Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: DHC 380: History of Science

« Back To Guides Selection


Introduction
The following resources, available at Brooks Library, provide information on the history of science. Please note that the list below is not exhaustive. If you have questions, we encourage you to contact the library anytime.
Journals
Many older volumes of the following journals are also available in hard-copy on the second floor of Brooks Library. Please consult the catalog for call numbers, or use the links below to find electronic copies.

Ambix [electronic resource] 
Description: A journal of the Society for the Study of Alchemy and Early Chemistry
Available
: Online for 3/1/2004 to one year ago

Annals of science [electronic resource]
Description: Covers the history of technology and medicine, as well as developments since classical antiquity
Available
Online for 1/1/1975 to 18 months ago

Archive for history of exact sciences [electronic resource]
Description: Covers the history of mathematics, astronomy, epistemology of science, and philosophy of science
Available
: Online for 1/1/1997 to the present

Biographical memoirs of fellows of the Royal Society [electronic resource]
Description: Documents the history of science as published by the Royal Society
Available
: Online for 1/1/1955 to one year ago

Bulletin of the history of medicine [electronic resource]
Description: Covers social, cultural, and scientific aspects of the history of medicine worldwide.
Available
: Online for spring 1996 to the present

Centaurus [electronic resource]
Description: Original articles and reviews on the history of mathematics, science and technology
Available
: Online for 1997 to the present

European physical journal H [electronic resource]
Description: Historical perspectives on contemporary physics
Available
: Online for 7/1/2010 to the present

Gesnerus [electronic resource]
Description: The official journal of the Swiss Society for the History of Medicine and Sciences
Available
Online for 2003 to three years ago

Historical studies in the physical sciences, 1969
Description: Covers the history of physics
Available
: 3rd floor, Brooks Library, QC7 H69

History of the human sciences [electronic resource]
Description: Covers the history of human sciences, including sociology, psychology, and anthropology
Available
: Online for 2/1/1999 to the present

Isis [electronic resource]
Description: Covers the history of science, medicine, and technology.
Available: Online for 1/1/1913 to 12/31/2007

Journal for the history of astronomy, 1970-1993
Description: Covers the history of astronomy.
Available: 2nd floor, Brooks Library, QB15 J68

Journal of the history of biology [electronic resource]
Description: On the history of biology
Available: Online for 1968 to the present

Journal of the history of the neurosciences [electronic resource]
Description: On the history of neurosciences
Available: Online for 4/1/1997 to 18 months ago

Osiris [electronic resource]
Description: Published by the History of Science Society, highlights recent research on significant themes in the history of science
Available: Online for 1/1/1936 to 1/31/2006

Rutherford journal [electronic resource]
Description: The New Zealand journal for the history and philosophy of science and technology
Available: Online for 2006 to the present

Technology and culture [electronic resource]
Description: The international quarterly of the Society for the History of Technology
Available: Online for 7/1/1998 to the present

Encyclopedias
The following comprises only a sampling of books available at the library: 

Encyclopedia of mathematics. By James Tanton. New York: Facts on File, 2005.
Available: 4th floor, Brooks Library, QA5 .T34 2005

The history of science and religion in the western tradition : An encyclopedia. Edited by Gary B. Ferngren. New York: Garland Pub., 2000.
Available: 3rd floor, Brooks Library, BL245 .H57 2000

Instruments of science : An historical encyclopedia. Edited by Robert Bud, Deborah Jean Warner. New York: Science Museum, London, and National Museum of American History, Smithsonian Institution, in association with Garland Pub., 1998.
Available: 4th floor, Brooks Library, Q184.5 .I57 1998

Medieval science, technology, and medicine: An encyclopedia. Edited by Thomas F. Glick, Steven J. Livesey, Faith Wallis. New York: Routledge, 2005.
Available: 4th floor, Brooks Library, Q124.97 .M43 2005

The Oxford companion to the history of modern science [electronic resource]. Edited by John L. Heilbron. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Available: Online

Sciences of the earth: An encyclopedia of events, people, and phenomena. Edited by Gregory A. Good. New York: Garland Pub., 1998.
Available: 4th floor, Brooks Library, QE11 .S38 1998

Websites
Center for the History of Physics
Description: By the American Institute of Physics. Includes digital exhibits with histories, sound clips, and photos documenting the lives of physicists and their discoveries.

Charles Babbage Institute
Description: Documents the history of information technology. Includes digital exhibits with photos, histories, and interviews. By the University of Minnesota.

The Chymistry of Isaac Newton

Description: Includes transcriptions of Isaac Newton's papers, notes, and presentations. By Indiana University.

Computer History Museum
Description: Includes digital exhibits on topics like the history of IBM, Google, calculators, and the Internet.

ECHO (Exploring and Collecting History Online)
Description: A directory to 5,000+ websites concerning the history of science, technology, and industry

The Euler Archive
Description: An online resource for Leonhard Euler's original works and modern Euler scholarship, with scanned versions of his works and references to translations and modern scholarship.

The Galileo Project
Description: The Galileo Project is a source of information on the life and work of Galileo Galilei (1564-1642). Maintained by Rice University.

Greatest Engineering Achievements of the 20th Century

Description: Presents histories, photos, and timelines on topics like electricity, spacecraft, and highways.

History and Heritage of Civil Engineering
Description: By the American Society of Civil Engineers. Documents the lives and works of civil engineers.

IEEE Global History Network

Description: By the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Documents the history of electrical engineering, electronics, computing, and related fields.

Institute and Museum of the History of Science (Florence, Italy)
Description: Includes a virtual museum with videos, biographies, images, and descriptions of scientific equipment

International Academy of the History of Science
Description: Includes a history of the academy and its members, with photos

MacTutor History of Mathematics
Description: Provides histories of mathematical discoveries and mathematicians. Recommends resources and offers indexes on a variety of topics, including women mathematicians. By St. Andrews University, Scotland.

National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Division
Description: Includes digital projects with films, photos, and manuscripts on topics like the history of cholera, medicine in the Americas, and Renaissance medicine.

Nobel Foundation
Description: Includes Nobel Prize addresses, biographies of Nobelists, other historical information

Robert Boyle Project
Description: Includes histories of Robert Boyle, as well as his manuscripts and other recommended resources. By the University of London.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Talea Anderson

Talea Anderson
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1718

Ask A Librarian Chat