Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: History of Central Washington University

« Back To Guides Selection


Archival collections
The Archives and Special Collections at Brooks Library has many collections relevant to the history of Central Washington University. To see summaries of these collections, please check the following guides, which are organized alphabetically by department or administrative unit (for instance, Board of Directors, English department, etc.). For further assistance or to use a collection, please contact the Archives.
Photographs


CWU Archives and Special Collections account on Flickr
Description: Contains photos of students, faculty, campus activities, sporting events, and buildings. If you know about the people and places in these photos, please let us know in tags/comments.
Location: Online

University campus buildings
Description: Photos circa 1890s to the 1990s.
Location: Online via Brooks Library's Digital Archives

College Elementary School, Photographs, Slides and Negatives, circa 1891-1980
Description: Features the elementary school originally managed by Washington State Normal School (CWU's predecessor). Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Available by appointment.

CWU Advancement. Negatives, Slides and Photographs, 1960s-1990s
Description: Features student life, sporting events, and performances at Central. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Available by appointment.

CWU Observer, circa 1940s-1990s
Description: Photos by the student newspaper featuring events, students, faculty, buildings, and departments. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Available by appointment.

CWU Office of Alumni Relations, Photographs and Negatives, 1890s-2006
Description: Photos of campus buildings, student events, faculty and administration at CWU. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Available by appointment.

CWU Relations, Miscellaneous Historical Photographs, 1891-1978
Description: Features images of university presidents, students, and buildings. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Available by appointment.

CWU Relations. Photographs, Slides and Negatives, 1950s-2000
Description: Features images of student events, buildings, performances, and ceremonies. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Available by appointment.

University publications
Title: CWU Office of Alumni Relations, Newsletters, 1944-2010
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Please contact the Archives for further information.

Title: Residence Life, 1984-
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections, LD5771.8.R48

Title: CWU student newspapers [Student Opinion, Campus Crier, and Observer]
Location: Online for 1917 to 2000

Histories of the university
Glen L. Bach and Karen Blair. By Teaching We Learn: The Evolution of Central Washington University. Ellensburg, WA: Central Washington University, 2008.
Location: 4th floor, LD5773.B9 2008

Board of Trustees of the Washington State Normal School, Central Washington College of Education, Central Washington State College and Central Washington University. Meeting Minutes.
Location: Online

Bell Hawk, editor. Central Remembered: A Collection of Memories and Anecdotes. Ellensburg, WA: Centennial Committee of Central Washington University, 1992.
Location: Online and 4th floor, LB1975.E4 C467 1992

Beverly Heckart. "History of Central Washington University Library." From a speech delivered to the Legacy Society, May 7, 2007.
Location: Online

Samuel R. Mohler. The First 75 Years: A History of Central Washington State College. Ellensburg, WA: Central Washington State College, 1967.
Location: Online and 4th floor, LD5773.M6

John H. Morgan. A Brief History of the Washington State Normal School at Ellensburg, Washington. 1916.
Location: Online
 
Media
Title: Central Washington University YouTube channel.
Description: Features short clips of life on and off campus. Includes promotional videos, interviews with faculty, and tours of campus.
Location: Online

Title: CWU Athletics Department, Team Sports Collection, 1923-2002
Description: Includes footage of CWU games, 1980s-2000s. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Please contact us for assistance.

Title: CWU Multimedia Technology and Instructional Support, Barge Hall Administrative Meetings Video Cassettes, 1996-2004
Description: Features administrative meetings held at Barge Hall from 1996 to 2004. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Please contact us for assistance.

Title: CWU Multimedia Technology and Instructional Support, Video Cassettes, 1976-1995
Description: Video coverage includes the Ellensburg Rodeo, various musical performances, art shows, commencement, sports competitions, and more. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Please contact us for assistance.

Title: Ellensburg Community Television Video Cassettes, 1952-2006.
Description: Features events (1980 to 2006) associated with CWU and Ellensburg, including speeches, naming ceremonies, and student trips. Please see this guide for a summary of the collection.
Location: 4th floor, Archives and Special Collections. Please contact us for assistance.

Title: Letter from CWCE: Scenes of Central Washington State College, Ellensburg, and surroundings [motion picture]. Ellensburg, WA: [1951?].
Description: A film created in the 1940s or 1950s by the Electrification Administration and Kendal Foss. Deals primarily with student activities at Central Washington State College.
Location: 
Media, first floor, FM-814

Ask A Librarian Chat
Subject Specialist
Picture: Talea Anderson

Talea Anderson
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1718