Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Children's literature

« Back To Guides Selection


Finding children's books at CWU


Children's books are located on the fourth floor of Brooks Library. To find these books in the online catalog, use the Advanced Search option. Under "Location," select "Child Lit 4th Floor" and search for books by keyword. 

The Archives and Special Collections at Brooks Library also holds a collection of children's literature. Many of these books were used by the first instructors at Washington State Normal School (CWU's predecessor) to teach elementary schoolchildren in Ellensburg. Included in the Archives' collection are copies of Aesop's Fables from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Also included are primers, readers, and textbooks used by schoolchildren. If you are interested in examining these books, please contact the Archives or visit during open hours.
EBSCO databases
To learn more about the authors of children's books--and their work--please see the following databases:

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Guides to children's literature
Catherine Barr and John T. Gillespie. Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2006.
Location: Reference, 1st floor, Z1037.G48 2006

Kathy East and Rebecca L. Thomas. Across Cultures: A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2007.
Location: 4th floor, Z1037.E19 2007

Glenn E. Estes, editor. American Writers for Children since 1960. Poets, Illustrators, and Nonfiction Authors. Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1987.
Location: Reference, 1st floor, PS129.D45 v.61

Jamie Campbell Naidoo, editor. Celebrating Cuentos: Promoting Latino Children's Literature and Literacy in Classrooms and Libraries. Santa Barbara, CA: Libraries Unlimited, 2011.
Location: 4th floor, Z718.2.U6 C46 2011

Arden DeVries Post with Marilyn Scott and Michelle Theberge. Celebrating Children's Choices: 25 Years of Children's Favorite Books.
Location: 4th floor, Z1037.P86 2000.

Something about the Author. Detroit, Gale Research, [1971- ].
Location: Reference, 1st floor, PN451.S6

Laura Smith. Children's Book Awards International: A Directory of Awards and Winners, from Inception through 1990. Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 1992.
Location: 4th floor, Z1037.A2 S45 1992

Sally Anne Thompson, compiler. 60 Years of Notable Children's Books. Chicago, IL: Booklist Publications, American Library Association, 2003.
Location: 4th floor, Z1037.S59 2003

Matthew D. Zbaracki. Best Books for Boys: A Resource for Educators. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2008.
Location: 4th floor, Z1039.B67 Z23 2008

Websites
Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature. University of Florida.
The University of Florida's digital library makes available approximately 2,500 fully digitized children's books published from 1850 to 1900 in the US and UK.

Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University, by Valerie Ubbes.
This database lists over 5,000 children's picture books, which can be searched by topic and keyword. The database provides brief descriptions of each book.

Cooperative Children's Book Center. University of Wisconsin-Madison.
This website provides bibliographies of children's books organized by topic as well as book reviews, lectures, and articles.

International Children's Digital Library (ICDL).
The ICDL originally began as a collaborative project between the University of Maryland and the Internet Archive with funding by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The ICDL provides access to nearly 5,000 children's books in 61 languages. The collection is meant to appeal to children ages 3-13 and to assist those researching international children's literature.

Recommended Books from ALSC. Association for Library Service to Children.
The Association for Library Service to Children provides lists of recommended and award-winning children's books.

Wired for Books: Poems, Stories, Plays, Essays, Lectures, and Interviews for Children and Adults
. WOUB Center for Public Media at Ohio University.
This website features audio and video interviews, readings, and lectures by well-known authors, including authors of children's books. Many of the interviews hosted on the website were taken from "Book Beat," a CBS radio feature from the 1980s hosted by radio journalist Don Swaim.

YALSA's Book Awards and Booklists. Young Adult Library Services Association.
YALSA provides lists of award-winning books for young adults.

Ask A Librarian Chat
Subject Specialist
Picture: Talea Anderson

Talea Anderson
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1718