Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Dams and Hydroelectric Power in the Pacific Northwest

« Back To Guides Selection


Getting started

(View of Grand Coulee Dam. Rufus Woods Papers. Central Washington University Archives and Special Collections, Brooks Library.)

For information about the history, engineering, and environmental impact of dams in the Pacific Northwest, please see the resources below, which are located at Brooks Library, online, and in archives throughout the Pacific Northwest.

Please note that records about dams and hydroelectric power are created by a variety of U.S. government agencies, including the Department of Homeland Security, the Bureau of Reclamation, the United States Geological Survey, the Natural Resources Conservation Service, and the Federal Emergency Management Agency. You may want to consult these agencies when beginning your research.

To locate more resources at Brooks Library, please use the online catalog. Try these subject headings to find more information about the following topics (once you have entered the catalog, you will need to click the subject heading again to see a list of resources): 

Columbia Basin Project (U.S.) -- History
Water resources development -- Columbia River Watershed -- History
Dams -- Washington (State) -- History 
Dams -- United States -- History
Dams -- United States -- Design and construction
Dams -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc
Dams -- United States -- Maintenance and repair
Dams -- United States -- Statistics
Flood control -- Environmental aspects -- Columbia River Watershed
Streamflow -- Environmental aspects -- Columbia River Watershed
Dams -- Environmental aspects -- Columbia River Watershed
Environmental impact analysis -- Columbia River Watershed
Columbia River Watershed -- Environmental conditions

History of Dam Construction
David P. Billington and Donald C. Jackson. Big Dams of the New Deal Era: A Confluence of Engineering and Politics. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2006 [book].
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, TC556.B55 2006

Center for Columbia River History [website].
Location: Online

Central Washington University, Archives and Special Collections. Rufus Woods Papers, 1918-1950 [archival collection].
Guide to the collection: Online
Digitized images from the collection: Online
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Please contact the Archives with any questions.

Eastern Washington State Historical Society/Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture, Joel E. Ferris Research Library and Archives. Clarence C. Dill Papers, 1913-1970 [archival collection].
Guide to the collection: Online
Location: This collection is housed on 2316 W. First Avenue, Spokane, WA. Please contact the Northwest Museum of Arts & Culture for further information.

Grand Coulee Dam. American Experience Films [videorecording].
Location: Brooks Library, 1st floor, DV-2385

Oregon Historical Society. Center for Columbia River History Oral Histories [archival collection].
Guide to the collection: Online
Location: This collection is held at the Oregon State Historical Society in Portland, OR. Please contact them for assistance.

Brit Allan Storey, ed. The Bureau of Reclamation: History Essays from the Centennial Symposium. Denver, CO: U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation, 2008 [electronic resource].
Location: Online

United States Bureau of Reclamation. "Water Resources Development, Columbia River Basin, Washington." Denver, CO, 1946 [map].
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, Maps Library, G4281.N23 1945 U5

United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation. The Grand Coulee Dam and the Columbia Basin Reclamation Project. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1938 [book].
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, Archives, TC425.C7 U5965 1938

University of Idaho Library. "Columbia River Basin Project: Dam Construction in the Pacific Northwest" [photo and map gallery].
Location: Online

University of Washington. "Grand Coulee Dam Collection" [digital exhibit].
Location: Online

Fred Weil. A Curb-side Story of Grand Coulee Dam and a Last Frontier; Slumbering Riches. Grand Coulee, WA: Tepee Information Service, 1938 [book].
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, Archives, TC425.C7 W46 1938

Rufus Woods. The 23-Years' Battle for Grand Coulee Dam. Wenatchee, WA: Wenatchee Daily World, 1944 [book].
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, TC425.C7 W6

Dams, Engineering
Northwest Power and Conservation Council. "Power Generation Map." 
Location: Online

Henry H. Thomas. The Engineering of Large Dams. New York: Wiley, 1976 [book].
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, TC540.T48, volumes 1 and 2

United States Army Corps of Engineers. "Building Strong at Bonneville Lock and Dam" [website].
Location: Online

United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation. Design of Small Dams. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1977 [book].
Location: Brooks Library, 4th floor, TC540.U615 1977

United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation. "Western United States Showing Location of Federal Reclamation Dams (Completed and Under Construction)" [map].
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, Maps Library, G4051.N2 1977 U5

United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation, Pacific Northwest Region. Columbia Basin Project: Washington, Adams, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, Lincoln, and Walla Walla Counties. Washington, D.C.: Bureau of Reclamation, 1992 [federal document].
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, Government Documents, I 27.2:C72/24/992

United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Reclamation, Pacific Northwest Region. "Grand Coulee Dam" [website].
Location: Online

United States Department of the Interior. "United States Department of the Interior Safety of Dams Program." Washington, D.C.: Department of the Interior, 1992 [map].
Location: Brooks Library, 3rd floor, G3701.N2 1992 U5

Dams and the Environment
Boise State University Library. Frank Church Papers, 1941-1984 [archival collection].
Guide to the collection: Online
Location: This collection is held by Boise State University Library. Please contact them for further information.

Northwest Power and Conservation Council. "A Guide to Major Hydropower Dams of the Columbia River Basin: A Map of Columbia and Snake River Dams and Fish Protection Facilities," 2006 [electronic resource].
LocationOnline

Northwest Power and Conservation Council. "About" [website].
Location: Online

PBS. "Salmon Running the Gauntlet: Hatcheries and Dams of the Pacific Northwest" [map].
Location: Online

"Save Our Wild Salmon" [website].
Location: Online

U.S. Fish and Wildlife. "Salmon of the West" [website].
Location: Online

Ask A Librarian Chat
Subject Specialist
Picture: Talea Anderson

Talea Anderson
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1718