Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: HIST 481: Senior Thesis

« Back To Guides Selection


Finding books
To find images at the library, you can search the Cattrax catalog for illustrated books and documents. Try adding "illustrations" or "pictorial" to your keyword searches. If you use the Advanced Search option, you can construct your search like so:

 

You can also include "pictorial works" in your subject searches to discover books on different topics. Select "subject" in the drop-down menu and construct your search like so:



Here are a few sample subjects you might want to search. Please note that this list is far from exhaustive:

Advertising, Pictorial
Africa -- Pictorial works
Asia -- Pictorial works
Caricatures and cartoons
Illustrated periodicals
Journalism, Pictorial
Latin America -- Pictorial works
Middle Ages -- Pictorial works
Photography
United States -- History -- Pictorial works

Finding journal articles
To find images or research relating to images, try searching in the following databases: 

ArtStor
Use this digital library to find images in the arts, architecture, humanities, or social sciences. To find images associated with a particular part of the world, see Find --> Browse ArtStor by --> Geography.

JSTOR
Use JSTOR to find scholarly articles. This database contains the complete back issues of over 600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and the social sciences.

Project Muse
Use this database to find scholarly articles. Project Muse provides full-text access to over 200 scholarly journals that cover history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, economics, and other subject areas.

EBSCO databases
Use the search box below to find scholarly articles in Academic Search Complete, America: History and Life, European Views of the Americas, or Historical Abstracts--all databases that provide information on the arts and social sciences.

Research databases
Limit Your Results
Digital collections: Africa
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent (University of Wisconsin)
This site features more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different African countries. To view images, click on "search the collection." Photo topics include architecture, cities and towns, education, landscape, religion, and women.

African Activist Archive Project
This site presents posters and photographs documenting efforts in the United States to support African people in opposing colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The majority of materials deal with South Africa, but some also relate to Guinea-Bissau, Angola, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, and Namibia.

Basel Mission Image Archive (University of Southern California)
This archive features photos taken between 1850 and 1950 at missions in West Africa.

Congo Expedition May 1909 - November 1915 (American Museum of Natural History)
This exhibit contains images from the Herbert Lang and James Chapin expedition to the Congo in 1909-1915. Images of flora and fauna predominate.

G.I. Jones Photographic Archive of Southeastern Nigeria Art and Culture (Southern Illinois University)

This collection presents photos taken in the 1930s by the District Officer for Bende--Gwilliam Iwan Jones.

Images of Colonialism (Harvard University)
Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection of more than 700 images offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated.

International Institute of Social History
This site features some 900 posters dealing with Africa. Search "posters niza" for a list of the available posters. (NIZA stands for Nederlands Instituut voor Zuidelijk Afrika.)

The International Mission Photography Archive (University of Southern California)
This archive offers historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States. The photographs, which range in time from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean.

Koloniales Bildarchiv (University of Frankfurt am Main)
This archive contains some 50,000 photos depicting life in former German colonies in Africa. See "Lexikon" for search suggestions.

Memoire du Canal de Suez (Bibliotheca Alexandrina)
This site documents the construction of the Suez Canal. See "Galerie" for images.

The Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs (NYPL)
The images in this collection feature Egypt and the Middle East. They date from the 17th to 20th centuries, having first appeared as engravings, lithographs, salt prints, heliogravures, or in other formats.

Nelson Mandela Digital Archives
This site features photos relating to the life and work of Nelson Mandela, 1929-2013.

The Transatlantic Slave Trade (New York Public Library)
Includes images related to the transatlantic transport of slaves between 1501 and the 1860s.

Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960 (Northwestern University)
Assembled by the British collector Humphrey Winterton over about 30 years, this collection depicts life in East Africa (1860-1960). Topics include European life and colonial work in Africa, African landscape, East Africa’s railways, urban centers, and rural life.

Digital collections: Asia (East)
Botanical and Cultural Images of Eastern Asia, 1907-1927 (Arnold Arboretum, Harvard University)
Travelers returned to the United States with plant specimens and these photographs of plants, people, and landscapes in eastern Asia.

Chinese Pamphlets: Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China (Center for Research Libraries)

This collection comprises cartoons, pamphlets, postcards, and magazines published in Hong Kong and mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These materials--produced by Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters--address foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform.

East Asia Image Collections (Lafayette College Libraries)

This collection of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides portrays imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945), and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan, Japan, China, Korea, Manchuria, and Indonesia are included.

East Asia: Photographs, Prints (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of libraries and archives.

The East Asian Collection (University of Wisconsin)
This collection of photographs documents East Asian cultural heritage in the 20th century. Included are images of the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China.

Formosa: 19th Century Images (Reed Institute)
This collection features images gathered by European and American travelers to Taiwan. Images were originally published in European and North American books and journals during the 19th century.

Historical Photographs of China (University of Bristol, University of Lincoln, the Institut d'Asie Orientale, and TGE-Adonis)
This collection comprises some 5,000 images of China from the mid-19th to mid-20th centuries.

Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period (Nagasaki University Library)

This collection comprises some 7,000 digitized photographs taken all over Japan from the Bakumatsu through to the Meiji period (19th century).

Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection (NDSU Institute for Regional Studies)

Comprises leaflets created by American forces and distributed in Korea during the Korean War.

MIT Visualizing Cultures
Images in this collection focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China.

The International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online

This site presents images of paintings, textiles, and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road.

Sidney D. Gamble Photographs (Duke University)
A sociologist and China scholar, Gamble collected these 5,000 photographs of urban and rural life, public events, architecture, religious statuary, and the countryside in China, Korea, Japan, and Russia.

Visualising China

This archive presents some 8,000 photographs of China between 1850 and 1950. Images have been gathered from a variety of collections, with the support of the British Academy, AHRC, and the University of Bristol.

Digital collections: Asia (South)
Asia, Pacific & Africa Collections (British Library)
Begun by the East India Company in 1801, this collection of images provides a survey of the landscape and architectural heritage of South Asia from the late-18th to mid-20th centuries.

Asia Through a Lens (National Archives, United Kingdom)
Comprises images taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection at the National Archives. The collection includes scenes from across the Asian continent, including China, Malaysia and Sri Lanka.

Cambodian Genocide Program (Yale University)
This site includes photographs of victims in the Cambodian genocide of 1975-1979.

Central and South Asia: Photographs, Prints (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of libraries and archives.

The Claire Holt Papers (Cornell)
This collection comprises approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia, which were created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project. Subjects include art, architecture, ceremonies, landscapes, painting, people, sculpture, textiles, and theater.

Digital South Asia Library (University of Chicago and Center for Research Libraries)

This digital library includes thousands of photos depicting agriculture, crafts, architecture, and more in South Asia.

Dutch East Indies in Photographs, 1860-1940 (Koninklijke Bibliotheek)
This collection consists of some 3000 photographs from the period from 1860 to 1940 in Indonesia. Most of these photos were taken by professionals who photographed landscapes and street life, houses and factories, groups and individuals.

Indonesia independent, Photographs 1947-1953 (Koninklijke Bibliotheek)

In January and February 1947, the photographers and friends Cas Oorthuys and Charles Breijer both travelled to Indonesia independently and captured various stages of the Dutch decolonisation process. This collection contains more than 4500 photographs and album pages by these photographers.

KITLV Digital Media Library (Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences)
This digital archive contains thousands of images portraying Dutch colonial life--much of it in Indonesia.

National Archives of Singapore
This archives includes a collection of images from public offices such as the former Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts (MICA), Singapore Tourism Board and the Istana. These photographs capture official and other events relating to Singapore throughout the 20th century.

Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL)
This digital library features materials, including images, published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

SouthEast Asian Images & Texts (University of Wisconsin)

This digital archive contains photographs depicting the Philippines, Laos, and Cambodia.

Southeast Asia (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of libraries and archives.

Williams Afghan Media Project (Williams College)

This site documents Afghan history and society in image and sound from the late 19th century through the Soviet occupation.

Digital collections: Australia, New Zealand
The Biggest Family Album in Australia Collection (Museum Victoria)
This site features some 9,000 photographs of rural and regional life in Victoria, Australia, dating from the 1890s to the 1940s.

Digitised Tasmanian Archive and Heritage resources (LINC Tasmania)
Features hundreds of images depicting life in Tasmania.

Heritage Images Online (Auckland Libraries)

This site features thousands of images depicting families, architecture, advertising, maritime life, fashion, and sports in Auckland and New Zealand.

Images (National Library of New Zealand)
The images on this site feature life in New Zealand during a range of time periods.

National Archives of Australia: Snapshots of the Collection
This set of images covers a variety of topics in Australian history--from Chinese immigration to hydroelectric power to life during WWII.

Oceania and the Pacific: Photographs, Prints (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of libraries and archives.

Pictures (National Library of Australia)

This digital collection features Australian people, places and events, from early European exploration of the South Pacific to contemporary events.

Pictures (State Library of Victoria)
This collection contains paintings, drawings, prints, cartoons, photographs, sculpture, architectural drawings, posters, and postcards depicting Victorian people and environments.

Trove: Pictures, Photos, Objects (National Library of Australia)
This site features photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, and postcards relating to Australia and Australian history.

Digital collections: Europe
Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi (King's College)
This site features photo of English stained glass, organized by county and city. See "Picture Archive" for images.

Euro-Photo
This site attempts to provide a pan-European press photo historical archive. At present it includes some 900,000 images from throughout European history.

Europe: Prints, Photographs (World Digital Library)

Images contributed by a variety of archives, libraries, and organizations.

First World War Poetry Digital Collection (University of Oxford)

Includes photographs from World War I, which can be accessed by keyword or subject.

Gallica (Bibliotheque Nationale)
The digital library of the Bibliotheque Nationale, with contributions from other French libraries, archives, museums. See the section on images.

Gertrude and Robert Metcalf Collection of Images of Stained Glass (Princeton University)
This collection features photos taken in the mid-1900s of stained glass in Austria, England, France, Germany, and Switzerland.

Images of Colonialism (Harvard University)
Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection of more than 700 images offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated.

Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution

The images in this collection have been primarily drawn from the Museum of the French Revolution in southwest France and Olin Library at Cornell University. Cartoons comprise the majority of images, though paintings and artifacts are also included in the collection. Select "browse"--> "images."

Making the History of 1989 (George Mason University)

This site documents the fall of communist regimes in eastern Europe. Included are photographs of the Berlin Wall's demise, the civil war in Yugoslavia, and demonstrations at Wenceslaus Square in Prague. See "primary sources" to find images.

Never Such Innocence: British Images of the First World War (Stanford University)
This exhibition features two versions of British participation in the First World War (1914–18): one by the British government in thousands of posters and one in nonofficial war art, poetry, and photographs.

Royal Society Picture Library
This database features digital images of paintings, drawings and prints held by the Royal Society. Images depict human anatomy, scientific equipment, and scientists from approximately the 17th to the 19th centuries.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Photo Archives

Features photographs from the World War II era. Photos are searchable by location, date, and type.

WWII Photographs by J Malan Heslop (Brigham Young University)
Heslop, a member of the U.S. Army Signal Corp, 167 Signal Photographic Company, took these 1,350 photographs in Europe between September 1944 and May 1945.

Digital collections: Latin America
Archivos Fotográficos (National Library of Peru)
This archives includes photographs of life in Peru from the mid-19th to mid-20th centuries.

Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña (University of Puerto Rico)
This collection includes thousands of digitized postcards, photographs, cartoons, and drawings related to the history of Puerto Rico from the 19th century to the present.

Bracero History Archive (Center for History and New Media)
This digital archive contains oral histories and images relating to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that ran from 1942 to 1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in the United States.

Caribbean Views (British Library)
This collection presents images and maps from the 18th and 19th centuries that document life in the former British West Indies.

Cuban Photograph Collections (University of Miami)
This collection includes over 5,000 photographs which span a wide range of historical topics related to Cuba and the Cuban Diaspora.

Deena Stryker Photographs (Duke University)
This collection presents hundreds of photographs taken in Cuba during the 1960s.

Expeditions and Discoveries (Harvard University)

This collection includes photographs from nine late-19th and early-20th-century scientific expeditions to Latin America and Asia.

Latin America and the Caribbean: Prints, Photographs (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of archives, libraries, and organizations.

Latin American Posters Collection (Princeton University)
This collection comprises posters created by social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America. Topics include human rights, elections, gender issues, indigenous issues, labor, ecology and environmental issues, development, public health, and education.

The Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs (NYPL)
This collection contains photographs and prints from rare 19th-century books that present the territories and countries associated with Portugal and Spain in the New World, from Mexico to Argentina, and parts of the Caribbean.

The Mapas Project (University of Oregon)

This collection presents colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts--documents that used images to show territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.

Tobacco Art Collection (University of Miami)
Spanning the late 19th and 20th centuries, the Tobacco Art Collection contains art and ephemera associated with the Cuban tobacco industry. Items include commercial tobacco packaging labels, cigar trademarks, several cigar bands, and two cigar boxes.

Digital collections: Middle East
Abdul-Hamid II Collection Photography Archive (Library of Congress)
The images in this collection portray the Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II (1880-1893). The collection highlights the modernization of the Ottoman Empire.

Arab Image Collection
This collection images from throughout the Middle East. Registration required.

Eliasaf Robinson Tel Aviv Collection (Stanford University)
This collection includes photographs and postcards illustrating the early history of Tel Aviv.

Jerusalem Virtual Library (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
This site includes hundreds of images of historic Jerusalem.

Middle East and North Africa: Prints, Photographs (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of libraries and archives.

The Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs (NYPL)
The images in this collection feature Egypt and the Middle East. They date from the 17th to 20th centuries, having first appeared as engravings, lithographs, salt prints, heliogravures, or in other formats.

Oriental Institute Museum Photographic Archives (University of Chicago)

This archive provides photographs of Iran, Iraq, Sudan, and Egypt.

Palestinian Poster Project (Liberation Graphics)
This site presents hundreds of posters relating to or published in Palestine between 1900 and the present.

Saudi Aramco World Digital Archive
This archive provides access to historic and current images of the Middle East and the Islamic world. Most of these images are from the bimonthly magazine Aramco World (1964-2000) and Saudi Aramco World (2000-present).

Travelers in the Middle East Archive (Rice University)

This archive provides access to images documenting travel to the Middle East (primarily Egypt) between the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Women's Worlds in Qajar Iran (Harvard University)
This archives presents photographs and other materials relating to the lives of women during the Qajar era (1796-1925).

Digital collections: North America
Ad*Access (Duke University)
This site presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

America's First Look into the Camera: Daguerreotype Portraits and Views (Library of Congress)
This collections comprises some 700 daguerreotypes dating from 1839 to 1864. Included are portraits, early architectural views, outdoor scenes, and copies of works of art.

American Environmental Photographs, 1891-1936 (University of Chicago Library)
This collection consists of approximately 4,500 photographs documenting natural environments, ecologies, and plant communities in the United States at the end of the nineteenth and the beginning of the twentieth century.

American Memory (Library of Congress)
This site provides access to thousands of images from throughout American history. The website is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on format, subject, or creator.

"Beans Are Bullets" and "Of Course I Can!": War-Era Food Posters
This exhibit displays posters from World War I and II found at the National Agricultural Library. The exhibit examines the evolution of poster styles, propaganda messages and advertising history from the two time periods.

Brooks Library Digital Collections
This digital archive includes photos of the central Washington region. See the Frederick Krueger Photographs for pictures of Roslyn, Cle Elum, and Ellensburg. See the Rufus Woods Photographs for images of Grand Coulee Dam during its construction. See University Campus Buildings for images of the CWU campus.

The Chinese American Experience, 1857-1892
Includes cartoons from Harper's Weekly relating to American attitudes toward Chinese people. Organized thematically.

CWU Archives on Flickr
Includes photos of life at Central Washington University from the 1890s to the present. See "Sets" for photos of athletics, women, faculty members, and more.

Daguerreotypes at Harvard
Harvard's 3,500 daguerreotypes include some of the earliest successful photographs of the moon, views of the first operations using ether, and portraits of African-born slaves. Portraits include Horatio Alger, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry James, Jenny Lind, Harriet Beecher Stowe, and James McNeill Whistler.

Digital Schomburg: Images of African Americans from the 19th Century (New York Public Library)
This site provides a selection of visual resources dealing with the Civil War, Reconstruction, cultural expression, education, family, labor, and religion.

Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian (Library of Congress)
Issued in a limited edition from 1907 to 1930, the North American Indian contains over 2,000 photogravure plates by photographer Edward Curtis, illustrating the traditions of some eighty Indian tribes. See the "portfolio" accompaniment for images of each tribe.

Farm Security Administration Photographs (USDA and NYPL)
Comprises photographs taken by the USDA's Farm Security Administration (FSA) during the Great Depression. Hosted by the New York Public Library, this collection includes images by photographers like Dorothea Lange, Walker Evans, and Gordon Parks.

Florida State Archives Photographic Collection

This archive features over 180,000 digitized photographs from the State Library and Archives of Florida, including family pictures, the homes of Floridians, their work, and their pastimes. Photographs are organized by theme and type.

Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Civil Rights Movement (Seattle Times)

This exhibit contains images from the national civil rights movement and events that happened in the Seattle area.

Museum of the Rockies Photo Archive
This archive presents photographs from the northern Rockies region of Montana, Idaho, and Wyoming, 1860s to 1980s. Photos document the people, places, industry, and events of the region.

Pictures of African Americans During World War II (NARA)
This collection illustrate African-American participation in World War II. The pictures were selected from the holdings of the Still Picture Branch (NNSP) of the National Archives and Records Administration. Images are organized by subject.

Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photographs from the National Archives (NARA)
This exhibit presents photographs selected by the National Archives and Records Administration to represent the twentieth century in American history.

Undaunted: Rare and Classic Photos of MLK and the Freedom Riders (LIFE Magazine)

This site provides images of the civil rights movement in the 1960s. Many images were originally published in LIFE Magazine but some were not.

Unseen. Unforgotten (Birmingham News)
This exhibit presents previously unpublished photographs from the civil rights era. Photos are organized by theme (such as the Freedom Riders, school desegregation, and voting rights) and year.

Votes for Women: The Struggle for Women's Suffrage (Library of Congress)

This collection includes portraits of women who campaigned for women's rights, particularly voting rights, and suffrage campaign scenes, cartoons, and ephemera.

World War I Posters (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division makes available online approximately 1,900 posters created between 1914 and 1920. Most were printed in the United States but some come from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, the Netherlands, and Russia.

Ask A Librarian Chat
Subject Specialist
Picture: Talea Anderson

Talea Anderson
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1718