Blackboard iconBlackboard

Novel iconGroupwise Email

Library Home · Cattrax Online Catalog · Digital Collections

Brooks Library Research Guides: People. Parks, and Protected Places

« Back To Guides Selection


Library Databases

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index, abstracts, bibliographies, and cited references to articles from over 6,400 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. For BIOSIS only, click on the down arrow next to "All Databases" in the grey bar, near the top of the page. From the drop-down menu select "BIOSIS Citation Index." BIOSIS aims to provide "a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections." For a broader search, leave it at the default, "All Databases."   Note that Web of Science and BIOSIS do not search full text, so be sure to be aware of what fields (topic, author, etc.) you are searching for your terms. These databases are particularly valuable for their citation indices.

GEOBASE Restricted Resource
Unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for development studies, the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. The database provides coverage of over 2,100 peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series, and conference proceedings. Search tips.

GeoRef Restricted Resource
Comprehensive index covering subjects including general mineralogy, crystallography, and mineralogy of silicates and non-silicates. Indexes more than 3,000 journals, as well as books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Covers geology of North America from 1785 to the present and world geology from 1933 to the present.

GreenFILE Unrestricted Resource
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Laws & regulatory codes, legal cases, law review articles, and more. The "Case in Brief," where available, is linked from near the top of the document, just after the Disposition. It is, as described, a "Time-saving, comprehensive research tool. Includes expanded summary, extensive research and analysis, and links to LexisNexis® content and available court documents."
Other Online Sources

Mapping the National Parks 
This Library of Congress "collection documents the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks. The collection consists of approximately 200 maps dating from the 17th century to the present, reflecting early mapping of the areas that would become four National Parks [Arcadia, Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, and Great Smokey Mountains], as well as the parks themselves." Brief essays provide context and background.

National Technical Information Service
This site is a great index to the reports from the NTIS. To use the advanced search, which gets the best results, select the "Advanced Search" tab. There you can use phrases instead of individual words, limit the date range, and otherwise fine tune your search. The NTIS site charges for most items. However, there is a good chance you will be able to find a free copy if you copy the title of the item and paste it into our library catalog, your favorite search engine (for example, Ixquick or Google), or the government information search engine USA.gov. For the last two, putting the title in quotes will force it to find the phrase, not just individual words, so you will get more relevant results. At the NTIS site, try "Protected Areas" (without quote marks) in the phrase search box, for example. You can add "people," "human," and "humans" in the "at least one of the words" box to further narrow the results, if desired.

NPS Focus Digital Library and Research Station

TreeSearch
"Your one stop site for [U.S. Forest Service] Research & Development Publications online" just keeps getting better and better. Now including an extensive collection of documents from 1902 to the present, Treesearch includes almost 36,000 items, all in full-text. "Research results behind these publications have been peer reviewed to ensure the best quality science." The Forest Service also provides GeoTreesearch, with map-based geographic limitation or search, and a data archive.
Journals


Ecology and Society is a freely available double blind peer reviewed journal with a focus on "topics relating to the ecological, political, and social foundations for sustainable social-ecological systems." Try a "match this phrase" search for "protected areas" or "all of these words" for "parks human impact," for a couple of examples. The search is not full text; the choices are "Search article topic" (which includes the title and keywords, at least) and an author search. Also, use those radio buttons for any or all words in your search, or for phrase; it does not understand quote marks or Boolean operators. Indexed in some Ebsco databases including GeoRef, Greenfile, and Academic Search Complete, in the Directory of Open Access Journals, and in Biosis.

Park Science is described as "a research and resource management journal of the U.S. National Park Service. It reports the implications of recent and ongoing natural and social science and related cultural research for park planning, management, and policy. Articles translate scientific findings into usable knowledge for park planning and the development of sound management practices for natural and cultural resources, park values, and visitor enjoyment." "Articles typically undergo peer and administrative reviews."


Books
 

National Academies Press: Register for free downloads of entire books. Try searches such as <"national parks" people> or

Recreation and protected land resources in the United States : a technical document supporting the Forest Service 2010 RPA Assessment (2013) [Electronic resource], H. Ken Cordell, Carter J. Betz, and Stanley J. Zarnoch. 

Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Euster

Lisa Euster
Research Librarian
Tel: (509) 963-1642

Related Research Guides
These guides are designed to help you with your research in specific subject areas. Each also has contact information for the librarian for that subject area. We encourage you to contact those librarians, or the subject specialist above, for help with your research, including citing your sources.

Anthropology

Economics
Environmental Studies
Ethnic Studies
Geography
History (Americas, World)
Political Science
Sociology
Call Numbers/Subjects