Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Theatre Arts

« Back To Guides Selection


OneSearch
Academic Search Complete
Research databases
Databases for Theatre Arts

ArtStor  Restricted ResourceSome full text available

ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Registered users can save and organize ARTstor images into groups, export image groups as a PowerPoint 2007 file for classroom presentations or share with other users at CWU through a stable URL link. For detailed instructions for registering, see ARTstor's online help

NOTE:  If you are not able to view the thumbnail images, please first check your computer for ARTStor's system requirements or contact Brooks Library.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Our subscription to JSTOR (short for 'Journal Storage') contains every issue of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences, digitized back to the first issue published (in some cases that is the 1600s).

Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available

From Johns Hopkins University, Muse provides searchable full text of over 200 scholarly journals from scholarly publishers and covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and other subject areas.
Essay & General Literature Index Restricted Resource
This database includes nearly 86,000 essays from almost 700 collections, from works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada;
with a focus on the humanities and social sciences, including drama and film.

Theatre Arts Websites
American Theatre Wing

The founder of the Tony Awards, this group's website also provides resources for careers, podcasts, and hundreds of hours of video footage of theatrical performance.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia

From the Library of Congress, Anyone researching music, theater, or dance will find it invaluable.

ARTSEDGE: The National Arts and Education Information Network

A program of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
 
Infomine: Social Sciences and Humanities

Infomine is a searchable database that contains scholarly resources for a number of disciplines, including the social sciences and humanities.  It features a number of ways to limit your searching, including choosing if you want to the search to find free sources, fee-based sources, or both.

Internet Broadway Database

Search by show, people involved (actors, directors, set and costume designers, stage managers, producers, theater owners, etc.), theater, or character.

Intute: Theater & Drama Gateway

"Intute is a free online service providing you with a database of hand selected Web resources for education and research.  Search or browse the database of Theatre and Drama resources which have been selected, evaluated and described by subject specialists."  You can browse by time period, by subject, and by resource type. Also try the Features List on the sidebar.  It contains a useful "People Index" that includes a list of people involved in film, theater and broadcasting and links to their related websites.

Librarians' Internet Index

Interesting and sometimes educational websites are featured on this annotated, topical gateway of websites.  Each website is recommended and annotated by a librarian working for the Librarians Internet Index as a quality resource.  You can also quickly group resources by domain type, so it is easy to see which sites are commercial, from organizations, and from the government.

OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources

OAIster is catalog of more than 19 million digital resources found online from over 1,000 organizations around the world. Developed by the University  of Michigan, the digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies.  It is searchable by title, author/creator, subject, language, or keyword.  Using technology that allows them to search behind search engines, OAIster goes into "the deep web" and finds items you would otherwise miss unless you knew where to look. NOTE:  Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted.

Theatre History on the Web
This site has been maintained since 1996 to provide easy access to useful research sites throughout the world.
Visual and Performing Arts from INFOMINE

Large annotated collection of Internet resources related to the visual and performing arts. Resources have been determined to be of use as a scholarly information resource in research or educational activites at the university level.

RSS Database Feeds

Loading ...

Subject Specialist
Picture: Geri Hopkins

Geri Hopkins
Instructional Design Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1925

Collect Your Research!
Use this awesome Collect & Cite tool, Zotero.  Watch the Zotero video to see how to install and use it!
Ask A Librarian Chat
Browse Journal Titles
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files