Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Coal mining in the Pacific Northwest

« Back To Guides Selection


Books and Documents

(
Coal miners posing inside Mine No. 9 near Cle Elum, Washington. Taken from the Frederick Krueger Collection, Archives and Special Collections, Brooks Library)

From Old Country to Coal Country.
1st edition. Cle Elum, WA: Roslyn-Ronald-Cle Elum Heritage Club, 2005.
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, F899.R68 F76 2005

John Hamilton Streepy. Carbonado: The History of a Coal Mining Town in the Foothills of Mount Rainier, 1880-1937. 1999.
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, F899.C38 S88 1999

Larry Hill, editor. Coal Town Heritage. Lake Forest Park, WA: Hillcraft Pub. Co., 2002.
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections, F899.R68 C63 2002

Kimberly Ann Larned. Changes in Natural Resource Perception and Use in Roslyn, Washington, 1880-1999. 1999.
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, LD5771.321.L3665 1999

Perry F. Narten, et. al. Reclamation of Mined Lands in the Western Coal Region. [Reston, VA?]: U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Geological Survey; Alexandria, VA: Distribution Branch, Text Products Section, U.S. Geological Survey, 1983.
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents, I 19.4/2:872

Jeri Porter, editor. Tour Guide: Coal Mines Trail. [Cle Elum, WA?]: Coal Mines Trail Commissioners, [2001].
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, Archives, F897.K53 T68 2001

John C. Shideler. Coal Towns in the Cascades: A Centennial History of Roslyn and Cle Elum, Washington. Arlington, VA : Futurepast, 2006.
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, F899.R68 S55 2006

Spawn of Coal Dust: History of Roslyn, 1886-1955. Revised, 2nd edition. [Roslyn, WA: s.n.], 1979.
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections, F899.R6 1979

Jaymi Trimble. Roslyn. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Pub., 2008.
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, F899.R68 T75 2008

Archival collections
Central Washington University, Archives and Special Collections. Frederick Krueger Collection, 1870-2000.
Guide to the collection: Online
Description: The Frederick Krueger Collection comprises materials on the cultural history of the upper Kittitas Valley of Washington state from the middle of the 19th century to the early 20th century. Included are materials on the history of coal mining in Roslyn and Cle Elum. This collection is held by the Archives and Special Collections on the 4th floor of Brooks Library. Please contact the Archives for more information.

The University of Montana--Missoula, Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library. Northern Pacific Railway Company Records, 1870-1968.
Guide to the collection: Online
Description: This collection includes correspondence, construction and expense reports, financial ledgers, activity logs, and publicity materials created by employees of the Northern Pacific Railway Company and its subsidiary lines between 1870 and 1968. It includes information about use of coal in the Northwest.

University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections. Warren Grant Magnusson Papers, 1918-1989.
Guide to the collection: Online
Description: As a lawyer, U.S. Representative, and Senator from 1945 to 1980, Warren G. Magnuson became involved in issues pertaining to the use of energy resources in the Pacific Northwest. Magnuson's papers as well as material about him are held at the University of Washington Libraries. Please contact the UW Special Collections for further assistance.

Western Washington University. Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Pamphlet Collection, 1857-2003.
Guide to the collection: Online
Description: This collection features reports, promotional brochures, articles and studies from journals and magazines, institutional newsletters, and reference works relating to topics in Pacific Northwest history, including coal mining. This collection is held by Western Washington University. Please contact their Center for Pacific Northwest Studies for further information.

Newspapers
Miner-Echo [Cle Elum, Washington].
Location: Issues from 1902 to 1960 can be found at Brooks Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents, MM-261

Washington Secretary of State. Historical Newspapers in Washington State.
Location: Online

Websites
Central Washington University Archives and Special Collections. Digital Collections.
Location: Online. Please note in particular images from the Frederick Krueger Collection.

Laura McCarty. "Coal in the Puget Sound Region." HistoryLink. 2003.
Location: Online

Oregon Public Broadcasting. "Coal in the Northwest." 
Location: Online

University of Washington. Digital Collections.
Location: Online

Washington State Department of Natural Resources. "Washington State Coal Mine Map Collection." 
Location: Online

Washington State Historical Society. Digital Collection.
Location: Online

Ask A Librarian Chat
Subject Specialist
Picture: Talea Anderson

Talea Anderson
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1718