Brooks Library Research Guides: Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute
(From The Observer, Photographs. Central Washington University Archives, Brooks Library, Ellensburg, WA.)
The Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute (CHCI) was a sanctuary at Central Washington University that housed a family of chimpanzees who had learned signs in American Sign Language (ASL). Due to their advanced age and isolated environment, the last two chimpanzees at the institute--Tatu and Loulis--were moved to the Fauna Foundation in 2013.
Over the years, Central has been one of only two universities in the world with chimpanzee behavioral program on campus, the other being Oxford Brookes University in the United Kingdom. This program has drawn national and international visitors to Ellensburg.
By studying human-chimpanzee interactions at CHCI, researchers have gained a better understanding of language and animal welfare. As CHCI notes, this research has "resulted in a better understanding of ourselves, as well as our place and role in nature."
Captive chimpanzees -- Case studies
Captive chimpanzees -- Washington (State) -- Ellensburg -- Case studies
Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute (Ellensburg, Wash.) -- Case studies
Primates -- Behavior
Primates -- Psychology
Description: This collection contains the daily operational records concerning the care and interaction with cross-fostered and signing chimpanzees as well as the research that has been undertaken with the chimpanzees at the Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute. The collection comprises 16 mm film, logs, video tapes, manuals, and thesis data, spanning from 1970 to 2013.
Guide to the collection: Online
Location of the collection: This collection is housed at the Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute (CHCI) in Ellensburg, WA. Please contact CHCI at (509) 963-2244 or firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
B. Beck, T. Stoinski, M. Hutchins, T. Maple, B. Norton, A. Rowan, E. Stevens, and A. Arluke, eds. Great Apes and Humans: The Ethics of Coexistence. Washington, D. C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 2001.
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, QL737.P96 G733 2001
M. Bekoff, C. Allen & G. Burghardt, eds. The Cognitive Animal: Empirical and Theoretical Perspectives in Animal Cognition. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 2002.
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, QL785.C485 2002
Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute. "Publications."
A. Derschowitz, D. Favre, R. Fouts, J. Goodall, C. Sunstein, S. Wise, P. Waldau, and R. Wrangham (2003). "The Evolving Legal Status of Chimpanzees." Animal Law, 9, 1-95.
Location: Online via LexisNexis Academic
Roger Fouts with Stephen Tukel Mills. Next of Kin: My Conversations with Chimpanzees. With an introduction by Jane Goodall. New York: Quill, 2003.
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, BF109.F66 A3 2003
A. Fuentes and L. Wolfe, eds. Primates Face to Face: Conservation Implications of Human-Nonhuman Primate Interconnections. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, QL737.P9 P6775 2002
M. L. Jensvold, C. Sanz, R.S. Fouts, and D.H. Fouts. (2001). "Effect of Enclosure Size and Complexity of the Behaviors of Captive Chimpanzees (Pan troglodytes). Journal of Applied Animal Welfare, 4(1): 53-69.
Location: Online via Academic Search Complete
Friends of Washoe Foundation. Friends of Washoe [newsletter]. 1981-2013.
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections, LD5771.8.C45
Landan Garcia. "CHCI to Receive or Relocate Chimp Population." The Observer. April 4, 2013.
Until 2013, CHCI provided sanctuary to a family of chimpanzees that had acquired signs in ASL. This website provides a wealth of information about research relating to the chimpanzees and interactions with their human caretakers.
Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest (CSNW). Cle Elum, WA.
CSNW cares for captive chimpanzees who are exploited by the biomedical research and entertainment industries.
Fauna Foundation, Chambly, Quebec, Canada.
A non-profit organization dedicated to creating a caring environment for neglected and abused farm and circus animals, and former biomedical research chimpanzees.
Friends of Washoe
A non-profit organization dedicated to the welfare of chimpanzees and especially the chimpanzees once located at the Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute at Central Washington University.
Jane Goodall Institute (JGI)
Founded by renowned primatologist Jane Goodall, JGI is a global non-profit organization that works to create healthy ecosystems, promote sustainable livelihoods, and nurture new generations of active citizens around the world.
This blog, created by the Chimpanzee and Human Communication Institute, provides updates on the family of Washoe.
Primate Behavior and Ecology program, Central Washington University . Ellensburg, WA.
This program provides students with interdisciplinary perspectives on the relationships between non-human primates and the environment in both captive and free-range settings.
Academic & Research Commons Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-2861