Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Mathematics

« Back To Guides Selection


Practice and tutorials
Wolfram Alpha
This site uses built-in data, algorithms, and methods to answer math problems at a range of skill levels. Examples illustrate key mathematical concepts.

KHAN Academy
This site provides interactive challenges, assessments, and videos to illustrate math concepts by discipline.

Ask Doctor Math
This site is a service for math students at all levels. Math "doctors" from around the world provide answers to questions posed by website users.

Mathematics Stack Exchange
Mathematics Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people studying math at any level. Answers are provided by public input.

Online Math Courses
This website links to free mathematics courses, offered online by accredited universities.

Shodor
This site provides interactive learning tools for computational math and science. It also offers tutorials and references to other educational websites.

Books
To find books on mathematics at Brooks Library, try searching under some of these subject headings in the library catalog. Or search by keyword, author, title, and more.

Mathematics
Algebra
Biomathematics
Business mathematics
Curves
Economics, mathematical
Ethnomathematics
Functions
Game theory
Measurement

Handbooks and encyclopedias
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Print Location: Ref QA5 .W45 2003
This encyclopedia provides definitions, formulas and derivations, figures, tables, and resources for further research. A version is available online.

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
(31st Edition)
Print Location: Ref QA47 .M315 2003
This book covers topics like analysis of numbers, algebra, discrete math, geometry, continuous mathematics, special functions, probability and statistics, scientific computing, and financial analysis.

Facts on File Calculus Handbook

Print Location: Ref QA303.2 M36 2003
This book is intended for use by middle school, high school and college students taking single-variable calculus. Included are a number of well-known calculus theorems, definitions and formulas, as well as charts and tables, biographies, and a chronology on the subject.

Facts on File Geometry Handbook
Print Location: Ref QA445.2 G67 2003
This book provides a basic introduction to geometry.

Mathworld
This website, best described as a mathematics encyclopedia, provides information on a variety of subjects: algebra, applied math, calculus, discrete math, the foundations of math, geometry, math history and terminology, number theory, probability and statistics, recreational math, and topology.

Oxford Reference Online

This resource provides quality, up-to-date information from a series of well-respected books, including books on mathematics.
Databases
Select a database from this list to search for scholarly articles on mathematics. Or search EBSCO databases using the search box below.


Research databases
Limit Your Results
Statistics and measurements
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
Print Location: Brooks Library, Reference, QA276.14 .E84 2006
This dictionary defines over 3,600 statistical terms, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational aspects. Definitions often reference other books or articles and provide formulas and graphics to clarify concepts.

Metric Conversion Factors
The Washington Department of Transportation provides this extensive list of conversion factors.

Statistical Reports of U.S. Science and Engineering
This site offers a wealth of surveys, reports, and statistics on the sciences. Surveys describe the workforce and current educational trends in science.

Websites
Intute: Science, Engineering, and Technology Gateway
Intute recommends websites in the physical sciences, engineering, computing, mathematics, and environmental science. See also the "E-journals" search for freely available full-text journals in the sciences.

MathGuide
The MathGuide is an Internet-based subject gateway to scholarly relevant information in mathematics, located at the Lower Saxony State- and University Library, Göttingen (Germany).

Strategian
This database points to information in the sciences and mathematics. It also provides citations to important articles, books, and documents published before 1969.
History of mathematics
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
This website is housed at the School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of St. Andrews, Scotland. It includes biographies, beginning before 500 A.D., and history topics ranging from algebra to mathematical physics and more.

Math Archives
This website includes historical biographies of women in mathematics, a list of links to professional societies in mathematics, K-12 teaching materials, the full text to proceedings from the International Conference on Technology in Collegiate Mathematics (1994-2003), and an indexed page of links to other websites on various math topics.
Professional organizations
American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
An international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science (earlier issues online), as well as many scientific newsletters, career resources, books and reports.

American Mathematical Society
Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, the American Mathematical Society fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and to everyday life.

Association for Women in Science and Engineering

This organization aims to advance the participation of girls and women in the sciences, from biomedicine to mathematics, the social sciences, engineering and the technologies.

Institute of Mathematical Statistics

This organization aims to spread awareness of the applications and developments in statistics and probability. Student membership is free. The organization's website provides full-text access to many articles in Annals of Applied Probability, Annals of Probability, Annals of Statistics, and Statistical Science.

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Organized in 1920, the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is now the world's largest group of its kind. The organization provides content standards for teaching mathematics, as well as weekly problems and games for students of all ages.

Nature Network

This website provides an online meeting place for scientists to gather, talk and find out about the latest scientific news and events. Nature Network allows for collaboration at the local, national, and international level.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Talea Anderson

Talea Anderson
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1718

Ask A Librarian Chat