quality and usefulness of sources you locate in the course of your research.
Environmental Review Toolkit (FHWA) Some full text available
The Federal Highway Authority has gathered into this "toolkit" documents and other resources on planning and environment, NEPA and project development, accelerating project delivery, historic preservation, Section 4(f), and water, wetlands and wildlife. The information on section 4(f) includes a tutorial "designed to help transportation professionals and other interested individuals understand the fundamental requirements of Section 4(f)." The tutorial introduces ten topics: an overview, history, section 4(f) properties, use, avoidance and minization, evaluations, legal overview, project examples, related statutes, and key terms.

NEPA Desk Guide: GSA, PBS Some full text available
The U.S. General Services Administration's Public Buildings Service created this guide to "help GSA staff, contractors, and other GSA associates carry out the requirements of NEPA in accordance with the Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) regulations (40 CFR 1500-1508) and GSA Order ADM 1095.1F (Environmental Consideration in Decisionmaking)." Also see the GSA's NEPA page.
NEPA Handbook, Bureau of Land Management Some full text available
The BLM National Environmental Policy Act Handbook (H-1790-1) "provide(s) instructions for complying with the CEQ NEPA regulations." It includes scoping the EIS, conducting the analysis and preparing the Draft EIS, issuing the Draft EIS, analyzing comments and preparation of the Final EIS, issuing the Final EIS, and reaching and recording the decision. 1.79 MB.
NEPA Handbooks, Council on Environmental Quality Some full text available
This page links to the NEPA and NHPA: Handbook for Integrating NEPA and Section 106 Reviews which "is designed to clarify potential areas of confusion and duplication that have long existed in administering these two separate statutes," among other goals. It also links to A draft handbook for integrating California's Environmental Quality Act with NEPA, which serves as a model for such integration for other states.  Several other NEPA guides are also available here including Considering Cumulative Effects Under the National Environmental Policy Act. Also visit CEQ's NEPA homepage.
NEPA Reference Handbook, Fish and Wildlife Service Some full text available
"The purpose of the NEPA Reference Handbook...is to
provide Fish and Wildlife Service personnel with full texts of various NEPA authorities, selected NEPA-related authorities, and NEPA-related checklists. The Handbook includes documents cited in Service NEPA guidance and Departmental procedures and memoranda. The Handbook is an accompanying document to the Service NEPA guidelines." This and other relevant documents are linked from the FWS National Environmental Policy Act page.

NPS- 28: Cultural Resource Management Guideline Some full text available
"Authority for cultural resource management activities derives from a variety of laws, outlined in Appendix B, including the 1916 NPS organic act. Also fundamental are the Secretary of the Interior's Standards and Guidelines for Archeology and Historic Preservation. The NPS Management Policies states basic principles governing the management of cultural resources in the national park system, consistent with law and the Secretary's Standards. This guideline, ...elaborates on these policies and standards and offers guidance in applying them..."

Images & Primary Resources

Central Washington Historical Aerial Photograph Project Resource contains images
United States Department of Agriculture aerial black & white photographs from Benton, Douglas, Kittitas, and Yakima counties are available to view online or download from this easy-to-use site. Help, though sparse, seems sufficient. All or predominantly images from 1949 and 1954.
Debating Rachel Carson's Silent Spring: The President's Advisory Committee on Pesticides Some full text available
The resource list for this online presentation provides scans, transcriptions, or references to period documents relevant to the controversy engendered by Rachel Carson's book Silent Spring. The resulting efforts to reduce the use of pesticides and contain the damage caused by them led to industry defense of their products and to government investigation of the issue. Examples include Monsanto's rebuttal "The Desolate Year" and the text of the Nobel Prize award speech for the discovery of DDT. Also included are references to more recent related publications
Forest History Society Some full text available Resource contains images
What were some major forest fires? How has law and policy changed over time in the forest service, regarding fire or other issues? Who was the first female fire lookout? What did the fire lookouts eat? This site provides access to over 30,000 images plus numerous digitized copies of historic documents. Check their research home for annotated citations for over 45,000 publications from 1633 to the present (unfortunately, seemingly not browsable by date), some with links to scanned texts. For documents not linked from this site, or preferred in print, check Brooks Library for print holdings of books. government documents, and journals. Also, check our databases for electronic copies of some journal articles. For Washington State interest see their blog post on Mason County history, or search the database for "Washington State" (in quote marks to be searched as a phrase for greater relevance).

Smithsonian Contributions and Studies Some full text available
An amazing array of proceedings, studies, and reports of many branches of sciences published by one of the United States premier scientific institutions, the Smithsonian. "All of the back issues and currently published series are available here in their entirety as pdfs and plain text files." Browse the series or the proceedings and publications, or search full text or by fields including title and author. Of particular value for REM or anthropology are the Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology which from 1965 to the present.

Organizations & Directories

Environmental Design Library Research Guides
Brought to you by UC Berkeley, so some of the resources will not be available at CWU, these research guides address General Research, Architecture, City & Regional Planning, Landscape Architecture & Environmental Planning, Urban Design, and Visual Studies. The specific topics for which research guides are included are too numerous to name, but include historic preservation, vernacular architecture (and many others), "Finding Local Information: American Cultures," and urban design. Contents vary but most have the ever useful subject headings for use in searching library catalogs, print resources which may be available here or just a few short days away through Summit, recommended indexes and databases to locate journal articles (remember to access those to which we have access through our library site, not their guide), and much more. 

Lincoln Institute of Land Policy Some full text available
The Lincoln Institute is a private nonpartisan foundation investigating theory and practice focused on planning and urban form, valuation and taxation, and regulation in the U.S and internationally. The publications & multimedia section provides reports, white papers, articles (non-scholarly), conference papers, and books, most of which have at least parts that are free to download. The resources and tools section includes a number of databases and land use tools. One such database is their Atlas of Urban Expansion which addresses "the geographic and quantitative dimensions of urban expansion and its key attributes in cities the world over. The data and images are available for free downloading." Use of the Visual Tools for Planners section is facilitated by a tutorial and a printable handbook.
Society for American Archaeology list of Societies and Associations
U.S. national and state organizations, as well as some Canadian.

Statistics & Measurements

Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON)
BISON provides species occurence data for the United States and its territories. Basic information on locating, downloading, citing data, and more is provided under the "Help" tab. BISON is produced by the U.S. node of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) which offers global data. For more information on using GBIF see their very thorough user's guide.
Envirofacts
The Environmental Protection Agency's portal for retrieval of environmental data and other information.
FracFocus
Operational since 2011, "the national hydraulic fracturing chemical registry" is "an industry-backed voluntary disclosure program" (New York Times, 5/4/2011)  sponsored by the Ground Water Protection Council and the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission. It includes data from "participating companies" and is not comprehensive. It does include some reports and is the required reporting location for hydraulic fracturing chemical information in some states.
IPUMS USA: Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
This rich source of census-based data from 1850 to 2000, with data from the American Community Surveys 2000-2011 is presented by The Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota. It "consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2011." samples, not all of the data from any given census. "Census microdata are composed of individual records containing information collected on persons and households....Microdata stand in contrast to more familiar 'summary' or 'aggregate' data." Once registered, you can download data as well as use their tools for data extraction and analysis. Their User's Guide is essential for best results. Also, see the FAQ for more clarification. Also highly valuable for statistical and historical research are the Census Forms and Instructions, which show exactly what was on the forms and what enumerators were instructed to do, and the published census volumes
LANDFIRE

LANDFIRE, Landscape Fire and Resource Management Planning Tools, relies on "peer reviewed, consistent, and repeatable scientific methods" to provide spatial data layers which map or provide other data on vegetation, fire, and fuel characteristics. It is a tool for management relating to "prioritization of hazardous fuel reduction and ecological conservation activities...strategic resource management initiatives...fire management planning, stewardship of public and private lands, and natural resource management." In addition, it serves research in "climate change research, carbon sequestration planning, [and] eco?regional assessments." For a quick overview, see their fact sheet.


Statistics Resources and Big Data on the Internet
An extensive list of links to sources of statistical data - population and demographics, economy, finance, health, education, and much more. Links to tools and information about statistical interpretation of data as well. Still, it is probably not comprehensive, as it claims. Appears to be relatively light on issues such as environment and society.

USGS--Historical Statistics for Mineral and Material Commodities in the United States
On-line compilation of historical U.S. statistics on mineral and material commodities.

Web Sites

Citation Fox
Citation Fox provides templates and examples. It is not a citation generator. It covers only APA (where this link will land you) and MLA (linked from the bottom of the page) and claims to demonstrate format for over 500 resource types.
Citation Maker

"You can use this tool to create a Works Cited list of research sources following the MLA and APA standard citation formats." This can be a great time saver, but remember, any automated citation generator (as well as any non-automated one, in particular a person) can make a mistake. You need to recognize and correct those errors. This tool is provided free by the Oregon School Library Information System.


Columbia Basin Research Some full text available
From the University of Washington School of Aquatic and Fisheries Science, this resource offers data, status, forecasts, tools and models, pulications and more focused on the Columbia Basin fish and fisheries, water, and related topics.
Digital Commons Network Some full text available Resource contains images
The Digital Commons Network is a portal to digital content in a wide range of institutional repositories promising "open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work." Topic areas can be browsed and include Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Business, Education, Engineering, Law, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, Physical Sciences and Mathematics, and Social and Behavioral Sciences. Facets in the left menu of the results page facilitate focusing your search. While rich, varied, and mostly scholarly to a degree, a substantial number of the documents are not peer-reviewed or subject to editorial review. For example, "The Public Land and Resources Law Review is published by a board of student editors at The University of Montana School of Law." Editorial policy, and search and browse capabilities are determined at the level of the individual repository or section of the repository (e.g. journal).
Great Open Source Map Tools for Web Developers
This 2012 InfoWorld article briefly describes abilities, strengths, and weaknesses of a variety of tools and resources which it bills as "giv[ing] developers excellent alternatives to Google Maps." OSGeo OpenStreetMap and TileMill are featured.
Knight Cite
Choose your citation style (MLA, Chicago, or APA) and your resource type in the left menu, fill in the blanks and - voilà - a recommended complete citation! As with all citation generators, check it manually to make sure it is correct.
Legal Information Institute
Cornell Univeristy Law School produces this resource which includes Supreme Court syllabi and opinions, under "Get the Law," the Wex Legal Encyclopedia, codes, rules, and much more.
Library of Congress "Virtual Alcove" for Indians of North America

The Library of Congress' Main Reading Room has created this "virtual alcove" a short but useful "collection of websites selected and annotated by Humanities and Social Sciences Division subject specialists."  All are partly or entirely freely available. Sections include Site Directories, History, Literature and Culture, News and Current Events, Government and Law, Libraries, Museums and Archives, and Tribes and Nations.


Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
Formatting and Style Guides for MLA, APA, and Chicago are included in the resources at OWL. Shorter and generally more easily understood than the full citation manuals, though less complete. They cover most, but not all, of the citation situations that you will encounter. Also includes guidance on plagiarism, writing résumés and business letters, punctuation and grammar, and other writing topics.
TED Talks Resource contains video
TED started in 1984 focused on technology, entertainment, and design, but has branched out to encompass, as they say, "Ideas Worth Spreading." Their first 6 talks were posted online in 2006 and they continue to post these highly popular, inspired talks by some of the great thinkers of our time as video presentations. Try searching "hydraulic fracturing," "natural resources," "urban planning," "historic preservation," or "civil liberties," for a few examples. Don't bother with the quote marks, though. A very basic search apparently does not recognize phrase searching. It also does not understand Boolean search terms, resulting in a lack of precision exacerbated by the "fuzzy" search which retrieves any term sharing a common stem (e.g. dog, doggerel, and donut). No advanced search that I found, and no transcripts. Scroll down to find links in the left margin to full lists of the talks.


University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide Some full text available
From the "Citation Guides" link you will find links to handy little two page summaries (for MLA, CSE, Chicago, and APA) of the most commonly encountered citation situations. Print them out double-sided and tuck them in your notebook or wherever is convenient so you can have them at the ready for any citation emergency... or non-emergency. Includes quick handouts for MLA, APA, Chicago and CSE styles and links to more detailed formatting guidelines.
FindLaw
A comprehensive collection of legal information available over the Internet, organized by topic. Searchable.
Guide to Law Online
A guide to locating information regarding international, U.S. federal, state, and territorial, and foreign nations' law, "[A]n annotated compendium of Internet links...[to] sources of interest to legal researchers. Although the Guide is selective, inclusion of a site by no means constitutes endorsement by either the Law Library of Congress or its Office of Collection, Outreach, and Services...emphasis wherever possible has been on sites offering the full texts of laws, regulations, and court decisions, along with commentary from lawyers writing primarily for other lawyers." (LOC, 2012, http://www.loc.gov/law/help/guide/about-guide.php).

Items Of Interest

Designing Conference Posters
Colin Purrington, formerly of Swarthmore College, offers these helpful tips, DOs and DON'Ts, links, literature, and templates. For a concise resource, it's possibly as close as you'll get to a complete toolkit for designing your conference posters. In case you need more help, he provides a list of "Useful Literature." Probably the most entertaining of these is the tongue-in-cheek "Mortal sins in poster presentations or, How to give the poster no one remembers."
Induced Seismicity Potential in Energy Technologies Some full text available
Available for free download with registration, or to purchase in print, "'Induced Seismicity Potential in Energy Technologies'identifies gaps in knowledge and research needed to advance the understanding of induced seismicity; identify gaps in induced seismic hazard assessment methodologies and the research to close those gaps; and assess options for steps toward best practices with regard to energy development and induced seismicity potential." Look for links to related texts as well, such as Hidden Costs of Energy: Unpriced Consequences of Energy Production and Use (2010).
Washington State University Research Exchange Some full text available
Washington State University's digital repository holds both recent and digitized legacy research materials. Of particular interest to resource management studies is the Department of Anthropology section. This includes Rice's The Windust Phase in Lower Snake River Region Prehistory, Schalk's Cultural Resource Investigations for the Lyons Ferry Fish Hatchery Project (1983), Croes' faunal report from Ozette, Nelson's Sunset Creek Site...,and many more important investigations and reports.
What I've Learned about Defenses Some full text available
One blogger's guide to your thesis defense, from Inside Higher Education.
Citing Your Sources
Citing any and all ideas or concepts, as well as direct quotes ~~
  • shows respect for the creator.
  • helps your readers find your source to confirm your interpretation, understand the context, and learn additional information and ideas.
  • is required under CWU's academic code (Academic Dishonesty, Student Rights and Responsibilities Policy II.B., 2012-2013 Catalog http://catalog.acalog.cwu.edu/index.php?catoid=35).

To learn or review acceptable use of the work of others, see Plagiarism: What it is...and is not .

For help formatting your citations, see CWU Brooks Library's Citation & Style Manuals for the Social Sciences or:
Online Writing Center (OWL), Purdue
University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide

For tools for managing your references, see the links from University of Washington Citations and Writing Guide . Zotero and Mendeley are the free options currently available. The UW Guide has links to guides and handouts for Zotero and Mendeley.
Getting Work
Need work over the summer or permanently? Emily Wild of the USGS Denver Library offers these links for opportunities at Federal departments, agencies, and bureaus:
 
Sharing Your Research
Interested in Publishing? See Handbooks & Guides in the All Items by Source box, below and to the left, for some style guides.

For any scholarly work, see the "Citing Your Sources" section at the bottom of this page.

Presenting a conference poster? See our poster guide.

There is also a guide to help with oral presentations.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Euster

Lisa Euster
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1642

Ask A Librarian Chat
Catalog Search
USGS Science News

Loading ...

The Electronic Green Journal

Loading ...

National Technical Information System

Loading ...

Government Challenges, Your Solutions

Loading ...

Top Environmental News - ScienceDaily

Loading ...

Nat'l Academies Books Online

Loading ...