Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: Modern China

« Back To Guides Selection


Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China: Modern and Historic Views of the World's Newest and Oldest Global Power. Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Pub. Group, 2009.
Location
: Reference, 1st floor, DS735.A2 B47 2009, volumes 1-5.

Caroline Blunden and Mark Elvin. Cultural Atlas of China. New York: Facts on File, Inc., 1983.
Location: Reference, 1st floor, DS721.B59.

Janey Chen. A Practical English-Chinese Pronouncing Dictionary: English, Chinese Characters, Romanized Mandarin. Rutland, VT: C.E. Tuttle Co., 1970.
Location: Reference, 1st floor, PL1455.C579.

Edward L. Davis, editor. Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture. New York: Routledge, 2005.
Location: Reference, 1st floor, DS779.23.E53 2005.

Parker Po-fei Huang. Cantonese Dictionary; Cantonese-English, English-Cantonese.
Location: Reference, 1st floor, PL1736.H8.

Wang Ka-wen, editor. Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism. New York: Garland Pub., 1998.
Available: Online.

Arne J. de Keijzer. The China Business Handbook. San Francisco, CA: China Books and Periodicals, 1986.
Location: Reference, 1st floor, HF5320.A3 D44 1986.

David Levinson and Karen Christensen, editors. Encyclopedia of Modern Asia. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002.
Location: Reference, 1st floor, DS4.E53 2002.

David Pong, editor. Encyclopedia of Modern China. Farmington Hills, MI: Charles Scribner's Sons/Gale Cengage Learning, 2009.
Available: Online.
Databases
Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
As of 10/19/2012 this on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia, published worldwide from 1971 to the present. New records are added frequently. This online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS as well as entries compiled since 1997. The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies, as identified by the BAS staff, are indexed as soon as possible, but the total number of indexed journals is many times that amount; full information about the years of coverage of each and every journal is provided through the Journal Title Browse function. In addition, various special projects have contributed substantial numbers of additional records to the database (among them journals on Southeast Asia dating as far back as 1779).

This is an index only. To locate resources from this index, search the CWU Library Catalog and Summit for the book or journal title.  Please ask the Reference Help Desk, 1st floor, Brooks Library or (509) 963-1021 for aid in searching this index or searching for citations found in the index.
Journals and Magazines
China and World Economy. Beijing, China: Institute of World Economics and Politics, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences.
Available: From Wiley-Blackwell, 2006 to present.

China Daily (North America edition). New York: China Daily Distribution Corp., 1983-.
Available: From Freely Accessible Journals.

China Journal. Canberra, A.C.T., Australia : Contemporary China Centre, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University, 1995-.
Available: From JSTOR Arts and Sciences, 07/01/1995 to 07/31/2009 and from Academic Search Complete, 07/01/2004 to present

China Today.
Beijing : China Welfare Institute.
Available: From Academic Search Complete, 08/01/2006 to present.

China Weekly News. Atlanta, GA : NewsRX.
Available: From LexisNexis Academic, 01/04/2008 to present

Modern China. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage Publications, 1975-.
Available: From JSTOR Arts and Sciences, 01/01/1975 to 11/30/2009, and from SAGE Premier, 01/01/1999 to present.

Modern China Studies.
Princeton, N.J. : Dang dai Zhongguo yan jiu zhong xin, 1994-.
Available: From Freely Accessible Journals.

Archival collections
Henry M. Jackson, 1912-1987
This collection contains the work of Democratic congressman and Washington state senator Henry Jackson, who considered the relationship between American and Chinese politics and economics in the twentieth century. Please contact the Special Collections at the University of Washington Libraries if interested in the collection.

Franz H. Michael Papers, 1948-1964, 1984

These papers cover the work of Franz Michael, former professor of Far Eastern political science and Chinese history and assistant director of the Far Eastern and Russian Institute at the University of Washington. Please contact the Special Collections at the University of Washington Libraries if interested in the collection.

George Edward Taylor Papers, 1932-1999
This collection comprises the papers of George Taylor, scholar of Chinese studies and director of the Far Eastern and Russian Institute at the University of Washington, 1946-1969. Please contact the Special Collections at the University of Washington Libraries if interested in the collection.
Websites
Visualizing China. University of Bristol, UK: This website contains more than 8,000 digitized photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950. Photos may be found by date, keyword, and collection.

China Vitae: This website offers profiles of over 4,000 current political, military, government, academic, business, and media figures in China. Each profile includes a biography, career details, and occasionally information about travel and appearances.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project. Fordham University: This website offers access to primary sources and other teaching materials. In some cases, links lead to sources available by subscription only. In other cases, links may not have been updated.

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection: This website, created by the University of Texas at Austin, has gathered together maps from around the world, as well as definitions of cartographic terms and links to other mapping resources.
Ask A Librarian Chat