Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Hanford Nuclear Site

« Back To Guides Selection


Websites
Atomic Energy and Nuclear History Learning Curriculum. Oregon State University Libraries:

This online exhibit by the Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections presents teaching materials on the history and development of radioactivity from 1896 to 2002. The website is divided into fifteen subject areas, including Early Physics, The Manhattan Project, Military Aspects of Atomic Energy, Politics in the Atomic Era, and Social Consequences of the Atomic Age, as well as introductory and concluding sections and a bibliography.

International Atomic Energy Agency:

Created in 1957, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) aims to promote the "peaceful uses of nuclear sciences and technology." To ensure these goals, the agency inspects nuclear facilities, develops standards for the safe operation of nuclear facilities, and dispenses scientific and technical information on peaceful nuclear applications. The IAEA website offers documents, newsletters, FAQs, reports, and briefs on a variety of topics relating to nuclear energy.

International Energy Agency:

This website offers detailed and general documents, statistics, and reports about energy and its use throughout the world. This information can be found by topic or by region.

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission:

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) website is designed to provide timely and accurate information for a general audience about nuclear energy and its uses. The site is organized into subject areas, including nuclear reactors, nuclear materials, radioactive waste, nuclear security, public meetings and involvement. The website permits users to locate nuclear facilities, find recent news articles, watch relevant videos, view photos, and gather materials relevant to students and teachers.

U.S. Energy Information Administration
:

Broad in scope, this website offers information about various types of energy to everyone from schoolchildren to researchers. The site provides statistical forecasts and analyses of various energy industries; historical data; statistics on the use of energy in households, buildings, and industries; and information about the environment.

Archival collections
Brock Adams Papers, 1947-1998. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections:

Brock Adams was a liberal Democrat who served in both houses of the U.S. Congress and as Secretary of Transportation under President Jimmy Carter. An environmental conservationist, Adams made the Hanford Nuclear Reservation a key topic in his political career. He fought the Department of Energy’s decision to use the site as a nuclear waste repository and opposed the production of nuclear weapons at Hanford. Please contact the University of Washington Libraries for further information about this collection.

Henry M. Jackson Papers, 1912-1987. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections:

A Democratic Congressman and Senator for Washington state, Henry M. Jackson served on the Joint Atomic Energy Committee. In this role, he encouraged the construction of an atomic plant at the Hanford Nuclear Reservation to power industrial development in the Tri-Cities area. This collection is held by the University of Washington Libraries--please contact them for further information.

Glenn Lee Papers, 1906-1992. Washington State University Libraries. Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections:

Publisher of the Tri-City Herald, Glenn Lee used his position to encourage construction of a Hanford steam plant and atom smasher, and to lobby against closure of Hanford's nuclear reactors. Lee was one of the founders of the Tri-City Nuclear Council, which was formed in 1963 to promote economic growth and development in the Tri-Cities. The Glenn Lee Papers are held by Washington State University Libraries. Please contact them for further assistance. 

Warren Grant Magnuson Papers, 1918-1989. University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections:

As a lawyer, U.S. Representative, and Senator from 1945 to 1980, Warren G. Magnuson became involved in issues pertaining to the presence and use of nuclear facilities at the Hanford site. Magnuson's papers as well as material about him are held at the University of Washington Libraries. Please contact the UW Special Collections for further assistance.

Barkev Sanders Papers, 1947-1990
. Washington State University Libraries. Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections:

This collection pertains to the Hanford mortality study in which Barkev Sanders was a participant from 1964 to 1976. Please contact the Washington State University Libraries for further assistance with this collection.  

Records of the Atomic Energy Commission. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA): 

Congress established the Atomic Energy Commission in 1946 to manage peace-time uses of nuclear energy. The records of the Atomic Energy Commission, described here, are held by the National Archives and Records Administration. Please contact the NARA for further information.

Books
Atomic harvest: Hanford and the lethal toll of America's nuclear arsenal / Michael D'Antonio ; foreword by Stewart Udall
New York: Crown Publishers, c1993
TD898.12.W2 D36 1993

Hanford: a conversation about nuclear waste and cleanup / Roy E. Gephart
Columbus, Ohio : Battelle Press, c2003 c2003
TD898.12. W2G46697 2003

Hanford and the bomb: an oral history of World War II / by S.L. Sanger, with Robert W. Mull ; Robert L. Johnson, photos
Seattle: Living History Press, c1989
QC773.3.U5 S26 1989

The Hanford Reach: a land of contrasts / text by Susan Zwinger ; photographs by Skip Smith
Tucson: University of Arizona Press, c2004
 F899.H36 Z88 2004

Hanford Site historic district : history of the plutonium production facilities, 1943-1990 / Hanford Cultural and Historic Resources Program, U.S. Department of Energy

Columbus: Battelle Press, 2003
TK9025 .H36 2003

Made in Hanford: the bomb that changed the world / Hill Williams
Pullman, Wash.: Washington State University Press, c2011
QC773.3.U5 W55 2011

A river lost: the life and death of the Columbia / Blaine Harden
New York: W.W. Norton, c1996
 HC107.A195 H37 1996
Media
Arid lands [videorecording] : a documentary film / by Grant Aaker and Josh Wallaert, 2007.
Media, 1st floor: DV-927 

The Bomb's lethal legacy [videorecording] / WGBH, 1990.
Media, 1st floor: VT-1669 

Development of the atomic bomb [motion picture] : March 27, 1967 / Pacific Northwest Laboratories, Reactor Physics Department; Central Washington State College, Audiovisual Library, Closed Circuit Television.
Media, 1st floor: FM-2445

Hanford Environmental Dose Reconstruction Project [videorecording] / written and produced by the Technical Steering Panel of the Hanford Environmental Dose Reconstruction Project, 1994.
Media, 1st floor: VT-2944

The Hanford-White Bluffs story [videorecording] / Parasol Group, 1986.
Media, 1st floor: VT-520

Ask A Librarian Chat
Subject Specialist
Picture: Talea Anderson

Talea Anderson
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1718